Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

phrases or sayings you like

• 02-06-2009 1:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭

It is better to remain quiet and let people think you a fool, than to open ones mouth and take remove doubt" Mark Twain
    I love that one man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

One of my personal favourites

"Alri bud, whuzz da craic?"

or another favourite of mine

"Scatter lads, the scum are comin"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

shakin like a ****tin dog

he's no show pony, but he'll do for a ride round the house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭RadioGaGa

"hit the bricks"

built like a brick sh!thouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

"Everytime i feel like exercise i lie down until the feeling passes"
    -Oscar Wilde

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

It's not gonna suck itself.

more cushion for the pushin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

It's not gonna suck itself.
    I presume you say that to your dog?

(Pun most certainly intended)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Don't trust whitey

salad dodger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭lebron james

Has anyone got some from the famous writers of the last hundred years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I can resist everthing but temptation.:pac:

My candle burns at both ends; It will not last the night; But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends It gives a lovely light!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Dumb

In times of doubt one must walk away, instead of staying to face the Cattle coming home

you don't know what you're worth.
    it isn't much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Dumb wrote: »
    In times of doubt one must walk away, instead of staying to face the Cattle coming home

You say it best, when you say nothing at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Dumb

you don't know what you're worth.
    it isn't much

Ah for God sake. Sure didn't you just tell me. I heard that alright. A good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭civildefence

"he's a neck like a jockey's bollix"
    "Jaysus Christ Tonight"
    "Holy Mother of Divine Jesus Christ Almighty on the Cross...Tonight"

and one for anyone whose mother is from inner city Dublin...

"Don't be carryin on Barbarous yuze pay-er"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

groucho marx had some load of good ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Your about as much help as a kick in the balls....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

If there's grass on the field, play ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Davexirl

The older the fiddle the sweeter the tune!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I left her face like a painter's radio.

* Podge and Rodge :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

'And now the Irish are ashamed
    to see themselves in one year tamed'
    - Andrew Marvell
    'An Horatian Ode Upon Cromwell’s Return From Ireland' (1650)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

If it was up your ass you'd know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭ozzirt

"She had more kinks than a sugar bag full of wet spaghetti" I always wanted to meet a girl like that,... Sighhhhh.....

"He had more moves than a steam driven stopwatch"

"It was flatter than a sh!t carter's hat"*.

*In reference to the days when dunny pans were collected by the dunnycan man who usually carried them on his hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

It's better than a kick in the boll*x.

It's better to be an hour early than a minute late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

He's busier than a one-legged man in an ass kicking competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

He's busier than a one-legged man in an ass kicking competition.

Old Smackdown games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭ozzirt

Busier'n a one armed Irish fiddler, with a dose of the crabs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

"**** or get off the pot" is a recent favourite of mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

I only have two things to offer... Lolly-pops and ass whoopin'. And im all out of lolly-pops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Milky Joe

Jesus Christ on a bike!

or

He has a face like a smacked arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

Shes like a jigsaw... In pieces!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Self praise gets no praise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Anything with Geebag in it.

You think you're the cheese, and you're not even the wrapper.

I used to like Your Ma, or Your Ma's Your Da, the way that the Northies say it, but it's dead for me since I started reading AH.

I like the old one for hunger too: I'd eat a horse between two bread-vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

The tide wouldnt even take her out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

"I can only please one person per day. Today's not your day, tomorrow's not looking good either..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

"Overactus" said Hermione.
    Think it was Frankie Boyle or one of them off mock the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

Jealousy is all the fun you think they had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

“As happens sometimes, a moment settled and hovered and remained for much more than a moment. And sound stopped and movement stopped for much, much more than a moment.” John Steinbeck

I have nothing to declare but my genius- Oscar Wilde at customs if I remember correct. That was a fun day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I have nothing to declare but my genius- Oscar Wilde at customs if I remember correct. That was a fun day.

"There is only one thing worse than playing squash together, and that is playing it by yourself.

I wish I hadn't said that."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

"Face like a painters radio"
    "DURTYYYY"
    "How's yer gee for a gallop"
    "Id crawl ten miles in her shadow just to drink her piss" my fav!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I feel the same way about disco as I do about herpes.

- Hunter S. Thompson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

"What did your last maid die of?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

She has a face like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Speak gently, thread softly, but carry a big stick!
    Teddy Roosevelt

Lies, damn lies, and statistics!
    Winston Churchill

*I am open to correction on both of those.

If you torture the data long enough eventually it will confess to something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

"As soon as the idea was introduced that all men were equal before God, that world was bound to collapse. "

Adolf Hitler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭pmg58

If it tastes like chicken, keep on lickin.

If it tastes like trout, get the **** out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭CUCINA

"Dancing is a perpendicular expression of a horizontal desire"

"Cast ne'er a clout till May is out"