Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How about next season?

• 28-05-2009 9:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭

With such a fantastic year in Irish rugby comming to a close bar of course the Lions tour and some luke warm internationals what can we expect on both international and club level for next season?
    Ireland will be favourites to win the 6 nations again im sure but can it be done again ,will players like Earls make the breakthrough?
    Will Kearney regain his form?
    Can be expect to see Healey starting at some stage?
    Is it too soon for Sexton or will he get his chance?
    On club side how to Leinster go about defending their european title and how do they replace the great Rocky?
    Can Munster get back to winning ways in europe and reach anothe H-cup final?
    Loads of questions and expectations what do people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭wexican

Another 6N win for Ireland. Leinster v Munster in H Cup final, Ulster resurgent in Magners and H Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

With such a fantastic year in Irish rugby comming to a close bar of course the Lions tour and some luke warm internationals what can we expect on both international and club level for next season?
    Ireland will be favourites to win the 6 nations again im sure but can it be done again ,will players like Earls make the breakthrough?
    On club side how to Leinster go about defending their european title and how do they replace the great Rocky?

It depends on what peoples expectations are. Pritty much any year will be a let down if compared to this year. This year is a very special year.

Next year I hope:
    6 Nations
    Ireland are competitive in the 6Nations (tough away match against France), hopefully winning the triple crown (tough as wales will be looking for revenge after last year) but I'm not expecting a grand slam.

Heineken Cup
    Both Munster and Leinster to advance to at least the quaterfinals of the Heineken Cup, a nice surprise would be Ulster to also make it out of the group stages.

Magners League
    Munster and Leinster to make the play off's, Ulster to be in the mix for a play off spot, Connaught to overtake the dragons and play the 3rd Italian side for a spot in the Heineken Cup.

Silverware
    We have a fair chance of silverware in each of the three competitions (2 pieces in the 6 nations) but I'd be happy with one out of 4. Preferably with the one coming from Ireland or Munster!

Regards
    Ian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 TheBigGuy

Ireland will be favourites to win the 6 nations again im sure but can it be done again ,
    i think so maybe not a grand slam but they could certainly grind out a victory, we have engerland and france away so traditionally speaking this would be a tougher season to win but given the performances from both leinster and munster, maybe its not so difficulty after all?
    will players like Earls make the breakthrough?
    yeah i think so, hopefully he can make some sort of break through at the lions but i suppose my main concern would be who he would keep iout? would he be played on teh wing? would horgan get dropped again? i cant see him keeping drico or darce out? maybe at full back depending on kearneys form? has he ever played there?
    well its a cliche at this stage but you dont become a bad player over night, a rest over the summer will undoubtably help him get back in shape

well marcus horan cant keep going forever and its great to see some real competion for places regardless of who gets the shirt
    no i dont think so, i would love to see him sharing the duties with Rog. Rog is with out a doubt a class player and he has served his counrty and province (although in what order?????) well above what is asked. that being said johnny sexton is still only a young fella and has time on his side to grow in to the jersey, no need to rush thing with him, i reckon a season at starting 10 for leinster would help him develop, we shouldnt rush off to drop Rog.
    sean o'brien, nuff said
    definatly , the dream would be a leinster and munster final would that be possible next year?
    Loads of questions and expectations what do people think?[/quote]
    a great year and the best that can be hoped for would be to maintian the standard, as they cant possibly better it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

Would LOVE to see Connacht get to Challenge Cup Final and even win it.

That along with a repeat of all else from this season would be a pretty good year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

The sad fact is that we've peaked and are right at the top. Nothing in my opinion will ever beat the season Irish rugby has just had, barring us winning a WC.

It's gonna be tough playing England and France away. I'd hope that we can manage to be in with a shout of winning the 6n on the final day, I think the GS will just be too difficult with our schedule.

I'd love Leinster to go on and defend the trophy but the loss of Rocky will be tough, as others have said hopefully O'Brien can step up to the plate. He's a talent. Here's hoping Sexton plays next season as he finished this one and pushes ROG into stepping it up a notch or two. I don't expect hin to displace ROG barring an injury. I'm hoping that there's a few younger players blooded internationally (6n home games) with the view to having them ready for the 2011 6n and WC. The likes of Cave, Healy, O'Brien as mentioned and Keatley.

Would love to see Connaght do well but the fact they'll have such a small squad will go against them later on in the season I fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Rugby's a narrow game in terms of team quality. We're not that much better than anyone. We're going to be competitive, but anything more than that is impossible to predict.
    Favourites? Too early to say.

Earls' position isn't set for Munster let alone Ireland, astonishing potential, but lots of people have that, anyway, he has to oust either Kearney and Geordan Murphy (both are better right now), or a winger, and with Bowe, Horgan and Fitzgerald out there that won't be easy, while D'Arcy, Wallace and O'Driscoll should have the centres covered. Earls could get a lot of mileage coming on as a utility back to punish tired teams.
    Yup.
    Declan Kidney drop a Munster player... :p (joking btw)

Maybe. We should do. I reckon Horan will get the nod though... Experience...
    ROG has never looked more vulnerable in terms of his form, and we finally have a viable 10 since David Humphreys was fcuked out of the set up by Eddie.

Jennings O'Brien and Heaslip's a quality backrow. Sign a world-class lock who can cover 6, or a young foreign flanker with a bit of power and talent, or Spies. I want Pierre Spies. :pac:

As for defending, meh, no matter how good you are, Europe is so close it's nigh on impossible to guarentee a chance to defend. And if the French care this year they'll dominate it. If. :p
    Semi-finals not good enough for you?
    You cannot and will not win every year. Don't expect it. Munster need to replace their front row very fast. And get at least one new flanker. Should still be at the business end of things though.

My opinions. ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Next season needs to be about building for the world cup, so in that respect Healy, Earls, Sexton, Cave, O'Brien, Cronin, Keatley etc. need to be brought up to speed with our established internationals and need to become established themselves. I would be willing to risk losing a six nations title next year with the aim of building a team around our younger players because we will be just a year away. I know thats what the AI's and summer tours are for, but a full tournament would be perfect to give our young guns the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Yeah, can't wait for next season!

My best memory of my 1st rugby season on the forum will not be getting 50 or so thanks for a post after the HEC Final but how some of ye feckin' eejits predicted Ian Humphreys would displace ROG at international level.

Lads, he is not even in the A Squad now. Hahahahahahaha, what are ye like? :p:p

VIVA LE ROG!!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭puntosporting

On Sexton i do think we need to get him game time at international level in games that matter!
    He has shown his ability and no one can take that away from him maybe if we have a decent lead in a 6 nation match he can come on for 20 mins of course getting decent leads is extremely hard at that level!
    As a Munster man i dont like saying it but Healey is gonna be all over Horan in the next 2 seasons he just looks a better player but experiance will keep Horan ahead for a bit probably!
    I do understand that Earls has a long list of good players ahead of him to knock down so hopefully a good lions tour will put hi right up there for contention!
    At his age maybe an imact sub is ideal it would be a scary prospect for a tired team to see this kid comming on with 20 mins left!

Thomond's 09/10 Wish List

1. Denis Hurley nevers plays for Munster again.

2. Munster win the double and the other teams have a respectful showing.

3. Connacht qualify for the Heineken Cup.

4. Ireland beat Australia and South Africa in the Autumn Internationals.

5. A Munster vs Leinster HEC / Magners League Final.

6. Ireland retain Grand Slam but more importantly bring guys like Healy, Buckley, Cronin, Caldwell and Sexton through.

7. Paul O' Connell to return to Limerick a victorious Lions Captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭budhabob

Thomond's 09/10 Wish List

1. Denis Hurley nevers plays for Munster again.

2. Munster win the double and the other teams have a respectful showing.

3. Connacht qualify for the Heineken Cup.

4. Ireland beat Australia and South Africa in the Autumn Internationals.

5. A Munster vs Leinster HEC / Magners League Final.

6. Ireland retain Grand Slam but more importantly bring guys like Healy, Buckley, Cronin, Caldwell and Sexton through.

7. Paul O' Connell to return to Limerick a victorious Lions Captain.

I agree with all but dennis hurley. I know he hasnt been great (understatement), but theres something there, with confidence.

budhabob wrote: »
    I agree with all but dennis hurley. I know he hasnt been great (understatement), but theres something there, with confidence.

Sorry, but I've seen him play in person. Enough said although I see your point.

Same as, but for kidney, mcgahan & co to believe there has to be something. saying that i'd have a couple of players ahead of him anyway, so you may get your wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

budhabob wrote: »
    Same as, but for kidney, mcgahan & co to believe there has to be something. saying that i'd have a couple of players ahead of him anyway, so you may get your wish.

Without wanting to offend, do you think they'd have kept him if they'd had Leinster's backs?

The fact is, Munster are signing a lad from the Leinster academy to replace Hurley. He's just not shown that he's at this level. Maybe there is something there, but like a Buckley, you begin to wonder, how many chances does he need?

And as a non-Munster fan, but very much an Ireland fan, why was Hurley playing for Munster at all, when Luke Fitzgerald, whose the same age as Earls has been playing for a few years at a very high level, while Keith Earls has only started playing now?

Without wanting to offend, do you think they'd have kept him if they'd had Leinster's backs?

The fact is, Munster are signing a lad from the Leinster academy to replace Hurley. He's just not shown that he's at this level. Maybe there is something there, but like a Buckley, you begin to wonder, how many chances does he need?

And as a non-Munster fan, but very much an Ireland fan, why was Hurley playing for Munster at all, when Luke Fitzgerald, whose the same age as Earls has been playing for a few years at a very high level, while Keith Earls has only started playing now?

I have to agree there alright, theres only so much one can take. but i'm an optimist at heart, so cant help it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

Earls wouldn't have come into the equation as a replacement full back. He had never played that position before, he had only been thought of as a winger or center. He was bit of an experiment when he played full back this season and i remember seeing an interview with Payne about it where he was saying he didn't realise he could play there at all.