Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Canada's governor eats a raw seal heart - Country in baddass overload

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

As some of you may know, for no particular reason the EU are planning to ban the importation of goods made from seals. This is despite the fact that we treat other, less cute animals way worse, seals are not in any way endangered, and they need to be culled anyway.

In a show of solidarity with the native peoples, the governor of Canada, appointed by the queen, ate raw seal heart.

I think this is cool. I could never see Cowen bootlegging petrol in solidarity with the travelling community:D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/8069249.stm

Last time i checked this plant was overpopulated way beyond its means... and you dont see any culls going on.... oh but wait the human population are not animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

twinytwo wrote: »
    Last time i checked this plant was overpopulated way beyond its means

You just need a bigger pot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I could never see Cowen bootlegging petrol in solidarity with the travelling community:D

Why? Does he not invite you to his petrol bootlegging parties anymore?

They're fierce craic altogether I tell ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

I in no way claim to be well versed on this issue, but to me there is a huge difference between dispatching an adult seal quickly (ie: with a gun) and clubbing a seal cub to death.

Noopti wrote: »
    I in no way claim to be well versed on this issue, but to me there is a huge difference between dispatching an adult seal quickly (ie: with a gun) and clubbing a seal cub to death.

It's more fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

The govenor has sealed their fate with that act.

I can just see all the headlines now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Noopti wrote: »

That doesn't actually happen.....it was just an excuse to beat the irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Asked later if her actions were a message to the EU, she said: "Take from it what you will."

Passive aggressive as fuck.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Passive aggressive as fuck.

Oh well. They can sell their crappy seal shít to each other because we wont be buying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭d6

legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭bushy...

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Oh well. They can sell their crappy seal shít to each other because we wont be buying it.

Why is it crappy ?

Whats this "we" paleface ?

bushy... wrote: »
    Why is it crappy ?

Whats this "we" paleface ?

"Seals are hunted for their pelts for coats, blubber for oil, and genitals as reported aphrodisiacs.[1]"

Dunno about you, but I personally don't want to ingest seal oil or seal penises. As for the coats and meat - necessary for the locals, sure, but... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Selskinnsvest.JPG

No thanks.

And by WE i mean US seeing as we're in the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I've tasted whale, and it was lovely. I'm all on this kill and eat everything bandwagon. Fair play Canada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Dunno about you, but I personally don't want to ingest seal penises.

Eww, not while it was still attached anyway. Bet it would be chewy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

And by WE i mean US seeing as we're in the EU.

The US is in the EU? Did they say yes to Lisbon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭jape

As some of you may know, for no particular reason the EU are planning to ban the importation of goods made from seals. This is despite the fact that we treat other, less cute animals way worse, seals are not in any way endangered, and they need to be culled anyway.

In a show of solidarity with the native peoples, the governor of Canada, appointed by the queen, ate raw seal heart.

I think this is cool. I could never see Cowen bootlegging petrol in solidarity with the travelling community:D

It's not as simple as "ahh sure they need to be culled anyway" and "we treat other animals worse".

They have their skulls smashed in with a baseball bat and usually die in a horrible slow painful manner. What is right about that like? What are you trying to prove? What the flying f**k is wrong with you that you approve of this?
    "The sealers stood on bloody decks, their coveralls drenched in blood...I can only wonder what kind of person can become so desensitized to pain and suffering that they would choose to participate in this miserable industry."
    Still another pup was shot and wounded, and he crawled into the water. The sealing boat came close, and a sealer leaned over the side with a gaff. He stabbed the pup through her chest and pulled her out. Even from hundreds of feet in the air, we could see the seal was crying out in pain. They dragged her on board the vessel and clubbed her on the deck, ready to slice off her skin. At the back of the boat, sealers tossed the carcasses into the ocean—the bodies hold no value to them.

www.bansealtrade.eu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭mercuroman

Can I get this in T-Shirt form? And I don't mean "Canada's governor eats a raw seal heart" written on a T-Shirt but like, a picture that captures the whole emotion of it? Something as cool as 3 wolves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

A baby seal walks into a club

mercuroman wrote: »
    Can I get this in T-Shirt form? And I don't mean "Canada's governor eats a raw seal heart" written on a T-Shirt but like, a picture that captures the whole emotion of it? Something as cool as 3 wolves

Not as cool as 3 wolves though

astrofool wrote: »
    The US is in the EU? Did they say yes to Lisbon?

Great addition to the thread there.

Name says it all.

jape wrote: »
    What are you trying to prove? What the flying f**k is wrong with you that you approve of this?

This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Sigh... It's killing. It's not a pleasant business. Those who don't have the stomach for it should ignore their morbid fascination and stay far away from it, using the products in blissful ignorance while other people get on with it. I've yet to find a perfect way to kill anything, without anything wrong with it. Can't use guns on ice due to ricochets; bolt guns used in slaughterhouses are far from perfect; guns are excellent, but it's not always instantly fatal, life just isn't that convenient; blunt force trauma is messy, but very efficient and quick; same for knives.

In any case, to return to the original point, what a stupid idea! Banning products made from seals? I think this is a case where people's delicacies and prejudices are interfering with the ability to legislate clearly.

And for the record, heart is delicious, cooked or raw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

Hope Anthony Hopkins does the movie:D