Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Popping my pub cherry

• 28-05-2009 4:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭

Hey, lonely shy French guy here. I've lived here in Dublin for over a year but I never dared yet going into a pub :(. Today (Thursday) I'm turning 23, and I have nothing planned, so I thought I might as well go to a pub to celebrate and meet people and get hammered and at last experience that renowned craic thing.

Just one thing, I have no idea where to go. What would be a nice and friendly pub for a newbie to go to for a first time? I'm in Phibsborough but I don't mind getting to Dublin 2 if that's where the craic is at. Also, what time should I get there? 9 o'clock? Midnight? Also, when does it usually end? Like 2 am or 5 am? I really don't have a clue about any of those pub-related things :pac:.

Any suggestions?

EDIT : Oh yeah also if you recognise me I don't mind being talked to or even being offered a drink :P. I'm easy to recognise, I'm tall, unmistakably thin, I look pretty French, mostly with that thin moustache (very thin, I just accidently shaved the whole thing :(), dark blond hair, glasses, darkly clad..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Your here a year and ya havent gone into a pub? :O .
    Go into any pub, you can enjoy yourself anywhere. I can anyways .
    Pubs on thursdays are last serve at 11:30 and out by 12.
    Dunno what time late bars close at.
    A year without pubs.jaysus I cant imagine it. Are you ok ? Do ya need someone to talk to? I feel for you.
    Happy birthday. Hope ya get yer hole

A_SN wrote: »
    dark blond hair,
    Brown then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭A_SN

seanybiker wrote: »
    Your here a year and ya havent gone into a pub? :O .
    Go into any pub, you can enjoy yourself anywhere. I can anyways .
    Pubs on thursdays are last serve at 11:30 and out by 12.
    Dunno what time late bars close at.
    A year without pubs.jaysus I cant imagine it. Are you ok ? Do ya need someone to talk to? I feel for you.
    Happy birthday. Hope ya get yer hole
    Well I can't miss what I never had, but I just learnt I wouldn't be taken in college before next year so if I want to meet people I'm gonna have to get out and do something hehe. But yeah, I'm on my own and a bit shy and yeah idk...
    Brown then

Nope, just not platinum blond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

youre gonna get pub-raped :pac:

Overheal wrote: »
    :confused: Sounds terrifying. Although if it involves me being taken into a pub and given beverages then let the rape begin!! :D

Dont worry bout being shy. Ya wont be shy after a few pints boss.
    I dont really get the shy thing to be honest. Thats just me though. Id talk to a wall if I thought it would answer me.

Dont worry bout being shy. Ya wont be shy after a few pints boss.
    I dont really get the shy thing to be honest. Thats just me though. Id talk to a wall if I thought it would answer me.
    I'd talk to a wall too if I thought it would answer to me. But I wouldn't cause I know walls don't talk :pac:. I'm not really shy though, I'm just afraid of doing new things I guess.

lol.
    Dont worry bout it. Ya be grand. Get one of the 3 wolf t-shirts and ya be flying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭c0mpliant

What pub to go to depends on what kind of atmosphere you're looking for. Do you want a lively traditional Irish music night? Do you want a place were 'the young people go'? Are you looking for the dankest, most dingiest old man pub in the world?

What do you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Go into Temple Bar during early evening, about 7, and choose one pub that looks nice. Bring a book/paper in case there's no-one to talk to.
    Have a pint and then move on to another pub. After about 10 pubs it's time to go home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Magnus wrote: »
    Go into Temple Bar during early evening, about 7, and choose one pub that looks nice. Bring a book/paper in case there's no-one to talk to.
    Have a pint and then move on to another pub. After about 10 pubs it's time to go home.
    Did you just seriously advise someone to go to temple bar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭c0mpliant

CiaranC wrote: »
    Did you just seriously advise someone to go to temple bar?

Agreed, temple bar is an open air tourist trap, avoid it at all costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Overheal wrote: »

Don't you mean pub 'suprise sex'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

c0mpliant wrote: »
    What pub to go to depends on what kind of atmosphere you're looking for. Do you want a lively traditional Irish music night? Do you want a place were 'the young people go'? Are you looking for the dankest, most dingiest old man pub in the world?

What do you want?

By the sounds of it I think he's not looking for world peace.

Go to Coppers on Harcourt St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Stupid question, but have you ever been drunk before?

If you have, and you know your limits, I'd say head down to the Cobblestone in Smithfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

You have to consider logistics here - you're in Phibsboro - could you make it to the Big tree on Dorset Street? There'd be a (younger) student crowd there - so you'd have no problem mingling. Bring a pack of smokes, no lighter - and just ask for a light from people - works a charm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

It's traditional to buy a round for the patrons of any new pub you go into. Just have a look in the door to make sure it's not too crowded or it'll cost you a fortune.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭GlasnevinRed

If you're in Phibsboro obviously town is handy enough to get to.
    Something more local would be Quinn's in Drumcondra. Late bar Wednesday to Friday. Thursdays are especially busy as far as I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Irlbo

My advise buddy would be to join us in Hanlons corner on the North Circular Road,only up the road from you,and all is welcome

lol.
    Get one of the 3 wolf t-shirts and ya be flying.
    What's that?
    Do you want a place were 'the young people go'?
    That. I'm 23, what else could I want? ;)
    Magnus wrote: »
    Meh, doesn't sound that fun when you put it like that..
    Stupid question, but have you ever been drunk before?

If you have, and you know your limits, I'd say head down to the Cobblestone in Smithfield.
    Yup, been drunk, know my limits, know that I'm a lightweight in every possible sense, know how to keep my buzz up and not get sick. Not that I have that much experience, I just drink in a consistent way.

What's special about Cobblestone that you should head there if you know how to drink?
    Dardania wrote: »
    You have to consider logistics here - you're in Phibsboro - could you make it to the Big tree on Dorset Street? There'd be a (younger) student crowd there - so you'd have no problem mingling. Bring a pack of smokes, no lighter - and just ask for a light from people - works a charm!
    Sounds good to me! I'll probably try that one tonight. The smokes idea though, can you even smoke in pubs nowadays? Not like I'd smoke anyways heh..
    OldGoat wrote: »
    It's traditional to buy a round for the patrons of any new pub you go into. Just have a look in the door to make sure it's not too crowded or it'll cost you a fortune.
    I just took a look at what's in my wallet, I think I'll just pretend I've never ever heard of this tradition :pac:

Thanks for the suggestions all, I won't try them all tonight but I'll try the other nights hehe. By the way hardly anyone told me what time I should get there. So, what time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

where you heading, impromptu beers ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

If you live in Phibsborough then go to McGowans. Its good craic, a late bar, and close enough for you to stumble into Abrakebebra and shovel a kebab down your throat and then stumble the rest of the way home! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Theres a great singer/songwriter in whelans tonight. Cant mention the name of the performer on this forum but Ill be there. :D
    Sure Ill buy ya a pint.

where you heading, impromptu beers ftw!
    lol, what's an impromptu beer? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

lol, what's an impromptu beer? :confused:

an unorganised sudden session

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭backboiler

get away from the computer now and walk into the Porterhouse at Crossguns Bridge (at the canal on Phibs Rd.) Sunny evening, beer garden. Can't go wrong. Move on if you get sick of it, stay if you're enjoying yourself.

backboiler wrote: »
    get away from the computer now and walk into the Porterhouse at Crossguns Bridge (at the canal on Phibs Rd.) Sunny evening, beer garden. Can't go wrong. Move on if you get sick of it, stay if you're enjoying yourself.
    Good to know. What's a beer garden though??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭backboiler

Anywhere to drink just outside a pub, usually with tables and heated for the cold nights. Now go!

Id got to Grogans on south William st or the Palace somewhere like that..there the kind of place where your find lots of randomers to talk to ..don't go anywhere too trendy...about 9.30 should do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

what do you like to do frenchie?

god i could murder a well poured pint of guinness right now

mariaalice wrote: »
    Id got to Grogans on south William st or the Palace somewhere like that..there the kind of place where your find lots of randomers to talk to ..don't go anywhere too trendy...about 9.30 should do it!
    Ah! Sounds like my type of place! Thanks for the info!
    ronano wrote: »
    what do you like to do frenchie?

god i could murder a well poured pint of guinness right now
    I like to drink until I get cracked up for an hour and talk to people.
    I once had a Guinness in France, didn't like it tbh, too bitter to my taste. Are there any good blond beers in Ireland? Oh well, I'm more a liquor type anyways. Vodka or Whiskey + something flavory like coke or juice = the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

you're just a big girls blouse

for shame :(

I like doyles in city before 6/7pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Saibh wrote: »
    That's not on my birthday! (today) ;)

But yeah, I'll make sure to attend, if I remember it hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

what kind of music do you like? thats a factor for deciding on a pub.

dont forget to reprt back tomorrow on how it went.

and in advance, je suis desolé pour le irish drunk people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

That's not on my birthday! (today) ;)

But yeah, I'll make sure to attend, if I remember it hehe.

Happy Birthday

what kind of music do you like? thats a factor for deciding on a pub.

dont forget to reprt back tomorrow on how it went.

and in advance, je suis desolé pour le irish drunk people.
    lol oh I really don't care about the music I mean, anything's fine. Just not traditional Irish folk music, that flutey thing is more irritating than that bagpipe **** we have where I'm from, no offence to whoever may play or enjoy it lol. Of course I'll make sure to report back soon as I get home (I'm a night owl so this thing really is just the middle of my day hehe).

Et c'est pas grave, I'll just drink more to try to blend in :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

He's. Not. Serious.

Saibh wrote: »
    Happy Birthday
    Thanks! :D
    conf101 wrote: »
    He's. Not. Serious.

Why not? Most French people don't ever go to a pub. On the other hand we're hardly the most fun people on Earth...

i once knew a french guy who was a lot of fun, he had a great turn of phrase.

plus the taxi movies are pretty funny.

i once knew a french guy who was a lot of fun, he had a great turn of phrase.

plus the taxi movies are pretty funny.
    lol oh we're funny. perhaps 'fun' wasn't the right word, 'happy' probably was. I just think we enjoy ourselves less than some other peoples, like you guys for example!

The first Taxi movies weren't bad, the last ones, not so much heh. Now Mission Cléopâtre and OSS 117, THOSE were funny French movies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Ah OP you sound like fun! Hope you've a great night and happy birthday!

:D thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Wasting some good drinkin time on here ;)

Happy Birthday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

If you want an experience go to Fibbers... make sure to get vaccinated and block your nose first though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

What do you want?

You're surely talking about Fibbers.

i like fibbers. its a hole, but i like it dammit. had many a great night there.

****, got no luck. I went to the Big Tree, there was a private quizz going on behind the curtain. And I couldn't join, cause like, it was private. So anyways, in my room there was just a bunch of dudes who were all at least 10 years older than me. And all the bloody wimminz were behind the curtain. Sooo I didn't get to talk to anyone, but it's cool though, I had a nice pint of Guinness, it was much better than the one I had in France, the one I had in France was thicker, or so I recall.

Just got out and it's nearly 11 pm so **** getting to another pub, I'll probably try another saturday or next time I have something to celebrate. I'm glad I popped my pub cherry though, even if the first time is hardly the best time.

By the way there's one thing all this thing made me wonder. Why is it, that everytime I go to a place in Ireland where there's a television turned on, it's tuned to some Sky TV ****. Why do people, in Irish pubs, watch Brits and Pakistanians playing cricket on TV?? Do you guys even play cricket? Last time I checked you guys were all about "football" that you play with your hands (why call it foot ball if you play it with your hands? It should be.. idk.. handfootball, or limbball, cause it involves all of the limbs) and that hurling thing that I don't even know what it's about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

OP The Big Tree:eek:
    Not the best place to pop it tbh

Next time - go to Bruxelles off Grafton Street
    Great music and people and your fairly likely to get your rocks off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭jbl123

****, got no luck. I went to the Big Tree, there was a private quizz going on behind the curtain. And I couldn't join, cause like, it was private. So anyways, in my room there was just a bunch of dudes who were all at least 10 years older than me. And all the bloody wimminz were behind the curtain. Sooo I didn't get to talk to anyone, but it's cool though, I had a nice pint of Guinness, it was much better than the one I had in France, the one I had in France was thicker, or so I recall.

Just got out and it's nearly 11 pm so **** getting to another pub, I'll probably try another saturday or next time I have something to celebrate. I'm glad I popped my pub cherry though, even if the first time is hardly the best time.

By the way there's one thing all this thing made me wonder. Why is it, that everytime I go to a place in Ireland where there's a television turned on, it's tuned to some Sky TV ****. Why do people, in Irish pubs, watch Brits and Pakistanians playing cricket on TV?? Do you guys even play cricket? Last time I checked you guys were all about "football" that you play with your hands (why call it foot ball if you play it with your hands? It should be.. idk.. handfootball, or limbball, cause it involves all of the limbs) and that hurling thing that I don't even know what it's about.
    Are there any pubs which have something like an "open-microphone" night for stand-up comedy? If so, you should go and ramble on about the stuff above...Do you have a heavy French accent? That would make it even funnier.