Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take a chill Pill!!

• 27-05-2009 5:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Karen09

WTF is the story with people taking things so seriously?? Its mainly girls in the circumstances iv come across, but recently a few of my fella mates have gone this way to. for eg. I slagged one of my mates for him being so soppy towards his girlfriend on the likes of bebo etc. He took offense and haven't heard from him since- which is so out of character for him!! One of my girlie's isn't talking t me either for not going out for her birthday, even tho it was mid-week and I was in the middle of my finals. Or how people general get ridiculed for saying things that get taken up wrong, for they may be 'politically incorrect'. Is it just me or is this beginning to wreck anyone else's head!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Maybe you're just a bad friend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Karen09

I no are but wat am I!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

trust me, its the recession!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I no are but wat am I!

Uhoh, txtspk alrt.

You're 16 right? Could you try being nicer? Insults aren't a valid form of communication, even if you think it's funny.

Confab wrote: »
    Uhoh, txtspk alrt.

You're 16 right? Could you try being nicer? Insults aren't a valid form of communication, even if you think it's funny.

I was 16 once.. good times. try being nicer... I'm lovely!!!..so you have to watch everything you say, you can't have a laugh, and joking is totally out of the question? sounds boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Why cant the schools keep the students for the summer? I hate this time of year on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Don't take this the wrong way, but you're probably not lovely. People don't like to be criticised on their relationships. And I'm sure if you actually said it your friend in a nice way, she shouldn't have minded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Karen09 wrote: »
    I was 16 once.. good times. try being nicer... I'm lovely!!!..so you have to watch everything you say, you can't have a laugh, and joking is totally out of the question? sounds boring.

Joking does not mean insulting people for the fun of it. Most people tire of that attitude over time. I should know, I used to slag everyone. Lost plenty of friend over that.

Find something else to be funny about other than people's behaviour and appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

WTF is the story with people taking things so seriously?? Its mainly girls in the circumstances iv come across, but recently a few of my fella mates have gone this way to. for eg. I slagged one of my mates for him being so soppy towards his girlfriend on the likes of bebo etc. He took offense and haven't heard from him since- which is so out of character for him!! One of my girlie's isn't talking t me either for not going out for her birthday, even tho it was mid-week and I was in the middle of my finals. Or how people general get ridiculed for saying things that get taken up wrong, for they may be 'politically incorrect'. Is it just me or is this beginning to wreck anyone else's head!!?

Dear God,

kill me nao

Kiera wrote: »
    Why cant the schools keep the students for the summer? I hate this time of year on boards.

so don't go on it. or waste your time posting replys that have nothing to do with the thread.

someone is digging a hole and its getting deeper...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

You can have a laugh and a joke, but for some reason your friends don't seem to see it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

so don't go on it. or waste your time posting replys that have nothing to do with the thread.

Or how about you take a look at yourself and see where the problem lies. That would free up one space on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I was going to post a serious reply but instead I'll just take a seat in the back and watch, mmm

Thread implodes in 3....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

lolzords

2 friends are merely an example. I mean people in general. like to put it another way those cartoon pics of 'biffo' and the controversy that they caused.. one of many other examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭mrmac

Karen09 - if you're on here looking for sympathy, you're in the wrong section :D

Have to agree with others here though, slagging off your mates does get boring for them fairly quickly, so try not to do it.

Much better to slag off your work/school mates instead! They can't just leave! Guaranteed you'll see them again in a few days - fantastic!
    Make sure you're able to take a slagging as well though, very important.

In fact, based on your reply to Kiera, I wonder if that may be part of YOUR problem? Too quick to dish it out, but can't take any back???

That would make you very annoying :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Its because the recession has made everyone grumpy and tighter than a ducks ass.

like omg totally

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

This is like, SUCH, a total mare. And we are talking TOTALLY, roysh?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Based on the above, I fear for your grades.*

* I don't really fear for your grades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Barf out. Gag me with a spoon.

I love it when someone comes and commits internet suicide by starting a thread like such.
    Tbh, i'm guilty of doing that a few times myself.

But from what i've learnt,
    On Boards, you're only allowed to moan about:
    - the recession
    - immigrants
    - Jobs
    - Dole
    - weather
    - politicians

Anything else will get you crucified!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

You re probably a spa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

Kiera wrote: »

Is there anything you don't hate? Or criticize on boards ever?

I love it when someone comes and commits internet suicide by starting a thread like such.
    Tbh, i'm guilty of doing that a few times myself.

But from what i've learnt,
    On Boards, you're only allowed to moan about:
    - the recession
    - immigrants
    - Jobs
    - Dole
    - weather
    - politicians

Anything else will get you crucified!

noted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

OP, I wouldn't worry about. Some people are just naturally uptight, they can't help it!!!!! I personally tnink it's a terrible affliction, the poor things were born that way.........
    I don't see where you were being insulting by the way, in actual fact I think it was more insulting to teenagers the comment about them posting here during the summer.......
    Some people can take a bit of slagging and others can't. If it bothers you about the bebo slagging, apologise as it's the only way he might be able to be your mate again but tell the girlie friend to get some cop on..... how the hell would she expect you to go out in the middle of finals?

Fair play to ya for taking the txt spk slagging on the chin by the way, see, no one mortally wounded or destroyed for life........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭mrmac

bigeasyeah wrote: »
    You re probably a spa

Ah now, that's not very nice - tut tut.

How's that supposed to help the poor thing, eh?

"If you can't say something nice, then you should say feck all" as my dear old Gran used to mumble through her oxygen mask.

yes.. im very upset by that nasty comment.. perhaps i am taking it too seriously???!!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

in all honesty, people are under a lot more stress these days; even those who aren't worked up over money/jobs etc are influenced by the grim mood around them. the grumpiness is contagious.

however,id be pretty annoyed if someone started ripping the piss out of my relationship and claimed it was all in jest.perhaps the tone or context that you're cracking these jokes in is wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

Awww, in just after recession.

Balls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

yes.. im very upset by that nasty comment.. perhaps i am taking it too seriously???!!??

AH is full of people with many different fields of expertise.

However you need to follow proper etiquette here and post a photo of yourself. As in order for us to address the issues at hand properly we need to see who we're talking to.

Help us help you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

So have you learned anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Ash_M

I think we've all learnt a valuable lesson here.
    Never expect any sort of sympathy on AH.