Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Irish Hip Hop/Rap?

• 26-05-2009 9:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭

Heyo,

Im looking for the best in irish hip hop and rap.

I've been impressed by Messiah J and the Experts and am looking for any other suggestions. Irish rap just seems to be underexposed and im having trouble finding the best irish hip hop.

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭Raoul

If you give Rob Kelly a chance and listen to the mixtapes that he releases he is very good. I don't really know much else apart from him and Messiah J, who I saw live and were very good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 TOP GiMP

Class A's are, eh, class aswell (Nu Centz, Rawsoul, Redzer and Treawrizt).

The Infomatics (on RTE's Raw Sessions tonight) released what was probably one of the top 5 Irish albums last year are well worth a listen.

Then there's Jee4ce from up north who is pretty well known in UK hiphop circles, espically scotland.

Then there's RiRa who just released his solo album, he was a member of Scary Eire and has worked with people as wide ranging as Sinead O'Connor and Tricky.

And on top of all that we have 3 of the best turntablist in the world.

DJ Tuki, who won the Coronoa DJ World championships.

DJ Flip who won the european DMC championships and the ITF world Scratch championships.

And, DJ Mek, who was a member of Scary Eire and has worked with people like House of Pain, La Coka Nostra, Masta Ace and Ian Brown.

all in all, for such a small island we have a lot of very good artists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Those are all excellent suggestions.

I also enjoy

The Correkt Minds.
    www.myspace.com/correktminds
    Free mixtape on their myspace. Very dark, Wu Tang sort of vibe to it.

Maverick Sabre
    www.myspace.com/mavericksabre
    He's half English and has more of a UK accent but he's absolutely incredible. Free 9th Wonder/Pete Rock mixtape on his myspace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Get your ass down to a gig! Went to the gig in Eamann Doran's the other night and it was quality. I was expecting it to be very cliquey but everyone was sound. You'd be having the craic with some of the performers and next minute they'd be up on the stage giving it loads.
    Great performances from Class As, Jee4ce and Pop Dogg. Really enjoyed CMX's set too. That lad has come a long way.

Was talking to CMX after the gig and it was actually him who organised it and he was telling me that they would be running more gigs and that the next one would be bigger and better. If people realised how good of a resource we have on our doorsteps Irish hip hop could take off bigtime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Yeah Mexy is quality too, and fair play to him for organising that mini tour they just did, was some class artists on it.

Forgot totally about the african lads living in Ireland like pop dog and Leiko, millionare boys etc, we have a lot of good heads, also, out west there's Devient, Native Ted, Jimmy Penguine and Micky fingers, Rubber bandits in limerick, Micky gatch down in cork is one of the best freestylers anywhere.

Also Richie Filth from Greystones is one of the nicest when he botheres, living in Barcelona now, his song "On the line" he made with Marc stretch and Dj Flip was use on "The Raw Sessions" last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

The Rubberbandits of course. How could I forget.
    http://www.myspace.com/rubberbanditspranks

They're playing Limerick on Sunday... think I might go to that. Last time I saw them it was mental. They're playing Dublin (Twisted Pepper) on the 12th of June as well.

The actual artists are all sound. Pretty much the only audience are other artists. I went to a gig in Dublin about 3 years ago, met a couple of them, who introduced me to a load of other people. Now whenever I go I know everybody. The crowds going to IHH gigs are absolutely tiny, and it's always the same people. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Rawsoul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Cullo

Cullo - http://www.myspace.com/cullobeats
    Dynamic Grammar - http://www.myspace.com/dynamicgrammar

and if your interested you can download my album here http://www.mediafire.com/?w2nhorwimym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭ItsNugget

Check my stuff if ya like!
    www.myspace.com/yourmannugget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Dave Total

There was a great Northern Ireland Rap act called Just a Word a few years ago, i don't think they are going anymore but i remember one of their lyrics being "we got sounds bouncin round like a fat set of tits"
    Genius if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 urbanize

Dave Total wrote: »
    There was a great Northern Ireland Rap act called Just a Word a few years ago, i don't think they are going anymore but i remember one of their lyrics being "we got sounds bouncin round like a fat set of tits"
    Genius if you ask me.

http://www.myspace.com/justaword also called jaw.. dont think they are about anymore like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Snoop Dogg

house of pain
    jump around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭gottahavehouse

siyo is only after droppin his debut mixtape but hes being talked as the biggest mc to come out of ireland in a long time, hes number one in the irish hip hop soundclick charts this week with his debut release and he has support from all of the class a;s like collie, terawrizt, redzer... check out his bebo and theres links to his facebook too he's the real deal

http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=8495611356

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭A_Fitz

Im looking for the best in irish hip hop and rap.

Ruberbandits are the best thing in Irish hip-hop at the moment, IMHO

Ri-Ra's LP is pretty good, well worth a purchase

B-Wonder from Cork can spit fairly well

Infomatics could do with a bit more 'bite' for my liking, but they're still quality

And check Scary Eire if you haven't already

Check youtube or myspace for all of the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭constance tench

choicecuts here,the best in underground irish hip hop ...

www.myspace.com/frequencysounds

www.myspace.com/yolazy1