Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tailors in Bangkok

• 26-05-2009 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭

Heading to Thailand in August and have heard that tailors over there can be good value. Has anybody ever bought a suit of 1 of these guys and what was the quality like? Any recommendations on certain tailors to go to?

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭LaMer

I'd say ask a taxi man or tuk tuk driver, they seem to know where all the best tailors are ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

id ike to know this too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

+1.

Will be going to a christening the weekend we get back from SEA. Mrs. Longlegs will be looking for somewhere she can get an outfit made up for her in BKK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭ofjames

i'd recommend Milan Suit on Sukhumvit Road, very close to the Asoke skytrain stop.

It's a dingy little shop but the tailor is quality and reasonable. He will do at least 2/3 fittings to make sure you get it right so you will need to be in the city for at least 3 days to get the fit perfect.

I was delighted with the suit and shirts I got from there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

I can also recommend Milan Suit near Asoke Skytrain Station ( its just beside the steps of one of the exits and a couple of doors down from a nice English pub )
    I was blind too as regards Bangkok tailors because there are a lot of sharks out there to say the least. Tricks like agreeing a material and then having it substituted for a cheaper alternative are commonplace in Bangers and elsewhere.

You'll see signs up outside some tailors with offers of 2 suits and 3 tailormade shirts all for €120, I'd tend to avoid those places because in fairness at prices that low you are more than likely going to get something where the sleeve of the jacket falls off in the middle of a wedding (hopefully not your own:p)

I got the recommendation for Milan Suit from this excellent thread
    http://www.lonelyplanet.com/thorntree/thread.jspa?threadID=1207953

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Hmmmmm, I should really get a suit made in BKK and Milan sounds like a decent place to have a look. I know feck all about suits though.

Milan Suit is close to Asoke but in the direction of Nana is it? And on the same side of the road as Times Square?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Yeah yer man in Milan is decent enough- he was giving out to me for expecting him to tailor a suit in 2 days which shows he has some dedication to his craft unlike many other BKK tailors, some of whom promise it done in 6 hours flat.

His shop is more or less smack bang at the bottom of a set of steps leading up to Asoke station. Im not sure what side of Sukumvit Times Square is on but if you know the Landmark hotel further down towards Nana? Well Milan Suit is on the opposite side of Sukumvit to the Landmark.

Also if you are getting some tailor made shirts done at the same time he should give you a nice discount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

RATM wrote: »
    Yeah yer man in Milan is decent enough- he was giving out to me for expecting him to tailor a suit in 2 days which shows he has some dedication to his craft unlike many other BKK tailors, some of whom promise it done in 6 hours flat.

His shop is more or less smack bang at the bottom of a set of steps leading up to Asoke station. Im not sure what side of Sukumvit Times Square is on but if you know the Landmark hotel further down towards Nana? Well Milan Suit is on the opposite side of Sukumvit to the Landmark.

Also if you are getting some tailor made shirts done at the same time he should give you a nice discount.
    Found the place anyway, even though those directions managed to confuse me more than help me.

It was far too busy a time to be in that area so I'll pop back again soon and have a chat with the owner.