Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident outside geoffs

• 26-05-2009 5:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭

I was walking home from town today and there was a young fella hurt bleeding outside geoffs, anyone know what happened?

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭paddy smith

id say he got a bayten boy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

at 6 today this happened, thats pretty bad even for town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

id say he got a bayten boy :D
    jaysus that must have been pure obvious or maybe he fell over his shoe laces walking up johns street

theres a lot of this going on at the moment,
    i passed out by johns pk last week and there was a fella flat out on the ground covered in blood outside o reagans shop.

theres a lot of this going on at the moment,
    i passed out by johns pk last week and there was a fella flat out on the ground covered in blood outside o reagans shop.
    i don,t know whats goin on heard about a lad there alright last week that got jumped by three lads and his head stamped and jumped on!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

There seems to be a lot of it happening.

4 transition year pupils from Waterpark were attacked during their lunchbreak 2 weeks ago, near the three shippes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭baronflyguy

dazftw wrote: »
    I was walking home from town today and there was a young fella hurt bleeding outside geoffs, anyone know what happened?
    Did anyone go over and see if he was ok or did people just walk by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

There was an ambulance there! I didnt think it was that bad when I went to walk past I had to step over a pool of blood :eek:

He must have been like 11 - 12 his head was covered in a big bandage! There was group of young people there about his age just smiling they deffo had something to do with it! Theres no way he could have just fallen over and lost that much blood...

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭merlante

ziedth wrote: »
    at 6 today this happened, thats pretty bad even for town.

There's a certain time, usually between 7pm and 8pm when things get quiet enough and you'd often see scumbags roaming around John st. looking for trouble. Pity the cops wouldn't drag them away and beat the **** out of them. Ah well, the law has become civilised even if the world hasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

merlante wrote: »
    There's a certain time, usually between 7pm and 8pm when things get quiet enough and you'd often see scumbags roaming around John st. looking for trouble. Pity the cops wouldn't drag them away and beat the **** out of them. Ah well, the law has become civilised even if the world hasn't.

True. Anytime I'm dropping in to pick up a takeaway, there's always a gang of them around, and the way they'd look at you would make you wonder what their intentions are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭googlefan

I had heard of a gang of Easten Europeans who were ambusing lads in the O'Connell St/Glen area...

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

googlefan wrote: »
    I had heard of a gang of Easten Europeans who were ambusing lads in the O'Connell St/Glen area...

...and yet we've heard nothing about it?

I'm curious is there a need to label them?,

Although people have mentioned scumbags in this thread nobody says for example "There's a bunch of Irish Ballybeg scumbags beating people up", yet we need to label others as eastern European to separate them from normal scumbags?

Is there a weird class system for scumbags now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Well. to be fair there is a bit of a difference between the different types of scum.Its not racism to point out that eastern european scum, normally with military training, are a bit more savage than the olde home grown scum.Its not labeling all eastern europeans as thugs or anything just saying that type of scum is fairly bad.There have been a few cases of male gang rape around Ireland that has been linked to various gangs as it is part of the type of humiliation and violence that they use in their gang warfare, these type of cases are more likely to be linked with foreign nationals as opposed to Irish.Its not racist its just the way it is.
    Not looking forward to how bad the Irish youth of the future are going to be either by the sounds of things.I know its a conception that every generation gets worse or appears worse to in the eyes of nostalgic oldies, but the level of viscious crimes being commited by increasingly younger people is scary and its probably only going to get worse.
    I blame the tele and comfuter games and that snoop diggety dogg fella.

I live in an area where there are a lot of eastern europeans and go to a gym (Spirit) in another area where there are lots of eastern europeans, and I know that I will never get any hassle from them. As soon as I hear an accent I relax, it's the Waterford lot that you have to be worried about.

In my opinion, the eastern europeans have made the inner city streets a lot safer.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

merlante wrote: »
    I live in an area where there are a lot of eastern europeans and go to a gym (Spirit) in another area where there are lots of eastern europeans, and I know that I will never get any hassle from them. As soon as I hear an accent I relax, it's the Waterford lot that you have to be worried about.

In my opinion, the eastern europeans have made the inner city streets a lot safer.

Certainly a refreshing post

look lads wherever ya go there,s always goin to be some sort of element about there,s scum like that everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

honestly i wouldnt care if they were from mars, but having said that (this probably been addressed a million times on joe duffy) but really we need a legal system with teeth. The Gardi can go out and arrest all the scumbags all they want but when they get a slap on the wrist then its like trying to hold back the tide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

Cabaal wrote: »
    ...and yet we've heard nothing about it?

I'm curious is there a need to label them?,

Although people have mentioned scumbags in this thread nobody says for example "There's a bunch of Irish Ballybeg scumbags beating people up", yet we need to label others as eastern European to separate them from normal scumbags?

Is there a weird class system for scumbags now?

There's nothing wrong with calling a spade a spade. If it's a fact that a group of lads were Eastern European - what's wrong with saying so?

People might not mention that Irish scumbags are Irish because...we're in Ireland - surely it's to be assumed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Never had any hassle from eastern europeans. 99% of the ones I meet when out I get a great laugh off them. The other 1% where just boring.

seanybiker wrote: »
    Never had any hassle from eastern europeans. 99% of the ones I meet when out I get a great laugh off them. The other 1% where just boring.

What bugs me is all these outrageous rumours about eastern europeans doing X, Y, Z. Even if a story is true, it's repeated so many times that people who live in area where there are no non-nationals starting getting scared about going to areas where there are loads of non-nationals, like the city centre.

My point is that I have never gotten the slightest bit of hassle from any of them. There are irish scumbags wandering the streets, my gf only the other day only narrowly avoided having to hand over money to a few of them, but the fact that there are more people on the streets means that the cowards don't find people on their own on empty streets nearly as much. I don't know what way the inner city would be now if the non-nationals hadn't moved in. I reckon it would be very lonely and dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

Certainly a refreshing post

Headline: Merlante in 'Glass is half full' shocker! :D

Only kidding Merlante. I actually applaud your positive outlook on all-things Waterford. Good for you...

There was a train of thought that the Eastern Europeans were very tough, so it's quite possible that the local scum won't approach people for fear they're picking on the wrong person... Looks like schoolkids have become the new prey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

i better start looking more eastern european :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

googlefan wrote: »

... you're driving down O'Connell St and notice a tree blocking the road. When you get out to investigate, a gang of Eastern Europeans jump out from behind the bushes and ambush you. That's what I heard anyway :D

old gregg wrote: »
    ... you're driving down O'Connell St and notice a tree blocking the road. When you get out to investigate, a gang of Eastern Europeans jump out from behind the bushes and ambush you. That's what I heard anyway :D

I hear that a load of jewish nazis are living in 'them apartments' and they do be injecting aids into cans of coke in all the shops in Waterford.

gscully wrote: »
    Headline: Merlante in 'Glass is half full' shocker! :D

Only kidding Merlante. I actually applaud your positive outlook on all-things Waterford. Good for you...

If you look for the negativity, you'll find it. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

There was a few attacks happening about two months ago in town on a Friday/Saturday evening, on teenagers, a friend of mine ended up hospitalised and needed an operation on his eye, another got kicked to the ground by a group of four girls who also decked the guy that was with us. In that instance they were Irish girls, and the guards knew at least one of them as she'd caused trouble before. However, when we went up to press charges their answer was "If they do it again then we can do something".
    I mean, in all fairness, do they need us hospitalised to do anything about assault?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Scotchie

"I blame the tele and comfuter games and that snoop diggety dogg fella. " - LMAO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Trouble by geoffs. Someone probably took someones elses poetry book or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

Trouble by geoffs. Someone probably took someones elses poetry book or something.

i lolled

old gregg wrote: »

....I also heard that picnic baskets are just not safe down that area of Waterford, something about two bears wearings tie's attacking people....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

....I also heard that picnic baskets are just not safe down that area of Waterford, something about two bears wearings tie's attacking people....
    I heard that one of them is smarter than the average bear ....

deisemum wrote: »
    There seems to be a lot of it happening.

4 transition year pupils from Waterpark were attacked during their lunchbreak 2 weeks ago, near the three shippes.

the scumbags who done this were caught and now face a day in court,
    hope they get banged up for a while,
    these same idiots hang around town all day everyday bumming money from anyone and everyone and abuse people for no reason at all,
    anyone who go in around or work in the city center (john roberts sq area) would know these bunch a scumbags fairly well.
    filth is all they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭chrism2007

the 1% are probably the ones that are bringing crystal meth to Ireland :pac:

lovely chaps