Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ireland a racist country?

• 24-05-2009 3:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

Do you think Ireland is the racist country? Many the foreign people come here in the good times, but did the Irish welcome the foreign man?

This country is not so the good now. So do ye think Irish man embrace the foreigner in good time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭corkhero

Is the pope catholic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 denon

corkhero wrote: »
    Is the pope catholic?

Are you catholic? You irish so think yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

denon wrote: »
    but did the Irish welcome the foreign man?

No, but we certainly did welcome the foreign women, they can stay.

The irish woman sexy two

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭corkhero

Are you catholic? You irish so think yes

as a matter of fact im not :)

Missing out on communion on confirmation was a balls, all my friends were loaded and i wasnt :(

but back on topic, yes we are a racist country.

Missing out on communion on confirmation was a balls, all my friends were loaded and i wasnt :(

But why you racist? I dont undrstand

Missing out on communion on confirmation was a balls.

i under stand know. You prefer to play the footbaal than the communion and confirmation . thats ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Do you think Ireland is the racist country? Many the foreign people come here in the good times, but did the Irish welcome the foreign man?

This country is not so the good now. So do ye think Irish man embrace the foreigner in good time?

It has an under lying racial attitude.

Won't say out and out racist country, but at is fearful of change that new people bring with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I hate everyone equally.

Caoimhín wrote: »
    I hate everyone equally.

O you even hate your own man:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Is the pope catholic?

Only because he was forced into it at young age before he could make an free and informed adult decision. Coincidentally that's also his reason for being in the Hitler youth.

I wonder who does his ironing? It must be delicious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Neverwhere

if we aren't a racist country, than i wonder why all of the indian and african families in my neighborhood won't answer their doors to anyone.

i under stand know. You prefer to play the footbaal than the communion and confirmation . thats ok

Pope john paul II was the athletic pope . he play goals for Cracovia Kraków, as young man. he under stand you

Neverwhere wrote: »
    if we aren't a racist country, than i wonder why all of the indian and african families in my neighborhood won't answer their doors to anyone.

They might be afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I'm an equal opportunity offender

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Maybe they're racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

No TV license?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

AH'ers are the most imaginative people in the world. FACT.
    • Are we racists Father?
    • All Irish wimmins are wagons / cheating cnuts
    • What limb would you give up just to lamp hur?
    • Are we racist Father?
    • All Irish wimmins have melted lego heads, /discuss
    • Where has Pighead / Snyper / Frada / Yore ma disappeared to, haven’t seen them around?
    • <Insert Fat Cowen / Harney pic> Lulz all around
    • Are we racist Father?
    • Wimmins are all ch3ating hooooers! :mad:

It’s a nauseating loop of fcuking tripe..

On topic: The Chinese are a great bunch of lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I've been here ten years now. I'd say the Irish wouldn't know proper racism if it hit them in their face. I've met hundreds and hundreds of Irish people over the past 10 years, for work and socially, and have not encountered anything I would deam racist bar the occasional misguided ignorant rumblings of a select few.

The only place it seems, to me, to rear it's ugly head is here on boards from a select few keyboard warriors.

Abigayle wrote: »
    AH'ers are the most imaginative people in the world. FACT.
    • Are we racists Father?
    • All Irish wimmins are wagons / cheating cnuts
    • What limb would you give up just to lamp hur?
    • Are we racist Father?
    • All Irish wimmins have melted lego heads, /discuss
    • Where has Pighead / Snyper / Frada / Yore ma disappeared to, haven’t seen them around?
    • <Insert Fat Cowen / Harney pic> Lulz all around
    • Are we racist Father?
    • Wimmins are all ch3ating hooooers! :mad:
    It’s a nauseating loop of fcuking tripe..

On topic: The Chinese are a great bunch of lads!

Sorry Abigayle I did not undarstand that. I think youre not racist though. You like Chinese man. Me two

Mena wrote: »
    I've been here ten years now. I'd say the Irish wouldn't know proper racism if it hit them in their face. I've met hundreds and hundreds of Irish people over the past 10 years, for work and socially, and have not encountered anything I would deam racist bar the occasional misguided ignorant rumblings of a select few.

The only place it seems, to me, to rear it's ugly head is here on boards from a select few keyboard warriors.

But Irish man do know racism. In England many years ago poster says NO DOGS, NO BLACKS, NO IRISH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

It is not possible for a "country" to be racist, only it's populace, and even then only a percentage of that populace.

Every country has a percentage that will hate various other demographics for various reasons.

This is not rocket science.

But Irish man do know racism. In England many years ago poster says NO DOGS, NO BLACKS, NO IRISH.

What about an ugly black Irish woman :/

Fvcked from all sides.

Meh.. small minded people.

Dragan wrote: »
    It is not possible for a "country" to be racist, only it's populace, and even then only a percentage of that populace.

Every country has a percentage that will hate various other demographics for various reasons.

This is not rocket science.

So all the country are racist equally? Why so deep south usa very racist? It not a country in itself but why more than rest of usa?

so why the Scandinavian countries least racist?

So all the country are racist equally? Why so deep south usa very racist? It not a country in itself but why more than rest of usa?

so why the Scandinavian countries least racist?

What??:confused:

What Dragan said seemed perfectly clear to me, you've completely distorted his point to non-sensical gibberish. It maybe that I've missed something, could you clarify what exactly all the above means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I definitely think Irish people have a racist view of foreigners, and it's a sneaky racism too. Even worse than been openly racist, imo

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Personally, I think the very question "Is Ireland a racist country" very racist in it's own right. I mean, to tar an entire race of people because of the inherent actions and beliefs of a few. Well, it's ironical to say the least.

But to directly answer your question, regardless of how misplaced I feel it might be; I dont think we're racist. I think we're uncomfortable around foreigners alright. Which might sound bizarre but there is history behind alot of the goings-on.

Some peoples uncomfortableness and awkwardness is more obvious or aggressive than others, but I believe it all stems from the same well of fear and mistrust.

...and if you dont like it, you can just GET OUT! :D

I definitely think Irish people have a racist view of foreigners, and it's a sneaky racism too. Even worse than been openly racist, imo

I do agree with this. Its lulz all around if the Irish racist can find someone to agree with them, but if you confront them about their point they either do some serious back-tracking or get defensive and ranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Phsyche

So all the country are racist
    you did not understand Dragan's post.

Some people in Ireland are racist. Not Ireland is racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I love this question! I recently had an africian ask me for money I said I had none( Which I did not) she said "i only need a euro" I said "I had not got a cent" she said "I hate you Irish racist baxtards"

Its funny how people play the race card well!!!!!!

What??:confused:

What Dragan said seemed perfectly clear to me, you've completely distorted his point to non-sensical gibberish. It maybe that I've missed something, could you clarify what exactly all the above means?

I mean some countries more racist than other. Some part of country more racist than other part. What do you don't undarstand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

We might be racist, last Friday we...
    • solved our cream cracker problem
    • got rid of all the figgers
    • ran the slant eyed mikados out of the place
    • gave the coconut kickers coconut cream kickers the boot

Those damned Talifornians were taking all our jobs, let that be a lesson to them :mad:

Me, coat, door, fast motorbike...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

i wouldn't count myself a racist but what i can't stand is them using bad english/ slang, (was ist da craic)and such like, it sounds german even though its meant to come across as irish slang! Or when they don't agree with you over something and they start roaring to eachother what you can only guess is abuse about you in their language. About you. I don't think many go around and start talking irish infront of others, don't give me the irish care, we don't speak irish but you know what i mean i think itsjust bad manners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

Apart from Bonobo chimps xenophobia is innate in most primates. Who they don't know spook the fvck out of them until they acclimatise.

Racialism is propaganda that plays on xenophobia and messes with peoples heads to prevent the process of acclimatisation. I don't think Ireland is anyways worse than anywhere else in this regard. We aren't an overtly racist society at all really.

The worst societies on the planet in this regard are those where racialism and segregation have been long standing state policies like in the USA and South Africa. Unfortunately the racialist propaganda that spills out of US culture is infecting heads all over the planet.

I mean some countries more racist than other.
    Huge generalisation.
    Some part of country more racist than other part.
    Huge generalisation.
    What do you don't undarstand?
    It was the whole post, tbph.

Never mind, eh?

Hagar wrote: »
    We might be racist, last Friday we...
    • solved our cream cracker problem
    • got rid of all the figgers
    • ran the slant eyed mikados out of the place
    • gave the coconut kickers coconut cream kickers the boot
    Those damned Talifornians were taking all our jobs, let that be a lesson to them :mad:

Me, coat, door, fast motorbike...

Very funny hagar this is not humour its very serious! Its about racisism! :D

The irish men so funny:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

What country are you from and what did the bad man say?

Huge generalisation.

No so all equally racist:confused:

he he he... Coconuts. I remember the first time I heard that when I came to NZ. Hadn't a bloody clue what people were talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Try going round with the strides on this time, see if theres a difference.

Very funny hagar this is not humour its very serious! Its about racisism! :D
    It's AH, the official free-fire zone on Boards. :D

Huge generalisation.

funny because you generalisation with saying same thing all time.

Huge generalisation Huge generalisation Huge generalisation Huge generalisation

Anthing beter to say?

Hagar wrote: »
    It's AH, the official free-fire zone on Boards. :D

Oh no its not!

/Puts Hagar on Muppet/Troll list

Rabies wrote: »
    Oh no its not!

Oh yes it is.......( Here we go with another childs game)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

I'm not racist i hate everyone equally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Phsyche

funny because you generalisation with saying same thing all time.

Huge generalisation Huge generalisation Huge generalisation Huge generalisation

Anthing beter to say?

You start a post and then you insult the people responding?

Rabies wrote: »
    Oh no its not!

At the top, the very top, in big red crayon. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

personally to foreigners faces i think that we appear welcoming etc

but when they are not around theres jokes about the poles and them taking our jobs etc, and everyone has done it at one stage or another.

if a traveller moved in next door to you would you be happy about it? you'd want them gone

ireland is a racist country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

Ah-Watch wrote: »
    Or when they don't agree with you over something and they start roaring to eachother what you can only guess is abuse about you in their language. About you.

http://www.photoshoppix.com/modules/coppermine/albums/userpics/10004/normal_paranoia.jpg