Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

driving offence and citizenship application

• 23-05-2009 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

Stopped by guards April 2009.Tells me the car I am driving has no insurance.I was driving friends car,but because of the shock I did not go into explaing the whole story to them.I was asked to produce all paperwork to my nearst Garda station.Then I was told I was also speeding.Got my fixed notice,paid the penalty and got my 2 penalty points.I went to my Garda station next morning,explain the whole story to them,showed them both friends insurance aswell as mine.The guard on duty told me that I was not allowed to drive the car,and I will probably get court summons.I then pointed out to him,my insurance certificate states I am allowed to drive any car not belonging to me,or being hired to me(I phoned insurance company again just to make 100% sure about this anyway)He then went off with my papers,came back and said its should be ok now.Honestly,I am worried sick,because my citizenship application is in final stages,and I cant afford a court summons hanging over me head.Any idea if anything will come from this further?Any idea wwho I can phone to maybe find out if this incident is closed off now?Please,am really desperate....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

bokkieza wrote: »
    Any idea wwho I can phone to maybe find out if this incident is closed off now?Please,am really desperate....
    I would think that the logical thing to do would be to contact the Garda in question or a Garda at your local Garda Station. He/she should be able to tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Dewie

I believe the garda that you presented the necessary documents to will note the info you provided him with for the garda that stopped you. He said it 'should' be ok, and the fact that you have paid the fixed penalty, chances are you wont hear any more about it.

It could be up to 6+ months before you actually get served with a summons, so for peace of mind, speak to the garda that you showed your documents to again to clarify your situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 bokkieza

Thanks for both input lads,much appreciated.Will follow the advice and go back to them in the morning.I am dreading in going back,because I am absolutly terrified talking to guards,dont know why,just personel thing I suppose.But have to get to the end of this, because for the last 8/9 weeks it is bothering me every single day.Thanks again!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

bokkieza if what you say is accurate you have absolutely nothing to be concerned about. I mean I'm at odds to understand why you are panicked about this when you produced your documents (presumably within 10 days) at a Garda station.

Did you get the Garda's shoulder No. by the way?, that is the only thing I would suggest ie record the time, date and shoulder no. of the Garda you produced the documents to.

Mcrack,
    Thanks 4 ure view.I went to garda station first thing the next morning,showed him both friends insurance details as well as all my details,just like I said.Its just, I am worried that at first he said to me I am not allowed to drive any car except my own,after I showed him the part where it says I am allowed to drive any car not belonging to me,or being hired to me,thats when he changed his story,but my mind is playing games with me..telling me maybe he did not record everything as he should have...u know where I am going with this.Thx for ure advice about looking at number on guards shoulder,next time I will look at that.This was my FIRST time ever getting involved with the any one in the law enforcement.

Well,went to local guards again yesterday.He checked my details on their system,and nothing is showing up on my name,just a break-in into my house early January!!!Hope this is a good sign!!He just said that if I came in,showed my paperwork,why am I concern?If a summons is gonna be issued for me and I go to court,I have car insurance,I did not commit any offence,and that will be it.