Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inane things that men enjoy way more than women

• 23-05-2009 2:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭

Me and the lads were discussing this at length and I was just wondering what everyone else thinks

Some examples are:

Wire cutters - Snips
    Duct Tape
    Listening to Albums in full
    Making silly lists
    Farting loudly, seriously, I laugh myself to sleep in bed sometimes with the farts
    Garden sheds
    *insert yore ma and wankin joke here*

And so on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It ain't inane if us men enjoy it.;)

Having said that, you sure picked some inane examples.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Thats the first time I've ever heard Wire Cutters and Duct Tape referred to as sources of enjoyment...

I...I don't even wanna know. Alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

TV remote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Mrs JackDaniels

World of War Craft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Buying tools
    Discussing how mechanical things work
    Taking things apart to see how they work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

throwing a rugby ball/kicking a soccer ball/hitting a sliotar to each other for hours on end without saying a word to each other. i love it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

This is totally pointless. Its like... 'lets name the differences between men and women'.

1. Men have penises...

and so on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

Magnus wrote: »
    Taking things apart to see how they work

and not being able to put them back together.

markok84 wrote: »

Maybe that's what the wire cutters and duck tape is for.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

It's not naming differences, not that basic.
    But sometimes I enjoying duct taping things and using snips and not one single girls understands, but all my male friends totally get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Hi-definition TV.
    Leaning on gates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Lexus1976

Listening to Albums in full
    Making silly lists

The above 2 are examples of what women enjoy doing.

What the hell is this thread about?

Nah, women make lists of things they need to do or are important, men make lists about stupid things...like a list of stupid things you enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

JangoFett wrote: »
    Making silly lists

Lists are definitely oestrogen based IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

dumpster diving. Going through a skip full of junk in the hopes of finding something cool.

I'm still annoyed I didn't get those lenses out of those projectors...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭5318008!

Listening to albums in full isn't a trait associated with men or women.

It's a trait of someone who has no musical taste.

Also men enjoy sex more than women as is obvious from lilly allens new-ish song.

....oh and i vote fianna fail.

Ok, I guess I got that one wrong, but that's what we're doing here!

Mowing the lawn, I find men take a lot of secret pride in mowing the lawn right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

I'm a girl and find farting funny.

What I have noticed my guy friends to love, is talk for hours on end about music, and it drives me insaaaaane because I like different music to them. And even if i did like that type of music, I really doubt I could talk for hours about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

blowjobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,385 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Guys download every possible tv show available, same goes for music... Even if the chances of watching/listening to these is 0...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

driving cars

towel401 wrote: »
    driving cars

Parking cars......................:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

galwayrush wrote: »
    Parking cars......................:pac:

Its not that we enjoy it more,its just that we can do it properly......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I hate mowing the lawn!:confused:

There are two main things I can think off.

1) Give a guy a list of rankings in anything and they will damn sure try to be no.1 or at least do anything to increase their ranking even if nobody else cares; playing video games, picking up women, drinking the most beer. I don't literally a list of ranking in some cases just the rankings they make in their heads. Men want to be the best at everything whereas women are happy enough taking part.

2) Incredible, complete detail about irrelevant stuff. For example soccer stats, i think this is more with younger boys knowing or compiling lists of useless stuff,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Football and I am a big football fan but if you stand back and think about it it is just a group of men chasing around after a bag of wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

farts ARE funny no matter what. If you don't think farts are funny you don't have a sense of humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Mrs JackDaniels

farts ARE funny no matter what. If you don't think farts are funny you don't have a sense of humour

eh no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Farts are gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Speak for yourself. ;)
    JangoFett: Nah, women make lists of things they need to do or are important, men make lists about stupid things...like a list of stupid things you enjoy

Wrong. Women make lists of things for men to do.

Hi-Fi audio - Women do not get the point and are not remotely interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Poking a fire with a pointy stick is quite fun.

Fantasy Football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Seeing how high we can piss up the toilet wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

changing words to sound weird to make up our own new words , I dont really hear women do it unless they start copying the blokes new words.

putting on pointless accents in mid conversation

shaking our legs anywhere and everywhere if we start getting bored especially.

biting our nails, I love it and it keeps them short

picking our nose and when only blokes around, commenting on picking nose to make it seem like we dont care that were picking it, when the truth is were sussing out is it normal.

****, im convinced women dont masturbate as much as men

a good un-subtle stare at a decent looking bird, and most especially getting irritated if theres not another friend with you to appreciate the bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Pyr0 wrote: »
    Poking a fire with a pointy stick is quite fun.
    Pretty much any activity that is fire based is fun.
    Also, watching sports, with absolutely no previous knowledge of that sport. And Poker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

5318008! wrote: »

Also men enjoy sex more than women a.

Not true, think about it. You scratch your ear, which feels better, your finger or your ear?
    Women have way more nerve endings down there and as such feel a lot more than we do.

They have the much better deal.

Seaneh wrote: »
    Not true, think about it. You scratch your ear, which feels better, your finger or your ear?
    Women have way more nerve endings down there and as such feel a lot more than we do.

Very true, of course they get more out of it than us, why else would they be yelping like a knackers dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

This reminds me of the "explain it to an alien concept". The basic idea is to try and explain something to an alien who has never visited earth before and has no pre-conceptions. If it sounds silly, you probably shouldn't do it.

Soccer for instance.

Me : I spent 90 minutes chasing a leather spheroid around a plastic pitch with 9 other guys.
    Alien : Why?
    Me : For fitness, fun and to try to beat the other team.
    Alien : What did you get for beating the other team.
    Me : Well, nothing really.
    Alien : So what did you accomplish?
    Me : Well I improved my fitness.
    Alien : Which you only need to play soccer?
    Me : Erm, yeah.
    Alien : Why didn't you pick it up and run with it?
    Me : That's against the rules. You have to be skillfull with your feet to play well.
    Alien : And this dexterity is useful for other areas of your life?
    Me : Erm, no. But if you're really, really good you can get paid millions to play.
    Me : Because millions and millions of people will pay to watch you kick a leather spheroid around better than other people can.

What I've really learned from the 'explain to an alien' exercise is to not worry too much about whether what I'm doing is inane or not, as long as I'm enjoying myself.

And yes, I am a bit bored today…….

Unless they live in some backwater that practices FGM:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

SingleTasking. Nothing better then doing one thing at a time. Multitasking is a mugs game.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭5318008!

First of all that was a joke, but seeing as you made it personal i'm gonna defend the home team on this one.

It's not about nerve endings. It's about the endorphin release in your brain. It's the pleasue you feel while having sex and not the actuall feeling itself that matters.

Why are most women dissappointed with their first time?
    Why do women say that sex isn't good with so and so when sex is always good for men?
    Why do women masturbate nowhere near as much as men?
    Why is it that only men seem to feel so good after sex that we just drift off to sleep?

:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Luisella

Vaginas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

I can think of a few i like doing,some already mentioned though.

HD-tv, Oh yeah!
    Watching discovery
    Sorting out the weekly shop into the presses, (she just throws the shopping in arseways).
    Cars, thats watching,reading,drooling over cars,anything to do with them.
    Getting the Lidl/Aldi mag to see what power tools are there,then buying stuff you don't need, (last purchase,spot welder,don't know what its for BUT you never know)
    Sorting stuff in the shed,Everything has its place ladies.

I'm sure theres lots more,i'll think later,tired now from all my manly chores today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Is it just me or are women hopeless at giving instructions? This is a constant source of frustration with the girlfriend.

Her: Put it there.
    Me: Where?
    Her: They're biscuits.
    Me: I know, but where do they go?
    Her: Well, this press is full...
    Me: (still holding biscuits) There are several presses...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Sitting in a pub with a pint and a paper and minding your own business.
    Reading catalogues from electronic stores.
    Watching the match, any match, any sport, any time.
    Walking the dog.
    Putting on a pair of shoes without having to think about it too much.
    Not having to listen to wimmin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

I quite like all the things mentioned. Apart from pissing on the walls!

Alot of girls **** alot more than they make out, from what I've learnt in my circle of friends! Some don't at all though which I find very weird. Though, my boyfriend is in another country so maybe what I'm doing isn't an average amount! hmmm... :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

This reminds me of the "explain it to an alien concept". The basic idea is to try and explain something to an alien who has never visited earth before and has no pre-conceptions. If it sounds silly, you probably shouldn't do it.

Soccer for instance.

Me : I spent 90 minutes chasing a leather spheroid around a plastic pitch with 9 other guys.
    Me : For fitness, fun and to try to beat the other team.
    Alien : What did you get for beating the other team.
    Me : Well, nothing really.
    Alien : So what did you accomplish?
    Me : Well I improved my fitness.
    Alien : Which you only need to play soccer?
    Me : Erm, yeah.
    Alien : Why didn't you pick it up and run with it?
    Me : That's against the rules. You have to be skillfull with your feet to play well.
    Alien : And this dexterity is useful for other areas of your life?
    Me : Erm, no. But if you're really, really good you can get paid millions to play.
    Me : Because millions and millions of people will pay to watch you kick a leather spheroid around better than other people can.

What I've really learned from the 'explain to an alien' exercise is to not worry too much about whether what I'm doing is inane or not, as long as I'm enjoying myself.

And yes, I am a bit bored today…….

Instead you should have learned football is boring to watch. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

I hate mowing the lawn!:confused:

There are two main things I can think off.

1) Give a guy a list of rankings in anything and they will damn sure try to be no.1 or at least do anything to increase their ranking even if nobody else cares; playing video games, picking up women, drinking the most beer. I don't literally a list of ranking in some cases just the rankings they make in their heads. Men want to be the best at everything whereas women are happy enough taking part.

2) Incredible, complete detail about irrelevant stuff. For example soccer stats, i think this is more with younger boys knowing or compiling lists of useless stuff,

Since when do people mow the lawn, I cut the grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Claiming that women don't like things because they totally know all women

Also: Farts are disgusting, but Terrence and Phillip are hilarious. Go figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

and being 100% positive it wasnt our fault its broken now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Quoting from movies
    Jumping onto/over things
    Censorsh!t wrote: »
    I'm a girl and find farting funny.

Marry me?