Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€3500 car loan

• 22-05-2009 10:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭

We all know about the banks/ credit/ full formal procedures but still...

I applied on Tuesday lunchtime for a small car loan. The questions they asked you wouldn't hear from a guard. The woman told me I'd hear back on Wednesday evening or at the latest Thursday morning (long enough to have to wait about a piddling couple of grand). I rang Thursday afternoon (yesterday) and I spoke to a guy that said that there was no word back yet getting the usual computer-says-no/ condescension/ you-obviously-don't-know-this-is-how-we-work attitude. So I'm still waiting and I've been told all I can do is wait.

Is it just me or is this an unreasonable amount of time to be expected to wait for a couple of bob????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I don't think it's unreasonable at all.
    It was the banks giving out money so easily that caused a lot of problems for people and now they're copping on to themselves..fair enough I say.

Not really motors thread either..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Maybe they can't decide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

SV wrote: »
    It was the banks giving out money so easily that caused a lot of problems for people and now they're copping on to themselves..fair enough I say.

SV speaks the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

I would think they should be faster than that. The OP gave them all the info they needed on Tuesday, it's a miniscule loan, no reason to be left hanging this long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Hold on a second.. the banks are being dodgy about giving out loans?!

No way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

SV wrote: »
    I don't think it's unreasonable at all.

Not really motors thread either..?
    Hold on a second.. the banks are being dodgy about giving out loans?!

No way!

RTFQ
    I would think they should be faster than that. The OP gave them all the info they needed on Tuesday, it's a miniscule loan, no reason to be left hanging this long.

That's how I feel. We didn't end up where we are because the banks gave approval on puny loans within 72 hours afterall....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I got approval for a 3k car loan in about 24 hours 2 months ago,what bank you with OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

cantdecide wrote: »
    RTFQ

I did and I answered it.

What's your problem? It wasn't to your liking?
    Get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

Maybe they can't decide?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Computer sez jaysus I dunno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Computer sez jaysus I dunno

The answer isn't the end of the world one way or another but I'd be happy if the computer would just stop hanging around and say something like it promised it would 2 days ago...

(protocol is fine but this is the actually issue, btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

jackncoke wrote: »
    I got approval for a 3k car loan in about 24 hours 2 months ago,what bank you with OP?

Same as. Mine was a fair bit more but heard back within 24hours (approved.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭esharknz

I applied to AIB for a €4K loan and got this easily enough.
    Very few questions as they can look up my financials as I've my accounts with them.