Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby star in car crash?

• 18-05-2009 3:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭twenty8

Apparently there are rumours going around that a leading Leinster rugby player was involved in a car crash this morning. Won't say who as it would be unfair if it is not true.

Has anyone else heard anything about this??

Life threatening or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Nothing in the media about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭twenty8

Don't think it is life threatening - but defo match threatening.

Read the media and saw nothing - hence my question here.... Hope it is not true as would be a massive loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Bit more concerned about the player's health than the match TBH.

Point taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Where are these "rumours" going around? Can you cite any sources whatsoever?

twenty8 wrote: »
    Don't think it is life threatening - but defo match threatening.

Read the media and saw nothing - hence my question here.... Hope it is not true as would be a massive loss.

Who is it,spill the beans.
    You seem to be the only person who has heard anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Come on,you cant say that and leave us all hanging,who was it!!!!
    Please.

Just watched the news and nothing said about it???

Obv bull****.

Must be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭jazzy_jeff

I actually passed by this today.

It happened at the junction across from the Bus Aras garage beside Donnybrook stadium.

I didn't see who it was but a van crashed into one of those Opel cars sponsored by Kenilworth Motors. Whoever it was (they were wearing navy hoody and navy rugby shorts) was up and walking about but was still taken off in an ambulance. So definitely not life threatening but possibly match threatening.

Do the development players and support staff also have use of the sponsored cars though?

jazzy_jeff wrote: »
    I actually passed by this today.

It happened at the junction across from the Bus Aras garage beside Donnybrook stadium.

I didn't see who it was but a van crashed into one of those Opel cars sponsored by Kenilworth Motors. Whoever it was (they were wearing navy hoody and navy rugby shorts) was up and walking about but was still taken off in an ambulance. So definitely not life threatening but possibly match threatening.

Do the development players and support staff also have use of the sponsored cars though?

Fitzgerald has one of them in silver,not sure but I think most players have their own cars.

Heaslip drives a Merc,Bod a Lexus etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭jazzy_jeff

Fitzgerald has one of them in silver,not sure but I think most players have their own cars.

I saw one of them driving around on Saturday as well... the problem is one was silver and the other a kind of champagne colour. I don't remember which was which though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Thought Fitzgerald had a 3 series?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

POC runs everywhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I think you're mistaking a Leinster player for Kenan & Kel.

Lads it was a first team player. Don't know about injuries though. But I imagine the media would be all over it if it was serious.

jazzy_jeff wrote: »

I think there's 4-5 players/staff who have the sponsored cars (Opel Astra) in silver.

Still haven't seen/heard anything in news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 IBeTheProphet

I don't know whether to laugh or cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

I don't know whether to laugh or cry.

Don't even start, they are professional sportsmen, what do you expect!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Bollix Sexton drives one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Bollix Sexton drives one!

saw sexton driving a JEEP on Earlsfort Tce awhile back...

I got a text from a friend yesterday saying Rocky had been in an accident and was walking around A&E in Vincents...

Had heard that it was Rocky also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

Lets hope hes better on Sat or that will be a massive massive loss. Without him Leinster aint the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/3491.php

Squad is announced and Rocky's in it, as are all the usuals... we can probably all breate a sigh of relief now!:)

Think team is being announced today - lets wait and see.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

twenty8 wrote: »
    Think team is being announced today - lets wait and see.

Dont think team will be announced until Friday lunchtime, thats normally the way anyway. Rocky wouldnt let a little thing like a car crash stop him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Munster papers reporting that it was Bernard Jackman. Who apparently was driving down the M1 ,attempted to drive through the Port Tunnel but missed the entrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

I'm starting to think this is a load of rubbush...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

If it happened all that matters is that they're ok.

We've heard nothing concrete so I can't imagine it being too bad thankfully.

Fitzgerald and Rocky were both at training today. Images are on the Inpho website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

wixfjord wrote: »
    Dont think team will be announced until Friday lunchtime, thats normally the way anyway. Rocky wouldnt let a little thing like a car crash stop him!

maybe he broke a red light
    wouldn't be the first-time he was caught 'off-side'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

conno16 wrote: »
    maybe he broke a red light
    wouldn't be the first-time he was caught 'off-side'

Jeez not in the semi , the fecker. A wonderful display of professionalism from Elsom.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Maybe it was Leo, I hear hes had a problem with eyesight since early May :cool:

Nothing to this Id say, maybe minor tip is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

wixfjord wrote: »
    Maybe it was Leo, I hear hes had a problem with eyesight since early May :cool:

Nothing to this Id say, maybe minor tip is all.

I thought he always had difficulty in seeing or else he had a huge boot as he could never seem find a piece of grass to stand on it always on an opponents foot or hand. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I think the confusion is that one of the Leinster players CARS was seen smashed up. But Doug Howlett was seen leaving the area shortly after, so mystry solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I think the confusion is that one of the Leinster players CARS was seen smashed up. But Doug Howlett was seen leaving the area shortly after, so mystry solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

RTE news said Elsom was involved in a minor accident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

parasite wrote: »
    RTE news said Elsom was involved in a minor accident

Yes, heard this also on the 6pm RTE news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Rocky was in a car accident?

I hope the car's okay!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

crisco10 wrote: »
    saw sexton driving a JEEP on Earlsfort Tce awhile back...

I got a text from a friend yesterday saying Rocky had been in an accident and was walking around A&E in Vincents...

He also drives a Leinster opel.

Good to hear Rocky's ok!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 paulgumdrop

The Indo this morning quotes Cheika as saying that Rocky is 100% fit for Saturday.
    As an aside I'm after getting a job today!!! 6 months contract in the big smoke - 3 days a week yipee! Any of you Leinster folks know where i could get accommodation or digs for Sunday, Mon & Tue each week - in Dublin?
    He also drives a Leinster opel.

Good to hear Rocky's ok!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 rugbynut

I'm delighted that he is ok to play. He's my favourite player of the HC. He just gets on with it, no bs just plain hard rugby.
    Secondly, congrats on the job - it's good to hear some good news on the job front. But a word of warning my friend - you should keep it Rugby only in the message as they are pretty strict here. But maybe try www.daft.ie or www.getdigs.ie , you could post ads there.
    However maybe your best bet is to go the the boards.ie Accommodation & Property forum or they have a Student Accommodation section which might be good for digs etc. Hope that helps
    The Indo this morning quotes Cheika as saying that Rocky is 100% fit for Saturday.
    As an aside I'm after getting a job today!!! 6 months contract in the big smoke - 3 days a week yipee! Any of you Leinster folks know where i could get accommodation or digs for Sunday, Mon & Tue each week - in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 paulgumdrop

Hi Rugbynut, Rocky has had a fantastic season alright. I think the Aussies want him back in OZ! But it's great to see him fit and well. I won't like to have been the other driver!
    Point taken about the Rugby forum - apologies to other forum users. I'll take your advice and go to the Accommodation forum - was just a bit excited about the job! Out of work for a while.
    rugbynut wrote: »
    I'm delighted that he is ok to play. He's my favourite player of the HC. He just gets on with it, no bs just plain hard rugby.
    Secondly, congrats on the job - it's good to hear some good news on the job front. But a word of warning my friend - you should keep it Rugby only in the message as they are pretty strict here. But maybe try www.daft.ie or www.getdigs.ie , you could post ads there.
    However maybe your best bet is to go the the boards.ie Accommodation & Property forum or they have a Student Accommodation section which might be good for digs etc. Hope that helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Ivory

"I won't like to have been the other driver!"

I heard the other driver was pretty upset to have hit Rocky and more than a bit freaked out. Rocky's car was a write off. Rocky apparently tried to put him at ease and told the guy: "I was thinking of replacing that wing mirror anyway." Class act. So happy he was with us for a year. And what a year! Good luck to him in the future. Now I have a team in Australia to root for. (I hear he's going to the Brumbies.)