Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€120 FO Swiss Cottage Santry, Sun 24th May

• 18-05-2009 2:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 34

Sunday the 24th of May we will be in the Swiss Cottage in Santry.

€100 + 20 Buyin, 30 minute blinds, 9K stack and 1k earlybird for anyone registered beofre 3pm.

1. Who is running the event - Club Royale
    2. The purpose of the event - We gotta work and people gotta play!
    3. Date and Location of event - 24th May, Swiss Cottage, Santry
    4. Registration and Start time of event - Reg 2.30PM Start 3PM
    5. Any prerequisites - None
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number - On The Day
    7. Type of Tournament - Hold'em
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc - €120 inc. €20 reg
    9. Cost of registration - €20
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund - 100%
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much - Nothing held back
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool - None
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels - None
    13. Starting Chips- 9K - 1k Earlybird.
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts - None
    15. Blind levels -25/50 50/100, 75/150, 100/200, 150/300, 200/400, 300/600, 400/800, 600/1200, 800/1600, 1K/2K etc etc! Levels will be replayed if needed, Game will never get crapshooty.
    16. Blind timeframes - 30 MINS
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash - Decided on the day
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill - Yes , Experienced.
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules - Yes
    20. Is there a tournament director - Yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say - Tournament Director
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered - €8 pp/h. NL 1/2

100% Payout as always, Won't ever get crapshooty!

Any of our Southsider regulars who attend this will not have to pay any registration! None, zip, zilch.

Hope to see you there.

Club Royale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭ROONEYED BY 2/3

Those wishing to play 2/5 game contact keith or dave for details, 2/5 no limit holdem €8 per person per hour super competitive offer.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭aceofspades.ie

ClubRoyale wrote: »
    Any of our Southsider regulars who attend this will not have to pay any registration! None, zip, zilch.

Hope to see you there.

Club Royale.

Live close by was considering this untill I seen above..

No Thanks.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

No Thanks.....

Wow i never even noticed that line.

I've played lots of games on the southside and have never been offered a no reg fee despite getting taxis back and forth from most.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

No Thanks.....
    So encouraging the southsider regs to come to make it a better game and help boost the prizepool is a bad idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

CHD wrote: »
    So encouraging the southsider regs to come to make it a better game and help boost the prizepool is a bad idea?

actually,ciaran, its not but the bad idea is giving them FREE regs, you should give them a discount not a freebie and its unfair to ur local players.

when r u going to have a game again in red cow?

good luck.

actually,ciaran, its not but the bad idea is giving them FREE regs, you should give them a discount not a freebie and its unfair to ur local players.

when r u going to have a game again in red cow?

good luck.
    I'm Cillian!

Game in the Red Cow is unlikely unless its another 10k GTD. No plans for it at the moment.It basically is a discount, its just a idea and trying to give players that usually play with us an incentive to come along.I really can't see why some people would not want to play because of it, if anything it could boost the numbers and improve the game.

Who is that btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭chips1234

how many players does this usually get ??

Will be first time a 100 FO is ran, its been getting enough for 3 tables i think for a 60 FO (might not be 60 FO either), will confirm later.

No it's a good idea to encourage all players not just the "regulars"

Q1 How long before I become a regular

Q2 if I travel to your southside games will I be reg free

Like I said "No Thanks..." no interest None, zip, zilch

Myles

No it's a good idea to encourage all players not just the "regulars"

Q1 How long before I become a regular

Q2 if I travel to your southside games will I be reg free

Like I said "No Thanks..." no interest None, zip, zilch

Myles

It is a good idea to encourage our regulars to go.
    Wouldn't take to long to become a reg!
    Yes if you did for a few weeks!

No problem, sorry you see a problem with it. Can't keep everyone happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Fair play for organising this....I live around the corner from the Swiss Cottage...Can't make it this Sunday but will defo get there next time.

I approached the Swiss a while ago telling them I would run a weekly tournament free of charge and bring in a few extra heads for pints etc and they turned me away :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭tensevensuited

i ran poker there last year 4 a while and couldnt get people into the place;there was more life in a morgue..also the regulars in the pub were not very friendly and the managment were not 2 helpful in letting us advertise..best of luck with ur event and getting players into the pub;but like myles i would not b happy 2 pay 20eurp reg 4 a 100euro game when ur giving free reg 2 players regardless of being regulrs r not.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

I'm Cillian!

Game in the Red Cow is unlikely unless its another 10k GTD. No plans for it at the moment.It basically is a discount, its just a idea and trying to give players that usually play with us an incentive to come along.I really can't see why some people would not want to play because of it, if anything it could boost the numbers and improve the game.

Who is that btw?

sorry,cillian, wrong spelling and wrong pronunciation on my part, hehe, its denis reyes, by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Maddogg

if i drive to D'olier street before the game will i get a free reg?

Can't keep everyone happy.

I'm sorry that you think I am unhappy because I have an opinion. :(

Yes I agree you should encourage your regulars but not at the expense of alienating possible new regulars.

No point in giving your regulars a pat on the back while I see you giving me a kick in the ssa. Especially if i'm paying and there not!!: confused:

This is how I really feel :D;):p:) :rolleyes: :o :mad: :( :eek: :cool: :P :confused: (sorry I ran outa smilies)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Wow i never even noticed that line.

I've played lots of games on the southside and have never been offered a no reg fee despite getting taxis back and forth from most.

+1.

Maddogg wrote: »
    if i drive to D'olier street before the game will i get a free reg?
    If you take pics. make a vid to prove it.

No Thanks.....

agree agree agree.:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

gtfo.

u takin the pi$$??

My point is.....

kicass.jpg

canofworms.jpg

You made your point already. Give it a rest will ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Maddogg

right i'll take a pic or a little vid of my trip to D'olier street......

myles we can split the free reg for the locals cause...........see you there:D

and i promise not to slow roll unless its paulie brown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

ClubRoyale must die

lol

Consider me finished... Thinks it's the rest of the lads you have to worry about not me!!!

Best of luck with the tourney... Hope you get it started...

Myles

ClubRoyale must die

lol
    Grow some hair :)

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Grow some hair :)

lol

[ ] another original CHD comment

[X] another original CHD comment
    FYP

Myles is making the point that the likes of the Westbury and others offer reduced or no reg for new customers. Regulars are already regulars, so they arent the ones you need to appeal to. Because this game is in the Swiss (i live closer than Myles) it would be ideal for me to play, and you may get a lot of similar players looking for a decent buyin game on an early Sunday.

If anything, its the first timers that should get the free reg fee.

I'd have reserves though about the place for a couple of reasons.

1. Its the final day of the football season and all games are a 4pm kick off. Place will be jammers and messy
    2. The swiss doesnt allow you go over time and wont listen for a second (from my experience) so what will happen if the game is looking like it will overrun?
    3. When music/DJ comes on about 9pm, will the poker be drowned out

This seems like it could be a good game though, and if i'm around on the Sunday, i'll be considering it as an option because its a decent starting stack with decent blind levels.

Myles is making the point that the likes of the Westbury and others offer reduced or no reg for new customers. Regulars are already regulars, so they arent the ones you need to appeal to. Because this game is in the Swiss (i live closer than Myles) it would be ideal for me to play, and you may get a lot of similar players looking for a decent buyin game on an early Sunday.

If anything, its the first timers that should get the free reg fee.

I'd have reserves though about the place for a couple of reasons.

1. Its the final day of the football season and all games are a 4pm kick off. Place will be jammers and messy
    2. The swiss doesnt allow you go over time and wont listen for a second (from my experience) so what will happen if the game is looking like it will overrun?
    3. When music/DJ comes on about 9pm, will the poker be drowned out

This seems like it could be a good game though, and if i'm around on the Sunday, i'll be considering it as an option because its a decent starting stack with decent blind levels.
    Yay someone makes a sensible post. Anyway, Thanks for your input, obviously you can't make everyone happy and just shouldn't try new things! Our regualrs would be travelling from Greystones/Bray area so its just a gesture for them traveling all the way out as they have been very loyal in the past.

Maybe it comes across as favouritism or just not wanting new people but its quite the opposite, just trying to give a little back.

Probably won't be done again. Hope it doesn't put people off.

Yay someone makes a sensible post. Anyway, Thanks for your input, obviously you can't make everyone happy and just shouldn't try new things! Our regualrs would be travelling from Greystones/Bray area so its just a gesture for them traveling all the way out as they have been very loyal in the past.

Maybe it comes across as favouritism or just not wanting new people but its quite the opposite, just trying to give a little back.

Probably won't be done again. Hope it doesn't put people off.

Charge everyone reg for this event regardless of where they are from. If you want to look after your regulars, make a note of everyone that plays this and give them free reg into your next 1 or 2 games that you play locally on the southside.

This way, you dont alienate anyone and you will also save money as i'd imagine your reg is only €5 or €10 on your weekly games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Its not really nice when people start giving you S H I T E about reg fee's now is it .
    Goodluck with the game and i really do hope you get the numbers to turn up.

DAMO72 wrote: »
    Its not really nice when people start giving you S H I T E about reg fee's now is it .
    Goodluck with the game and i really do hope you get the numbers to turn up.
    No its not, i stood up for you in a weird way though!

Thanks. Best of luck with your club Damo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭mkpoker

Any of our Southsider regulars who attend this will not have to pay any registration! None, zip, zilch

whats so f*****g different with southside and northside i think free reg for 1 free reg for all thats not right and 20euro reg in a pub on a sunday is a joke i cant speak for every northsider but im sure most would not play due to that remark :mad: sure your probably providing a limo service free of charge for the southsiders :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

No its not, i stood up for you in a weird way though!

Thanks. Best of luck with your club Damo.
    Thanks for your best wishes and i do hope it goes well for you. We all know how tough it is to get games going in these difficult times.
    I dont really know how this was standing up for me though????
    Quick everyone jump in and post how lol omg terribad it is, Kev said it let him reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭tensevensuited

so what is the answer 2 the only good reply,what happens when the d.j comes on and if u over run on time.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

lol ok lets all nit pick and try find bad things to moan about. Most of you probably don't even plan to play the event. I have answered why the free reg is being done, people don't like it, won't happen again. It was just a idea to try encourage more people to come. ClubRoyale would prefer people everyone paying reg, gotta make some money to pay wages. Its not like we are singling people out for special treatment and ripping off everyone else. What advantage does it give?!? None.

Sorry for trying something new and upsetting people.

Now, Tourny this Sunday. Should be a great game. If you like the look of it hope to see you there. If not maybe next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 cj-

so what is the answer 2 the only good reply,what happens when the d.j comes on and if u over run on time.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    ????????/???????????
    Also, will there be food provided for the 20 euor reg??

ClubRoyale / CHD,

Still looking to know about the following. Any answers will help people decide if they want to play and might increase your numbers.

The swiss doesnt allow you go over time and wont listen for a second (from my experience) so what will happen if the game is looking like it will overrun?

When music/DJ comes on about 9pm, will the poker be drowned out?

And cj- asks... Also, will there be food provided for the 20 euor reg??

The Swiss used to be my local because i only live down the round and i cant see where you could comfortably have a tournament. There may not even be a DJ on Sunday.

As far as over-running is concerned, if you have to finish up early, do players come back, is it an equity chop, do you speed up or skip levels etc?

I'd pressume finger food is available at the break.

cj- wrote: »
    ????????/???????????
    Also, will there be food provided for the 20 euor reg??
    CJ IF YOU TURN UP AND PAY YOUR REG ILL BUY YOU DINNER IM SURE WE WILL HAVE A FEW OBJECTIONS SO HUSS HUSS MOMS THE WORD,HA HA

ClubRoyale / CHD,

Still looking to know about the following. Any answers will help people decide if they want to play and might increase your numbers.

The swiss doesnt allow you go over time and wont listen for a second (from my experience) so what will happen if the game is looking like it will overrun?

When music/DJ comes on about 9pm, will the poker be drowned out?

And cj- asks... Also, will there be food provided for the 20 euor reg??

The Swiss used to be my local because i only live down the round and i cant see where you could comfortably have a tournament. There may not even be a DJ on Sunday.

As far as over-running is concerned, if you have to finish up early, do players come back, is it an equity chop, do you speed up or skip levels etc?

I'd pressume finger food is available at the break.
    WHAT ARE YOU ON ABOUT THERE IS NO D.J ON THAT NIGHT.
    STRUCTURE IS FINE IF YOU WANT TO PLAY COME ALONG IF NOT BEST OF LUCK ELSE WHERE

WHAT ARE YOU ON ABOUT THERE IS NO D.J ON THAT NIGHT.
    STRUCTURE IS FINE IF YOU WANT TO PLAY COME ALONG IF NOT BEST OF LUCK ELSE WHERE

LOL are you for real?

I asked the question about the DJ and i'm waiting on an answer, but tbh, you can go fk yourselves now if this is the time of feedback you're giving when i'm asking a genuine question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Same crowd that ran a cash league in the northside and made them travel to the red cow for the final...

Im also a 10 minute walk away, no interest in the tournament but what are the chances of a cash game and if there is what time?

LOL are you for real?

I asked the question about the DJ and i'm waiting on an answer, but tbh, you can go fk yourselves now if this is the time of feedback you're giving when i'm asking a genuine question.

THERE IS NO DJ ON THE NIGHT AS I SAID TANKS FOR YOUR SILLY REMARK WE ENJOY A FREINDLY GAME AND WOULD PREFER IF YOU TOOK YOUR ATTITUDE SOMEWHERE ELSE, TANK YOU

KIND REGARDS CLUB ROYALE.

bohsman wrote: »
    Same crowd that ran a cash league in the northside and made them travel to the red cow for the final...

Im also a 10 minute walk away, no interest in the tournament but what are the chances of a cash game and if there is what time?

SHOULD KICK OFF AT 5 OR SO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

As far as the structure goes if it gets 30 runners it should be finished by 11.

THERE IS NO DJ ON THE NIGHT AS I SAID TANKS FOR YOUR SILLY REMARK WE ENJOY A FREINDLY GAME AND WOULD PREFER IF YOU TOOK YOUR ATTITUDE SOMEWHERE ELSE, TANK YOU

KIND REGARDS CLUB ROYALE.

Its pretty obvious that the only one with an attitude is you. I dont know how you're involved with ClubRoyale but thats how you sign off, but all promoters know that when they advertise tournaments, they are requested to answer any reasonable questions put to them.

I asked genuine questions and you spout off by saying "What are you talking about..." very professional indeed.

There's a lot of games of a similar buyin on this weekend around Dublin-Dundalk area and its up to us to try and choose which game we think gives the most value or has the best structure, and you cant even answer a simple question about your game.

I've probably only stayed in Dublin one weekend since Christmas and wouldnt have minded a game on my doorstep. Cheers fot your warm, friendly approach. GL with your game

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

ClubRoyale wrote: »

Club Royale.

Was considering this also...
    I have played many of your games in the past..
    But No more!!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

PS Club Royale would do well to look back at the history on boards regarding City West, & more recently The Poker Room in Tallaght.
    The attitude come or F**K off really doesnt work.
    Think about it logically.... for every southsider you get due to free reg you would probobly get 3 or 4 locals.
    Belive me I am a lot nearer this than Myles & Ideffo would have played this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭byrner1

What time does the DJ start at :D

Ya in form for dancing paul???