Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike Fitting - Anyone tried this company?

• 18-05-2009 9:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭

Hi All,

After abandoning our club 100 on Saturday at 48 miles due to back pain I've started thinking about getting some professional help on my bike set up...This is mainly because a couple of the guys in the group said that they noticed I seemed to be a bit off centre on the bike and I haven't really been able to get fully comfortable on my bike since getting over a back injury last year..Anyways, I looked up on the web to see if there were any services like this out there and found the company below...I was just wondering if anyone has used them and if they found them good?...Or would be as well going to somewhere like cycleways or cycle superstore if they have a service like this...Cheers

http://www.irishfit.ie/bikesetup.html?gclid=CIz0y-bBxZoCFRYpFQodGiCDrw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I'm going to be heading along to them in a few weeks myself. Not basing it off any personal recommendation, but they look to be the business, so will give it a punt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭BaBiT

I'm going to be heading along to them in a few weeks myself. Not basing it off any personal recommendation, but they look to be the business, so will give it a punt

Does it take long to get an appointment with them?...Was hoping to get to them quite quickly to avoid my back problem getting aggravated...Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭bunnygreen

Hi,i was out there just before the May bank holiday,i rang the previous Thursday and got an appointment the following Wednesday.I,ve had a few fittings in the past and i have to say this was the best.They put you up on the bike (on the turbo)and film you pedalling,view the results and using the software they are able to see what your optimum position is,they connect up various angles etc.It was also great to analyze my pedealling stroke,i found out i was losing power by raising my heel to much.I raced the following weekend and found i was definitely more comfortable on the bike.Anyway i would highly recommend them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

bunnygreen wrote: »
    Hi,i was out there just before the May bank holiday,i rang the previous Thursday and got an appointment the following Wednesday.I,ve had a few fittings in the past and i have to say this was the best.They put you up on the bike (on the turbo)and film you pedalling,view the results and using the software they are able to see what your optimum position is,they connect up various angles etc.It was also great to analyze my pedealling stroke,i found out i was losing power by raising my heel to much.I raced the following weekend and found i was definitely more comfortable on the bike.Anyway i would highly recommend them.

How much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Jawgap wrote: »
    How much?

€70 according to the website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

rottenhat wrote: »
    €70 according to the website.

Missed that, thanks.

I'll ask about eye tests if I ring:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭KStaford

bunnygreen wrote: »
    They put you up on the bike (on the turbo)and film you pedalling

Do they put you up on "your" bike or "a" bike ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

KStaford wrote: »
    Do they put you up on "your" bike or "a" bike ?
    theWebsite wrote:
    Using Video cameras and our motion analysis software we can help you to find out the best sitting position on your bike
    We use a fluid trainer so please bring your own bike to the clinic for the test.

Did anyone read the webpage ? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭BaBiT

Just set up an appointment with them for tomorrow evening so I'll let you all know how I get on...Although due to a busy week I probably won't get to test their set up until Sundays clubrun but it'll be interesting to see if they change much..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Not being a smart alec here, but what qualifies these guys to do a bike fit? Personal experience with 2 large established bike stores has taught me to be cautious about so called "Experts". Despite describing my type of riding, injuries etc they just steamrolled through a fit that made no sense whatsoever and both shops specced extremely different setups ( so either both were wrong or one was right - but which one?) If I was convinced these could provide a worthwhile contribution I'd be happy to give it a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭bunnygreen

Hey Wicklow,i agree with you,i,ve had a couple of really unsatisfactory fits and have to say with this one i really noticed a difference.When you can actually see the geometry of your body on the bike you are then able to rectify any existing problems,i can only go from my experience but i raced at the weekend and felt a lot more centered on the bike and more comfotable,did,nt make me win though.Ring them up and talk to them,can,t hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I used IrishFit for gait analysis, but haven't done proper bike fit yet, as they advised me to work on my flexibility first.

Would be interested to hear more reviews of their service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Same as Lumen, I had a gait analysis with IrishFit and would be interested in hearing more about their bike fitting.

I was getting a massage there recently and asked Leo about the bike fitting. I had just gone through a bike fit with Cycleways which was fine and they guy was very friendly and helpful but I just felt it was a bit rudimentary. Haven't been out on a long spin since due to training for a boxing event, but will do so this weekend. If I still have problems, I'll go to IrishFit as I know they use the same video analysis software for bikes as they do for cycling so it'll be thorough. Leo mentioned he is going throught he accreditation process with some international bike fitting organisation.

I genuinely have no ties to IrishFit, I have just been extremely impressed with their knowledge (spotted what several others had missed) and service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭honkjelly

Went to them about a month ago. Just phoned in the morning and had an appointment later that day. Had knee pain (just left knee) that had come back after about a month of physio. Was stretching properly at this point so figured it had to be bike related. Spent about an hour doing the setup, from a side and front view. Everything was really well explained (and they send you a PDF doc of the results) - showed in slow motion the crappy motion of my left leg - out and then in that was causing tension in my IT band. Also moved my saddle back a bit and I have to improve flexibility to work toward moving it up a 1 cm. Before going to them I'd get a twinge in the knee after a good spin in wicklow (100 - 150k). Since the setup (and a bit of physio to get the knee ok again) I've been pain free and got through the five days of Tour of Ireland Cycle Challenge fine. Also picked up a few yoga dvd's to work on the flexibility. Would definitely recommend them.

BaBiT wrote: »
    Just set up an appointment with them for tomorrow evening so I'll let you all know how I get on...Although due to a busy week I probably won't get to test their set up until Sundays clubrun but it'll be interesting to see if they change much..

So to try get another review, how did you get on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

Where they located?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

eggie wrote: »
    Where they located?
    Upper Georges St
    Dun Laoghaire, Dublin

It's all on the website.

honkjelly wrote: »
    Went to them about a month ago. Just phoned in the morning and had an appointment later that day. Had knee pain (just left knee) that had come back after about a month of physio. Was stretching properly at this point so figured it had to be bike related. Spent about an hour doing the setup, from a side and front view. Everything was really well explained (and they send you a PDF doc of the results) - showed in slow motion the crappy motion of my left leg - out and then in that was causing tension in my IT band. Also moved my saddle back a bit and I have to improve flexibility to work toward moving it up a 1 cm. Before going to them I'd get a twinge in the knee after a good spin in wicklow (100 - 150k). Since the setup (and a bit of physio to get the knee ok again) I've been pain free and got through the five days of Tour of Ireland Cycle Challenge fine. Also picked up a few yoga dvd's to work on the flexibility. Would definitely recommend them.
    I also have major problems with my left knee that flared up again around the third day in to the Tour of Ireland. I know from previous physio that my right leg is very dominant but despite working on that the problem is still there. Think I will give these guys a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

blorg wrote: »
    Upper Georges St
    Dun Laoghaire, Dublin

It's all on the website.

This might help.
    Go to McDonalds on the main street - walk away from Town, cross over to walk on left side of road for No. 91 - its down the steps on the right of the large georgian building that is 91.
    Ive no connection with them and havent had gait analysis or bike fit done there. However finding a numbered building on main street, Dun Laoghaire can be a pain if driving (one way system).

I'm in with them at 5.30 -will report back tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Try get a before and after pic

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Try get a before and after pic

They do video analysis of before and after, so I'll get a screenshot.

I'm in with them at 5.30 -will report back tomorrow!

i'm in with them 9.30 tomorrow morning, if you get the chance would be cool if you could post how you got on tis eve

I'm off to a BBQ straight after, so may not get a chance, or if I do it'll be drunken rambling, but I'll do my best!

Heh, the results of the post could be funny, but probably not nearly as funny if you went to the bbq and got drunk before the fitting. How best to setup your bike for drunk cycling? A low centre of gravity is key for when you fall?

The trick to a good drunken position is as aero as possible to get home to the loo as quickly as possible

Quick result -worth getting :)

A comprehensive review of position, and yer man is very upfront with the fact that this is his way of doing things, and that others have different ways of approaching things. Plenty of time spent talking about position, and what's ideal, what way you're doing things, and how to get a position in the middle somewhere.

Not perfect, but a long way towards a better position on the bike. Proper report will follow on Mon or Tues, and I'll report back better when I've digested it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Sounds good but I'm wondering how these guys are able to have a viable business model offering what must be very much a niche service:confused:

€70 sounds goddam reasonable (or maybe I've been brainwashed by years of being screwed during the (phantom) Celtic Tiger...)

Would take the same from it.

Being far more novice than tiny i'd certainly defo recommend it for anyone new to using a proper road bike. Commentry as he does it if nothing else is highly informative as to what the different adjustments mean regarding power/position/aero/comfort.

Other than that just having done the 20min spin home from it i can't say too much really, i'll know better after tomorrow but it did seem more comfortable and certainly less stress on my knees putting power down on the flat....

Though as i was somewhat expecting i can't get an 'ideal' position on my bike until improve some flexability issues.(my foot doesn't fully flatten at the bottom of the stroke).

Get my report on mon or tue aswell so will comment on that if something interesting

Oh one thing he mentioned which i must start doing(might be obvious to some) , is to stop maybe 2 - 3km from home and do all your stretches there, and then spin home as a cool down.Mainly because your more likely to do all the stretches than if you get home when you'll want to shower or that...

pburns wrote: »
    Sounds good but I'm wondering how these guys are able to have a viable business model offering what must be very much a niche service:confused:

€70 sounds goddam reasonable (or maybe I've been brainwashed by years of being screwed during the (phantom) Celtic Tiger...)

70euro for 1hr -> 1:30 could hardly be called a terrible income for ones time? and i don't think its as niche as you believe.... I think the same guy does the gait analysis stuff aswell so between runners/tri/cyclists gotta be busy enough and he only does 3 days a week in dublin so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

A comprehensive review of position, and yer man is very upfront with the fact that this is his way of doing things, and that others have different ways of approaching things. Plenty of time spent talking about position, and what's ideal, what way you're doing things, and how to get a position in the middle somewhere.

Not perfect, but a long way towards a better position on the bike. Proper report will follow on Mon or Tues, and I'll report back better when I've digested it!

Tiny any chance of that "proper report" you mentioned! Wondering would it be worthwhile!

alfalad wrote: »
    Tiny any chance of that "proper report" you mentioned! Wondering would it be worthwhile!

I've actually not got the full report off the guys yet -will get onto them, and when I have it and have digested it, I'll let ye know!

Ok cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Was away when this thread was posted, but I made an appt with them before going on holiday. I went in to get fitted on Wednesday evening. I've had a niggling right leg/knee problem since last year, which has curtailed training this year and seen me wimping it for the W100.

I was impressed with the service, and reassured that the guy offering it is a trained physio who branched out into biomechanics.

One of the first things established during the fitting is that I have a leg length discrepancy. This is not unusual, and mine is in the 'normal' range, but because cycling involves such repetitive motion it can cause problems if not addressed. I was given a thin sole insert for my right shoe- if this proves effective I'll get a shim for under the cleat.

They could also see from the front video capture that my knees were moving in a straight line vertically, but the path formed a slight oval, indicating a need to adjust my cleats.

Overall I was very happy with the service- I'd spent a good bit of time researching bike fit and following all the standard advice for seat-height, saddle fore-aft, cleat adjustment, etc, but you can't measure your own knee angle, or see the angle of your ankle to the pedal during your stroke. I ended up having my saddle lowered slightly, which if you were just going on standard measurements, and not taking into account other angles, would seem contra-indicated. It was also established that I may need shorter cranks.

Previously I'd been to 2 physios and a physical therapist, all of whom were recommended as being experienced with cyclists. They all offered varying degress of helpfulness, but I felt there was something rudimentary missing.
    It's reinforced my view that for cycling, unless an injury has a very obvious cause, like a fall or very pronounced overuse, that it's very important to see someone with in depth understanding of cycling biomechanics.

I haven't done any long cycles yet since the adjustments, just the 10k home from Dun Laoghaire. Will update on any progress.

Thanks lukster that sound very good indeed!

Really? i got mine on the monday i kinda presumed you got same, i'll fish it out here somewhere and upload it

Nope! Mailed them though, so we'll see what's what

its obviously specific to me but...here's the report i got
    http://www.maths.tcd.ie/~ianoc/Irish_Fit_Bike_Set_Up.pdf

Got mine through just then -will have a digest this evening and post my thoughts tomorrow, I promise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

That's a fantastically detailed report, brilliant!

I should have done some kind of cycling biomechanics research, would have been more fun and if I could have gone out on the bike more for "research" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

It looks really good. Thanks for sharing. I am tempted to make the trip as I tend ot get pain in the outside of my knee and also in my toes when cycling.

What were the attachments for core and stretching like?

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I should have done some kind of cycling biomechanics research, would have been more fun and if I could have gone out on the bike more for "research" :)

Ah the dream, i had hopes of calling playing computer games work when i started mine ;)

pgibbo wrote:
    It looks really good. Thanks for sharing. I am tempted to make the trip as I tend ot get pain in the outside of my knee and also in my toes when cycling.

What were the attachments for core and stretching like?
    They were good, too soon to see the impact of better stretching i guess, but the core stuff has quite a few muscles sore so thats good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

It seems that they used a change of saddle fore-aft to fit your reach. This seems odd for a professional bike fit.

Did they have (or did you bring) different length stems?

Lumen wrote: »
    It seems that they used a change of saddle fore-aft to fit your reach. This seems odd for a professional bike fit.

Did they have (or did you bring) different length stems?

nope didn't have other length stems, he did mention that i could change the stem alright. And was discussing the impact of different lengths with me, but after putting the saddle forward it didn't have a detremential impact on the other angles so i think it pretty much faded out. Said i could change the stem if i wanted but not really necessary and with better core strength i'd be able to move the saddle further back again iirc

That looks really great, I will definitely get an appointment with these guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Would love to hear updates from you guys who tried this after a few hundred kilos. Any chance of that?

Will tell ye on Monday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

I think I might head up to these lads in a while and see what they say. I'm just getting a new training regime setup after the kicking this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

Sorry to resurrect this thread again but to any of the lads who've had this done. I'm looking to get a new frame, will they give you you're ideal frame specs at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

cmyk wrote: »
    Sorry to resurrect this thread again but to any of the lads who've had this done. I'm looking to get a new frame, will they give you you're ideal frame specs at all?

I asked about this, it's something he's looking into doing, but doesn't offer it formally as such. Give him a ring and explain your requirements, he should be able to help.