Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a drive

• 16-05-2009 10:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭

Lads im bored again but dont want to go boozing! I fancy filling up the car and going for drive and relaxing. Anyone recommend an interesting drive within 60 miles of north Dublin? anyone else ever do this or am I mad :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

I've done it.
    I'm also tempted to join you only I have to get up at a reasonable hour in the morning.
    I'd suggest up towards Lough Tay, see how far you get before you decide to turn back, but it mightn't be as great in the night.. THen again you'd see the lights across Dublin which is quite nice.
    Out to howth wouldn't be a bad one, or the coastal route from Dollymount all the way out to dakley..
    Another one is out Pigeon House Road (I think) to the poolbeg power station and out onto that bull wall thing - but might look like you're doing a drug deal at this hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

MSporty wrote: »
    Lads im bored again but dont want to go boozing! I fancy filling up the car and going for drive and relaxing. Anyone recommend an interesting drive within 60 miles of north Dublin? anyone else ever do this or am I mad :rolleyes:

You're mad, but I was just considering the exact same thing, except heading east or south :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭MSporty

Was thinking im mad alright!! just like to get out on clear roads and have a good spin. Lough Tay looks good alright, looked it up on wikipedia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I took the Alfa down to Rosslare from Dublin on I think Sunday last, (bought it Thursday evening). Left at about 11pm and got back at around 4am. Brilliant fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭MSporty

qz wrote: »
    I took the Alfa down to Rosslare from Dublin on I think Sunday last, (bought it Thursday evening). Left at about 11pm and got back at around 4am. Brilliant fun.

Fair play, i think it has to be a spur of the moment thing to get the most out of it

Was thinking im mad alright!! just like to get out on clear roads and have a good spin. Lough Tay looks good alright, looked it up on wikipedia
    One of the best in Ireland, but if you're going to do it try waiting until about 5.30, 6am - roads empty, and bright enough to see the surroundings!
    Otherwise, sher feck it go for a blast up the M1?

Edit: Hold on, you're the lad with the RS4? If you're going up over Lough Tay you're picking me up on the way for the spin :D

Fair play, i think it has to be a spur of the moment thing to get the most out of it

Cheers yeah it was entirely random, just felt like a spin, I was half tempted to drop over to Cork and find somewhere to kip. Galway will be the next target I'm sure, although it's best to leave it undated ;)

qz wrote: »
    Cheers yeah it was entirely random, just felt like a spin, I was half tempted to drop over to Cork and find somewhere to kip. Galway will be the next target I'm sure, although it's best to leave it undated ;)
    Planning on doing the same some Saturday/Sunday, off to Connemara. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭draycottgirlz

head up to Giant's Causeway for the sunrise....great roads up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

just get onto the M1 and keep going:rolleyes::):cool: (just watch how fast)

mle1324 wrote: »
    just get onto the M1 and keep going:rolleyes::):cool: (just watch how fast you can get her

FYP. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

well more than 60 miles from Dublin but my sat nav sent me and the van through The Vee in Tipp/Waterford during the week and I'm intending to go back in my proper car for another go soon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

cianclarke wrote: »
    FYP. ;)

LOL:D,i like your thinking,when i get a car i am going to do that:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

The trouble-maker in me is just supressing urge to post a link to this thread in one of the sandal-wearing, museli-eater's forums. Going around using up fossil fuels just for the hell of it is sooooooo naughty!:P

MYOB wrote: »
    well more than 60 miles from Dublin but my sat nav sent me and the van through The Vee in Tipp/Waterford during the week and I'm intending to go back in my proper car for another go soon...
    The Vee is one of the best passes okay, immense fun.. Try doing it in the snow. :)

Fúck this I'm off again tonight, Cavan/Kilkenny :pac: see yiz