Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I racist...?? :(

• 16-05-2009 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

ok, I’ll keep it short and to the point. going un-regged for obvious reasons.
    I work mostly day shifts for a small taxi firm here in Dublin. I’ve been doing this job for about 13 years and I always feel I have done a fair job.

lately though I have wondered if some rules I have for my taxi are racist. these aren’t official rules just my own for how I give a lift to or not.

since I have started I have never given lifts to anyone who looked rough. I’m not the biggest man so I avoid any trouble. lately I’ve also included this rules to black people. now I know that sounds racist but the last few I gave a lift to were very abusive and about a month ago one of them pulled a knife on me over a fare. I told him to just leave but he was still very aggressive. so I’ve decided to avoid any black people in my car in the future. would this be racist since its only blacks that have given me a hard time and they are more likely to start trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Yes, you are determining your fares by race.

BUT............ you're trying to protect yourself and they sound like valid reasons. I wouldn't actually call you a racist person. You should feel you are safe while doing your job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

....and you've never been abused by a white person in 13 years, or a chinese person, or asian.....
    Yes you are being racist, I don't think you have hateful racist feelings but have developed a stereotype of black people from your own experiences. It's a very incorrect and negative stereotype and I think you know that avoiding black people is being racist, that's why you posted here. You should keep an open mind about all races and at the same time be sensible about your own safety too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

so I’ve decided to avoid any black people in my car in the future. would this be racist since its only blacks that have given me a hard time and they are more likely to start trouble?

It depends. Would you ban all white people if one of them threatened you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

50/50 I'd say =p

Seriously though, if your simply worried about your safety then have a camera installed in the cab and stick a sign inside stating that there is one.

It'll help deter any abusive behavior.

op here.
    you see i dont think im rasict because im still letting poles/eastern european people in my taxi even though they have always caused me trouble, if only in a minor way.
    it's only blacks that i will refuse a fare to, but as i stated i have had a few rough situationjs with them. there has been a few situations where i've been hailed, i might put down the window slighty and if i hear nigerian/african accents i'll wave and move on. i ALWAYS let african americans/other blacks in my taxi, who i havnt had any run-ins with whatsoever.
    i know i probably sound like a total racist but i genuinely have had some bad experiences with these lads. what should i do? should i give them another chance and just be more street smart about who i pick up???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

op here.
    you see i dont think im rasict because im still letting poles/eastern european people in my taxi even though they have always caused me trouble, if only in a minor way.
    it's only blacks that i will refuse a fare to, but as i stated i have had a few rough situationjs with them. there has been a few situations where i've been hailed, i might put down the window slighty and if i hear nigerian/african accents i'll wave and move on. i ALWAYS let african americans/other blacks in my taxi, who i havnt had any run-ins with whatsoever.
    i know i probably sound like a total racist but i genuinely have had some bad experiences with these lads. what should i do? should i give them another chance and just be more street smart about who i pick up???
    I was assaulted by a nigerian doorman in a popular dublin club,he punched me because he said I had vodka in my bag,which I didn't. A nigerian Taxi man also wouldn't let me out of his car and was very aggressive with me. I was tempted to label all nigerian people with the same brush until my friend start going out with a really nice guy from Nigeria.
    I understand how bad experiences make you racist, and it is your own choice who you have in your cab as long as you aren't abusive in public or voice your opinion to others then you aren't really hurting anyone,but driving away when you hear someones accent is bound to upset or offend someone,I just wouldn't stop at all.

As for having trouble try and get maybe a barrier between your section of the car and the passengers also install a camera,make sure they know they are being watched! I know plenty of white people who cause trouble in Taxi's remember that couple who stabbed a taxi man to death not too long ago!

You're not a racist.

There will be many from the PC brigade who will jump at the opportunity to label you one. But cold hard facts are present. You've had far more trouble from Black people lately so therefore you have every right to avoid putting yourself in that situation again and if you "tar everyone with the same brush" then so be it.

Black people are inherently more aggressive and their Caucasian counterparts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I found an Irish company that sells and fits in-car CCTV systems..

http://halosecurity.ie/tag/taxi-cctv/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Dutchie_in_DUB

It is a pity that the few black people that are rude and violent ruin it for the good ones. But still it is a very ignorant thing to say that all of them are the same and should be refused in your taxi.
    I am a dutch coloured woman (and probably in your eyes seen as one of those blacks) and I am hard-working & well educated. To read this shows me already that you know it is wrong to think like this, but I can also see where your point of view is coming from. Not that I agree with it, but it shows me that it is a colour thing. Cause how many rude white people have you maybe had in your taxi or have you heard of doing terrible things to colleagues of yours. Would you then also think to refuse all white people?
    Have had many times over the last 6 years I have lived here that taxis have driven by to pick up the next white woman. I wear designer clothes, am polite and behave decently and still I was treated like this. And you know what it made me not hate all taxi-drivers either ;-)
    The only last thing I can say on this, well thank god there are many more taxi drivers now than back then, and they have to earn the right for my money as I can pick which taxi I want to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

The fact that you are asking the question suggests that you are not racist - that you have qualms about all of this.

Who are we to judge who you choose to pick up or not?

Do some black people become aggressive because they feel that in a foreign country they can make the rules as they go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

I work mostly day shifts for a small taxi firm here in Dublin. I’ve been doing this job for about 13 years and I always feel I have done a fair job.

lately though I have wondered if some rules I have for my taxi are racist. these aren’t official rules just my own for how I give a lift to or not.

since I have started I have never given lifts to anyone who looked rough. I’m not the biggest man so I avoid any trouble. lately I’ve also included this rules to black people. now I know that sounds racist but the last few I gave a lift to were very abusive and about a month ago one of them pulled a knife on me over a fare. I told him to just leave but he was still very aggressive. so I’ve decided to avoid any black people in my car in the future. would this be racist since its only blacks that have given me a hard time and they are more likely to start trouble?
    No you are quite right .Do what you have to do to keep safe ...i know lots of taxi drivers who have had trouble with numerous nigerian "passengers"..Is that a sweeping statement ?not really ask any driver if the have had a run in with a nigerian and i bet the answer is yes

You are providing a service and can pick up who you want how you want when you want. The why is entirely your business and if you keep it to yourself it doesn't become anyone elses business.

You are not racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Dutchie_in_DUB

Do some black people become aggressive because they feel that in a foreign country they can make the rules as they go?[/quote]

Probably just cause they are rude, un-educated and have no decency.. Has nothing to do with their colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Probably just cause they are rude, un-educated and have no decency.. Has nothing to do with their colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭procure11

You're not a racist.

There will be many from the PC brigade who will jump at the opportunity to label you one. But cold hard facts are present. You've had far more trouble from Black people lately so therefore you have every right to avoid putting yourself in that situation again and if you "tar everyone with the same brush" then so be it.

You said that " Black people are inherently more aggressive and their Caucasian ",what reasearch have you personally carried out to come to such conclusions.Anectodally ,Irish people were regarded as poor,inconsequential drunks but we all know that is a fallacy.Twins that are born on the same day do not behave alike not to talk of different people .I am a Nigerian,and I have noticed that no day goes by without someone having something negative to say about us ( every black person that does anything negative is automatically a Nigerian)Incidentally,in Nigeria we have respect for Irish people due to the good folks that were missionaries and built schools that are still a legacy till today.I think some people can't have their day complete without having a dig at Nigerians.You might think we are deviod of feelings or helpless so you say and act with impunity but that is not the case at all.If I was the OP ,in the current tough economic climate I would concentrate on how to maximise my profits especially with the competition they complain so much about.He made claims that some "black people attacked him with knives",I would be very interested if he reported this to the Gardai and if he did where the investigation process is at this time and if he hasn't...why not.

Do some black people become aggressive because they feel that in a foreign country they can make the rules as they go?

Probably just cause they are rude, un-educated and have no decency.. Has nothing to do with their colour.[/quote]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

OP I think you'll find a majority of people in this world are racist; its just a matter to what degree. Most of us supress our racism since it is politically incorrect but latent racism is still racism nonetheless.

Anyway if you want an answer to your question you could try the Harvard Implicit Racism Test here
    https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

OP. Could you see yourselve dating a black person. Could you see yourself becoming mates with one? I'd say the answer is yes and going by your post I would not say you were being racist. What you are doing is 'profiling' your prospective fares. As you said, you have no problem picking up African Americans or other foreign language speaking people of colour. Its no different to avoiding rough looking Irish skangers or poles etc. The difference is that while you have profiled caucasions too based on their socio-economic background its easier to correctly profile them because you are familiar with European/Western cultural fashions, mannerisms, demeanors etc. ie. You can tell instinctively with a high degree of accuracy what kind of person this is. Unfortunately for the Nigerians you can't instinctively tell the Nigerian Skangers for want of a better word from the majority of decent hardworking Nigerians in the country because you are not familiar with this particular nationalities specific culteral fashions, mannerisms, demeanors etc. You are going to have to befriend some Nigerians and get them to explain to you how to tell a Nigerian Skanger from the rest of them.

I too have profiled Nigerians in my shop. The profile I have built up about them is that I don't have to watch them like a hawk like I do with Irish skangers, Roma Gypsies or even Irish Middle class rocker kids. Thieving little bar stewards :D Never once have I had to deal with a shop lifting Nigerian. So my profile of Nigerians is actually a positive one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Mate, you're probably less adept at spotting the rough black people, as well as you can spot the rough Irish people. It's natural I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Brian.

Mate, you're probably less adept at spotting the rough black people, as well as you can spot the rough Irish people. It's natural I think.

ha, thats gotta be true. black people can and are just as friendly as any irish person......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You are profiling your fares OP.

Back in the dark and distant days before deregulation, a group of lads would have an infinitely harder time of getting a cab then a group of girls at peak hours when the nightclubs shut
    Yeah, it was tough getting a taxi but you could see what the driver was doing.
    Thankfully those days are gone.

Besides, it's no different to choosing to take a businessman to an airport over some lowlife to a rough tower block.
    Maybe the same money but easier for you and your business.

O.A.
    Right ive sorted out what to do. I dont want to descriminate against anyone so Ive bought an Imitation handgun. Anyone who gives me serious trouble Ill will take it out ( I was in the army for 2 years ) just to sort the situation out. No-one can get hurt cause its not real and ill only use it on people who are causing major trouble. This might sound like a bit too much but it means i have peace of mind and dont have to worry about anything. It will make me a lot more likely to pick up blacks

Probably just cause they are rude, un-educated and have no decency.. Has nothing to do with their colour.[/quote]

I really do not think so.My thoughts would be more inclined towards( with your comments)that it has to do with people that hate and cannot stand people that are do not look like them.

How many Black people do you personally know and how did you come to the conclusions that they are rude ,un-educated and have no decency.It would seem from your post that you have exactly same qualities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

you dont sound like a card carrying member of the KKK to me , making ones personal safety a higher priority than political correctness is not unresonable , i myself have never had negative experiences with black people , i have however had an appaling experience at the hands of a scottish person , this was over a decade ago but it has resulted in my having a dislike of certain types of scottish people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

This is nothing to do with colour or racism, just association

you've had a few very bad experiences that have you set in stone, but maybe you have to keep ploughing on, and you'll realise things will balance out, and that most black people are just normal customers.

You would do the same if it was, lets say, french people, you'd eventually just say **** that Im not allowing french people in the car any more, but the truth is you know that the majority of french are not like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

The fact that the above poster has posted Un-Reg speaks volumes IMO.

Surely it's more of an issue of what parts of the city you pick up fares in rather than whether they are white or black?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Yes you are a racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

I'm not racist i hate everyone equally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

You are judging someone by the colour of their skin so you are being racist, however justified you feel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

You won't pick up a black person based on your previous experience with them. In the same way you probably wouldn't pick up a yellow toothed crusty junkie because you know that they're bad news. You're used to living in Ireland so you can pick out the bad steriotyps. It's different with other races because you can't pick out the steriotypes cos you didn't live in the country. Personally I think it isn't racist. Its just protecting yourself from potential harm. You have good reason too. If someone held a knife to my neck because they didn't want to pay a fare id probably be thinking along your lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Well it is discrimination. The same way you wont pick up nigerian/african blacks is a much discrimination as saying you would never give a fare to a traveller.

Wagon wrote: »
    If someone held a knife to my neck because they didn't want to pay a fare id probably be thinking along your lines.

And is that person more likely to be black than any other skin colour? - if you think so then your'e probably racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

To the OP you were threatened on multiple occasions. You are in charge of your Taxi and it is upto you who gets to ride or not. You can discriminate against whoever you want, it is a free country and no one need force you to take anyone. You were threatened, your safety was threatened and your livelihood and maybe your income source for your family was threatened by these scum. You now profile and are dead right to do so and I would do the same. Anyone of Middle Eastern origin had a hard time getting on a plane for 5 years after 9/11 does this make the US Government racist?

Racism is a term invented by the liberal left to force people to integrate with those they may not want to and if they refuse to coerce them into doing it while seeming to take the moral high ground. Personal Individual Liberty comes first and this taxi driver is entitled to take whoever he so wishes into his car. As for pulling a knife on you OP I hope you reported this to the Gardai and I would pursue it the bitter end until he was deported out of Ireland and Europe forever. A taxi driver is a hard job and If what happened to you happened in parts of the US the taxi driver would take no notice of blowing out the assailants brains regardless of colour.

Is the Op a racist? who cares, he is looking out for himself and if he don't no one else will as it is a dog eat dog world today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

i had a similiar enough thread on AH a while back but it got locked. ive been mugged 3 times all by black men. anytime i see black people approaching me on the street i put my hands in my pockets to protect my wallet, ipod etc... and always check after after they walk past. i dont personally think im racist doing this but my mates have given out stink to me for it.

i dont think your racist at all OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

no your not racist, youre just being extra careful and taking care of yourself!

I mean if somebody was in your position they would do the same.
    some blacks don't look rough though! try and judge them a little more carefully 1st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

Racism is a word used by people to sue you senseless!
    Sticks and stones!! Courts should not even allow petty "oh he called me a ***** bast**d!" into their courtrooms. Its only a money racket! Back to the point of your post, yeah you can decide yourself if you feel your in danger who you allow into your taxi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

greendom wrote: »
    And is that person more likely to be black than any other skin colour?
    Look at it this way. In 13 years he has gotten the most trouble of this race of people. If he wants to stay safe on the job he can. Yeah i can see how it's unfair but in his experience i can see where he's coming from.
    - if you think so then your'e probably racist.
    So wanting to protect yourself is racist now is it? So be it, political correctness can kiss my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

aDeener wrote: »
    i had a similiar enough thread on AH a while back but it got locked. ive been mugged 3 times all by black men. anytime i see black people approaching me on the street i put my hands in my pockets to protect my wallet, ipod etc... and always check after after they walk past.

So you're effectively showing them that you have valuables and where you keep them? Brilliant!!

Look at it this way. In 13 years he has gotten the most trouble of this race of people. If he wants to stay safe on the job he can. Yeah i can see how it's unfair but in his experience i can see where he's coming from.

So wanting to protect yourself is racist now is it? So be it, political correctness can kiss my hole.

Absolutely - if he chooses to exclude people based on the colour of their skin then I suppose that's his choice doesn't stop him being racist though.

As to political correctness kissing your hole, I'm sure if you ask nicely it will oblige - it doesn't like to offend after all.:D

You won't pick up a black person based on your previous experience with them. In the same way you probably wouldn't pick up a yellow toothed crusty junkie because you know that they're bad news. You're used to living in Ireland so you can pick out the bad steriotyps. It's different with other races because you can't pick out the steriotypes cos you didn't live in the country. Personally I think it isn't racist. Its just protecting yourself from potential harm. You have good reason too. If someone held a knife to my neck because they didn't want to pay a fare id probably be thinking along your lines.

I disagree with you totally.The OP made claims that some black men held a knife to his throat( I honestly find it very difficult to believe and I think he just said this to accentuate his point) and for conversational purposes lets assume that "these Black men" actually did commit such an atrousity,it still would not warrant you making a blanket decision not to provide custom to all black people.I would assume that majority of us would have had bad experiences with different kinds of people and that would not make it rational for us to dismiss a whole group of people by the actions of a few .

Interestingly,the OP mentioned that he had no problem picking up BLACK Americans,I would love for him to enlighten me on how this works-does he open up his window or when waved down,park and wait for them to speak and judge from their accents whether to pick them or not,that doesnt make sense to me .

I am very aware that there is a lot misplaced political correctness now adays and it does my head in just as any rational thinking person but this case I am afraid isn't one of them.

I read once that there was a period in the UK when pubs openly displayed No Dogs,No Irish ,No Blacks allowed in,if the owners were asked then why they did this,they would say that the Irish get too drunk and caused trouble,if they allowed Blacks in ,they would recieve less custom and dogs made a mess.Essentially anyone can justify their actions and deny and probably swear on thier kids life that they were being racist and I am sure no one(NO ONE - for emphasis) on boards would agree that those actions were not racist as we understand what the true picture was.

I apologise for rambling but IMHO,I think the OP is being racist and just as guilty as a black person that would cry racisim at the drop of a hat(I wonder where they learnt it from).

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,974 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

O.A.
    Right ive sorted out what to do. I dont want to descriminate against anyone so Ive bought an Imitation handgun. Anyone who gives me serious trouble Ill will take it out ( I was in the army for 2 years ) just to sort the situation out. No-one can get hurt cause its not real and ill only use it on people who are causing major trouble. This might sound like a bit too much but it means i have peace of mind and dont have to worry about anything. It will make me a lot more likely to pick up blacks

Erm I'm not sure this is a good idea at all. What if you pull it out on someone who in turn reports you to the cops? I think even considering that they were being very abusive, you'll probably end up in serious trouble over that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

procure11 wrote: »
    Interestingly,the OP mentioned that he had no problem picking up BLACK Americans,I would love for him to enlighten me on how this works-does he open up his window or when waved down,park and wait for them to speak and judge from their accents whether to pick them or not,that doesnt make sense to me .

The OP explained how he does this in Post 6, read the thread

mikemac wrote: »
    The OP explained how he does this in Post 6, read the thread

With all due respect.I actually directed that question to the OP who has suddenly gone silent.He is an adult and he took very deliberate decisions ...let him speak for himself

i don't think anything OP is doing is wrong.. yes it's racist but fuk it.

if my dad had a knife pulled on him by a black man, i'd say "don't pick up black people anymore". OP could be lovely to black people during his normal life but if he feels threatened during his job, then he should drive on.

to any of ye people calling him racist, i ask any one of ye to walk through a traveller site at night.. if ya say no, why not?

i don't think anything OP is doing is wrong.. yes it's racist but fuk it.

if my dad had a knife pulled on him by a black man, i'd say "don't pick up black people anymore". OP could be lovely to black people during his normal life but if he feels threatened during his job, then he should drive on.

to any of ye people calling him racist, i ask any one of ye to walk through a traveller site at night.. if ya say no, why not?

Thats a bit silly.Just because some travellers cause trouble doesn't make all travellers trouble makers...Just I would not allude that because over 90% of peodophiles are caucasians so I would tell my children to weary of white people ,thats simply stupid.As the popular saying goes..you judge people essentially by the content of their character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

You're racist, but are you wrong to be? I don't think so. Sometimes sweeping generalisations are necessary. I'd rather be alive and branded a racist then dead because I gave someone the benefit of the doubt.

If you honestly feel that africans are more likely to harm you based on your personal experience then I think it's right that you try and avoid such situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭haemfire

no being a racist is picking up and black guy and a white guy and telling the black guy to travel in the back or even in the boot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 melahide

I think you can answer the question yourself...

If a white man would come to your taxi and pull a knife in your face... gettin aggressive. Would you stop giving them a lift? Or if a Japanese man would do that? Or a Frensh? "You are frensh? No sorry, I don´t lift frensh people because 4 years ago I had a problem with..."
    Racial discrimination is treating people differently through a process of social division

sorry, but in my opinion you are.

Me for example, have lived in some houses with irish people... all of them were messies and they didn´t bother... but I am not willing to say, that I will never live again with Irish... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

OP's reaction is completely understandable. People's views are coloured by their own life experiences. Now obviously it is also essential think objectively as well and form a reasoned point of view.

I lived in Manchester for a while and was mugged 3 times, each time by a black person(s). I get pi$$ed off by these faffy platitudes by the PC brigade.

I LIVE IN SOCIETY. MORE CRIME IS COMMITTED, IN TERMS OF POPULATION PERCENTAGE, BY BLACK PEOPLE AND TRAVELLERS. FACT.

It is not a black and white issue, if you'll forgive the pun, but the above fact remains correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

“The wild Milesian features, looking false ingenuity, restlessness, unreason, misery, and mockery, salute you on all highways and byways. The English coachman, as he whirls past, lashes the Milesian with his whip, curses him with his tongue; the Milesian is holding out his hat to beg. He is the sorest evil this country has to strive with. In his rags and laughing savagery, he is there to undertake all work that can be done by mere strength of hand and back—for wages that will purchase him potatoes. He needs only salt for condiment, he lodges to his mind in any pig-hutch or dog-hutch, roosts in outhouses, and wears a suit of tatters, the getting on and off of which is said to be a difficult operation, transacted only in festivals and the high tides of the calendar. The Saxon-man, if he cannot work on these terms, finds no work. The uncivilised Irishman, not by his strength, but by the opposite of strength, drives the Saxon native out, takes possession in his room. There abides he, in his squalor and unreason, in his falsity and drunken violence, as the ready-made nucleus of degradation and disorder. Whoever struggles, swimming with difficulty, may now find an example how the human being can exist not swimming, but sunk. That the condition of the lower multitude of English labourers approximates more and more to that of the Irish, competing with them in all the markets: that whatsoever labour, to which mere strength with little skill will suffice, is to be done, will be done not at the English price, but at an approximation to the Irish price; at a price superior as yet to the Irish, that is, superior to scarcity of potatoes for thirty weeks yearly; superior, yet hourly, with the arrival of every new steamboat, sinking nearer to an equality with that.”

Heard it all before from the coachmen and their racialist theories...oh how we laughed....and of course England lies ruined now on account of the millions of us who made the journey.