Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GP Final Leicester vs London Irish Saturday 17:30 KO Sky Sports

• 16-05-2009 9:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Teams:

Leicester: 15 Geordan Murphy (capt), 14 Scott Hamilton, 13 Ayoola Erinle, 12 Dan Hipkiss, 11 Johne Murphy, 10 Sam Vesty, 9 Julien Dupuy, 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Ben Woods, 6 Craig Newby, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Tom Croft, 3 Julian White, 2 George Chuter, 1 Marcos Ayerza.

Replacements: 16 Benjamin Kayser, 17 Dan Cole, 18 Louis Deacon, 19 Lewis Moody, 20 Harry Ellis, 21 Matt Smith, 22 Tom Varndell.

London Irish: 15 Peter Hewat, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Delon Armitage, 12 Seilala Mapusua, 11 Sailosi Tagickibau, 10 Mike Catt, 9 Paul Hodgson, 8 Chris Hala'Ufia, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Declan Danaher, 5 Bob Casey (capt), 4 Nick Kennedy, 3 Richard Skuse, 2 Danie Coetzee, 1 Clarke Dermody.

Replacements: 16 Alex Corbisiero, 17 James Buckland, 18 James Hudson, 19 Richard Thorpe, 20 Elvis Seveali'i, 21 Peter Richards, 22 Tom Homer.

Well, it's the Guinness Premiership Final. The stage is set for two Irishmen to lead their respective teams in an English final.

Leicster are the firm favourites but I would love to see the Exiles win the trophy.

Players like Tom Croft and Delon Armitage have a golden opportunity to fight for a Lions spot.

Great chance to see if Johne Murphy can cut it a near test match level.

Leicster are the firm favourites but I would love to see the Exiles win the trophy.

COME ON IRISH!!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Ill be shouthing for Leicester, both for anti London Irish reasons, and the edge may be taken off them next week if they have already won a trophy as opposed to losing a final. Interesting to see mauger and castro out, could be a ploy gor next week, castros injury has not been outed and mauger is said to be nearly fully fit.

Theres also rumours that both kennedy and casey are carrying injuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I'm up for Leicester too, don't want them too pissed off coming into the HEC final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

There are more irish players on the Leicster squad than London Irish :rolleyes:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Leicester have two more Leinster players than LIarish.

Definitely up for Geordan's boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

chupacabra wrote: »
    There are more irish players on the Leicster squad than London Irish :rolleyes:;)

And Leicester are actually in Leicester while 'London'...'Irish' are in erm..Reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

hmmm - wonder can I convince my local to have Leinster on one screen and this on the other - anyone any idea what else is on Sky sports around the same time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

And Leicester are actually in Leicester while 'London'...'Irish' are in erm..Reading.

What a pointless comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Have to fancy Leicester for this one. More experience at cup final level than London Irish. Better pack too.

sm.org wrote: »
    What a pointless comment
    Lighten up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

sm.org wrote: »
    What a pointless comment

It's only pointless if it doesn't have a point. Surely the point is that a team called 'London Irish' don't play in London while a team called 'Leicester' do play in Leicester. Whether anyone disagrees with the comment made doesn't mean that it was pointless in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Back on toe pick please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Really want to watch both games today at 5.30 :(

Want to see Lesinter young players getting a run out and securing runners up spot in the league, but also want to watch GP final and get one last look at Leicester before Edinburgh....

hmmmmmmm :( If I ordered Sky Plus now, would it be working in time?? :(

Damn it, I'll let the gods of my local decide.

If it's Leinster on the tele, it's Leinster I watch, if it's the GP final on the tele, it's the GP final I watch....god bless my local and his dilema fixing ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

RuggieBear wrote: »
    Back on toe pick please

Toes have nothing to do with rugby. This topic needs to be closed before it gets out of hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

Is tuilagi injured or what's the story. If he is, will he be fit for the HC final? Johne Murphy is doing well in his place all the same.

2040 wrote: »
    Is tuilagi injured or what's the story. If he is, will he be fit for the HC final? Johne Murphy is doing well in his place all the same.
    He's on a ban isn't he? And if I remember correctly he's back in time for the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

Want Leicester to win and pick up a few injuries on the way. ;)

Toes have nothing to do with rugby. This topic needs to be closed before it gets out of hand.

Tell that to CJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Hang on... Leinster fans are allowed support Leicester against London IRISH this weekend with no calls of traitor and saying they arnt rugby supporters...

But if i (munster man) support Leicester next week then im scum of the rugby earth...

Ya that makes sense

I think you'll find you need toes to play rugby ;)

He's on a ban isn't he? And if I remember correctly he's back in time for the final.

Spot on. I'd imagine he'll come in for Johne Murphy , too good a player to have on the bench and he's size will match up well with Shaggy's.

Tomtom364 wrote: »
    Hang on... Leinster fans are allowed support Leicester against London IRISH this weekend with no calls of traitor and saying they arnt rugby supporters...

But if i (munster man) support Leicester next week then im scum of the rugby earth...

Ya that makes sense

Leicester are playing an Irish team next week. Not this week.

Ya that makes sense

Hardly the same. London Irish are not an Irish team. Leinster are.
    If you supported Leicester next week you wouldn't be a traitor. Just a hypocrite who wouldn't give a stuff about the profile and success of Irish rugby union and would be supporting a team who beat (with some infamous cheating at the scrum) your chosen branch of the IRFU in a final at Twickenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

Ya that makes sense

Also as previously pointed out; more Irish players playing for Leicester today! ;)

Its not that I'm supporting Leicester, just from a Leinster POV, it would be better if they won. But if it were just about today, I would be cheering on LI.

Hardly the same. London Irish are not an Irish team. Leinster are.
    If you supported Leicester next week you wouldn't be a traitor. Just a hypocrite who wouldn't give a stuff about the profile and success of Irish rugby union and would be supporting a team who beat (with some infamous cheating at the scrum) your chosen branch of the IRFU in a final at Twickenham.

Get the facts right it was cardiff.

And i dont hold grudges against every team that ever beat munster. If i did id nevet enjoy a match as a neutral.
    Id be delightef for leinster if they won. But for my own reasons ill be supporting leicester

Get the facts right it was cardiff.

And i dont hold grudges against every team that ever beat munster. If i did id nevet enjoy a match as a neutral.
    Id be delightef for leinster if they won. But for my own reasons ill be supporting leicester

My mistake then. Cardiff.

Given you capitalised the word IRISH so I presumed you were under the delusion that they're an Irish team.
    If you've got some sort of connection with Leicester then fine and my mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

If you've got some sort of connection with Leicester then fine and my mistake.

Like feckin Ross Murphy (Geordan's brother), running around Naas sticking up Leciester flags everywhere... :mad:

lol fair play to him though. if it was my brother playing for leicester id be throwing up their flags everywhere aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

I've a feeling leicester are going to slaughter the exiles...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Nice to hear the fields of athenry there considering London Irish are not irish what-so-ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

3 - 0 to Irish.

Armitage missed a penalty.

12 mins gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Dupuy penalty on 17mins.

Leicester Tigers 3 London Irish 3.

3 - 3.

Peter Hewat DG for LI.

Julien Dupuy pen for Tigers.

18 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Murphy's doing well at the moment in attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I say that and then Johne goes off injured >_>

lol.

Hewat ****ed up a penalty in front of the post.

Hewat just missed a very kickable penalty off the post.

Pace has really picked up now, a decent game so far.

Irish would have a try by now if it wasn't for some handling errors after the initial line-break and hard work was done.

Still 3 - 3.

30 mins.

Delon Armitage misses another long-range (48m) penalty, and it's still 3-3.

Starting to become a bit cagey and error-ridden now after that good period for Irish.

Big 5 metre scrum for Irish.

Huge pressure from LI with Casey and Catt going for three scrums, after Sam Vesty conceded two penalties for not rolling away, and then Jordan Crane gets 10 minutes in the bin after repeated warnings from Wayne Barnes.

LI with a man advantage here and there's a knock-on by Leicester in the tackle, but it's half-time and Irish fail to get the 7-pointer.

Half-time: 3-3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Good stuff Irish.

Armitage converts his third penalty attempt just before Jordan Crane rejoins the action after the sin-binning.

49mins: LT 3 LI 6.

Try Leicester, Jordan Crane reaches over to touch down. Dupuy adds the extras.

61 mins: Leicester 10 London Irish 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

I'm watching the Leinster game but keeping an eye on this. A win for Leicester is definitely going to work to our advantage next week. I just hope LI are giving them a rough time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

10 - 9 now.... good finish in store.

Monster penalty from Armitage on 71 mins, from the halfway line.

73mins: LT 10 LI 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

is it just me or does this match feel like it hasn't really taken off yet and it's the 75th minute! crowd seems very subdued too!!

leicester haven't been as good this week, but a win in a final (which looks likely now) is the most important thing!

Leicester beginning to turn the screw now, line-out and possession on the Irish 5m line.

Irish with a loose pass as they launch an attack from their own half, and there's a minute to go.

Madness from Armitage! He kicks away the ball with 30 seconds to go.

Leicester count down the seconds and retain possession.

Fulltime: Leicester 10 London Irish 9. Poor enough game overall really, with only small passages of decent play.