Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

las vegas nightclubs

• 15-05-2009 3:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭

i did a search but couldnt find anything.

myself and 6 mates, all male, are headin to vegas in november. been looking into nightclubs and it seems theyre not exactly fond of groups of lads and most clubs are mad for bottle service.if you dont go for this pricey option, seems like we wont get in or will wait for hours in a line.

so has anyone been to the clubs and is it as bad as its made out to be?? are the queues as bad as it seems and are there any "normal nightclubs" where you can just go, pay in and have a good night without all the vip bull****??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,604 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

df1985 wrote: »
    i did a search but couldnt find anything.

myself and 6 mates, all male, are headin to vegas in november. been looking into nightclubs and it seems theyre not exactly fond of groups of lads and most clubs are mad for bottle service.if you dont go for this pricey option, seems like we wont get in or will wait for hours in a line.

so has anyone been to the clubs and is it as bad as its made out to be?? are the queues as bad as it seems and are there any "normal nightclubs" where you can just go, pay in and have a good night without all the vip bull****??

Poker forum is probably the best place to ask. Most have been to Vegas.
    Don't start a thread though (we hate new Vegas threads, ask instead on the BBV sticky at the top of the forum).
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?forumid=416

My 2c.
    I hated the queues, load of bolix. It was midweek though and not all the clubs were open, probably better at weekend.

If it says 'free in before 12', don't turn up at 11.30, there'll be a mega slowmoving queue as the owners are happy to keep you waiting til 12 and get $30 off you.
    Turn up just after 10 instead.

You can drink vodka&cokes,cocktails etc without anyone looking down on you.
    We had women with us, but didn't see groups of lads having any particular problems getting in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

thanks ill try the poker forum too.can i ask what clubs you went to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

first up, friday and especially saturday nights can be a pain in the a**, every britney, paris and lindsay wannabe is in town ALONG with the real things :mad: expect long queues for clubs these nights and annoying doormen, during the week (sun-thur) you should have little trouble and most clubs you can attain free admission (either online or by people handing out free passes). if you have the money bottle service on friday/saturday night is only way to go (divided between 6 it doesn't work out too bad)

vegas nightclubs come in 4 varieties
    *the traditional club (e.g. rain at palms, bank at bellagio, studio 54 at mgm grand)
    *the ultralounge (tabu at mgm grand)
    *the afterhours places, the action doesn't really start till 5am (Drais at Bills gambling hall and saloon)
    *rooftop establishments (voodoo lounge at rio, ghostbar at palms and mix at mandalay bay)

clubs in fashion change from week to week in vegas, pure at caesars palace is still hugely popular (some love it, some people hate the place), body english at hard rock and tao at venetian remain popular spots, both are excellent on thursday nights

good site to start http://www.spyonvegas.com/

btw VIP passes to clubs in vegas are available at the counter of a shop called Metro Park in the fashion show mall (across the road from wynn hotel)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭purcela

I was in Vegas last September and never had any hassle getting into the clubs I tried (and I was in a group of 7 lads and 1 girl).

Use your Irishness as much as possible. I was told by people in Vegas I wouldnt get into Pure (Caesars Palace and definitely worth going to) because I didnt have shoes, I had runners on, but I went up to the front of the queue, asked the bouncers would they mind, played the Irish card and they told me it would be no problem as long as I joined the queue (which went quick enough and we got in for free with a pass we were given when we came through the door of Caesars). There is an outdoors balcony upstairs in Pure and the view of the Strip is unreal from up there.

I also went to Tryst in the Wynn, and I would suggest going there if you can. We got in by skipping the queue because we went with the bottle service. It is dear but totally worth it because you get given a private table in a good spot in the club. For a large bottle of vodka, bottle of champagne, and mixers you're talking about $1,000. Just split the cost between the group of you.

Whatever you do, dont go to the club at Imperial Palace, ended up in there by accident and it was terrible.

I have also heard that Jet at the Mirage and Tao in the Venetian are both well worth going to. Also, the drinks in all these places are expensive so if you want a drink, just go back out to the main floor of the casino, ply 1cent slots til a waitress brings you a drink, knock it back then go back into the club. Takes about 5-10, the same time as queuing at the bar, but its free!!

One last thing while you are there, not related to nightclubs, go to the Stratosphere hotel at night and go on the rollercoaster rides on top of the tower. Great craic! http://www.stratospherehotel.com/thrills/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

It wouldn't be the best spot for picking up women. Unless you are loaded. With money I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

http://jackcolton.com/

Great site for Vegas clubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I've only been in Jet and it was good fun.