Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"You should be grateful you have a job!"

• 15-05-2009 12:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭

What's with this reverse elitism? And I've seen people on this board and outside the internets practically apologetic that they're working. If I'm working hard and earning my pennies I have nothing to be grateful about and if I was to be sacked for reasons beyond my control, so be it. Just tired of this typically Irish mentality of begrudging people in a better situation from your high horse when you should be practically thanking them for contributing towards their dole.

p.s Very aware the sentiment in my title is a minority, but seems to be a growing sentiment IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Heh that's always been the sentiment where I work- even in the boom times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

It didn't happen in the last recession in the 1980s. I don't recall anyone saying it to me then but I hear it regularly now! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Dopey

If you were
    • out of work for more than six months with no savings left
    • with no hope of getting a job any time soon
    • unable to pay your mortgage
    • facing homelessness with a young family

You would think differently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭Celtic67

I agree,
    If I even mention the negative impact of the P Levy & I Levy on take home pay people jump straight to the title of your thread. Fact is I'm doing more work for less money nad happy to do so but while I am currently getting the benefit of lower interest rates via Tracker when the rates move up again I am screwed furhter again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 stan smith

the previous posts are so true.where i work its just constant bitching and moaning.it really gets you down after a while. just shut up and get on with your job and be grateful that you have a well paid job in the industry you work in(hotel).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭jimmmy

Dopey wrote: »
    If you were

Agreed. Or self employed with no right to the dole, but still with a mortgage and hungry mouths to feed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

If you were

and if you were
    • In a bad paying job
    • In a job where your boss treats you bad
    • In a job where your fellow employees treat you bad
    • In a job that makes you feel like ****
    • In a job where you know, if you were fired, you wouldn't be that much worse off

then you might feel differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Personally I can't conceieve of a situation where an able-bodied person can't get a job in six months. It's people's sense of entitlement and ridiculous standards that they've set for themselves that usually holds them back from getting full-time employment for a lower salary than their previous rather than staying on the dole crossing their fingers

If you were

Cheers for the guilt trip. You must get invited to a lot of parties. If i'm feeling particularly happy tomorrow when United slaughter Arsenal i might just give you a ring, just to, you know, bring my feet back to earth.

Edit: What speedboactchase says is exactly the point i'm trying to ram home through sarcasm. If you're unable to find a job (ANY JOB) in 6 months then you're either too proud or too thick to have brought kids into the world in the first place.

SV wrote: »
    and if you were
    • In a bad paying job
    • In a job where your boss treats you bad
    • In a job where your fellow employees treat you bad
    • In a job that makes you feel like ****
    • In a job where you know, if you were fired, you wouldn't be that much worse off

then you might feel differently.

True... Have you ever considered Prozac?

If you're unable to find a job (ANY JOB) in 6 months then you're either too proud or too thick to have brought kids into the world in the first place.

That's a very good observation. You're obviously very intelligent.

You're obviously dopey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Yeah thats pretty harsh $hifty, hope you are never in the same position.....

CC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

yay another thread on this. Yawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

This argument will never be settled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Feck that.

Yous should all be grateful you have your hair. I'm balding like a motherf*cker at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

Can we just end this thread? It just makes everyone feel uncomfortable.

a)If you have a job you dont like you'll just feel bad for not feeling grateful.

b)If you dont have a job but get the dole you'll just feel bad that there are self employed people with no work who cant get the dole, whereas you can get it.

c)If you're unemployed, after having been self employed or otherwise, and really want work, you are likely to feel like giving out to those in position (a)

The uncomfortable feelings felt by all parties are just going to manifest themselves in loads of insults

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Can we just end this thread? It just makes everyone feel uncomfortable.

Every thread should be given a chance, if you don't like it - then just dont read or post in it. Seemples. A thread of your own went down like a bag of anchors in the not so distant past, but a few people gave you a break.

I agree with the OP on this, I'm sick to the back teeth of hearing this comment. That and the "Isn't it alright for some with their
    " remarks. Lighten the fcuk up whingers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

Abigayle wrote: »
    Every thread should be given a chance, if you don't like it - then just dont read or post in it. Seemples. A thread of your own went down like a bag of anchors in the not so distant past, but a few people gave you a break.

I agree with the OP on this, I'm sick to the back teeth of hearing this comment. That and the "Isn't it alright for some with their
    " remarks. Lighten the fcuk up whingers.

Didnt literally expect it to be closed like! And my 'depression' thread didnt go down like a bag of anchors, just everyone jumped on me because I tried to assess the condition objectively, and not from the point of view of a depressed person...I kind of tried to think outside my own head so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

"My life is more miserable than your lilfe"

"NO mine is"

If you were:
    -living in Afghanistan
    -dying
    -etc

you might feel differently

"My life is more miserable than your lilfe"

"NO mine is"

If you were:
    -living in Afghanistan
    -dying
    -etc

you might feel differently

Those pictures on your flickr are absolutely amazing. Did you take them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Those pictures on your flickr are absolutely amazing. Did you take them?
    Thanks! Yes I did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

You people make me f*cking sick, going on and on about who should be feeling guilty about what. AnonoBoy has a serious problem and deserves some compassion. For god's sake people, where's your humanity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭gwhiz

If you're unable to find a job (ANY JOB) in 6 months then you're either too proud or too thick to have brought kids into the world in the first place.

What a load of bo*lox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

I don't see why anyone should be 'grateful' they have a job. If you are working you are earning more for your employer than he pays you, otherwise he wouldn't have you there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

What a load of c*ck. That is an absolutley ignorant and disgusting thing to say.

sorrywhat wrote: »
    What a load of c*ck. That is an absolutley ignorant and disgusting thing to say.
    gwhiz wrote: »
    What a load of bo*lox

Serious response:

Cock and bollox, eh? If i had kids, no job and a mortgage and was facing being fcuked out on the street I would do anything for a living. A-NY-THING. I'd wash

Anyone can be unlucky to lose a job, fair enough. But, if, after 6 months, I still hadn't gotten something then the onus and responsibility would fall squarely on my own two shoulders. I firmly believe that someone who can't find a job (again, I'll stress ANY job) in 6 months is too proud to do something that's beneath them or too thick to be employable.

What's really a load of cock and bollox is coming on here guilt-tripping people who do have a job.

Dopey.....I don't wanna get personal here, I don't even know if you are in the situation you outlined above, but if I was in that situation.......

a) I wouldn't be paying for broadband every month
    b) I wouldn't be on the net (except for 1 hr in a café to fire off a few CV's). I'd be out cold-calling places looking for work.
    c) I wouldn't be wasting time feeling sorry for myself and trying to make others feel guilty for not being in my situation

AH response:

Surely one of the other 6 dwarves could throw a bit of work your way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Serious response:

Cock and bollox, eh? If i had kids, no job and a mortgage and was facing being fcuked out on the street I would do anything for a living. A-NY-THING. I'd wash

Anyone can be unlucky to lose a job, fair enough. But, if, after 6 months, I still hadn't gotten something then the onus and responsibility would fall squarely on my own two shoulders. I firmly believe that someone who can't find a job (again, I'll stress ANY job) in 6 months is too proud to do something that's beneath them or too thick to be employable.

What's really a load of cock and bollox is coming on here guilt-tripping people who do have a job.

Dopey.....I don't wanna get personal here, I don't even know if you are in the situation you outlined above, but if I was in that situation.......

b) I wouldn't be on the net (except for 1 hr in a café to fire off a few CV's). I'd be out cold-calling places looking for work.
    c) I wouldn't be wasting time feeling sorry for myself and trying to make others feel guilty for not being in my situation

AH response:

Have you tried to get a job lately? Because you haven't a clue. I have friends & a boyfriend who have been out of work since well before Christmas. My bf was online every morning at 9am to make sure he sent his CVs off for jobs as soon as they came onto the sites. He would literally do anything, and my friends are the same. They have been to McDonalds, UCI about cleaning jobs, and all sorts of other places that would be considered "below" them to work; most of them have degrees or trades. Luckily enough my bf got a job which starts in July, but none of the rest of them have yet. And it's certainly not for lack of trying, or is it because they're too proud to do a job that's below them.

Serious response:

AH response:

a) I could be using broadband in a library
    b) I could be applying for jobs online
    c) I'm not feeling sorry for myself. What gave you that idea?

I have a job and I'm very grateful of it. I can't speak for anybody else but I feel very sorry for those that are trying really hard to get a job and can't. You assume that there *IS* a job out there for everybody. Thousands of people would disagree.

If I was feeling sorry for myself, which I'm not, I'd check out the pictures on IvyTheTerrible's flickr. It puts things into perspective.

If you feel guilty then that's your own problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Got my first jobseekers allowance today. Felt nasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 pdaly92

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Feck that.

Yous should all be grateful you have your hair. I'm balding like a motherf*cker at the moment.

ha!ha! love it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

I'm just out of college and I don't even want a job.

Any I've been offered 2 already, any takers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

In an ideal world, nobody should have to work.

I have a job and I'm very grateful of it. I can't speak for anybody else but I feel very sorry for those that are trying really hard to get a job and can't.

Fair enough, I was unsure as to whether or not this was your actual position in life or not. Do you know anybody who is in that position? Or are you just presuming that there are?
    If you feel guilty then that's your own problem.

For the record, i don't feel guilty at all. Your post implied that you are a part of this hypothethical family you've outlined above and is also the kind of crap that the OP is talking about that people use to guilt-trip others in gainful employment into feeling sorry for others.

Your first post in this thread is, IMO, an attempt to guilt trip people in employment into feeling grateful for having to get up at 8 in the morning and join the rat race. Why the sudden outpouring of sympathy for people who were made redundant?

During the boom times there were still thousands of people without work (granted there are twice as many now), but there was nobody saying then that everyone should be happy to have a job.

Question for people who have recently lost their job: In the months/years/decades you were employed, leading right up to the point where you found out you no longer had a job......Did you feel grateful for having a job/sorry for people who weren't working?
    Did you fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

If someone told me I should be grateful I had a job, I'd say I was grateful learned a skillset that a) is in good demand b) is adaptable & c) I can travel with... Maybe some people who don't have jobs were too specialised or working in an area that was close to saturation point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

If someone told me I should be grateful I have a job, I'd direct them towards the nearest pole and tell them to go hang their bollocks off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

If you were

thats your problem

have fun trying to pay that mortgage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

So, where's everybody going on hollers?

Hmmm??

*not responsible for my own sick sense of humor*

/pegs it

Caoimhín wrote: »
    In an ideal world, nobody should have to work.

for a 31yr old to say that is quite special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

What's with this reverse elitism? And I've seen people on this board and outside the internets practically apologetic that they're working. If I'm working hard and earning my pennies I have nothing to be grateful about and if I was to be sacked for reasons beyond my control, so be it. Just tired of this typically Irish mentality of begrudging people in a better situation from your high horse when you should be practically thanking them for contributing towards their dole.

p.s Very aware the sentiment in my title is a minority, but seems to be a growing sentiment IMO

I am grathful- but just cos we have a job doesnt mean we cant bitch and moan about our jobs.

If anyone said to me "You should be grateful you have a job!" they would get a swift kick in the face- and then id say "You should be grathful im in a good mood"

I have a job and i'm off to NY for 10 days, can't wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

thats your problem

have fun trying to pay that mortgage
    Well the situation Dopey outlined isn't actually his/her own so (s)he may not be paying a mortgage - but still though, what a delightful thing to say. The milk of human kindness, that's what it is...

Having faced the prospect of being unemployed recently but then securing a job just before my contract ended, I would consider myself damn lucky. I don't think people should feel "grateful" and I know people secure work through their own merits... but right now, to be in employment is quite lucky. I know I had a massive stroke of luck.
    Personally I can't conceieve of a situation where an able-bodied person can't get a job in six months. It's people's sense of entitlement and ridiculous standards that they've set for themselves that usually holds them back from getting full-time employment for a lower salary than their previous rather than staying on the dole crossing their fingers
    I CAN conceive of such a situation - e.g. the current economic climate in Ireland right now.
    Cheers for the guilt trip.
    You're the one who reads it as a guilt trip. I read it as simply another perspective... although more relevant to whenever some genius starts a thread here about how anyone who's suffering in the recession "brought it all on themselves". And then out come the "It's your own fault for getting a mortgage" lines as if every mortgage was a ludicrously extravagant one. Yes... you'd need to be a right dopey, careless **** to get a mortgage.
    People who think it should take anyone no longer than six months to find a job (ANY job) in the current climate hasn't a clue what they're talking about and is obviously not facing losing their job. How about the countless others applying for these rare jobs? (Again, bearing in mind ANY job). I can assure you it could take a lot longer than six months, even with as much graft as possible and even with being as unchoosy as possible. Plus, there are all the political aspects to consider: being over-qualified for example. People who are qualified solicitors might be applying for every McDonalds job going, but not getting them because the company doesn't want over-qualified people.

I find the ignorance and the lack of compassion utterly dismaying.
    I was unsure as to whether or not this was your actual position in life or not. Do you know anybody who is in that position? Or are you just presuming that there are?
    Of course there are. It doesn't seem like you fully grasp how bad things are.
    Your first post in this thread is, IMO, an attempt to guilt trip people in employment into feeling grateful for having to get up at 8 in the morning and join the rat race.
    Have you ever been unemployed? Because, believe you me, when you are, the prospect of getting up early five mornings a week to join the rat race becomes very attractive indeed. And it's not just the money - it's the feeling of having a purpose in life, of simply getting out of the house and interacting with people, of doing something with your day.
    All this guilt-tripping people are on about - I haven't experienced it at all. I just simply feel lucky (but not guilty). I could just as easily be unemployed.
    Why the sudden outpouring of sympathy for people who were made redundant?
    Because... I don't know... it's sh1t for them?
    During the boom times there were still thousands of people without work (granted there are twice as many now), but there was nobody saying then that everyone should be happy to have a job.
    Are you for ****ing real? You really don't have any idea of how disastrous things are.
    Question for people who have recently lost their job: In the months/years/decades you were employed, leading right up to the point where you found out you no longer had a job......Did you feel grateful for having a job/sorry for people who weren't working?
    Did you fcuk.
    Of course not - because there were mountains of jobs and people weren't unemployed for long. I was unemployed for a bit during the boom and I didn't expect people to feel sorry for me, because there were plenty of jobs out there.
    6th wrote: »
    Got my first jobseekers allowance today. Felt nasty.
    Jeez, don't be feeling bad 6th - you've paid your taxes for long enough, you're entitled to that allowance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I hate when people say i'm lucky to have a job.

I feckin hate my job and would love to find another one but i can't cos well it's not worth the hassle of trying to look for something that's not there.

Would love to go back to college maybe but i won't get a grant, will have to pay fees and won't get any social welfare payments. I am supposed to use savings? I'm sorry but they all go on levies and taxes!

So i'm stuck in my depressing job for the meantime but if i hear another person say "you're lucky to have a job", i'll go mental cos it make me hate my job even more.

You're lucky to get the dole, medical card and rent allowance. It's still something at the end of the day which doesn't work out much less after levies, travel costs to work and back, rent etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 HomeAccount

I hate my job. What it is, the peope I work with, the situations I have to put up with, everything about it. But I can't do anything about it, because there is nothing really out there.

Yes. I have a job. But is the few worthless euros I do earn enough to warrant my soul being crushed?

I think not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Elle Victorine

I;ve only ever heard this remark passed at people who spend their whole week bitching about the fact that they have to work. I'd rather be in their position than on the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I have a job
    Thought as much. Those doing the sneering and jeering at people who are unemployed tend to be working themselves all right.
    and i'm off to NY for 10 days, can't wait
    Prime exhibit. Gloating - that's big of you.

So anyway, what was so heinous about a person taking out a mortgage during the boom when they had a full-time permanent job? And by mortgage I mean a modest two or three-bedroom house in a middle-of-the-road area.

While you'll no doubt say such a person should have known their job wasn't 100% secure, using that logic, nobody would have invested in anything. Would you really have been thinking along those lines during the boom yourself - "my job is not 100% secure because no job is, therefore I'll keep all my money in the bank"...? I have my doubts. By the way, isn't a trip to New York a bit extravagant? You never know when you could lose your job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

If you were

Well, isn't the above bad enough without begrudging someone else who has a job?

Lets not forget, the higher the unemployment rate, the worse things get for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭gwhiz

Serious response:

Another load of co*k and boll*x.... I would never guilt trip anyone for anyone for having a job. Fair play to you if you have one and long may it last. I am a lone parent with three kids and would shovel **** if I was paid to do it. I have no problem working for the minimum wage (even though I have twenty years experience as a legal secretary). I know you are gonna reply with some snide ignorant post and I dont give a flying **** what you have to say anymore...

Dudess wrote: »
    Thought as much. Those doing the sneering and jeering at people who are unemployed tend to be working themselves all right.

Prime exhibit. Gloating - that's big of you.

So anyway, what was so heinous about a person taking out a mortgage during the boom when they had a full-time permanent job? And by mortgage I mean a modest two or three-bedroom house in a middle-of-the-road area.

While you'll no doubt say such a person should have known their job wasn't 100% secure, using that logic, nobody would have invested in anything. Would you really have been thinking along those lines during the boom yourself - "my job is not 100% secure because no job is, therefore I'll keep all my money in the bank"...? I have my doubts. By the way, isn't a trip to New York a bit extravagant? You never know when you could lose your job.

I'm only gloating(joking around more like) because i'm sick of hearing people giving out about the situations they are in and how its everybody elses fault and not theirs. The teachers/civil servants/nurses are paid too much, they're bailing out the banks why can't they bail out my 400k mortgage blah blah blah

Dudess wrote: »
    By the way, isn't a trip to New York a bit extravagant? You never know when you could lose your job.

I haven't got any debts and i've put away bits and pieces of money over a long period for NY so no its not :pac:
    I have other savings