Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swords CC - Round 5 - Old Town CP (48km)

• 14-05-2009 6:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭

Hi - Usually wait for Raam to start one of these (he does a good report that chap). But in the absence of one, the below are my ramblings from last night:

13/05/2009 The Swords CC Old Town CP (48k). This was to be my second club race with Swords CC and to be honest, on the day, I just wasn’t feeling ‘ready’. Mostly, I reckon I was just being ‘chicken’ but I’d hoped the drizzle/rain would hold off and it didn’t, I didn’t have tights (just shorts) with me and although I’d picked up my shoe covers, I’d left them behind…It was as if I needed more excuses. I thought I’d help with marshalling instead. When it came down to it, I said ‘feck it’ and got changed. This was another course that was new to me and I needed to follow the others just to find the start. I met and chatted with more of the Swords lads and also Andreas – who I knew from the Ardattin 200. As we cycled up to the start, the drizzle became heavier and we were all thinking about what the cornering would be like. This time I was selected to go in the second group, which seemed (to me) to have to wait a very long time after the first group headed off. We got going eventually, as quite a big group of 16 or so I think, and it quickly became a question of ‘up and overs’, though to be honest, I spent a little while at the back trying to feel my way – and hang on. Soon enough, we all got involved working at the front, though by the second lap the group had split and I was in what I believe was the front part with about 8 riders. This worked well, though I struggled a bit getting the balance of speed right in the ‘up and over’ and there were calls of ‘steady’ if anyone went through too hard. One of the chaps said to “keep it for when the ‘scratch’ lads come past”. I completely lost track of where I was on the route as I was concentrating on avoiding the potholes and wasn’t familiar with the route anyway. These potholes claimed a few unfortunates. I heard one of our group let a yelp and then drive off into the ditch behind me and I saw another chap carrying his bike back to the finish. Each time we reached Garristown, the group stretched a little, though were pretty quick to return together. When the cycling settled down during the first lap through to half way on the third, I was feeling fine (apart from being soaked and beginning to lose contact with my toes!). During the third lap, a group came up on us like a train and somehow I got disconnected. I speeded up but missed the opportunity to jump on. I’d been asleep and when it happened, although I responded it was not enough to make the connection. I was annoyed with myself as I was the only one in our group to not manage to join them. I didn’t settle but chased hard, unfortunately, it was not enough. I could see the lads at the back seemingly cruising but try as I might, I was ‘out the back’. I wasn’t giving up as I reckoned I had enough in the tank to push hard enough for the remaining 10k or so which is what I did. Another small group (‘scratch’, perhaps?) went past me while I was doing this, though I came up on two from my original group at Garristown and went on through. I could see another one in red ahead and mentally made him my new target. One of the two lads I passed came back past me and we worked together to push the overall pace. Eventually, we caught the man in red and all three of us worked toward the finish – now about 2k away. I really was lost and had no idea where the finish was and the three of us kept doing 'up and overs', then suddenly it was more like ‘up and away’. I actually asked one of them if the finish was “going to be where the car-lights were?” (about 300m ahead). I can’t be sure if he actually answered but he speeded up as did the other one. I thought, I may was well throw whatever was left at it and got past the two. It was a bit of an anti-climax as the road was blocked (a car was actually on the line) and there were loads of the other cyclists and others milling about. I have to say, I still find it strange with these races that once the first 10 or so go by, the race finish is pretty much closed down. Anyway, I really enjoyed myself (despite conditions) and felt good at the end. Myself and the chap in the red cycled back together, (an Aidan, like myself) and it turned out to be his third race, so we were both newbies. Back at the church, I realised I now had to change and head home but my preparations had been so well-organised earlier (not!) that of course I was missing various items of dry clothes. I wondered for a moment if would I fall foul of the new blasphemy laws if I was naked in church grounds. I ‘bought’ another Swords top from Sam(?) with the assurance that I would pay him next time. Managed a change in the car and headed home fantasising about the hot bath and a cold drink that awaited me. I reckon if you can get your head around starting a race in weather like last night, you can do it anytime, and I was really glad I did. It’s all learning.
    My computer stats - Dist: 49.889km, Max: 46.9km, Av: 32.8, Time: 1:31:20 – weather: drizzle/ rain, some bad roads, about 50-60 riders, no idea of placing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Hi Cadex
    I was in the black "breton" jersey and am fairly sure we rode in to the finish. Like yourself just lost concentration and let go at the wrong time. Awful conditions and had to bunnyhop a few big pot holes. Was surprised we were caught as during the second lap were working very well together. Will miss next week myself but you're by no means out out your depth!
    Well done to the guy who won from the first group in his first race ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Nice one Cadex. No report from me this week. I had a frigging 'mare so there is nothing worth reporting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Cadex

Ah that was you! I was in the Swords gear, I remember the Breton top. I only know a couple of folks yet and some of them are because I met them on Boards spins or events like the Ardattin or similar. Fair play to you, I think we did well enough. Its a pity we got dropped, I don't really know how it happened but will try and do better next time. I think I was in the right group this time (even if I got dropped). I ended up kind of time-trialling it the first time when I was in the first group, which didn't help - me or the others. Still thinking about those potholes - I missed most but caught a couple of beauts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Great Report Cadex. Been waiting for Raam's.

I started in the 3rd group and tried to stick closely to the top end of the group. Half way around the 1st lap I thought I'd never be able to keep up this pace but very slowly felt my body get used to it and by the 3rd lap was starting to feel like I had a good bit of power left in my legs. Myself and Andreas worked quite well together at the front of the bunch and upped the tempo when we felt it eased off too much... didn't want to give group 4 or scratch an easy catch (though they may have already even caught us)! At one stage said to Andreas that everyone's saving themselves for the final gallop which worried me a lot. Everyone stayed together but no one was allowed to get away either. At one stage we let one guy break about 50 meters ahead and left him there. Once he was within sights and not gaining on our bunch we'll leave him there knowing that he couldnt stay out on his tobler. Everyone was together coming into the last 2k's the pace upped big stylie and suddenly my legs said to brain "I can't give you any more":eek:. The sprinters flew to my right in the last 300m and I gritted my teeth and tried to hold on to a decent position. I passed Andreas but finish line was 10 meters further than my legs could hold and he got me on the line. Counting the heads that crossed the line in front of me and I counted 7. 7!! I GOT 8TH!! I GOT A PLACING!! I was delighted and went back to the finishline judges and found out at there was some dude the group never caught that won! (ahem sandbagger!) I was 9th! :mad: So close but no cigar.

First race this season and so far so good. Punctured last week on the Garristown circuit and we're back there next Wednesday. Not looking forward to that but all I have to concentrate is on holding on. I repeatedly said to myself on Wednesdays race "I just have to hold on".

Aside: like Cadex I had no change of clothes and was soaked through to the bone. Managed to come up with the idea of sitting on the footwell mat for my drive home. Heat on full blast I started to slowly get feeling back in my toes.

Raam? What happened? Spill the beans.

Stats: Avg 35.8, Max 53.3, Time 1.26.50, 1461kcal, Avg HR 159, Max HR 179. Distance as Cadex.

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Raam? What happened? Spill the beans.

Nothing of note. Heart wasn't in it from the start and I wasn't enjoying the potholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Raam wrote: »
    Nothing of note. Heart wasn't in it from the start and I wasn't enjoying the potholes.

Keep the chin up my man. It was a shocking night for racing and to dodge potholes at speed in the rain.... it's just not funny.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

1st Barry Conway
    2nd Michael Daly (Swords)
    3rd Derek Humphries (Swords)
    4th Jason Kelly (Swords)
    5th Martin Fitzgerald (Stam MD)
    6th Adam Lawler (Swords)
    7th Paddy Callaly (Swords)
    8th Andreas Voight (DWCC)
    Conditions: Wet (again!)