Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Setanta sports

• 13-05-2009 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭

I went to cancel my Setanta sports today and they then offered me it for half price for 6 months which I gladly accepted. This is a reduction of 22 to 11 euros p/m.

I also cancelled Sky sports and they offered me 20% off to keep me on which I declined.

Good savings to be had, they will do anything nowadays to keep you with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭leex

I got same Setanta savings last summer. Going to give them a call one of the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭TM

indenial wrote: »
    I went to cancel my Setanta sports today and they then offered me it for half price for 6 months which I gladly accepted. This is a reduction of 22 to 11 euros p/m.
    Maybe a symptom of the reported financial difficulties they find themselves in? Hopefully you get your full 6 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Setanta are offering UK customers its package for 3 months at £3.33 per month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

bah, soccer season is pretty much over. Let's see if they offer it in August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

make sure they confirm it and double check your bill.

Have heard of a few people who got half price deals, but this wasn't transferred to their billing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Rics

Yeah I've heard from a few people that if you ring some of these companies threatening to leave them that they'll offer you a better deal, at least temporarily. Can see a lot of people trying this in the climate we're in right now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭indenial

Setanta are offering UK customers its package for 3 months at £3.33 per month.

I was put through to cancellations department in England. The guy at the end of the phone looked at my account and said "Wow, you are right that is a lot of money every month". I took from his reaction it was a lot cheaper over there.

You get alot less on the UK package though . You only get 48 premiership games on the UK Setanta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

How come you were able to cancel over the phone? I know you didn't cancel, but....

I always thought that you had to email/write to them to give them cancellation notice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Rics wrote: »
    Yeah I've heard from a few people that if you ring some of these companies threatening to leave them that they'll offer you a better deal, at least temporarily. Can see a lot of people trying this in the climate we're in right now!

Anyone who can afford pay tv these days isn't that poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

i got setanta for €5 for 4 months and it will be €10.99 for 6months after that.when they offer you the 10.99 deal push them a bit more and you will get that deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭JTMan

Keep in mind that Setanta as a wildly reported to be company in trouble. (See Irish Times article this week for an example).

What happens if they go belly up to subscribers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Fungus wrote: »
    Keep in mind that Setanta as a wildly reported to be company in trouble. (See Irish Times article this week for an example).

What happens if they go belly up to subscribers?

you only pay per month ,no one is gonna get screwed.at worst you would lose 22 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

yabadabado wrote: »
    i got setanta for €5 for 4 months and it will be €10.99 for 6months after that.when they offer you the 10.99 deal push them a bit more and you will get that deal

Just got the same. Thanks for the info!

Anyone get better than the 20% off Sky before I go ringing them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

They reduced all my sports channels to €6.50 per month for 3 months. I went to cancel after the 3 months and they cancelled with out question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭huddlejonny

i threatened to cancel and they offered HD subscription for €2.50 per month for 12 months, dunno if that works out cheaper than 15%. Well worth haggling over prices, all these companies have varying win-back offers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭banchang

i threatened to cancel and they offered HD subscription for €2.50 per month for 12 months, dunno if that works out cheaper than 15%. Well worth haggling over prices, all these companies have varying win-back offers!

Result - they not only got you to spend more to cover their fixed costs, they retained you on your core packages. Brilliant !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Always found SKY would do nearly anything to get you to keep paying. It costs them nothing extra to have you as a customer, so getting something out of you it pure profit to them. I threaten to cancel my sub a few years ago as the box broke and they wanted e100 to send someone out to fix it. As soon as i said cancel they changed their tune, offered to fix it for free, back pay one months sub as it was broken for nearly a week and get sky sports and movies free for 3 months, big difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mcgrailg

Hiya - have you got the number to cancel Setanta handy by any chance ?

mcgrailg wrote: »

Hey its
    0818 203040

Be prepared to be on the phone a while though and whatever you do don't tell them you support Liverpool. Tell them you don't support anyone and should save some time.

Is that a new 12 month contract you had to sign?
    Were you already a HD subscriber?

mcgrailg wrote: »

Best of luck with that!

They're a disaster. I cancelled the same account 3 seperate times, and a few days after each cancellation, I got a Welcome Pack in the post thanking me for joining Setanta.

They're the biggest shower of chancers/wasters/amateurs I've ever come across.

Oh yeah, you need to email requests@setanta.com to cancel. They won't take cancellations over the phone. Plus, the cancellation will take effect 30 days after your next billing date, so depending on when you do it, you could be waiting nearly 2 months for it to kick in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Eyeofthetiger

We were charged twice for the same account because of some mix up on Setanta's end and only refunded 75% of the money so I cancelled my setanta sports subscription at the insistence of my fiancé a couple of months ago.
    After being hung up on twice (after 40 mins of waiting and 10 mins of waiting), they offered me the 3 months for half price offer and suggested I check with my husband when he gets home from work to make sure he agreed to cancelling it, if I did want to go ahead with the cancellation!

(And what was even worse he was the one who was home at the time and I was in work :P to them!)

If you sign up to the 3/6/whatever amount of time at half price that's an extension on your contract and you cannot cancel within that time.

Oh and you DO have to send an email as they can't process cancellation requests over the phone, as was said by a previous poster :)

Shower of thieving....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭greenman09

Rang to cancel setanta cos the footie season is over and retention team offered me 5e per month for 4months and then 10e thereafter. Told him i didnt watch it for anything else. Nearly dropped the phone. Also as above said i didnt support liverpool or man u.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭indenial

greenman09 wrote: »
    Rang to cancel setanta cos the footie season is over and retention team offered me 5e per month for 4months and then 10e thereafter.

There was I well and truly chuffered getting offered 10e p/m for 6 months........doh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭gafarrell

greenman09 wrote: »
    Rang to cancel setanta cos the footie season is over and retention team offered me 5e per month for 4months and then 10e thereafter. Told him i didnt watch it for anything else. Nearly dropped the phone. Also as above said i didnt support liverpool or man u.

Rang up and got the same deal there. Told him i was a Cork City supporter :). Keep haggling and you will get the deal. They first offered €10 for 6 months and i said no. Then they offered €5 for 4 months and i asked him to put the 2 deals together and they agreed :). Next phone call is to sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭huddlejonny

Soarer wrote: »
    Is that a new 12 month contract you had to sign?
    Were you already a HD subscriber?

i had a regular sky box/package and was looking for an upgrade to HD, so i rang them saying i wanted to cancel. Got through to the win-back dept and yer man made his pitch about upgrading to Hd on a special offer etc..
    In the end we agreed that i'd pay €2.50 / month for the HD subscription on top of what i was paying already. Just play along and refuse the first offer saying you cant afford it and they will better that offer with something else.

As for Setanta, dirty thieving gypsy baxtards, they are the most unhelpful misguided company on the planet. Seems the left hand doesnt know what the right hand is doing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 pdaly92

I love doing this! whenever Im at the end of my contract for anywhere its straight round to retentions forme, grab myself a little discount! ha!ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mcgrailg

Hi Huddlejonny, did you say you wanted to cancel the whole package of just the sports to get that offer ?

Gary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Got Setanta for 4 quid p/m for 8 months in January. Told them that I only supported my local club.

Got conned into upgrading to HD Last year, on the cheap however, still more money though.

But last Monday, I got my overall bill reduced 20 euro as I complained that the service was poor. Might work for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

what differance does it make to what team you supported??

must make the call as soon as IPL is over

also isnt setant ta losing premiership games season after next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Wouldn't offer me both. 10.99 for 6 months or €5 for 3 months. Pushed right through to cancellation point at which point I was given an email address to send a cancellation request to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Going to cancel my setanta now.

Do I just give them my sky card number (didnt know I had a setanta Number!).

Also, It normally comes out on 27th of each month. I never signed anything, will I have to pay for next months subscription aswell!!

Lastly, if they cut me off straight away, cant I argue that they forced me to pay for a service they didnt give me. . .

Drumpot wrote: »
    Going to cancel my setanta now.

Do I just give them my sky card number (didnt know I had a setanta Number!).

Also, It normally comes out on 27th of each month. I never signed anything, will I have to pay for next months subscription aswell!!

Lastly, if they cut me off straight away, cant I argue that they forced me to pay for a service they didnt give me. . .

I think the way it works is that you pay for the month gone by at the end of the month so yes you'll be charged the end of this month. What you could do is accept the 5 a month which will include this months bill and then cancel after that.

Ah feck.

I didnt cancel last month because somebody said to me they would switch off my viewing straight away (and still charge you for that month!).

Will I just email them my Viewing card number or is it my sky account number!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Glenbhoy

I presume this only works if you've got setanta/sky sports through sky - i'm with ntl, so are there any possibilities there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 chimmychanga

I don't think Setanta are going to last too long judging by some of the commentary in the financial sections of most papers. They'll be lucky if they could afford to buy the rights to a home farm under 12's game! Hopefully Bravo will show the UFC again when setanta go under

Got the €5 deal myself but would have no problem paying the full price for the UFC alone. Its $40 for each event on PPV in the states!

Do you not have to pay extra for the UFC events???

No their just shown as part of the regular subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭steps_3314

indenial wrote: »

I also cancelled Sky sports and they offered me 20% off to keep me on which I declined.

Good savings to be had, they will do anything nowadays to keep you with them.

I did the same as i really wanted to cancel so they said send in an email requesting the cancellation.

After doing this they offered it to me for 4.99.

Not bad i suppose.

Up the Dubs

No their just shown as part of the regular subscription.
    luvly jubbly, might get to see the machida fight on sunday now!!!!!!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Got the €5 deal myself but would have no problem paying the full price for the UFC alone. Its $40 for each event on PPV in the states!

that's the only reason i got setanta
    ill ring them hoping hoping they offer me the deal
    im guessing its not quite big enough here
    to be ppv just yet but ive no doubt if sky get it
    things will change given how quickly its growing
    as a sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

mailburner wrote: »
    ive no doubt if sky get it
    as a sport

The UFC do not like Sky. Sky used to show it a few years ago and ****ed around with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Be aware that if you are cancelling Setanta, they have a two month notice policy. So they will bill you twice before you get cut off. The exception is if you say you are cancelling because the price went up (which it did a while back), then only one month notice is required.

Read the small print!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭emmbaasee

Can anybody advise me what's the best way to cancel Setanta sports when they are paying for it using there credit card ?
    Im paying 21.99 a month for the sports package which they take automatically every month. Should i just contact the credit card company to cancel or will i need to go through Setanta ?

emmbaasee wrote: »
    Can anybody advise me what's the best way to cancel Setanta sports when they are paying for it using there credit card ?
    Im paying 21.99 a month for the sports package which they take automatically every month. Should i just contact the credit card company to cancel or will i need to go through Setanta ?

My advice is to contact credit card company first.

Mine advised me to email Setanta my request to cancel it and then to post a copy of this confirmation to the credit card company requesting that they do not allow any more payments to be taken out of your account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

mailburner wrote: »
    that's the only reason i got setanta
    ill ring them hoping hoping they offer me the deal
    im guessing its not quite big enough here
    to be ppv just yet but ive no doubt if sky get it
    as a sport

To be fair - and I think we call all agree that premium sports is the one arena where a monopoly is preferable to what we currently have - Setanta also do a very good job getting the mid-high level fights; the Haye vs. Kiltchsco fight for example, ones that aren't able to support high PPV attach rates but are seriously attractive for an evening's viewing.

On a related note - has anyone squeezed a good deal out of them upon joining them in the first place? If I could even get a half decent deal I'd be interested in getting it to watch UFC 99 and 100 over next next couple of months.