Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealer in Dublin acting the maggot

• 12-05-2009 3:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭

Went into a fairly well known dealer in Dublin earlier to have a look at a car I was interested in. Car turned out to have just been sold, but for the sake of it, I decided to see if they'd be interested in taking my car as a trade in against anything else, because they have occasionally had something I'd be interested in. They had a look, asked the mileage etc. Now, I'm under no illusions as to how much my car is worth any more. It's a relatively high-miler BMW 318is (150k) black, with lots of mechanical work just done, receipts, pretty much in perfect cosmetic condition (front grill kidney is missing but im getting that sorted), and is worth well more than the offers they were making. They did the usual (oh timing belt will have to be done) until I pointed out its a timing chain. Then they said the head gasket will need to be done (i pointed out I just had compression tests done, and a full check of the engine...all is good), they then said theyd be lucky to get two grand for it, and offered me 600! Then said they'd do a straight swap for a Peugeot 206GTI. I said I'd no interest in one. "Why not?"
    "Just said I wasn't interested."
    "Be faster than the Beemer anyway".
    "Yeah, but I don't want it".
    "Be more reliable too. Head gaskets go all the time on these. I rally the **** out of that Peugeot and its grand".
    "Nah".
    "By the way, you should clock that BMW. Find a garage to roll back the miles, or get a crashed one with lower clocks, get your mileage down to 90k or so, cos its a nice looking car".

I left then. Thought he was taking the piss, but... I couldnt believe it. They are fairly well known (I wouldnt say reputable) and theyve recently moved premises, and seem to do OK, and here they were telling me to clock my trade-in, after offering me 600! Can't believe garages are STILL acting the maggot, despite the economy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

This conversation would have ended with me when the words, "we'll need to change your timing belt", were uttered...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

May give ya a ring and talk about this one! Ya serious?

Bit of a joke.. Even I wouldn't straight swap for a 206gti.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 fuzzy12

I think I know who your talking about. Did they used to be around the Kilmainham area of the city?

Had a nightmare with this crowd last year. Absolute cowboys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

fuzzy12 wrote: »
    I think I know who your talking about. Did they used to be around the Kilmainham area of the city?

Had a nightmare with this crowd last year. Absolute cowboys.

No they're not in the city itself...out a bit in the south/west area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

So he told you to clock your car and also told you he rally's the **** out of another car he was trying to sell you.... FFS man I'd be on to SIMI about them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

No who's who's or where's what. Just continue the discussion, we don't need to, nor want to know who it is.

Sounds like a bit of a joke tbh OP, assuming you weren't talking to the owner of the garage, would you not file a complaint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭rocknchef

sure it wasnt naked camera or some wind up camera show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭trackcar

Yes this crap is still going on, I know some one who recently bought a cheap used truck from an independant truck dealer with 480,000 kilometers on the clock, went to his local main dealer to get some work done on it, they had access to the previous history of the vehicle from the UK and the truck had over 900,000 Kilometers earlier this year.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

steve06 wrote: »
    So he told you to clock your car and also told you he rally's the **** out of another car he was trying to sell you.... FFS man I'd be on to SIMI about them!
    Like SIMI will care! :rolleyes:
    They are a waste of time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 dublin1968

simi just take their money..there useless , like the bord gais regulator et al....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

steve06 wrote: »

Although the SIMI will do SFA get onto them...and tip off the Gardai at the same time. You never know, they might have suspicions and could act on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Kartale

Can we ask the year of the 206 Gti, or if dealer was a franchised dealer or just used cars ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Kartale wrote: »
    Can we ask the year of the 206 Gti, or if dealer was a franchised dealer or just used cars ?

Do we really need to know who it was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Kartale

Prob not, just a slow day