Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any Parnell Park season ticket holders here

• 12-05-2009 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭

I was just wondering how hard is it to get one of these if you were never a member before. I presume they will renew the membership for previous members first. I was a member 2 years ago and and was told I could renew agin for this term but its just that I know 2 other people who were never members before that wish to join. If anyone is a member and has an electronic copy of the application form could they send me one (pm me first)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I'm a member the last three years (this year inclusive) and I have heard different stories.While there is a priority on existing members,I don't think it will be too hard for new members to get into the scheme.I heard there is a waiting list but anybody I know that has joined in the last year or two got one after a while before the first Dubs game in the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Thanks Balckbelt. So do you think they should just fill out a form and post in a cheque in a couple of weeks before the Meath game and hope for the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

Please excuse my ignorance but I've heard a lot about the Parnell park ticket holder scheme and have a few questions about it.

Does it automatically give the holder a ticket for championship games or what? Also can you use it to get into Senior championship matches that aren't on in Parnell park, like say they were on in O'Toole park. I know it probably sounds stupid but I'm just curious!

The pass entitles the holder to a ticket for each championship game but it does not cover the cost of the ticket.Basically it is an insurance policy for tickets in the championship.You need to go down to Parnell the Tuesday before a championship game,prduce your pass and buy your ticket.

But the real value of the ticket comes in the form of the national league,Dublin Senior Club Championship and challenge matches.

What it does cover is entry into Parnell Park for all National Football and Hurling league matches as well as entry into Parnell Park,O Toole Park and any other venue in Dublin under the auspices of the Dublin County Board for Senior intercounty challenge matches and Club championships.

E.g St Vincents v St Sylvesters in Balgriffin = free entry
    Dublin v Mayo (challenge match) in Naomh Mearnóg = free entry
    Dublin v Westmeath (NFL) in Parnell Park = Free entry

The pass DOES NOT cover any Walsh Cup or O Byrne Cup matches.

In all the years I have had the pass,I have broke even the cost of the pass by attending Club matches in Parnell.You'll definitely have saved money by October if you go regularly.This year I am intending following the Dublin Club Championship from the earlier rounds rather than from August/September.The scheme is definitely worth it and is a good investment for Dublin fans who want to save money in the next year.This Friday I will have saved around €15 when I go to the double header between St Vincents v Na Fianna and Plunketts v St Brigids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I got it for the first time last year and have paid my renewal, and now awaiting its arrival in the post. Friday May 1st was the official closing date for renewals, but send in your forms anyway. The sooner the better. Don't wait until up close to the Meath game. I got a phone call at the end of May last year to say my application was successful, but I had applied well before that. It is really based on how many they have left after existing people have renewed. As Blackbelt says, it is worth it, but only if you go to a lot of games. I went to a lot more matches during the winter this year, than I normally would, due to having the Parnell Pass.

If you only want it for the guarantee of getting a ticket for the Dublin matches this summer, then you are wasting your money. If you pay for it, then use it to its fullest extent. It is €130 for the standing pass, enabling you to buy terrace tickets and get access to the terrace in Parnell Park and €175 for a stand ticket, meaning you get a seat for your money. The fee doesn't pay for the Dublin matches, so you'd still have to pay to go to Croke Park on June 7th, but you are guaranteed a ticket, and you have free access to all the club championship matches and Dublin's league matches. If you go to the club matches and home league matches, then you'll get the value for it. There are a few of us that are members of it in this forum, so by all means apply and join us. We go to a lot of matches together and meet up afterwards too. New members are always welcome. :D PM Blackbelt or myself.

I'll probably be going to the Carlow v Louth match in Parnell Park on Sunday, if anyone is going. The championship isn't just about watching the matches your own county is playing in. So if anyone is planning to go, then PM me.

Thanks for the replies. This sounds like the perfect present my old man! He wouldn't be too bothered about the tickets for the championship as he gets tickets for the Croke Park games anyway.

He regularly visits Parnell to see the club games or challenge matches with the boys in blue. Will give them a call tomorrow and see if I have any luck.

Thanks again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

If your just interested in watching Dublin and in just one code in the league and championship the county season ticket is definitely the way to go. I missed two of the away league games (football season ticket) but managed the other away and all the home.

Fair play to the GAA, with the championship coming up now it's great to know that your ticket doesn't need to be collected and is preloaded onto your card.

So far we've got the four home games, three away games and the league final with the championship game against Meath still to come included in the 75 euro. After that all the games are charged at face value less 5 euro with the expection of the both finals should Dublin get to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

I am on the waiting list for parnell park but got one of them cards bluetonic is on about and it is handy.

Dublin is sold out and you will have to wait till next year and see if any come out as holders have first refusal on their pass

The "waiting list" for the Parnell Pass doesn't seem to be a major problem. As I said, I got mine at the end of May last year, on my first attempt. As we all know, there are a lot of sunshine fans, so many of them don't bother with the Parnell Pass. It is the more regular supporters, which are far fewer in number, that usually try to get one. I don't know what exact criteria they use for giving them out, but if you make an application, you have a good chance. They do ask what club you are a member of, but other than that it seems as if they are open to most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Guys, so a freind and i(two females) want to watch the match on Friday 15th. We are not members, is there any way we could get tickets?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Guys, so a freind and i(two females) want to watch the match on Friday 15th. We are not members, is there any way we could get tickets?

No your grand its cash at the stile but those of us with pp passes will get in for nothing. The best €130 i spend all year and no stress about getting tickets for big games. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I gather Friday won't be a big game?

Always wanted to watch a match, first time-very excited! Hopefully weather is good and we get tickets there.

Friday is "just" club football, as some fans would see it, but the Parnell Pass holders see it as more than that, and go to those type of games too. So come along and see for yourself. Friday is Gaelic Football, just as much as the high profile matches that will attract thousands upon thousands of people as the championship gets going. What you might see on Friday night, could be just as good as any "big game". There won't be 83,500 people there, or a live TV audience of millions worldwide and a radio audience on top of that, like there will be for the All-Ireland finals next September, but it will still be Gaelic Football. It could be a lot better entertainment too. We've all been at bad matches with massive attention, and seen some great games that hardly anyone was at. If, as you say, you've always wanted to watch a match, then you'll have the opportunity to do so on Friday night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

MIN2511 wrote: »
    I gather Friday won't be a big game?

Always wanted to watch a match, first time-very excited! Hopefully weather is good and we get tickets there.

Na Fianna vs Vincents and Brigids vs Plunketts are two fairly big games as far as the Dublin championship goes. It definitely wont be anywhere near full but it's not a bad way to spend a Friday evening!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Flukey wrote: »
    The "waiting list" for the Parnell Pass doesn't seem to be a major problem. As I said, I got mine at the end of May last year, on my first attempt. As we all know, there are a lot of sunshine fans, so many of them don't bother with the Parnell Pass. It is the more regular supporters, which are far fewer in number, that usually try to get one. I don't know what exact criteria they use for giving them out, but if you make an application, you have a good chance. They do ask what club you are a member of, but other than that it seems as if they are open to most people.

Must have been the time of year we applied.

Must chase it up

I am going to call down to parnell Park tomorrow and see if I can pay for membership for 2 others who have never been members before. Do you think I will be wasting my time doing this?

Depends what time you go down but I think it is leaving it fairly late.Mind you,I think Flukey applied around this time last year??Maybe at the start of May.

As far as tomorrows fixtures are concerned,I am expecting a decent crowd at it.Vinnies and Na Fianna will always get a good few spectators at league games and this is a different kettle of fish.Two local derbys in Parnell Park will bring out a good crowd.These two games are part of the biggest rivalries in Dublin Club Circles.

As for the games themselves,I think we will scrape past Na Fianna as we always do.Na Fianna have been struggling over the years but whenever they play us they raise their game considerably akin to when Meath play Dublin.I think Vincents will win by 2 points.

I can't see St Brigids beating Plunketts.The major difference is the full forward line and Bernard Brogan will be really hard to contain.I think Plunketts will be the team to beat this year for a number of reasons.Firstly,I think the hunger is there.They should have beaten Kilmacud Crokes in their drawn encounter when Nesty McGrath decided to go for goal instead of fisting it over the bar in the dying minutes.The ball crashed off the underside of the crossbar and Crokes got away with it.That was the difference between them winning the championship and losing it.They had Kilmacud on the ropes and let them slip through their fingers.They were beaten in the replay but I think they missed their chance big time last year.

Secondly,I don't think St Vincents and Crokes will be up to much this year.Vinnies aren't going well in the league by all accounts and Crokes are in the qualifiers after they were comfortably beaten by Lucan Sarsfields by 5 points 3 weeks ago.I will be keeping a close eye on Ballymun Kickhams and Plunketts this year.

Friday nights games should be good ones! Personally I love the atmosphere you experience at club games. It's pure passion and pride on display. There is nothing greater than seeing young kids in the club turning up to these games in their club colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

blackbelt wrote: »
    I can't see St Brigids beating Plunketts.The major difference is the full forward line and Bernard Brogan will be really hard to contain.I think Plunketts will be the team to beat this year for a number of reasons.Firstly,I think the hunger is there.They should have beaten Kilmacud Crokes in their drawn encounter when Nesty McGrath decided to go for goal instead of fisting it over the bar in the dying minutes.The ball crashed off the underside of the crossbar and Crokes got away with it.That was the difference between them winning the championship and losing it.They had Kilmacud on the ropes and let them slip through their fingers.They were beaten in the replay but I think they missed their chance big time last year.

Firstly, his name's Gareth Smith ie. Nesty Smith.
    Secondly,I don't think St Vincents and Crokes will be up to much this year.Vinnies aren't going well in the league by all accounts and Crokes are in the qualifiers after they were comfortably beaten by Lucan Sarsfields by 5 points 3 weeks ago.I will be keeping a close eye on Ballymun Kickhams and Plunketts this year.

Secondly, writing off the two previous All Ireland Club Champions at this stage is laughable tbh. League and championship are completely different and usually, the less lads you have on the county panel, the better your chances are in the league. Vincents have had to do without Michael Savage, Paul Conlon, Hugh Gill, Ger Brennan, Hugh Coghlan (GPA player of the month), Austin O'Malley, Diarmuid Connolly and Mossy Quinn. Missing that amount of your best players is obviously going to have an effect on your league form. It's way too early to predict who's going to win the SFC this year but saying that the two previous champions aren't up to much this year is baffling tbh.:confused:

An Citeóg, don't be so hard on Blackbelt about writing off St. Vincent's and Kilmacud Crokes. He is actually a Vincent's man himself, and I am a Crokes man, so it has been enough to keep us both happy. :)

Looking at the thread, it seems that there could be a few of us here that will be at the games. It makes good sense to try and meet up. A number of us will definitely be together. We normally head up to Kitty's after matches, so even if everyone can't come or has other plans, there could be enough of us to go there or into town. Even if it is just a case of watching the matches together, we're always keen to expand our circle of GAA pals, especially with the summer coming up. :) So, as usual, PM Blackbelt or myself and we can start making arrangements to meet up before or during or after the game. I hope to see some of you tomorrow evening. Remember, the first match is at 6:45pm and the second at 8:30pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Parnell Park Ticket Scheme

A number of subscribers of the Parnell Park Ticket Scheme have not applied to renew their tickets. Renewals were due on 01 May 09.

There are a number of vacancies and new applications will be accepted up to 28th May for terrace tickets.

Application forms can be obtained at Dublin County Board Offices between 10am and 5.30pm each week day.

http://www.hill16.ie/viewstoryhill16.asp?mainheading=Word+on+The+Hill&id=11199&viewstory=yes

Folks,

What time do you reckon hill tickets will be available until on Tuesday at the GAA office. I might not be able to pick mine up until 5pm

Also I forgot to mention can you pick up hill tickets for other Parnell season ticket holders if you have their pass?

It is from 9:30am to 7:30pm and yes you can collect other tickets if you have someone's pass. They are releasing them from a ticket office on Dorset Street, near the Red Parrot pub, not Parnell Park this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭NicheG

I recently applied for a Parnell Park pass and subsequently managed to get one. I never really bothered to ask about the specific games in Parnell Park that Iit would allow me to watch free gratis.
    I decided to go down and watch the Dublin 21 hurlers last night and produced my pass at the turnstile and was abruptly told that it was'nt valid as it was a Leinster Council fixture.

Were they right in doing this? Ended up paying a tenner in.
    I felt a bit cheated.

Can someone explain exactly what matches the Parnell Park ticket is valid for?
    thanks

BTW
    Great performance by the 21s last night. Thought Rory O'Carroll at centre back was just briliant. Very composed.

They are valid for every national league game in Parnell Park both hurling and football.They are also valid for all Dublin club championships in Parnell Park,O Toole Park or any participating venues.

You can also try and chance it at challenge games.Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.The pass guarantees you a ticket for every Dublin championship game on producing your pass on the allocated day of ticket sales which is Tuesday of the week of the match.

Sorry for dragging up an old thread but would anyone know if there would still be parnell passes for sale for the terrace?

One question if anyone who has one of these would know. It states that the pass is only valid for home league games in Parnell Park. Does taht mean that you cannot use it for admission to the home league game that were or are played in Croke Park every year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

billyhead wrote: »
    One question if anyone who has one of these would know. It states that the pass is only valid for home league games in Parnell Park. Does taht mean that you cannot use it for admission to the home league game that were or are played in Croke Park every year?

You use your Parnell Pass to get a "free" ticket to the Croke Park league game from the ticket office on Dorset St, usually on the Tuesday before the league game.

I rang the DCB and the girl I wa talking to said it was not valid for League games outside Parnell Park. Did you definatley get you ticket for this years league games in Croke Park with your pass without having to pay extra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

billyhead wrote: »
    I rang the DCB and the girl I wa talking to said it was not valid for League games outside Parnell Park. Did you definatley get you ticket for this years league games in Croke Park with your pass without having to pay extra?

When she said "outside Parnell Park" she meant away games. Parnell Park pass gets you a ticket for all Dublin home league games, no extra charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Agreed. The Parnell Pass gets you into all Dublin league games whether they are held in Parnell Park or Croke Park. Outside/away games from PP refers to league games held in other counties. Your PP will not get you into games there.

My 2011/2012 PP was for the terrace/standing. That meant that when to pick up my tix for 2012 league games, I should have only been given tickets for the Hill. That is normally where I like to go (hence my buying a Terrace PP in the first place) but when I told her my sad little tale of woe that all my friends and family were in the Hogan Stand Lower, she printed me off tickets for the Hogan Stand, no problem. League games are never sold out, so thankfully they are not terribly anal about where people sit !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Qwerty Dub

There is definitely Parnell Park passes left. It will get you into all Club Championship games between now & next April in all venues around the county for both codes. Will also guarantee you a ticket for the All-Ireland final if we beat Mayo.

And yes, you will get a free ticket for Parnell Pk and/or Croke Park for all Dublin league games (both codes) in 2013.

€175 for stand and €130 for terrace as far as i know.

Can sign up here: http://dcbtickets.gaa.ie/