Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just heard knocking on the door and then the doorbell rung

• 10-05-2009 11:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

It's just gone 6 mins to 1 in the morning and the doorbell just rung. I don't have a clue who rung it or why. I also heard knocking before hand. I'm not answering it for obvious reasons.

Has this happened anyone ever before?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Yes people knock on my door and ring my doorbell on occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I usually get people knocking on the underside of the toilet seat at this hour....I never answer either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

They knocked, you didn't answer so they rang the bell.
    Yeah it happens a lot.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Maybe your house is on fire and they're trying to warn you!

or maybe it was opportunity, although from what I've heard it doesn't usually ring the bell....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

I once got a knock on the door before. That guy never knocked on my door or anyone else's door again that's all I will say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

has this ever happened to anyone at this late hour though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Either it's the Gardaí with bad news.
    The Gardaí asking you to evacuate due to some 'security alert'
    A few burly men in balaclava's wanting to slaughter your family and rob you for everything you have.

The important thing is, the 3rd one would've kicked the door in by now and you wouldn'tve had a chance to post before you were dragged into the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

maybe you won a free pizza.....

swingking wrote: »
    Well yeah, you.
    I'm confused now.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's not the postman anyway, it doesn't fit his mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Messed Up Mind

I got a knock on the door, more like a thump, and then a door bell ring at about 1.30am one time. Had a peek out my window, the window was window closed obviously, didn't wanna end up like this chap: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1023/1224625124153.html . Turned out it was the guards. Some person had driven into someone else's house wall and then fecked off again. The guards were just checking if we'd heard or seen anything.

I have recieved a knock on the door at 4 in the morning. I answered it but no one was there. 5 mins later another and no one there again. Then I realised it was me banging on the cooker and sounding like a knock. Yes I was drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

It's just gone 6 mins to 1 in the morning and the doorbell just rung. I don't have a clue who rung it or why. I also heard knocking before hand. I'm not answering it for obvious reasons.

Has this happened anyone ever before?

id be more worried if it was a petrol bomb through the window tbh

dont worry if its a mad axe murderer ,they dont usually knock or ring the doorbell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

gwan answer it, I want to know who's there!

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    I once got a knock on the door before. That guy never knocked on my door or anyone else's door again that's all I will say.

You showed him how to use a doorbell?

I never answer my door. Live in a apartment, no peephole. If anyone needs to speak to the occupants of this apartment then they can use the intercom at the front door.[EDIT] The main front door, in the foyer...(before the smart arses like SharpS jump in!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

it could be the start of his very own horror movie!!

I showed him how to swim with the fishies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Might be a booty call/taxi driver at the wrong house/drunk neighbour/drunk randomer/someone just having a laugh/the cops

It's hard to tell. But if it was any of your friends and family they would probably ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Hired goons, more than likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Is it you? Some sort of elaborate prank?

knock knock

whos there?

doris

doris who?

doris still not open thats why i rang the bell:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Call the guards! For ****s sake, it could be paedophile!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

He got lessons off:

Señor ding dong

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    I showed him how to swim with the fishies
    He must have had a whale of a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

no, it's my accomplice. I'm supposed to convince the OP to open the door. my accomplice is an axe murder btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

God your paranoid.

Couldve been drunks staggering back from the pub.

He must have had a whale of a time.

i think hes only coding you ;)

Overheal wrote: »
    God your paranoid.

No way man, TV licence inspectors dont sleep....well actually maybe they do...

TV licence inspectors work in shifts, BEWARE.

pebbles21 wrote: »
    i think hes only coding you ;)
    Maybe or the guy was in the wrong plaice at the wrong time.
    OP have they came back since?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

This is why you should have an automatic firearm. Own the b@stard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

I'd have to answer it. The curiosity would just get the better of me.

Why didn't you answer the bloody door?

now we're all wondering who the hell it was. Jeasus.

WUM.. methinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Damo1174

Something similar happened my mate a year or two ago. Someone started banging frantically on his door at bout 2 in the morning and shouting help theres an emergency.

So he wakes up sharpish runs down and opens the door. But as he opens the door the guys throw a big bucket of bright blue paint all over him and then do a legger.

The funny thing is he found the guys the next day... the spent the night on the streets and he was driving to work and sees these teenagers pissed drunk and having blue paint on their hands and blue patches on their clothes.... Ill leave the next 5 mins of what happend up to your imagination.
    I thought it was funny anyway... even if it was my mate that it happend to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Damo1174 wrote: »
    The funny thing is he found the guys the next day... the spent the night on the streets and he was driving to work and sees these teenagers pissed drunk and having blue paint on their hands and blue patches on their clothes.... Ill leave the next 5 mins of what happend up to your imagination..

Tease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Happens to me friends all the time. I get meself in a right ould drunken state and decide that all my friends must be awake aswell and in the mood for a session so I call into them. If their asleep or dont hear the door I just ring em. Done it so much that now they just answer and tell me to fook off. Then call down ot me the next day to tell me what I was blabbering on about. In me own head I dont believe em and can almost swear that I walked home not a bother in a straight line all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Hephaestus

Hired goons, more than likely

do u owe this man money?

seanybiker wrote: »
    Happens to me friends all the time. I get meself in a right ould drunken state and decide that all my friends must be awake aswell and in the mood for a session so I call into them. If their asleep or dont hear the door I just ring em. Done it so much that now they just answer and tell me to fook off. Then call down ot me the next day to tell me what I was blabbering on about. In me own head I dont believe em and can almost swear that I walked home not a bother in a straight line all the way.

Hey SB, that all sounds juat like another hilarious FRIENDS episode.

Hephaestus wrote: »
    do u owe this man money?

Probably a broken Jackie Skelly contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

OP should maybe change his name to PussyKing? :pac:

It could have been a psycho, yes.

It also could have been someone who was in desperate need of help (they may have run into trouble nearby and are seeking refuge/medical attention). They are possibly knee-deep in a pool of their own blood. They are slowly fading. Well done op. Your Medal of Honour will be sent by registered post. You should have it by Wednesday.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Now this is the story all about how
    My life got flipped, turned upside down
    And Id like to take a minute just sit right there
    Ill tell you how I became the prince of a town called bel-air

In west philadelfia born and raised
    On the playground where I spent most of my days
    Chilling out, maxing, relaxing all cool
    And all shooting some b-ball outside of the school
    When a couple of guys said were up in no good
    Started making trouble in my neighbourhood
    Just heard knocking on the door and then the door bel rung,
    And my aunty said you're moving with your aunte and uncle in bel-air

As far as memes go this has to be one of the lamest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Jam-Fly

We haven't heard from the OP in over 45 minutes. Maybe he answered the door and...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Don't answer the door. I know someone who did once and they died.

+ edit
    Oh, and this.

Jam-Fly wrote: »
    We haven't heard from the OP in over 45 minutes. Maybe he answered the door and...

...........and five years later hes found in his freezer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Jam-Fly wrote: »

Insert dramatic chipmunk vid here :p

bronte wrote: »
    Insert dramatic chipmunk vid here :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

As far as memes go this has to be one of the lamest.

And also one of the weakest as well. Ah fcuk it, it was sort of funny at the time, i'll hold my hands up though, it was kinda sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Jesus, dont answer it, it could be something horrible like...

"hello, I'm your local Fianna Fail Candidate in the upcoming elections"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

happened to me twice.

once in cambridge when it was a balling eight year old asking for some help because someone has just bottled her father over the head outside out house. That was around 2am. Called the cops and an ambulance and with some help from some passer bys (including a doctor just off duty) kept the guy concious and calmed the kid down.

and another time earlier this year in dublin when at about 4am there was a loud banging and yelling from my front door, went to answer and discovered it wasnt my door but the door across from mine being banged, some woman had been turfed out of the apartment in a drunken state (and half undressed) and was kicking at the door and scraming for whoever it was on the inside to let her back in, she started swearing and screaming at me when I opened the door. I should have rung the police because of the disturbance, but I was up anyway playing COD4 so just went back to that until she plssed off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

It has happened to me, but it was a little bit scarier.

I was in my new girlfriend's apartment. We were in bed.

I heard a banging on the door. I then realised it was someone kicking down the door.

It turns out it was her HUSBAND.

Not only was it the first I'd ever heard about her being married, but it turns out she had been bringing me for drinks in the bar where he worked as a doorman.

They were seperated because he used to beat her in public. He had a criminal record for assault.

To make matters worse, she wanted to let him into the apartment.

No way hose.

I managed to get the Gardai to come so I could make a safe getaway.

Needless to say I now have a different opinion of people knocking on doors in the middle of the night. :o

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Needless to say I now have a different opinion of people knocking on doors in the middle of the night. :o

...And Adultery ;)