Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf Shoes

• 09-05-2009 10:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

Looking to replace my old worn out golf shoes. I intended to do this last year and had a look in a number of shops from my local pro shop to Mcguirks, elverys etc. Looked again recently and to to be honest I'm amazed at how cheap they have become, nikes starting from about €50 footjoys from €70. Are these cheaper options worth buying or is it a case of you get what you pay for. I like the look of the adidas range but at €120 + are you just paying for the branding? I play a lot of golf - at least twice a week so I've no problem paying €100+ but is it really neessary anymore?

I want something lightweight and comortable and they probably need to be suitable for playing in the wet too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Footjoy Dryjoys for me every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

[quote=stockdam;[URL="javascript:void(0)"][/URL]]Footjoy Dryjoys for me every time.[/quote]

Agree 100%. During my travels I had four pairs of shoes: Hi-Tec, Adidas x 2 and Footjoys. The Footjoys were the only ones that made it through.

Quick tip - when you get new shoes, take out the studs and put a touch of vaeseline on the screws. It makes them a hell of a lot easier to take out when the time comes - and if you're playing twice a week that could be inside two years.
    K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Elverys have the Nike Air ones down from 170ish to around 80ish at the moment. Also 50% cuts on all their other shoes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I had a pair of €50 nikes from elverys and they were cheap and nasty. Really uncomfortable. I replaced them with a pair of pumas from flee bay that cost me €30. They are really comfortable and lightweight, they feel more like runners.

Bluefoam wrote: »
    I had a pair of €50 nikes from elverys and they were cheap and nasty. Really uncomfortable.

Not that surprising for €50. Had a pair of Nike shoes which cost me £90 and they lasted me 4 years. Wouldn't hesitate to have another pair of their upper end shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭JohnHenry

that sounds like a great deal on the nike airs graeme1982, whats the model name on them?, have a pair of dryjoys for bout 2.5 years, great shoes, but time to upgrade again and i would be like yourself i'd say, better of getting a good pair and spending the couple of extra quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

I've used these => http://www.golfstoreeurope.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=229 for the last 2 years, I had a pair of dry joys before that, and I have to say that they are the most comfortable shoes I've ever had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 BeeSee

stockdam wrote: »
    Footjoy Dryjoys for me every time.

got a new pair of em. first round from about the 13th on could feel them catchin the back of my heel, quite uncomfortable. i seriously hope its only a breakin in period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Jasonw

I play a lot of golf about 3 rounds per week + practice and on a hilly course. FJ dryjoys lasted me 8 months before they split and started leaking. Also took 3 weeks of extreme discomfort to break in.

I'm on my second pair of Ecco's now 1st pair lasted me the best part of 2 years and were still waterproof ~(though very worn) when I replaced them. Dead comfortable right from the start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Garda S Horgan

Hi-Tec CDT for me.
    I woudl buy a new pair of golf shoes every year anyway but these provide a solid stance.
    Of items that will help your golf game without you even learning to play better I woudl put them in there.
    Good Shoes
    Battery powered caddy
    2 or 4 gloves and proper wet gloves,
    rain gear, wind gear, hats and a good brolly.

Shoes with proper studs though are a must.
    the CDT range have very high walls on the outside of the boot and there is no slipping and twisting of the feet as a result.

yours etc,
    GSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

cant believe guys play with only one pair
    usually i buy 2 new pairs a year
    & i'd also have 2 older pairs on the go in the better weather the'd do fine and use the newer ones in the wet or days when you may get a shower

i find if you play on successive days its a break for the old trotters to be in different clogs

v. important to keep good cleaan spikes in the new and old ones

JohnHenry wrote: »
    that sounds like a great deal on the nike airs graeme1982, whats the model name on them?

These are the ones here John Henry... Nike Air Tour

http://www.onlinegolf.co.uk/mens/golf-footwear/golf-shoes/357scog/3299pog.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

Graeme1982 wrote: »

have these only worn them twice but they are so comfortable, great cushioning and give solid stance.

have pair of dryjoys too, classic black. nice to mix and match according to what youre wearing ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭gerp

Footjoy addidas and ecco shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I wear Nike and have never been let down,
    im now wearing below and are the best ive ever bought

http://cgi.ebay.com/NIKE-SP-8-TIGER-WOODS-TOUR-GOLF-SHOES-TW-SP8-SZ-10-MED_W0QQitemZ260407629632QQcmdZViewItemQQssPageNameZRSS:B:SRCH:US:101

I also have Classics Dry Premiere for dry sunny days and are very comfortable, 5 years old and still going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Can anyone advise what are the most comfortable shoes out there? I have a pair of DJ's, but may purchase anther pair for the "Summer".

I suffer big time with my feet/toes, insofar as I'll be in pain for a good 24 hours after playing 18 holes. Down to old football injuries. 36 hole scratch cups are a bridge too far for me which is why I normally only play a couple every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Jasonw

as my earlier post Ecco's for me. Have only experience of Footjoy and ecco though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭quigo

Jasonw wrote: »
    as my earlier post Ecco's for me. Have only experience of Footjoy and ecco though.

I second the Ecco recommendation, I'm only on my first pair but they are impressing me so far.

I Wore FJ's for the last 10years and they do the job very well but the Ecco's have better support imo. Also the FJ's don't stay waterproof for as long as I'd like.

There are serious deals to be had on Ebay if you are lucky to find what you are looking for in your size. My last pair cost me €100 less online than what the pro shop charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Thanks lads. I have had a couple of pairs of normal Ecco shoes and did have a look for golf shoes a year or so ago but the Ecco shop in Liffey Valley no longer stock them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

Footjoy Dryjoys for me

What about those new Synr-g's they are advertising heavily? Might be worth slipping on a pair..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

I am looking for a new pair of shoes myself and the club shop are doing a deal on Copehagen Shoes (has anyone heard of them?)

Im very much into lightweight shoes as I sometimes find old shoes heavy as hell and will feel like bricks after 13 holes.

I currently wear Nike (They look like trainers) very comfortable!

But am looking at a pair of solid shoes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 fairwaysallday

Ichiro wrote: »
    I am looking for a new pair of shoes myself and the club shop are doing a deal on Copehagen Shoes (has anyone heard of them?)

Im very much into lightweight shoes as I sometimes find old shoes heavy as hell and will feel like bricks after 13 holes.

I currently wear Nike (They look like trainers) very comfortable!

But am looking at a pair of solid shoes!
    Yep copenhagen are god shoes.....usually expensive enough....about €165.00. I got a a pair of AQL footjoys recently....very light....totally waterproof and good value at €85.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭orangetictac

copenhagen are god shoes.....usually expensive enough....about €165.00.

:eek::pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Bought two new pairs recently addidas 360s and fj dry joys no comparison fj are far superior and were cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

I had the Nike Tour 08 and they were excellent. Currently have the Addidas 360 3.0 and really like them I have to say. Just to say, when I bought a cheap shoe when I started playing the biggest complaint for me was, because they weren't real leather, they stank to highest heaven after they got wet. OMG, I couldn't get over how bad they were. So whatever you spend get real leather, the extra yoyos are well spent.