Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smoking on a date?

• 08-05-2009 11:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭zxcvbnm1

I have a date coming up with a girl i don't really know that well at all.

When I drink i usually have a few smokes too.

SO - how bad form is it by me if i nip out occassionally for a quick cigarette during the date?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

In a word; very.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭sungem

really sorry but if you enjoy a smoke when you have a couple of beers...... whats the point in pretending you dont? If the relationship continues then surely your 'dark secret' will out anyhow?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

OP, you should check out the Tea Garden on ormond quay.
    You can rent out a hookah pipe for 13 yo yos and smoke shisha to your hearts content whithout the need of ditching your date. :pac:

I recommend the apple shisha myself. And the mint tea is epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭zacmorris

man, that's crap advice.
    if she is cool with you and a decent girl, she will like you for who
    you are!
    if she is really that caught up with the fact that you want to have
    a smoke or two- will it ever work if that's what your buzz is?
    think about it ;)
    forget about what ppl on this board think about 'smoking'
    be yourself!
    if she doesn't like it, fook her...

best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭zxcvbnm1

sungem wrote: »
    really sorry but if you enjoy a smoke when you have a couple of beers...... whats the point in pretending you dont? If the relationship continues then surely your 'dark secret' will out anyhow?!!!

You misunderstood - It's not about hiding the 'dark secret'.

My point is that if i go for a smoke then i am leaving the date indoors in teh pub twiddling her thumbs by herself.

That is what my question refers to - not about her knowing i actually smoke or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

It really depends on her, she may smoke and end up joining you but, if she was like me I most likely wouldn't stick around long for two reasons I really don't like smoking and I wouldn't want to be sitting there on my own while the person is out smoking (it can get dull after a while).

Does she know you smoke? If she does then it'll probably be fine, just don't go off every five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

She'd be probably happy with the breathing space too, since it's a first date and all.

Or, she could come with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭zacmorris

zxcvbnm1 wrote: »
    You misunderstood - It's not about hiding the 'dark secret'.

My point is that if i go for a smoke then i am leaving the date indoors in teh pub twiddling her thumbs by herself.

That is what my question refers to - not about her knowing i actually smoke or not.
    Be courtious!
    If she is being left on her tobler, then it's a different story....BUT
    explain it to her, tell her that's your buzz.
    dont feel like you are an ass*ole for going for a smoke.
    if she's into you then thats all that matters

zxcvbnm1 wrote: »

Exactly. You might get away with it once but after that, it's way too rude.

Oh dear god, go for a god damn smoke. We're in a recession. She will understand. If she doesn't, then dump her. People go for a smoke all the time.

zudo wrote: »
    We're in a recession.

What does that have to do with anything?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭sungem

hi OP sorry for misunderstanding your first post, try going to a pub that has a decent outdoor smoking area, i know that makes me feel better and then i can comfortably join himself when he is having a smoke!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭zxcvbnm1

ok - i've made up my mind.

I've decided it is reasonable for me to go for a coupel of smokes throughoutthe evening as long as i don't do the dog on it.

What does that have to do with anything?!

It means the country is fcuked.. Just tell her you were watching primetime last night, and they reported we're all going to die from this thing called 'recession', and you're a little nervous about the news.

zudo wrote: »
    It means the country is fcuked.. Just tell her you were watching primetime last night, and they reported we're all going to die from this thing called 'recession', and you're a little nervous about the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Can we keep it on topic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Chances are she probably knows you smoke anyway. As a prolific smoker myself, I'm told it's not too hard to spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Been there before.
    It will depend on how long the date lasts.
    If its a couple of hours then just hold out,it sounds like you only smoke when you are boozing so it shouldnt be too hard to resist,especially if the date is going well.
    Other wise,after you smoke,go and wash your hands and have a supply of airwaves chewing gum with you.I would consider myself to be a considerate smoker so the above is a must,particularly around a non smoker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Nickibaby*

Why dont you just ask her to go outside with you?

If I was with somebody and it was just the two of us, be it a friend or a boyfriend, I would be very pissed off if they left me sitting there by myself like a lemon. I wouldn't mind going outside with them while they have their cigarette because you can still yap away when your outside.

she might think you're making excuses to run off and leave her there and just leave herself :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Queencake

Smoking on a FIRST date

- It's a first date, you need to make an impression. And I'm sorry smokers but smoking to non-smokers isn't attractive. Fair enough about those saying "She's gotta see the real you". Is smoking that much part of your identity???? I'm not saying conceal it. Maybe bring it up somehow but for the love of God/Buddha/fluffy clouds in the sky don't be nipping out for loadsa smokes. You may see nothing wrong with it but most non smokers would think the date mustn't be going great if their date is nipping out all the time.
    - By all the time I mean more than once. Jesus, just reign in on the cravings for the night.

Once ye get to know eachother better and you are both comfortable around eachother than grand. You can relax and enjoy your smoke safe in the knowledge she won't mind.

It's all about having a bit of consideration for your date ultimately. Be a gentleman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

If you smoke you smoke. I do myself and on dates think it's helpful to think how you would feel if she kept nipping out to yap on the phone or something. Yeah, a few times is fine, but too much is a pian in the ass.
    Why not go to a few pubs, that way you can fit in a smoke each time you move from one to the other.
    I love women who also smoke........

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

If a guy left me to go out for a smoke on a first date I wouldn't be well impressed, no one likes sitting there on their tod. It's one night...maybe if it works you'll have to abstain a couple of times or peg it out while she nips to the loo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i wouldn't have a problem with it no different then when she goes to bathroom and u'll be on your own i would just be as quick as possible and maybe keep it to a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

The simple way around this is when youre getting up to go to the can just nip out and spark up, don't delay with it and then continue on into the toilet.

If done properly it will add an extra 60-90 seconds on to the time your date is left sitting there all flustered and insecure.

The perfect crime.