Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV Show of the Week 26: Chuck

• 08-05-2009 10:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭

My favourite new show from the 2007-2008 season, by a long shot. The thing about Chuck is that everyone who watches it, loves it. Everyone who doesn't watch it simply hasn't heard of it. It really is that black and white.

If you're in the latter category, then here is what you need to know....

Chuck Bartowski works at the Nerd Herd desk in a Buy More store in Burbank, California. At the start of the first series, he received an email from an old college room mate which contained all of the US Governments secrets. All of the secrets are flashed into his head subliminally. As a result, whenever Chuck sees something from the database (called The Intersect) he gets a 'flash' which tells him what he has just seen. It could be a bad guy, a gun, a bomb, a serial number, a car reg etc. So with all this stuff in his head, he needs protection. Sarah (CIA) and Casey (NSA) join forces to protect Chuck from whatever he flashes on. And thats it.... thats the basic premise.

Since the whole show is centered on Chuck himself, the whole show relies on him - if he isn't likeable or believable, then the show is screwed. Just as well Zachary Levi portrays him as a really likeable guy - a bit awkward, very smart, and someone everyone else seems to look up to.

Swirling around the periphery of the CIA/Intersect story are a colourful cast of supporting characters. His sister Ellie, her boyfriend Devon, best friend Morgan, boss Big Mike, and co-workers Jeff, Lester and Anna. All of them are so damn likeable that it makes the whole show a joy from start to finish. Add in a very funny script, lots of twists and turns, plenty of action, and you have a show that appeals to everyone.

On top of that, it has the biggest "will they"/"won't they" crush/romance since Ross and Rachel.

So give it a shot. Fingers crossed, we'll hear of a renewal for season 3 in the next week or two. After the events of the season 2 finale, a new season is guaranteed to be alot of fun.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,304 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Yay a big shout for Chuck! It's got just the right mix of excitement, tension, comedy, humanity and even a little bit of romance.
    I agree that Zachary Levi's portrayal of Chuck as a solid character, a bit nerdy but kind and very likeable is what makes the show. Apart from the obvious will they/won't they with regard to Sarah, his relationship with Casey is hilarious, in particular his effect on the 'no nonsense, Ronald Regan worshiping tough military' guy. Then there's the nod to geeks with special guest stars or lots of references to geek-shows and of course hot girls in their underwear. A definite must if you are looking for something new to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

+1 ,favourite show over the last 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

It better get renewed for a 3rd season...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Columbo next week. Seriously. I just don't know anymore.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055547956

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Sucks ass!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

attachment.php?attachmentid=79411&stc=1&d=1241832644

Any other secrets you wish to divulge about yourself, Richard? :pac:

Woot!...my very own banner!

At least I explained why The Big Bang Theory Sucks ass. Which I think in fairness and due to the fact that this is Week 26 (I missed week 25) that The Big Bang Theory should be Week 27.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055554930

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Anyway...

Chuck is easily the funnest show on TV. Consistently delivers laughs and action.

Elmo wrote: »
    At least I explained why The Big Bang Theory Sucks ass. Which I think in fairness and due to the fact that this is Week 26 (I missed week 25) that The Big Bang Theory should be Week 27.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055554930

I'll give you one reason...Joss Swartz, the same clown who destroyed The OC.

Okay !!!! Because The OC was a good series??????????

Why is this TV show of the week? I watch the first episode last night. While not liking Chuck Lorrie (aka creator of Darma and Greg, 2 and half men and my favourite The Big Bang Theory), McG put me off straight away. :rolleyes:

I was just a bad straight to DVD action movie. It could work as a darker action film but was OTT in its comedy which wasn't really there to begin with. If you are going to write about "nerds" you should do some research people in particular "nerds" will start picking at holes. At least the Big Bang Theory has thought about its dreadful jokes.

I did sit down and watch this as pure light entertainment, but I still wasn't impressed.

I think there should be a 5 year gap between shows that are coming up for TV Show of the Week, to see if they have lasted, this one will be forgotten about very very soon.

Don't speak for other people. You don't like it. Fine.

Others do. They'll remember it

Dodge wrote: »
    Don't speak for other people. You don't like it. Fine.

Others do. They'll remember it

I do think that there should be 5 years between a show being given Show of the Week. This would help avoid average shows gaining this title and while you may like the show, you would have to admit that it is nothing but average. Also 5 years would give people time to remember rather then throwing up a show that many may not even know about.

If you look at past shows of the week none of them are quite as average even the ones I amn't a fan off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

Also 5 years would give people time to remember rather then throwing up a show that many may not even know about

I thought raising awareness about good shows that many people may not know about was one of the main points of these "Show of the week" threads? There seems to always be a comment along those lines in the OP:
    Mr E wrote: »
    Everyone who doesn't watch it simply hasn't heard of it.

Didn't realize it was an honorary title, "congratulations Chuck, you've won Show of the Week!"...

I would rather get into a new show while it's a year or two into its' run, rather than having 5 years (or more if it's still on the air) of catching up to do...

J-blk wrote: »
    I thought raising awareness about good shows that many people may not know about was one of the main points of these "Show of the week" threads? There seems to always be a comment along those lines in the OP:

Didn't realize it was an honorary title, "congratulations Chuck, you've won Show of the Week!"...

I would rather get into a new show while it's a year or two into its' run, rather than having 5 years (or more if it's still on the air) of catching up to do...

5 years after a show has ended. Rais awareness in the main forum look what I have done for the Big Bang Theory :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I write about shows that I enjoy - I won't apologise for that. :)

In the Chuck Season 2 thread, basquille suggested that Chuck should be a TV Show of the Week to praise a show that is on the bubble, and to raise awareness for a show that has given us 2 seasons worth of enjoyment. I know from the Chuck thread that lots of people enjoy this show.

I'm also using these threads to get recommendations for shows that I hadn't watched yet (Shield, Wire, West Wing). If I can steer people into the path of good quality comedy/drama that they haven't seen or heard of before, then I'm doing my job here...

Yes, I apologise for last weeks CSI thread. It won't happen again. :D

Didn't even notice it. Columbo I suggested columbo in the columbo thread and you give it to CSI :rolleyes:
    I write about shows that I enjoy - I won't apologise for that.

Democracy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Democracy?

lol... have you used the internet before? :D

Tried watching the first episode of this, didn't pull me in aside from the parkour, which is the first and last time there'll be that in the show I'm guessing.

When does the show start getting good and/or funny? What is the best episode of season 1?

Democracy?

It’s a fecking internet discussion board. The choice of shows makes absolutely no difference to anyone. You'll like some, you'll dislike others. Who cares?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Oh Chuck me but 'Chuck' is one of the most damn enjoyable shows to hit the small screen in recent years - I should know as I seem to watch most of them :D

There's a number of elements that make it work - drama, characters, and humour. The cast interact well and have genuine chemistry. The premise is fairly light - something a bit like Jake 2.0 (but better) - but it lends itself well to a light-espionage drama. Unlike many others, the fact is that Chuck isn't suited to these missions and must try his geeky, gawky best to fix them which isn't really something out there ('Get Smart' isn't the same as Maxwell Smart was an idiot).

Then paralleling the main storyline we generally get the humour in the 'Buy More' storylines, which are sub-plots involving Chuck's place of work (and how things begin to fall apart in his absence). Season 1 was decent here but it was S2 when they got this mix right, teaming up Jeff and Lester and producing such highlights as Jeffster's "Out of Africa".

The acting is generally of a high standard (compared to say "Reaper") and most of the scripts are quite funny. Which is not to say it can't do drama well either - there's moments of suspense,etc ably brougt across by the acting talent.

For sheer escapism and a great mix of humour, there is nothing quite like it on TV currently and it will a crime if NBC don't renew it.

Didn't even notice it. Columbo I suggested columbo in the columbo thread and you give it to CSI
    I just saw that now, Elmo. My apologies - I missed that thread. It was a great writeup. If you do one in future, send me a PM and I'll rename and sticky it as appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Its a great show.

Has it been renewed yet?

Should be announced next Tuesday when NBCs final Fall schedule is announced.

Its looking good for a renewal, so I have my fingers crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

I love this show so much and its such a shame not many people are aware of it. I love the whole idea of the show and on a recent trip to the US i just had to go to Best Buy to compare it with Buy More, have to say though the Best Buy geek squad didn't look as much fun as the nerd herd.
    I haven't seen season 2 i'm waiting on the box set, but any word when it will get an airing on this side of the Atlantic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,196 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Currently under €9 delivered at TheHut

I adore this show.. there is nothing quite like it on telly.

It's just great fun to watch.. it's very well-written, the relatively unknown cast all put in pitch-perfect performances (especially Levi as Chuck) and it's consistently entertaining in it's 2 seasons.

It is without doubt in trouble of not getting a third season.. but it really deserves it!

I really can't recommend this show enough.. especially as it's pretty much unknown in the UK & Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭protos

Thanks Mr E !
    Got my hands on series 1 of this show based on this thread. Just watched the pilot. Looks great !! I needed some new stuff to watch.

Cheers ...........

Entertainment weekly and other sources say Chuck just got renewed for 13 episodes with reduced budget

As good as we could hope for

Unstickying (is that word?) this now. Surprised nobody spotted my sekrit link in the OP (for pervy Yvonne Strahovski fans only). :)

:confused: post the link then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,196 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I noticed it.. but didn't mention it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

look more carefully, i found it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Nice link :D! Now I've a sexy new wallpaper for my laptop. Mmmm.... StraHOTski... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

there's some 'Awesome' pics of Sarah Lancaster(Ellie) and Jordanna Brewster(Jill) on the interwebz if you know where to look to :D