Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need an excuse?

• 08-05-2009 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭

Sitting here, reading threads and posting,got 3 letters today that my direct debits have been cancelled as to no money in my account, been off the beer 8 months till today,drank 6 bottles already,i know im lucky to have a job but im so depressed now that i wanna drink every bottle thats left in the fridge(18)and probably will..If i do i will be in no state to work tomorrow,and will need an excuse to ring in sick...i should be ok because i am needed in this job....but i have a trial day for another,better job on monday ..what do i do....

PS,my boss is a @anker.. i work 56 hours.. no overtime,,no bank,,no laws!!!

Dont need criticism,,need advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Talk to someone.

Go for a walk.

My main advice would be to get off the web (and do not, do not get hooked on the porn).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

gversey wrote: »
    Sitting here, reading threads and posting,got 3 letters today that my direct debits have been cancelled as to no money in my account, been off the beer 8 months till today,drank 6 bottles already,i know im lucky to have a job but im so depressed now that i wanna drink every bottle thats left in the fridge(18)and probably will..If i do i will be in no state to work tomorrow,and will need an excuse to ring in sick...i should be ok because i am needed in this job....but i have a trial day for another,better job on monday ..what do i do....

Maybe put some money in your bank account instead of the off licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭gversey

Hooked on porn as it is,only i ave no interest at the moment,,no marks to proove i walked into a door either..

sogood wrote: »
    Maybe put some money in your bank account instead of the off licence?

no money to put in the bank account..and the beer has been here since April...a present for my birthday,and as i said..no critsism..thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

You have a job at least, whether you hate it or not, its better than no job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

Er..stop feeling sorry for yourself like some bitch and don't drink the beer dude. It's all up to you whether you **** up or not, if ya don't want to **** up then just don't feckin do it. It píss simple. All just a matter of how much you're feeling sorry like a woman. Not slaggin you just saying how it is like bro'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

be glad to have a job, and to have a trail for one as well, if this is a better one next week, keep your head down in your current one and think of the positives this new one might bring

plenty of people out of work this year would love to be in your position, dont srcew it up for your self and end up joining them, plenty of companys are just looking for an excuss to cut costs, letting go of staff are just one of them

Yep..just like i said,my old job aint paying the bills,.have a trial for another job on monday,,but need an excuse not to go into my own job tommorow,,,just aint worth it.

O'Coonassa wrote: »
    Er..stop feeling sorry for yourself like some bitch and don't drink the beer dude. It's all up to you whether you **** up or not, if ya don't want to **** up then just don't feckin do it. It píss simple. All just a matter of how much you're feeling sorry like a woman. Not slaggin you just saying how it is like bro'

Aint feeling sorry for myself...hey i gotta job,,and might even get a better one ..only asking for some excuse i coulduse not to go into this one...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Talk to that MABS crowd. They have a super reputation. Your problems don't seem that unique so I wouldn't be too hard on myself. Loads of us get in such trouble but we usually have our parents to give us a hand.

I sense that there might be some history with the drink so I'd enjoy tonight, and wake up tomorrow determined to show your winning side again. Personally, I'd definitely replace the drink with a better diet, exercise and I'm by no means being facetious but bring some sort of spiritual challenge in your life.

You'll be grand; most of us usually are. God bless.

galwayrush wrote: »
    Post location of the job and the fact you don't like it, there will be a long line of applicants for it first thing monday morning.;)

Hey,they wont even take on staff,,,there having 3 lads doing the work that five lads should be doin...below minimum wage,no overtime,no contract etc.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

MOVED FROM AH.
    You are all now subject to the rules of PI. Please read the charter before posting here.

Yep..just like i said,my old job aint paying the bills,.have a trial for another job on monday,,but need an excuse not to go into my own job tommorow,,,just aint worth it.

Do you miss work much, or rather are you absent from work much? If not, and you are in really bad form, just spend tomorrow exploring your options (most people have a couple of days off a week)

Is it possible to cut back your expenditure? Take a new tenant? Share with somebody? There have to be alternatives, there really must be.

Hooked on porn as it is,only i ave no interest at the moment,,no marks to proove i walked into a door either..

You need a mental health day. Unlike many of the people I know you genuinely need it and are not using it to do the Christmas shopping in Newry, to take one instance of many.

Do you have many holiday days left?

I aint an Alco,,,was just looking for an excuse to ring in sick,,im sure i havent been the only one to start a thread on it..

user_online.gifreport.gif progress.gifedit.gif quote.gif

My granny did die,,15th March in Blackrock Hospice,,,,dont make a differnce...im just looking for an excuse to ring in sick..and as i said no critisism thanks

Why is my thread moved to here?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Maybe it was thought you would get better advice here. Now users from AH mark this well. Any guff or off topic posting will result in you being banned.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Salome

I don't know what you're really looking for here OP - if you ring in sick, just tell them you're sick. Go and see about the other job on Monday and don't drown your sorrows. Take some action rather than this inaction and wallowing. Lots of people have jobs they hate and deal with it - either by sucking it up and getting on with it or look for something else.

Can I ask what you were expecting to hear when you posted?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I aint an Alco,,,was just looking for an excuse to ring in sick,,im sure i havent been the only one to start a thread on it..

As you are just looking for an excuse so you don't have to go to work, I'm closing this thread.

I would suggest you quit feeling sorry for yourself and get up for work in the morning.
    Drinking by yourself when you are feeling down is a very bad idea.

Stop drinking and go to bed.
    Bring water and some head ache tablets for the morning.
    If you still feel the same tomorrow and wish to discuss, drop me a PM and I'll reopen your thread.