Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boxing Coaches in Dublin?

• 08-05-2009 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭

Hello All,

Just wondering is there anyone on here who is or who knows a decent boxing trainer in or around Dublin who might be willing to train a newly formed college boxing club based in the city centre? We will be only training one night a week, and there is of course a budget availble for payment. Reply or PM if you know anyone! :)

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 fightfan

Shane-1 wrote: »
    Hello All,

Just wondering is there anyone on here who is or who knows a decent boxing trainer in or around Dublin who might be willing to train a newly formed college boxing club based in the city centre? We will be only training one night a week, and there is of course a budget availble for payment. Reply or PM if you know anyone! :)

Cheers!
    where about is club may know coach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Shane-1

Tis going to be right in the city centre, Stephens Green, rcsi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭mikethemouth

Hello All,

Cheers!

best of luck with this Shane. Hope your club goes from strenght to strenght :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 sportingflynn

whats the craic with the club? are ya looking for someone to just show a few lads some basics, take you through the A-B-C'S sort of thing?

Ya pretty much, we need a registered trainer though for affiliation purposes, other than that I dont know what standard of member we will attract, we are a college club so I would imagine we will get both experienced and novice people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 sportingflynn

ah i see, are they hard come by? i hope your club is a real success.

Thanks!

Ya finding it tough enough to find a coach, apparently every IABA affiliated club needs to have a proper registered trainer, if worst comes to worst we may have to train ourselves, I could teach people up to a basic/ intermediate level, but sure then if some experienced people sign up I'm not gonna be much use to them!!! Hopefully we will find someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Thanks!

Ya finding it tough enough to find a coach, apparently every IABA affiliated club needs to have a proper registered trainer, if worst comes to worst we may have to train ourselves, I could teach people up to a basic/ intermediate level, but sure then if some experienced people sign up I'm not gonna be much use to them!!! Hopefully we will find someone

Hey Shane, id say your going to have to do a bit of training with them anyway, I don't think ye could train anyone up to novice standard on one night a week anyway. Maybe get the coach in one night and do another yourselves?

Ya the one night a week is fairly restrictive, we are going to be an expansion of the college kickboxing club hence only the one night of training. Id say we might try and organise something unofficial at another stage of the week depending on if people want to take the sport seriously. Im worried that people might only join up to keep fit and learn the basics, in that case the one night a week would be fine for them, we will wait and see I guess. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Capital P

Packy Collins will be running 6 week intensive boxing training at Capital Punishment on the north strand from the first week in june, it'll be run like a pro boxing camp for the 6 weeks. Although at 300 euro might be a bit expensive for students but you will learn a lot. But message me, if you had 10 guys i would be able to get you a discount.