Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who wants to run a really long race...?

• 08-05-2009 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭

I'm going to give this a lash myself. How many people in the world can say they've covered 100 miles on foot at one go.

You know you want to ... !

http://www.connemara100.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Oh .. my .. God!

I've done the 39.3 Ultra twice, but tempted as I am I think this might be too much of a step just now. Better run a couple of 50 milers first.

Plus, I'd never get my family to agree to crew for me ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Ill do it for the parish:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Plus, I'd never get my family to agree to crew for me ...
    I've already started a recruitment drive for support crew from the boardsies (thank you Hardy Eustace). I might share if you're very good :-)

I'm hoping to do this and the only barrier will be the speed that I recover from ironman germany (5th July) and Ironman Switzerland (12th July).

I think I also heard Magnet talking about 100 miler which I assume is this one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Ill do it for the parish:D

:D:D

if it was a 100k i would be tempted but 100 mile is just too much at the moment.
    and its on in august very short notice as its the first ive heard of it.
    any more info? is it going to be annual? i hope so

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Oh how I'd love to do it. Was looking to do a 50 miler sometime in July or August but have settled on working towards Dublin instead. I'm sure many boardsies would be interested in crewing or pacing some of the way for others.

If this is on next year again I will definately consider it, I think 100 miles is probably a step too far for me, that being said I'm soooooo tempted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭gar_29

Mick Rice wrote: »

fan. tas. tic!!!!!

what a race. any info on the crew requirements? (ie how many people they want you to have?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭chatoon

Hey Sungod,

You can do it! If my memory serves me well, you were the same one who ran a training run of 21 miles back one cold Monday morning in January...!! That type of dedication pushed me to completing my first marathon this year, so we need all ye serious runners to take on a challenge like this and inspire us...!!!

gar_29 wrote: »
    what a race. any info on the crew requirements? (ie how many people they want you to have?)
    Ray and Mick might have other ideas but from talking to Zuppylurk who has crewed at these type of things before, I get the impressions a minimum of 2, 3 would be better. It would be too hard (or at the least unfair) for one person to stay awake and be positive the whole time.

chatoon wrote: »
    Hey Sungod,

You can do it! If my memory serves me well, you were the same one who ran a training run of 21 miles back one cold Monday morning in January...!! That type of dedication pushed me to completing my first marathon this year, so we need all ye serious runners to take on a challenge like this and inspire us...!!!

hi chatoon
    oh id love to..but its just too soon for me hopefully its annual
    if it is then next year i would love to give it a crack
    ya never know you might be there with me

the first 21 would be handy..im not too sure about last 79

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

No, i don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

A 100 miler in Ireland that's is a beautiful thing indeed. However, I'm disappointed with the organisation of it, actually I think its ver poor, and I don't mean that as an attack. The reality of the prep work for running such distances in my opinion only is something that takes a serious amount of training, I have never done a 100 milers [and really, really want to do one] but I have done a few ultras.

I personally think that announcing such a race with three months notice is very bad, don't get me worng I'm delighted somebody has had the courage, determination and interest to organise such a great event.

However, I generally train for about 6 months for a 100k, I'm resting after this years MdS but I still in good shape, but its going to be difficult to get people with little experience of ultra to get their prep done with 3 months notice.

Then again with saying all of that I think I will be having a chat with my partner about it. I used up alot of permission slips for the MdS, however may I can get another one signed off;)

I hope this doesn't sound too negative in relation to the organisers, I really take my hat off to them for this, just I think the timing is very poor; and I hope it goes well for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

Stone cracked.

mrak wrote: »
    Stone cracked.

You post is a tad oblique. Could you expand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

What sort of training would people be doing for this?

Would it be like marathon training with one longer run a week or would all the runs be pretty even distance wise? What short of mileage would you be covering a week and how long would the runs be?

ps. Ill just state Im asking purely out of curiosity...not a chance Im running this:D

What sort of training would people be doing for this?

Would it be like marathon training with one longer run a week or would all the runs be pretty even distance wise? What short of mileage would you be covering a week and how long would the runs be?

ps. Ill just state Im asking purely out of curiosity...not a chance Im running this:D

With such short notice I'm not sure what plan I would use, but I would want to cover a 80 miler before the event if I get a permission slip of course.

Generally if I'm doing a 100k I do a long run every week about 30-40k, and once a month increase one of the long runs by 10k, going 50k, 60k, 70k and traing up to 80k but thats for a 100k. But that's just me, I I find events like this take over your life. I generally end up taking days of work just to cover the distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Odysseus wrote: »
    With such short notice I'm not sure what plan I would use, but I would want to cover a 80 miler before the event if I get a permission slip of course.

Generally if I'm doing a 100k I do a long run every week about 30-40k, and once a month increase one of the long runs by 10k, going 50k, 60k, 70k and traing up to 80k but thats for a 100k. But that's just me, I I find events like this take over your life. I generally end up taking days of work just to cover the distance.

Holy sh1t:eek:

Thats unreal....must take some time. What sort of pace would you run the 80 miler at (if you were doing it)?

I have never done one, the longest distance I have coverd is 100k my fastest time for that is 11:46.

That's why I have issues with the notice given. I think its great that somebody has the balls to organise a 100 miler in Ireland, but the prep time for normal runners like me is very short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

This is probably similar in thought to the Connemara Marathon which started with a small number and has grown to what it is today. I think the idea is to go ahead with it this year, even if there are only a handful of runners, and expand it next year.
    I'm already down to crew for someone. Ideally, you would need a minimum of two back up crew as there may be some sleep involved for a couple of hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

No, mind ya...
    I personally think that announcing such a race with three months notice is very bad, don't get me worng I'm delighted somebody has had the courage, determination and interest to organise such a great event.
    This is probably similar in thought to the Connemara Marathon which started with a small number and has grown to what it is today. I think the idea is to go ahead with it this year, even if there are only a handful of runners, and expand it next year.
    Hard Worker hit the nail on the head. There are enough people signed up already to run it this year.
    After that, it is hoped to be an annual event, depending on interest, logistics etc.
    The first Connemarathon had 12 or so entrants...

I'm down to crew... God help me..

I really can't see the need for a crew here tbh. Its only 30 hours max, you can easily carry what you need between aid stations; and of course having drop bags at the aid stations. I was talking to ultraman on the phone about this it adds an extra burden on you to organise. It would of course provide some much needed psych support, but I'm sure the organisers have their reasons for it.

aburke wrote: »
    No, mind ya...

Hard Worker hit the nail on the head. There are enough people signed up already to run it this year.
    After that, it is hoped to be an annual event, depending on interest, logistics etc.
    The first Connemarathon had 12 or so entrants...

I'm down to crew... God help me..

Glad to hear that this will be hopefully the first of many. I'm still not ruling myself out, you have me biting at it;) Regardless of me getting there or not, best of luck with it.

what kind of training would other posters be doing for this?... mick rice,hunny monster,magnet,enduro,ultraman1 i know its a personal thing but i would need too much recovery time if i did a training run of anything near 80 miles to make it of any benefit.
    at what point does the length of a training run become counter productive?
    taking too much out of you and taking so long to recover you lose any benefit you may have gained from the session....does that make sense?
    i think enduro was asked a similar question and he spoke about time saying he did 3/4 hour runs and cycle .i wonder if this is his max or would he even do two 3/4 runs on a sunday to get his LSR??
    genuinely interested as im thinking of conn ultra and connemara100 next year but i could not see myself running longer then the 39.3 of conn ultra before the 100.
    any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

I reckon 2 crew, one car. That would be the minimum support I reckon one would need. I found crewing/ Sherpa (pirate talk for the one who carries the athlete on their back) more draining. 30hrs is a long time to be on your own crawling along the scenic country roads.

Late notice, I would think so but then again its a start up year.

Great idea though

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Not everyone will be out there for 30 hours though. I'd imagine the higher end runners would be finishing closer to/less than 20 hours? Maybe not this year but as the event develops anyway. I don't think my knees, young as they are could cope with 100 miles of tarmac though. :eek:

ZuppyLurk wrote: »
    I reckon 2 crew, one car. That would be the minimum support I reckon one would need. I found crewing/ Sherpa (pirate talk for the one who carries the athlete on their back) more draining. 30hrs is a long time to be on your own crawling along the scenic country roads.

Late notice, I would think so but then again its a start up year.

Great idea though

You thinking of going for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

I'm hoping to do this and the only barrier will be the speed that I recover from ironman germany (5th July) and Ironman Switzerland (12th July).

:eek: Two ironman races in one week and considering a 100 mile run a month later. All this on the back of MdS a few months previous. :eek:

Now that's crazy! :)

Peckham wrote: »
    :eek: Two ironman races in one week and considering a 100 mile run a month later. All this on the back of MdS a few months previous. :eek:

Now that's crazy! :)
    yes it is and comes with a "don't try this at home kids" warning. I'm playing everything by feel though and as soon as I feel I've taken on too much, I'll drop back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

Yep Im gonna do it! :D:D:D
    Im gonna train like the Ultra training and add longer slower runs?!?!
    Longest I`d imagine would be 40miles
    Ill adjust my thinking and training as i glean more tips and info from the experts.. I`m sure its easier than ya think :p
    Cut out the alcohol and any/all junk food...
    Eat more liver..
    Early nights!!
    Invest in a wheelchair..

just got mrs ultramans blessing(that doesent come cheap, i have to bring her to new york for a week,who says running is a cheap sport),whoo7 is down for crewing(he says booze cruise).just finishing off the crates i got at sainsburys.starting 2 moro...............

ultraman1 wrote: »
    just got mrs ultramans blessing(that doesent come cheap, i have to bring her to new york for a week,who says running is a cheap sport),whoo7 is down for crewing(he says booze cruise).just finishing off the crates i got at sainsburys.starting 2 moro...............

Good stuff, I will be making an "offical request" in about 30 mins;)

I really can't see the need for a crew here tbh. Its only 30 hours max, you can easily carry what you need between aid stations; and of course having drop bags at the aid stations. I was talking to ultraman on the phone about this it adds an extra burden on you to organise. It would of course provide some much needed psych support, but I'm sure the organisers have their reasons for it.

I'm sure there are experienced runners who wouldn't need a support crew. However, it would save you carrying a camelbak etc. It's also handy from a health and safety point of view. I assisted 2 people before at an ultra event that went overnight - it's great craic. You can record the split times and take dozens of photos.

Good stuff, I will be making an "offical request" in about 30 mins;)

Wait until she's half way through the bottle of wine :)

<hands Odysseus a bunch of flowers and a bottle of wine>

I really can't see the need for a crew here tbh. Its only 30 hours max, you can easily carry what you need between aid stations; and of course having drop bags at the aid stations.

You'll need a support crew. It's mandatory, I think. It's essentially unsupported apart from medical cover.
    Roads fully open - support crew will need to point the way at junctions etc.

Any questions, stick them up, and I'll try to get answers.

I've already started a recruitment drive for support crew from the boardsies (thank you Hardy Eustace). I might share if you're very good :-)

I think I also heard Magnet talking about 100 miler which I assume is this one?

How many events have you on this year? I thought you were arranging a wedding or something?

Wait until she's half way through the bottle of wine :)
    ultrawoman1 must be hard core,i had to wait till it was finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Ah bugger, this has totally thrown a spanner in the works for me!

Don't think I can resist a 100 miler in Ireland. Touch wood I'll have a 95 miler under the belt late June so I'd love to kick on from there.

Damn you boards.ie for giving me more crazy ideas :D

How many events have you on this year? I thought you were arranging a wedding or something?

LOL :D Guess I am off the hook for a few weeks.

Odysseus- I am like you, need to train up slowly. Would love to do it but need to wait a few weeks to see if my body will run for me. MdS was nice soft ground, Tarmac might hurt more. :)

PS: If any of you can't run it, how about crewing it for other boardies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

Hey folks,

There is a huge problem :D:D

Most of you are my friends......and can't support everybody at the same time, so don't cry when you see me and try to play the "friend card" and "the poor me eyes" to get water and food.....Off course some pocket money might change my mind on the day :rolleyes:

And by the way, stop doing those races, I keep trying to get back into it and it is already though enough, and I have to keep wacthing you like a kid in front of a big apple pie that I can't eat.

So unfair :P

Well I got the go ahead from my partner, I just have to see what the requirements around the support crew are and of course entry fees and stuff like that.

So my plan is no running this weekend, give myself a break and look at developing some type of training plan from there.

Its short notice as I said, but then again I always say if somebody goes to the trouble of organising such an event; its terrible bad form not to turn up on the day;)

jeffontour wrote: »
    Ah bugger, this has totally thrown a spanner in the works for me!

Don't think I can resist a 100 miler in Ireland. Touch wood I'll have a 95 miler under the belt late June so I'd love to kick on from there.

Damn you boards.ie for giving me more crazy ideas :D

What race are you going for in June Jeff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭woundedknee

100 miles on an unclosed road? If you run on the right hand side of the road facing traffic on a cambered surface for that distance I don't think you'll be doing your shins or IT band any favours. Something to consider..

Glad to see this race popping up on the Calendar but agree with Odysseus that it's a bit short notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I would guess the late notice might be a deliberate thing to keep entrants low in the debut year.

Great idea though and good luck to it (you'd need a team of wild horses to get me anywhere near it though!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭woundedknee

I would guess the late notice might be a deliberate thing to keep entrants low in the debut year

My guess is that the late notice will attract more inexperienced runners as the more experienced know that this type of distance will involve a lot of training and chances are their year is already planned out. The way to keep entrants low is to have them include previous experience with application and have a minimum requirement such as having ran the Connemara Ultra within the last 2 years for example..

I don't know what the criteria is but they are asking about previous experience when you apply for further details about entry. I mailed them yesterday so waiting on a reply.

Glad to hear you got the pass Odysseus.

Seb, How is your back? Are you able to handle any training at the moment? Would be good to see you in Connemara in any case.

And Seb if your coming out to see us, can you bring some gels for me. :D:D:D

You can organise the swim part of this huge triathlon. :-) 10 mile swim, 100 mile run, how long should the bike ride be? :D

Some answers...
    Minimum crew requirements - 2 licenced drivers in one vehicle to accompany runner at all times.
    Minimum Experience - Hard to specify, need to convince organisers that they have the ability to complete the distance within the 30 hr time limit. So your 'running CV' should expain that.
    'Short notice' - project was in planning for a while, but only in a position to announce it very recently. It's a trial run in some ways - not anticipated to be big in first year anyway.

Glad to hear you got the pass Odysseus.

Cheers, just need to sort out a crew now, but that's looking good. I was planning on a rest for a few months, looks like things are going to get interesting over the coming weeks. I have to give it to my partner, she just said "why not".

Perparing for the MdS and the other runs in the lead up to it took a lot of time away from the relationship, it really helps when you have that support. Even if they think you nuts;)