Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Darts Fixtures on Aertel

• 07-05-2009 8:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭

Boo to RTE:
    Darts Fixtures on Aertel

RTE Aertel has discontinued it's Darts Fixtures service on Page 426 RTE Two.

Notice received from RTE:-

To Whom It May Concern:

The current financial crisis means that RTÉ Aertel has had to undertake a complete review of its existing content offering.

A number of decisions have been taken arising out of this review.

From Wednesday, 29 April, a new layout of Sports pages will be implemented on RTÉ Aertel. Under the new layout we will

not be in a position to continue to host your content on those pages that have traditionally been available to you.

We realise that this brings to an end arrangements that have existed for, in some cases, many years. However, due to

reduced resources, a restricted number of pages on RTÉ Aertel, and the need to revamp the service in preparation for its

introduction to the digital platform, means that this decision must be taken in the best interests of the service.

Pending availability of pages on RTÉ Aertel, there may be opportunities for you to continue to have your content hosted

on the service.

However, in the event that there is page availability, please be advised that a cost of leasing the page(s) will now be incurred.

We have investigated the viability of leasing these pages and have found the cost to be prohibitive.

In the meantime we have made arrangements with TG4 to publish our fixtures on their Teletext service.

These may now be viewed on Page 727 on TG4.

We would be grateful if all darts players/ supporters sent an e-mail to TG4 at teacs@indigo.ie to thank them for this service.

Darts Fixtures are also on the Calendar on www.dartsinireland.com and details of coming events etc. may be viewed

on the Irish Darts Forum at http://www.donegaldarts.com/forum/

Regards,

Joe Coyne

Michael O'Sullivan

Ireland Darts Players' Championship

www.dartsinireland.com.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Yerac

Bloody hell, times are so "tough" that they can't afford to publish what I presume was free content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Thats a load of bull, it doesnt cost much to do that, its clear that it costs the same to have Aertel broadcasting regarding of the page numbers, so 1 extra page is nothing, the administration maybe costs them money but surely most of this info comes from a database in this day and age,

CMS + Admins + Content Editor + Allocation of a person (like joe coyne and types) who would gladly update it free = Bugger off RTE its quite managable

If i can run an irish music website out of the love of music out of my own pocket with no ad's they can run a poxy aertel page

recession my hole

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I agree, what a load of arse. Administration costs would be feck all as well. I mean how hard is it to type a few lines into a content editor and lash it up on their Aertel program. Probably takes all of 5 minutes!

This to me seems like RTE are fishing for more money and want to charge people for having Aertel pages. I think it's the right decision to tell them to fup off.

Fair play to TG4 for hosting the content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

Thinking along the same lines myself, shower of c**** they would rather give big wages to Gerry Ryan and the like but cant afford a few pages of darts news. I'm in the same boat as dionsiseire I run a website and Forum and don't get a penny for it I do it for my love of the sport of darts. Shame on you RTE:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Should try being a long suffering victim of aertels LOI updates...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭ratinakeg

Should try being a long suffering victim of aertels LOI updates...

That does be terrible, it's about 10 minutes late all the time:mad:!
    I just use Goal.com nowadays!