Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College Student Shoots, Kills Home Invader

• 06-05-2009 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭

http://www.wsbtv.com/news/19365762/detail.html

Updated: 6:41 pm EDT May 4, 2009
    COLLEGE PARK, Ga. -- A group of college students said they are lucky to be alive and they’re thanking the quick-thinking of one of their own. Police said a fellow student shot and killed one of two masked me who burst into an apartment.

Channel 2 Action News reporter Tom Jones met with one of the students to talk about the incident.

“Apparently, his intent was to rape and murder us all,” said student Charles Bailey.

TOM JONES: College Student Shoots, Kills Home Invader

Bailey said he thought it was the end of his life and the lives of the 10 people inside his apartment for a birthday party after two masked men with guns burst in through a patio door.

“They just came in and separated the men from the women and said, ‘Give me your wallets and cell phones,’” said George Williams of the College Park Police Department.

Bailey said the gunmen started counting bullets. “The other guy asked how many (bullets) he had. He said he had enough,” said Bailey.

That’s when one student grabbed a gun out of a backpack and shot at the invader who was watching the men. The gunman ran out of the apartment.

The student then ran to the room where the second gunman, identified by police as 23-year-old Calvin Lavant, was holding the women.

“Apparently the guy was getting ready to rape his girlfriend. So he told the girls to get down and he started shooting. The guy jumped out of the window,” said Bailey.

A neighbor heard the shots and heard someone running nearby.

“And I heard someone say, ‘Someone help me. Call the police. Somebody call the police,’” said a neighbor.

The neighbor said she believes it was Lavant, who was found dead near his apartment, only one building away.

Bailey said he is just thankful one student risked his life to keep others alive.

“I think all of us are really cognizant of the fact that we could have all been killed,” said Bailey.

One female student was shot several times during the crossfire. She is expected to make a full recovery.

Police said they are close to making the arrest of the second suspect.

Quite chilling that they were counting the bullets. Pity the second guy wasnt killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

http://www.wsbtv.com/news/19365762/detail.html

Quite chilling that they were counting the bullets. Pity the second guy wasnt killed.
    is it quite bad that I had a tom jones song stuck in my head after reading his name?? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

It pays to keep a gun nearby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

More guns for kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

easyeason3 wrote: »
    It pays to keep a gun nearby.
    ah tom jones isn't that bad now ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

NRA membership is an essential these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

There's something not quite right about that story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

is it quite bad that I had a tom jones song stuck in my head after reading his name?? :P
    It's not unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Counting bullets loudly to make them scared and killing 10 people are two very different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I like to call mine 'Mr T'.

I'd love to meet the person to take him on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭suckslikeafox

Today I learned a new word
    cognizant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Senna wrote: »
    Counting bullets loudly to make them scared and killing 10 people are two very different things.

Try be a cynic when one of the bullets is being counted out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Who in their right mind would be afraid of somebody called Calvin Lavant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

stovelid wrote: »

student Charles Bailey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭suckslikeafox

I assume he didn't introduce himself as he was making the robbery:D

Whoever he was pointing the gun at, I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

One female student was shot several times during the crossfire. She is expected to make a full recovery.

Wonder Woman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Good and it was a pity he did not kill the second person too. Imagine if this happened here, Tom Jones would probably get life in the "joy" for Murder while the liberal pinkos would martyrise the Invader as a victim of society similarly to when Padraig Nally shot that traveller dead up in Mayo. In america you can hold a gun for self defense in this country you need it for killing those bigger threats Rabbits or if you want a handgun run to the hills as the target boards are invading. In America each year Police kill something like 650 people, however around 9,500 and killed in self defence by gun yielding householders. Last time I needed the Gardai it took them 50mins to respond and two phone calls later to me to know where I was (Road accident). Not having GPS in our mobiles phones cost many lives also.

Fair play Mr. Jones! An ordinary gun yielding American using his 2nd amendment right exactly as it was designed for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I'll go out on a limb and guess that Charles Bailey and his buds were all respectable Republican WASPs and "Calvin Lavant" and his colleague were of the African American persuasion?

It's just that it all reads a bit too "some Peurto Rican guy" the way the killers recount the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Good and it was a pity he did not kill the second person too. Imagine if this happened here, Tom Jones would probably get life in the "joy" for Murder while the liberal pinkos would martyrise the Invader as a victim of society similarly

You really don't know what liberalism is, do you?
    Fair play Mr. Jones! An ordinary gun yielding American using his 2nd amendment right exactly as it was designed for.

One wields a weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    I'll go out on a limb and guess that Charles Bailey and his buds were all respectable Republican WASPs and "Calvin Lavant" and his colleague were of the African American persuasion?

It's just that it all reads a bit too "some Peurto Rican guy" the way the killers recount the story.

Shhhhhhhhhhhhh.....who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

he was part of a well regulated militia?

Good and it was a pity he did not kill the second person too. Imagine if this happened here, Tom Jones would probably get life in the "joy" for Murder while the liberal pinkos would martyrise the Invader as a victim of society similarly to when Padraig Nally shot that traveller dead up in Mayo. In america you can hold a gun for self defense in this country you need it for killing those bigger threats Rabbits or if you want a handgun run to the hills as the target boards are invading. In America each year Police kill something like 650 people, however around 9,500 and killed in self defence by gun yielding householders. Last time I needed the Gardai it took them 50mins to respond and two phone calls later to me to know where I was (Road accident). Not having GPS in our mobiles phones cost many lives also.

Nice post :D

... but Tom Jones was the reporter.

Quote taken from OP.
    That’s when one student grabbed a gun out of a backpack and shot at the invader who was watching the men. The gunman ran out of the apartment.

So no one thought to ask how the student knew there was a gun in this backpack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Yeah i hear ya man. I think those 2 guys were just looking for some fried chicken and watermellon. Cant a brother get some chicken without being shot at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Quote taken from OP.

So no one thought to ask how the student knew there was a gun in this backpack?

I'm tempted to say all the back packs had guns!:D but if its his home he is entitled to have a gun there.

As far as I know in america if they break into your house you can shoot them so there is nothing suspicious there. its defense of property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

The hero is gonna get some serious college poontang at the next party!!

sheesh wrote: »
    I'm tempted to say all the back packs had guns!:D but if its his home he is entitled to have a gun there.

As far as I know in america if they break into your house you can shoot them so there is nothing suspicious there. its defense of property.

I guess what got me wondering was the fact that they say A backpack and not his backpack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I guess what got me wondering was the fact that they say A backpack and not his backpack.

They're required to say that. Much as the airlines are required to say "A dildo" and not "YOUR dildo".

Why, if it was his they would have said so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I agree, black people never commit crimes. Shame on anyone who believed these dirty white murderers.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

he was part of a well regulated militia?

As a college-aged American male with, presumably, no crippling disabilities, then yes, he is, by law. See Title 10 US Code S 311.

Either way, the Supreme Court has ruled that the 2nd also covers the right of persons to defend themselves.
    In America each year Police kill something like 650 people, however around 9,500 and killed in self defence by gun yielding householders.

Those figures don't look right. The householder figure seems far too high. (That said, if you look up the figures for 'Defensive gun uses', in which a firearm is produced for defence but not necessarily discharged, the figures are in the millions per year)

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

what kinda self-respecting student has enough money to buy a gun, and then on top of it sleeps at home

As a college-aged American male with, presumably, no crippling disabilities, then yes, he is, by law. See Title 10 US Code S 311.

If every college aged american male is in the millitia by law, then i think we can dispense with the "well regulated" part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

I'm both ecstatic and slightly appalled that there is, in fact, a real "Channel 2 Action News"...

If every college aged american male is in the millitia by law, then i think we can dispense with the "well regulated" part.

It's regulated, it's very clear who's a member of the militia, and it's often enforced. For example, the penalties for failing to sign up for Selective Service can haunt you for life. It didn't say it had to be 'filled with mature, non-hormone-intoxicated people'

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭BJC

Pity the second guy wasnt killed.

A life not violently ended is never a pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Shocking.

An American Gun Thread where everyone is applauding. Even with the crossfired girl - ouch :/ she'll be venerated around campus too though.
    what kinda self-respecting student has enough money to buy a gun, and then on top of it sleeps at home
    They can be expensive and they can be cheap. Eyed one in the pawn shop the other day for $170. Ammo can be got for $10. And presumably the license to own and conceal would be a reasonable fee. Plus depending on what kinda parents he has they could have helped him with the purchase. We gave our sister a stun gun for Christmas.
    It's regulated, it's very clear who's a member of the militia, and it's often enforced. For example, the penalties for failing to sign up for Selective Service can haunt you for life. It didn't say it had to be 'filled with mature, non-hormone-intoxicated people'

NTM

Is that something I did when I got my Drivers License or do I need to go do something formal tomorrow?

Zillah wrote: »
    You really don't know what liberalism is, do you?

One wields a weapon.

Liberalism boils down to egalitarianism and equality. It is a term invented by nut jobs in America to prevent themselves getting called what they really are communists. They believe that all people are equal which they are until the come out of the womb, then it all changes. Their the sort of people believe in no religion or will defend human rights abuses in the name of it like Islam but usually condemn Christianty. They favour mass unrestricted immigration, criticising and condemning the majority and always defending the minority no matter what they done and blaming it all on Society and capitalism. Most liberals are complete utter hypocrites who are mega rich are pretend to give a care about the less well off. The true conservative cares usually out of compassionate religion but will have to honesty to tell you he is going to tax you and make profit if it is there. Liberals want more state regulation, conservatives want less. Personal liberties are also something both sides hold and have differing views.

Anyways I know my Nanci Pelosi's from my Margaret Thatchers thank you very much and the societal ideologies associated with each. Anyways back on topic

also I never spotted Tom Jones was the editor, sorry about that one;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Overheal wrote: »
    Shocking.

An American Gun Thread where everyone is applauding. Even with the crossfired girl - ouch :/ she'll be venerated around campus too though.

They can be expensive and they can be cheap. Eyed one in the pawn shop the other day for $170. Ammo can be got for $10. And presumably the license to own and conceal would be a reasonable fee. Plus depending on what kinda parents he has they could have helped him with the purchase. We gave our sister a stun gun for Christmas.

Is that something I did when I got my Drivers License or do I need to go do something formal tomorrow?

Are you an akshual Am Er Ikan or on a green card? If on a green card then IIRC you sign it when you go through the interview.

It is a term invented by nut jobs in America to prevent themselves getting called what they really are communists.

good one, i needed a giggle.

........you're not joking, are you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Am Er Ikan

Liberalism boils down to egalitarianism and equality. It is a term invented by nut jobs in America to prevent themselves getting called what they really are communists. They believe that all people are equal which they are until the come out of the womb, then it all changes. Their the sort of people believe in no religion or will defend human rights abuses in the name of it like Islam but usually condemn Christianty. They favour mass unrestricted immigration, criticising and condemning the majority and always defending the minority no matter what they done and blaming it all on Society and capitalism. Most liberals are complete utter hypocrites who are mega rich are pretend to give a care about the less well off. The true conservative cares usually out of compassionate religion but will have to honesty to tell you he is going to tax you and make profit if it is there. Liberals want more state regulation, conservatives want less. Personal liberties are also something both sides hold and have differing views.

Anyways I know my Nanci Pelosi's from my Margaret Thatchers thank you very much and the societal ideologies associated with each. Anyways back on topic

also I never spotted Tom Jones was the editor, sorry about that one;)
    I don't know what you've been smoking (salvia?) and I also have no idea what ANY of that has to do with the thread.

I'm henceforth suing you for the 73 brain cells I just lost trying to process this garbage.

Mental note:

Do not use the word 'Liberalism' when netwhizkid is about...he'll try to be all smartzy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Uh huh. So yeah, you have no idea what liberalism is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭omyatari

might go gun-shopping for my man's birthday.
    get a shotgun or two.

hee hee brilliant :):D

Either way, the Supreme Court has ruled that the 2nd also covers the right of persons to defend themselves.

Those figures don't look right. The householder figure seems far too high. (That said, if you look up the figures for 'Defensive gun uses', in which a firearm is produced for defence but not necessarily discharged, the figures are in the millions per year)

NTM

Yes my figures are wrong I misquoted when typing that, my 9,500 fiqure ranges from 9,500 thousand to 11,500 people who commit suicide using guns. Also around 9,500 use guns in self defense discharging them without death to the assailant. Many more are frightened and apprehended by the private gun owners of america. Around 200 to 300 are justifiable homicides annually in the United States.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

I don't like guns, but... this story makes me smile. Bravo.

Overheal wrote: »

Here in California, a driver's license did not sign you up. Actually, I got lucky: I was signed up for it when I joined the military, about two months before my window for enrollment passed. I've run into a few situations since (usually job-seeking or security-clearance related) where the question "What's your Selective Service Number, or if not available, what is your legal reason for not having one?" has come up. Up until then, I had thought I was ineligible due to not being in the US betwee 18 and 21.

However, they make it simple.
    http://www.sss.gov/

You can check to see if you're already registered with the link on the top right. If not, there's a link on the top left for you to do so.
    If you do not register, you could be prosecuted and fined up to $250,000 and/or be put in jail for up to five years. Registration is also a requirement to qualify for Federal student aid, job training benefits, and most Federal employment.

Different States may do it differently, but bear in mind that Selective Service is a Federal thing, and driver's licenses are State functions.

In your case, it may depend on what age you were when you got your license.
    South Carolina: On June 5, 2002, Gov. Jim Hodges signed into law a bill that requires South Carolina men, 18 through 25 years old, to be registered to obtain a state driver's license.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

sheesh wrote: »

But you can get arrested here if you give them a box... or if they cut their hand on the glass while breaking your windows...

Padraig Nally is a hero.. :)