Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do you store your car keys?

• 06-05-2009 8:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

Was listening to Liveline today and it was to with burglaries.
    A family had their car targeted so they were broken into to get the car keys and car stolen.
    Actually happened another family too.

How are the scum finding the car keys so easily? Are people just leaving them on a table?

Do you reckon it'd be safter to take the car keys into your bedroom at night or maybe you're worried about getting attacked for them?

Some people on boards with great cars, what do you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

feck, meant to add a poll

Ah well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

in the pocket of my trousers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Eh, maybe it is not the best idea to mention on a public forum where you hide your keys (if you do hide them). it would defeat the purpose!

Having said that, it can be a bad idea hiding the keys if some unscrupulous character is intent o taking your car. Maybe you are better off letting him find them by himself rather than wake you up "inconveniently".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Keys in the front hall, easily accessible to anyone, but not visible or reachable from the front door.

I'm not going to have my car keys "hooked", but I'm also not interested in waking up to find a man in a balaclava, holding a kettle of boiling water, standing at the foot of my bed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Can never find them in the morning so not gonna worry about the burglars finding them!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

I don't have a great car, and I don't "store" the keys - they are generally in my jeans pocket on the bedroom floor.

In the unlikely event that someone breaks in and demands that I hand over the S-Max keys, I will do so happily. Gtf out of my house and away from my family.

If I owned a great car, I'd think about one of those immobilisers that cuts power after a half mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Keep mine on my bed side locker, no ones going to want to steal my car awayway:D If I had a car that some one would want to steal id more than likely leave them down stairs on a key holder but not in sight from windows. They'd have to get pass my dog first anyway:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I keep my keys in the cars ignition.... the LAST place the burglars would look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

AudiChris wrote: »
    Keys in the front hall, easily accessible to anyone, but not visible or reachable from the front door.

I'm not going to have my car keys "hooked", but I'm also not interested in waking up to find a man in a balaclava, holding a kettle of boiling water, standing at the foot of my bed...

We've had loads of these threads. My keys are easy accesible, I'd nearly put a sign pointing to them. Take my car, just don't come near me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

We've had loads of these threads.

I searched! And obviously failed :o
    And I don't remember any recent ones

mikemac wrote: »
    I searched! And obviously failed :o
    And I don't remember any recent ones

Lol! Your grand. I do remember one very recently though, or a thread that lead to this discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Around my (unfriendly) Alsatians neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭recycle

but I'm also not interested in waking up to find a man in a balaclava, holding a kettle of boiling water, standing at the foot of my bed...

Burgled three times and never once did they have the decency to offer me a brew like yours - the bastids:D

Hall table all the way.

I remember a friend of mine woke up to see a fella sneaking beside him, slowly pulling his keys from his locker, and turning to walk out again. Pity there were four lads in the house, and one of him.

Pity there were four lads in the house, and one of him.

Very funny until they find that he's been in the kitchen first, and has a breadknife and a carving knife in his hands.

Who wins a knife fight? First man to the hospital.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I keep them on a keyring :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I keep my keys in the cars ignition.... the LAST place the burglars would look.

Funny you say that because when I lived at home I always left them in the ignition!! I had a few cars on the go, so did my dad so there were up to 8-9 cars in the driveway at anyone time. It was out in the sticks though, none of my cars were worth a whole lot, some things never change! Progress eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Under my pillow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

If you're a burglar, then I keep them in a safe that requires the finger prints of all my 7845 {insert social media site} "friends" to open.

Otherwise they live in a decorative ashtray on the sitting room bookshelves between the cookery and sci-fi sections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,619 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Bedside locker.
    I used to leave them on the hall table until I locked myself out of the house one day and within 2 minutes managed to hook them through the letter box with the handle of the rake. :o

If I could do it that easily.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭ilovemarmite

I have mine in a saw-esque trap so the burglar has to play a game to get them which ends in there untimely demise.

Maybe a bit ott for a 00 punto..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Oh no.....

I'm not fallin for this one again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Leave them in a really really obvious place for me to find.

picture of a car ----> my keys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

When we first got the GTI in 06 the keys came to bed every night but now they just hang in kitchen cupboard with all others. GTI is now least worth of our 2 cars as we just imported an 08 S-Max but the GTI is till the pride and joy:D

Anyway, I would be of the view that someone can just take the keys and get out as my family are far more important than a car. Its insured and is only a piece of metal.

We have the alarm on at night so if someone comes through any perimeter doors or windows it will kick off and likely they will run.

On a related notes is it not the case that as soon as a burgler come's up your stairs it becomes aggravated burglery, as opposed to just breaking and entering etc, and then automatic jail time if caught?

All the same I can wholly agree with keeping the keys close to you in bed cause why should we just make it easy for them even though it is only a piece of metal - it is human instinct to protect what is yours.

Personally I think it should be like in the US and that as soon as someone enters your home illegally you should be allowed use any force necessary to protect it and your family - i.e. ***** *** ******* scumbag between the eyes:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭jenzz

I agree! Post burglery - laptop/keys/handbag/kids DS's all left on kitchen table every night.with the new doggy asleep underneath... At least all they can do is trash & poo all over the kitchen table this time if they feel like it - Tossers!!!

as soon as someone enters your home illegally you should be allowed use any force necessary to protect it and your family - i.e. shot the low life scumbag between the eyes:mad:

The most likely dead dude with those rules is you: sneaking in after a few too many and your wife blasts you.

FFS, it's just a car, let it go. We have an S-Max too, and yes, it's very nice, but I wouldn't give one of the kids fingernails for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

We've had loads of these threads. My keys are easy accesible, I'd nearly put a sign pointing to them. Take my car, just don't come near me.
    Exactly, I cant understand why anyone would hide their keys. If they break in with a bloody syringe, shotgun, baseball bat etc, why the hell would I want to stop them taking a hunk of metal outside thats insured anyway?
    Have at it lads, just close the door on the way out.
    Zube wrote: »
    The most likely dead dude with those rules is you: sneaking in after a few too many and your wife blasts you.
    FFS, it's just a car, let it go. We have an S-Max too, and yes, it's very nice, but I wouldn't give one of the kids fingernails for it.
    Yeah, violence is fun and all, but dont think Id murder someone to stop them stealing a car. And if I did Id have the effort of hiding the evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

While we're on the subject I lock all the ground floor doors every night. With the keys in the locks so if they manage to get past the alarm and tamper with the locks the keys will fall out and hit the tiled floor.

I've been teaching myself to recongnise this sound as my war call.

Just so yis know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Exactly, I cant understand why anyone would hide their keys. If they brake in with a bloody syringe, shotgun, baseball bat etc, why the hell would I want to stop them taking a hunk of metal outside thats insured anyway?
    +1, especially if i'd been trying to sell it for a while.;)

While we're on the subject I lock all the ground floor doors every night. With the keys in the locks so if they manage to get past the alarm and tamper with the locks the keys will fall out and hit the tiled floor.

I've been teaching myself to recongnise this sound as my war call.

Just so yis know.

Can't say I agree with that, for one of a million reasons I need not outline as they are fairly obvious. Closing the doors, fair enough, but locking them is a bit far tbh, and some what dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Anan1 wrote: »
    +1, especially if i'd been trying to sell it for a while.;)

*cough* not what I meant at all :D

Matt Simis wrote: »
    *cough* not what I meant at all :D

ROLF!!:pac:

I rely on the dog, too. Every time she stops snoring, I pull the Stira down, run the family into the attic, shove the ladder back up, tie a red bandage around my forehead, grab my machine gun, run downstairs and poke the dog.

In fairness, she doesn't wake up, usually, and when she does, it's just to give me a sarcastic look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

in my jocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

On a related notes is it not the case that as soon as a burgler come's up your stairs it becomes aggravated burglery, as opposed to just breaking and entering etc, and then automatic jail time if caught?

I couldn't imagine so - what about people in bungalows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Kept on the hall table. If they want em they can have em. That's what insurance is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭flamegrill

Keep the keys to my car and the frontdoor on my bedside locker. The large dog we own (half alaskan malamute/half GSD) sleeps in the room with myself and the missus. We don't bother with the Alarm anymore, tbh I wouldn't like to break into our gaff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭igglou

Can't say I agree with that, for one of a million reasons I need not outline as they are fairly obvious. Closing the doors, fair enough, but locking them is a bit far tbh, and some what dangerous.

Why do you think locking the downstairs doors at night is a bit far?

We always did this and it stopped burglers getting any further than our back hall after they broke in in Jan this year. The alarm didn't bother them and they made breaking in look so easy on what I thought was a good Munster Joinery 5 point lock door. They also broke into 5 other houses in our area in 2 hrs. All they got was a laptop from our office room but I know had we not locked the doors, they would have come through the rest of the house and maybe upstairs where my 1 year old daughter was also asleep in her room.

They have broken into more houses and premises including local schools and still haven't been caught so I'm constantly thinking they will come back. Before we were broken into I used to bring the keys upstairs every night now I leave them on the mantlepiece, not to easy to spot but not upstairs with me either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

I keep my keys in my handbag which is usually on my bedroom floor at night. I drive an 02 Skoda and my housemate drives an 06 Mini and she leaves her keys on the hall table, so I reckon if anyone's losing their pride and joy it's her.

igglou wrote: »
    Why do you think locking the downstairs doors at night is a bit far?

We always did this and it stopped burglers getting any further than our back hall after they broke in in Jan this year. The alarm didn't bother them and they made breaking in look so easy on what I thought was a good Munster Joinery 5 point lock door. They also broke into 5 other houses in our area in 2 hrs. All they got was a laptop from our office room but I know had we not locked the doors, they would have come through the rest of the house and maybe upstairs where my 1 year old daughter was also asleep in her room.

They have broken into more houses and premises including local schools and still haven't been caught so I'm constantly thinking they will come back. Before we were broken into I used to bring the keys upstairs every night now I leave them on the mantlepiece, not to easy to spot but not upstairs with me either.

I just think it the case of a fire, or any other circumstance where ye need to be out of the house, I think the last thing ye would need to confront are a few locked doors.

In my pocket if away from home, but at home I leave them in the ignition :eek: Have been doing it since I started driving and its a habit now. My auld lad does the same and my mother does a lot of the time. The joys of living in the middle of nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

For a Motors forum, there's lots of people here willing to give up their cars in a heartbeat, maybe you're all parents?
    Anyone comes creeping around my house looking for the keys to my car, don't expect me to hand them over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Theft and Fraud Offences Act, 2001

Aggravated burglary.
    13.—(1) A person is guilty of aggravated burglary if he or she commits any burglary and at the time has with him or her any firearm or imitation firearm, any weapon of offence or any explosive.

Also, there's no such offence as Breaking And Entering in Ireland. Its just Burglary. Nothing needs to be stolen for it to be burglary, just entering a property with the intent of commiting an offence

For a Motors forum, there's lots of people here willing to give up their cars in a heartbeat, maybe you're all parents?
    Anyone comes creeping around my house looking for the keys to my car, don't expect me to hand them over.

I'm actually attached to my car, and I mean I'd go mad if I got another stone chip. I'm just more attached to my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Easy solution: hide your kettle too :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

Heroditas wrote: »
    Bedside locker.
    I used to leave them on the hall table until I locked myself out of the house one day and within 2 minutes managed to hook them through the letter box with the handle of the rake. :o

If I could do it that easily.....

You're going to regret that the next time you lock yourself out!

I keep mine in my bag which can be anywhere along the route from the bedroom to the front door via the bathroom. I never walk out the door without my bag, if I kept the keys seperate I'd lock myself out everyday! And, we don't have a hallway, so no table there to keep them on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

What he said. Maybe with a note saying "If you're going to damage it, make sure it's a write-off". I love my cars but my personal safety is a lot more important.

Zube wrote: »
    I wouldn't give one of the kids fingernails for it.

Not even your least favorite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

Sometimes there left in the car, otherwise left on the hall table.

Theres 7 or 8 cars at the house usually and most of them would be locked at night, however there never locked or keys taken out during the day because we live in the middle of nowhere, no need for house alarm either especially when we've got 4 rotweillers guarding the house!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭igglou

I just think it the case of a fire, or any other circumstance where ye need to be out of the house, I think the last thing ye would need to confront are a few locked doors.

The only doors I lock are the one from from back hall into the kitchen and the 3 doors that enter the hall from the living room, useless spare room and the kitchen and only at night so if I need to get out from upstairs I'd be heading out the front door.

I absolutely adore my cars too, in fact I miss my old cars more than houses I lived in for years. So I would hate the idea of someone taking my car but when I'm at home, my 1 yr old daughter takes priority over everything. That said, I know if anyone was to crash into me or damage my car away from home, be prepared for blind rage!! :D