Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late this Friday 08th May

• 06-05-2009 1:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭

Is there any one who knows who is on this Friday as we have tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

Pat Kenny may make an appearance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Someone from rte who is not Pat Kenny, George Lee per chance?

A crappy pop act, a half-forgotten "international name", someone with controversial moral views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

I'm gonna take a wild guess and say that George Lee will be on it.

Probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

You'd have to be thinking George Lee, wouldn't you? However, since he's running in an election, wouldn't this be unfair to have him on, and not give equal time to all other candidates? There are laws about air time for politicians and candidates during elections and referenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I guess they'll have to get them all onboard then which bearing in mind its by-election would be taking the piss on a national station but I reckon they'll try and do it anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Tommy Tiernan or Dave Mcsavage.
    Maybe a couple of priests for variety,,,hell,maybe even one of the seoiges!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭yknaa

mike65 wrote: »

A crappy pop act, a half-forgotten "international name", someone with controversial moral views.

Good one. Add in Sinead O'Connor, Brendan O'Carroll and latest Irish boyband sensation 'Arseboxing'. Makes for great viewing.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

carolinei wrote: »

Is there any one who knows who is on this Friday as we have tickets.

As far as I know they announce the guests on Thursday or Friday? However, I'm open to correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I have it on good authority that Michael McDowell will be formally announcing that he is running for the greens in the Dublin South bi-election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭carolinei

Hi guys,

Apart from Pat Kenny ;) - any one else that we know might be on it.

Thanks -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Hi guys,

Apart from Pat Kenny ;) - any one else that we know might be on it.

Thanks -

His replacement?

Cute ! Now that would be interesting !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Martin Sheen according to Pat Kenny 10 mins ago

Cute ! Now that would be interesting !

Stranger things have happened. There's been a bit of a "silence" on who it is. I reckon it'll be sprung soon on us all, maybe tonight.:p

Cool, I like Martin Sheen. Suppose we will find out soon enough ! Like when we're up there in the audience. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Cool, I like Martin Sheen. Suppose we will find out soon enough ! Like when we're up there in the audience. :rolleyes:

Will ya give us a wave??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

heckle Pat .. we will spot you easier then!

I'll start singing 'I did it my way' !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

George was only on about 4 weeks ago. Eamon Dunphy on the other hand hasn't been on in about 6 weeks, expect to see him this week or next.
    Who else? ....they've already had the nine o clock news reader run from one studio to the next and appear on the show. Maybe the director could come on and talk about Pat leaving and announce the new host.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

mike65 wrote: »

He isn't working for RTÉ any more :)

They will be announcing the new presenter next week. I'd say it'll be Miriam O Callaghan !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭crazzzzy

Skyuser wrote: »
    George was only on about 4 weeks ago. Eamon Dunphy on the other hand hasn't been on in about 6 weeks, expect to see him this week or next.
    Who else? ....they've already had the nine o clock news reader run from one studio to the next and appear on the show. Maybe the director could come on and talk about Pat leaving and announce the new host.

Dunphy wil be mad to get on after keano slating him last week :D but its only few weeks since he was crying to Pat so even RTE would hardly pull that stunt.

Im sure it will be the usual boring babble....

Jackie Lavin looks like a skanky hoe on the LL there.
    And Bill,what a tool..............full of sh1te as per usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭ifconfig

Jackie Lavin looks like a skanky hoe on the LL there.
    And Bill,what a tool..............full of sh1te as per usual.

I cannot follow his logic about the reduction (ie. tieing of VRT to CO2 emission spec of a vehicle) has cannibalised the car market .

Can anyone enlighten me ? Sounds more like a rant to me.
    I'm not sure even Pat could follow the logic.

-ifc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

That was so annoying. Telling people 'out there' that if there are potential job losses in your company to work more hours for less money. they don't use the helicopter anymore because its not appropriate. Ask my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Martin Sheen is a legend. It's impossible not to like the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

Daysha wrote: »
    Martin Sheen is a legend. It's impossible not to like the guy.

I was just thinking the very same thing. Great interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

yep, Martin Sheen is a legend. What a gentleman. I really enjoyed that interview. Stephen Fry last week and Martin Sheen this week, RTE are spoiling us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

ifconfig wrote: »
    I cannot follow his logic about the reduction (ie. tieing of VRT to CO2 emission spec of a vehicle) has cannibalised the car market .

Can anyone enlighten me ? Sounds more like a rant to me.
    I'm not sure even Pat could follow the logic.

-ifc
    Those two where on a different planet. That one in the red saying we could help the economy by pickin weeds at he side of the road, what a clown, OMFG! There's nature on the side of the road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭deco05ie

That was so annoying. Telling people 'out there' that if there are potential job losses in your company to work more hours for less money. they don't use the helicopter anymore because its not appropriate. Ask my hole.
    http://smarteconomy.typepad.com/.a/6a00d8341ed85853ef01157017e696970b-popup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭KStaford

Overall I have to say that its very refreshing to have a late late where most of the guests are there for a chat or altruistic reason.

That poor family who suffered from the car crash
    Martin Sheen was brilliant and promoting a wonderful cause.
    Colm Tobin there for a chat

No awful celebs selling anything tonight such as their tacky books or dvd's, what a relief. People there just to chat or do some good, its like a late late form years ago.
    I know I know Bill Cullen and his stony facved side kick, I guess they are the exception to the rule, but still, all in all, one of the best late late's in years ? possibly ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Aidric wrote: »
    I have it on good authority that Michael McDowell will be formally announcing that he is running for the greens in the Dublin South bi-election.

I didnt know that there was separate elections for people of different sexual preference.

Martin Sheen was great. Thought Pat should have asked him about his (and his son's) outspoken opinions about 9/11 as a curveball.

That poor family. why dont ****e things like this happen to people like Gerald Barry and Ronnie Dunbar.... Reasons not to believe in god.

Should be interesting with Nell, the female curmudgeon and Fintan O'Toole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Did Pat just suggest to the guy with acne scars that "you look like a man who could do with a spa"? *facepalm*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

KStaford wrote: »
    , but still, all in all, one of the best late late's in years ? possibly ?

I think so - this "political culture" debate should be good too. this is the stuff Pat excels at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

Stark wrote: »
    Did Pat just suggest to the guy with acne scars that "you look like a man who could do with a spa"? *facepalm*

i thought he looked a bit "metro" - so maybe that's what he meant!

scargill wrote: »
    i thought he looked a bit "metro" - so maybe that's what he meant!

I know him, he's from Kildare. All I can say is I hope he gets hit with a fcuking golfball at the Irish Open. His Missus and parents are beside him, the parents are sound people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Geez, he pretty good in this sort of debate, I'm impressed (still has to go from light entertainment, he's ****e there :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Viewer FAIL

"See you on my new show in the Autumn"..
    hmmmmm.
    only three more left with Pat now.. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 feaven

I didnt catch the name of the northern lady in the last debate, Nelly something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

scargill wrote: »
    I think so - this "political culture" debate should be good too. this is the stuff Pat excels at.

Have to agree, Pat was at his best. Looking forward to seeing him on Questions and Answers. Its what he is best at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

That Leo Varadkar is an insufferable tosser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Should be interesting with Nell, the female curmudgeon

I could never imagine myself voting for FG but I've a new respect for Leo Varadkar, based simply on the fact that he looked like he is as bemused with that idiot as I am. Had he just went a bit further and came out and said "look, Nell, you're a ****ing idiot, now stfu" I think I'd actually canvass for him. Looked like he came close all the same :pac: It's a pity she was on the panel as she took away from the valid points made by Fintan O'Toole.

clown bag wrote: »
    I've a new respect for Leo Varadkar

I thought he came across very well tonight as well, the only politician who did in my opinion. He was right to stand up to Nell, and at least he had some alternative ideas.

Nell McCafferty (for feaven above) was a shambles tonight. She had a few I think, and didnt know enough to go toe to toe with the politicans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 feaven

Nell McCafferty (for feaven above) was a shambles tonight. She had a few I think, and didnt know enough to go toe to toe with the politicans.

Thanks Jonathan. I found her already by searching Nell, angry, northern, politics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Why do they invite Nell McCafferty onto these programmes. She is useless at debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Martin Sheen was great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Nothing like a good late late politician lynching. :D

Lets face it...there not there to debate their there so everybody can boo them and clap each time one of the other guests syas something along the lines off "the politicians are clueless" or "sure their all crooks". Even Pat gets in on the act.

That silly bint McCafferty made a show of herself last night...she is insufferable at the best of times but last night she was completely incoherent, agree she took away from some very valid points made my Fintan O'Toole and the chap with the glasses (he made some great points).

I agree with most of this Bing. She was terrible last nite and the previous night that she was on. It's Nuala O'Faolain's anniversary today, dont know if that had anything to do with her drinking but yes she was embarrassing. And like I said above, I thought Varadkar stood up for himself extremely well when she threw the soft point scoring popular criticisms at him. The only valid points that Nell made were about the public sector. Even she didnt have the guts to say that the dole needs to be cut. Because it would not be popular for her to say so.

I mean it's fine for her to say "Y'ere all on the take, Ye bailed out the banks" etc etc. but nothing constructive comes out of what she says. Most of the TDs are very hard workers, but they're hands are tied by legislation and having to keep the the unions happy. Bertie is the one to blame, not FG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Echelle

Poor old Nell is past it I fear.
    Martin Sheen and Colm Toibin were excellent.
    Very impressed by that family fron Tipp who suffered in that accident. I was so impressed that I decided to contribute to the fund for that "walking machine" they hope to buy. Pat Kenny said details were available on the RTE website. I couldnt find it. ..so a missed opportunity to contribute...I still intend to do so but how many others tried, failed and will eventually forget??Where are the details to be found?