Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit a damn Bird at 200 KM/H

• 05-05-2009 10:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭

Driving to work today was pushing 200km/h

I do this drive every week was pushing along as normal... see a bird way high up and then he dive bombs down ...

Next thing .. WHOOOMP ... Feathers, Blood, and then could see the bird landing about 300 meters away in my rear view.

TBH I'm surprised the windscreen didnt sustain any damage ! thank god for the guy that invented toughened glass !

In hindsight I was lucky I didnt hit the brakes as he could have flown into the front grille or into the center of the Windscreen where its a bit weaker.

Anyways, it was a brown pants moment, anyone else have an experience like this ?

Only other experience i've heard of was my uncle hitting a deer at 60 mph and the Jeep was completely wrecked, got a nice bit of venison out of it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Running a bit late eh ?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

craichoe wrote: »

I do this drive every week was pushing along as normal... see a bird way high up and then he dive bombs down ...

Next thing .. WHOOOMP ... Feathers, Blood, and then could see the bird landing about 300 meters away in my rear view.

TBH I'm surprised the windscreen didnt sustain any damage ! thank god for the guy that invented toughened glass !

In hindsight I was lucky I didnt hit the brakes as he could have flown into the front grille or into the center of the Windscreen where its a bit weaker.

Anyways, it was a brown pants moment, anyone else have an experience like this ?

Only other experience i've heard of was my uncle hitting a deer at 60 mph and the Jeep was completely wrecked, got a nice bit of venison out of it though!

Well done man...

Really responsible driving...

But you probably wont learn your lesson until you kill someone else...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

And what if your windscreen broke, you lose control of the car and hit a responsible driver coming the other way. Shameful behaviour, but I suspect this is the reaction you are seeking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Where the hell were you doing that. Not in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

200km/hr ..... you are crazy !!! (give your licence to the local garda station - you dont deserve to be on the road)

ps. my car cant even get upto 200km/hr

GET OFF THE ROAD BEFORE YOU KILL SOMEONE ELSE OR YOURSELF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Driving to work in Limerick City from Longford one morning, was staying at herself's place. Fat ba$tard pigeon tried to take off in front of me, never got high enough and cracked my windscreen down the middle.

Worst thing was that the force of the impact knocked the rearview mirror off the windscreen and fopped me in the side of the head. Made it to work on time though.

Many, many pigeons were blown out of the sky that weekend though, by shotgun this time, not Vectra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Hit a badger doing about 70 mph on a small country road two years ago. Spun the car into a wall & wrote it off.
    I still don't know how I walked away from it without a scratch. Had a right dose of shaky legs after it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

Oh ffs ..

Tell that to the other couple hundred thousand people using the road every day.

Happened on the A52 Near Rattingen on the way to Dusseldorf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

homer90 wrote: »
    Running a bit late eh ?? :rolleyes:

That's a very high horse you're on, isn't it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Oh ffs ..

What do you drive? 200kmph and the screen was intact? I'm impressed.
    I hit a pheasant two weeks ago at close to 100 kmph and there was feck all left bar a cloud of feathers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Oh ffs ..

I was really hoping this was going to happen. Because now all the safety heads who decided to jump on the bandwagon and hurl abuse look like right ejits. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Guess this was on a motorway cause it wouldnt be possible to do it on a single carriageway.

Learn these before you endanger any of us please:

Max limits
    120km/hr motorway
    100km/hr primary and secondary routes
    80km/hr local and regional roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

tech2 wrote: »
    Guess this was on a motorway cause it wouldnt be possible to do it on a single carriageway.

120km/hr motorway

As cianclarke said..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

unkel wrote: »
    That's a very high horse you're on, isn't it? :rolleyes:

Nah, not bothered really !

Bloody hell, this thread is moving fast. The only idiots here are the ones that can't comprehend that it is reasonably safe to drive at 200km/h on a motorway in a country where people are only allowed to drive when they have passed a competence test.

As the OP pointed out, in his case it is fully legal too to drive at that speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

Hit a duck at around 100 km/h last year. Was overtaking on an 'N' road, with no hard shoulder, as I was passing the car, a duck waddled from the hedge into my lane, I saw it about 1.5 seconds ahead of impact, but couldn't brake while overtaking and I'd no room to swerve avoid it (glad I didn't even consider it), so I just smashed the poor bugger with my bumper/lower grill. Plenty of feathers & a small crack.

Wouldn't mind, but I met a Garda checkpoint about 2 miles further on and the looks they were giving me with all the feathers on the front of that car :D

cianclarke wrote: »
    I was really hoping this was going to happen. Because now all the safety heads who decided to jump on the bandwagon and hurl abuse look like right ejits. :D

Let me be the first to eat humble pie and apologise (kinda)

Sorry .... I assumed that since you were posting on boards.ie that you were in Ireland ..... still 200km/hr is a dangerous speed to travel in a car (dont think any Irish road could handle it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Oh ffs ..

Max limits
    120km/hr motorway

Learn to read all of the thread before you come to false conclusions.

I <3 this thread.

FALSE ALARM HIGH HORSE BRIGADE, IT'S A FALSE ALARM!! HE LIVES IN GERMANY!

PCPhoto wrote: »

Sorry .... I assumed that since you were posting on boards.ie that you were in Ireland ..... still 200km/hr is a dangerous speed to travel in a car (dont think any Irish road could handle it)

Stop digging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Heroditas wrote: »
    What do you drive? 200kmph and the screen was intact? I'm impressed.
    I hit a pheasant two weeks ago at close to 100 kmph and there was feck all left bar a cloud of feathers!

I would like that know that as well!! Must be a modern Swede or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

Max limits
    120km/hr motorway

sigh,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

I read all the thread. Hes still an idiot. Post reported for utter idiocy. I should be reported too. And banned. For personal abuse.

**** you op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

At 200 the last place I'd be lookin' is up in the sky at birds :)
    Usually it's the ones that are slow to take off that become a puff of feathers

Oh ffs ..

How many lanes are on that autobahn? Going 200km/hr must be crazy on those roads

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Stop digging.

the OP isnt gonna be driving any road I'm on and its legal for him/her to drive at 200km/hr .... and his/her car can do that speed.

not digging - just expressing my opinion that 200km/hr is a dangerous speed to drive at. (expect the unexpected and all that)

Oh ffs ..

Fair nuff was thinking that, dont blame you. Christ i'd consider moving to germany for that sole reason. You could have mentioned it in your OP though but then again that wouldn't have evoked such reaction would it. Out of interest what are you driving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

See, this is why we need lower limits here in Ireland. Just as a pigeon could hit your windscreen in Germany, a nun wearing a tweed cap driving a Tiida could materialise in the <ahem> fast lane of the M1, and then where would we be?

NAZI GERMANY!

weeder wrote: »
    sigh,

yes I didnt read the thread, yada yada!! I wont withdraw my post as it could remind a few that drive in EIRE to cop on.

Nerin wrote: »
    I read all the thread. Hes still an idiot. Post reported for utter idiocy. I should be reported too. And banned. For personal abuse.

**** you op.

Your wish is my command. You're banned for one week for personal abuse.

..... still 200km/hr is a dangerous speed to travel in a car (dont think any Irish road could handle it)

Aw, come on. 200km/h in the right car and conditions is safe, even on Irish roads.
    If you had a sporty car, and a clear dry road with good visibility you'd be an idiot not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Sorry .... I assumed that since you were posting on boards.ie that you were in Ireland .....

In fairness, I think the OP was deliberately looking for that reaction before the "reveal".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

DanGerMus wrote: »
    Fair nuff was thinking that, dont blame you. Christ i'd consider moving to germany for that sole reason. You could have mentioned it in your OP though but then again that wouldn't have evoked such reaction would it. Out of interest what are you driving?

He purposely didn't mention it in his OP because he wanted the reaction. It's great!

200km/h is what, 125mph? Roughly anyway, that's not dangerous driving on the Autobahn if you're in a good car on a good road then 125mph is comfortable speed, obviously not to slow drivers but that's what other lanes are for.

Someone want to check the fatality statistics on German roads compared to Irish roads?

kazul wrote: »
    Aw, come on. 200km/h in the right car and conditions is safe, even on Irish roads.
    If you had a sporty car, and a clear dry road with good visibility you'd be an idiot not to.

200km is safe once other road users are not drive a lot less than that. If your speed is far greater than other vehicles on the road it is look upon as dangerous driving. Of course it also depends on how many lanes there is on that autobahn.

DanGerMus wrote: »

Its a work car on Dutch plates, Mercedes E320 CDI.

Jesus tbh I was more interested in the frequency of Kamikaze creatures splattering themselves on moving vehicles.

TBH most cars are capable of that speed, I've been passed out by Golfs, Passats, Renaults, nothing really all that flashy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Obama-Translated.jpg

Some might look upon the ability to travel at a much faster speed than others on the road as "advanced" as opposed to "dangerous" driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭BoardsRanger

Dave147 wrote: »
    200km/h is what, 125mph? Roughly anyway, that's not dangerous driving on the Autobahn if you're in a good car on a good road then 125mph is comfortable speed, obviously not to slow drivers but that's what other lanes are for.

I would also suggest that Ireland has some roads that are of a high enough quality to handle those speeds- its just the other idiot drivers on our roads that would make it dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I've never seen a mod getting banned before :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A lot of our "high speed" roads are separated by chicken-wire. That says it all, really.

How many lanes are on that autobahn? Going 200km/hr must be crazy on those roads

If I go by Nijmegen I end up on the A57, almost 100km of Straight road to Dusseldorf, depends on what time I leave. the A12 around Utrecht is a ballache from 7.30 to 9.30 and that ends up on the A52.

Most of the unrestricted sections on the A57 and A52 are two lane, except at certain times during the day.

One part on the A52 is three lane and is unrestricted, most of the 4 lane part are 120 km/h for obvious reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

200km is safe

Cool!

If this thread hits a pigeon at the speed its moving it's all over.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I recall a similar incident once when marshalling at the Phoenix Park races. I was at the Ordnance Survey and IIRC it was an RT2000 which hit a pigeon. The windscreen on the car was damaged and it pulled in. It was interesting reporting that fatality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I was going even faster than the OP in Ireland last week as it happens.
    <waits for response>
    But it was in a plane, get off your high horses people.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I've never seen a mod getting banned before :D

Happens quite a lot across the site actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Im afraid if you haven't driven any Autobhan then you won't really grasp it,to call the experience a breath of fresh air is an understatement,in places we did way more than 200kmph and never once felt unsafe,or threatened by other road users actions,they know how to drive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

You have to bear in mind that driver training in Germany is a lot higher too. It's not a case of your dad teaching you in tesco's carpark at 5mph.
    The test includes motorway work and your instructor has to sit in the rear of the car during the test too.
    Plenty of roads in Ireland are able to handle cars driving at that speed and more, I know this because i've been in cars doing it. (Garda cars, before people start having a go at ME!!!)

They're not allowed to do it either, at least not whenever they like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

I'm reporting the OP for being an absolute legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

tossy wrote: »
    Im afraid if you haven't driven any Autobhan then you won't really grasp it,to call the experience a breath of fresh air is an understatement,in places we did way more than 200kmph and never once felt unsafe,or threatened by other road users actions,they know how to drive!

200kph in an aul Bora is dangerous though :rolleyes::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

You have to bear in mind that driver training in Germany is a lot higher too. It's not a case of your dad teaching you in tesco's carpark at 5mph.
    The test includes motorway work and your instructor has to sit in the rear of the car during the test too.

There are very few roads in Ireland i would feel safe doing 153mph on esp if i was sharing it with your average Irish driver!

Another thing i noticed in Germany is the lack of speed kills signs,german tourists must be amazed when they come over here,Speed doesn't kill,stupidity kills!