Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Winter Festival of Poker Oct 24-26, 2009 - Paddy Power Poker

• 05-05-2009 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭

We will be again holding the IWF this year on the October Bank Holiday Weekend. 24th - 26th.

Saturday 24th 1500 + 150 NLH main event (3 day event)

Sunday 25th 500 + 50 NLH side event (2 day event)

Monday 26th 300 + 30 Round Of Each side event. (1 day event)

Sole Survivor - there will again be a Sole Survivor Element for the PPP qualifiers and the PPP qualifier who outlasts all others will win 20,000 Euro.

To celebrate the launch of the IWF and the Sole Survivor we will be guaranteeing 3 tickets in this Sundays (10th May) Grand Final $200 + $15 entry. There will almost certainly be an overlay in this.

Main Event - 15,000 Starting Chips

Level Small Blind Big Blind Ante Clock
    1 25 50 60
    2 50 100 60
    3 75 150 60
    4 100 200 60
    5 150 300 60
    6 150 300 25 60
    7 200 400 25 60
    8 300 600 50 60
    9 400 800 50 60
    10 500 1000 50 60
    11 600 1200 100 60
    12 800 1600 100 60
    13 1000 2000 200 60
    14 1200 2400 200 60
    15 1500 3000 300 60
    16 2000 4000 400 60
    17 3000 6000 500 60
    18 4000 8000 500 60
    19 5000 10000 1000 60
    20 6000 12000 1000 60
    21 8000 16000 1500 60
    22 10000 20000 2000 60
    23 12000 24000 2000 60
    24 15000 30000 3000 60
    25 20000 40000 3000 60
    26 25000 50000 3000 60
    27 30000 60000 4000 60
    28 40000 80000 4000 60
    29 50000 100000 5000 60
    30 60000 120000 10000 60
    31 75000 150000 10000 60

Side Event - 500 NLH; 10,000 Starting Chips

1 25 50 45
    2 50 100 45
    3 75 150 45
    4 100 200 45
    5 150 300 45
    6 150 300 25 45
    7 200 400 25 45
    8 300 600 50 45
    9 400 800 50 45
    10 500 1000 50 45
    11 600 1200 100 45
    12 800 1600 100 45
    13 1000 2000 200 45
    14 1200 2400 200 45
    15 1500 3000 300 45
    16 2000 4000 400 45
    17 3000 6000 500 45
    18 4000 8000 500 45
    19 5000 10000 1000 45
    20 6000 12000 1000 45
    21 8000 16000 1500 45
    22 10000 20000 2000 45
    23 12000 24000 2000 45
    24 15000 30000 3000 45
    25 20000 40000 3000 45
    26 25000 50000 3000 45
    27 30000 60000 4000 45

Side Event - 300 Round Of Each; 8,000 Starting Chips

Level Small Blind Big Blind Clock
    1 25 50 35
    2 50 100 35
    3 75 150 35
    4 100 200 35
    5 150 300 35
    6 200 400 35
    7 300 600 35
    8 400 800 35
    9 500 1000 35
    10 600 1200 35
    11 800 1600 35
    12 1000 2000 35
    13 1200 2400 35
    14 1500 3000 35
    15 2000 4000 35
    16 3000 6000 35
    17 4000 8000 35
    18 5000 10000 35
    19 6000 12000 35
    20 8000 16000 35
    21 10000 20000 35
    22 12000 24000 35

1. Who is running the event - The Jackpot Card Club
    2. The purpose of the event - Commercial
    3. Date and Location of event - 23rd - 26th October, Citywest Hotel, Dublin
    4. Registration and Start time of event. - Registration is open and will close 30 mins before the start of the event
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc) - All players must be a member of the Jackpot Card Club and membership will be facilitated at the event
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.) - Capacity 650, tickets may be purchased in advance from PPP or Jackpot Card Club
    7. Type of Tournament - Holdem, and Round Of Each tournies all of which are freezeouts
    8. Cost of entry - euro 1500
    9. Cost of registration - euro 150
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund - 100%
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. - No
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. - NA
    13. Starting Chips - 15,000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. - NA
    15. Blind levels - As Above
    16. Blind timeframes - As Above
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc) - 100% cash payout, c.10% of field will be paid
    18. Are there going to be dealers - yes and of a high standard
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules - yes
    20. Is there a tournament director - Yes, David O'Neill
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. - By the TD, and he has the final say
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered. - Yes - I will get the rake schedule and publish it
    Also subject to requests from players we will have feeders on Sunday afternoon to the Sunday night grand finals for the duration of the qualifying period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Yet again, a year later, I must protest at this blatant example of misinformation launched by Paddy Power Poker.

October is in the Autumn Sir! Not the Winter! as you well know. Moderators do your duty and crush this poster!

also, will there be lots of tenner sats into the main event on lots of Sundays beforehand?

Crush him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Can u put up the blind structure & starting stacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Hi Noel,
    Our club trip to Vegas (about 30 of us) is set for around the same time:(.
    I'm meeting with the travel agent on Thursday to finalise things. I'll definately get a few tickets out if we're not going until the 1st week in November. But if we're going on Oct 20th which is the original plan, then most of my serious players wont be around.

I'll let you know anyway, and the best of luck with it!

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Hoki wrote: »
    Can u put up the blind structure & starting stacks

yep, i will get them up as soon as they are agreed. The final schedule was only agreed today and it will be a month or so before we have a chance to meet and agree structures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

it will be a month or so before we have a chance to meet and agree structures.

Don't pretend you're busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭i didn't do it

Poker Tournament Forum Rules - Read Before Posting Events (Updated 25/09/08)
    The poker forum welcomes all information regarding upcoming tournaments, both online and at a venue. We are pleased that organisers or other better informed members see Boards.ie as an important forum to communicate poker related events.

However, Boards.ie has a responsibility to its members and cannot be seen to endorse any event that could potentially cause any issue. Therefore, the following criteria must be met within the body of your post otherwise your thread will be closed and removed.

1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.)
    2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.)
    3. Date and Location of event
    4. Registration and Start time of event.
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.)
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.
    9. Cost of registration
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    13. Starting Chips
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.
    15. Blind levels
    16. Blind timeframes
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules
    20. Is there a tournament director
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered.

This list may seem long but if you haven't got the answers then there is a question mark over the professionalism of your tournie.

NOTE:

In addition to the information contained above, anyone availing of this board to promote their tournaments are expected to answer all questions that are relevant, civil and politely put to them regarding their tournaments and the club policies in general.

yep, i will get them up as soon as they are agreed. The final schedule was only agreed today and it will be a month or so before we have a chance to meet and agree structures.
    From the last paddy power open thread
    KevIRL wrote: »
    I've only just noticed this storm a brewing now.

Firstly - BCB can you update the thread with the various points covered in the rules please, as is usual I'll give you till tomorrow to do this or the thread will be deleted.
    Your last thread was opened 9/12/08 for a tourny in april. NO RULES WERE EVER POSTED even after lots of people asking for them. So we are to believe that they are going to be posted in a month. Why not wait until you can answer the questions before posting.

KevIRL you gave him a deadline on the 21/12/08 yet nothing was done. how long must we wait for rules that are so enforced on the small time organisers be enforced on the big organisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

Be nice if it was a 15k or 20k starting stack like some other cheaper buy in tournaments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

all events are Irish poker rankings events. maximum points for each

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

big_iain wrote: »
    all events are Irish poker rankings events. maximum points for each

wow o wow do they pay u or what for that iain .they should :D:D:D:D

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

KevIRL you gave him a deadline on the 21/12/08 yet nothing was done. how long must we wait for rules that are so enforced on the small time organisers be enforced on the big organisations.

Relax ffs. It is nearly 6 months away. Lots of people (JP has done it as have others) have posted these threads months in advance and we have not shut them down. If the tourney was in 2 weeks or so it would be a totally different thing.

I'm sure you could find plenty of places where things have been let go somewhat for all levels of organisers. We are necessarily stricter on new posters for what should be obvious reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

hmm looking like another freebee for mods

corkie123 wrote: »
    wow o wow do they pay u or what for that iain .they should :D:D:D:D

No Payments are made by Organisers to get there events included in the rankings. Just strict criteria.
    Irishpokerrankings.com is a not for profit site

Although i wish they would send some money our way.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

Round of each sounds good, will it be a rebuy?

i didnt do it - eh, well played i suppose.

Dom + other mods - I really dont have any of the other information that ppl care about i.e. blind structures and starting stacks. Id love to have them but its very hard to get white smoke on these issues.

The ROE will be a freezeout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Blah blah blah...paddypower...rake rates...not transparant...rabble rabble

just to get it out of the way :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭dangerousdavid

Will there be sats (online or otherwise) for the RoE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Is this in Citiwest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭i didn't do it

5starpool wrote: »
    Relax ffs. It is nearly 6 months away. Lots of people (JP has done it as have others) have posted these threads months in advance and we have not shut them down. If the tourney was in 2 weeks or so it would be a totally different thing.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055437368
    show me where in this thread fom the last open that he posted what was asked of him and if we were to go looking back even further has bcb ever posted the proper rules of the poker forum

and just for Kakak1 who was giving you the old thanks button, from above thread
    kakak1 wrote: »
    That doesn't make it right that they advertise their tournament on Boards but yet won't provide details of cash rake.

Can't understand why the mods are allowing this I thought there was meant to be full transparency when using boards as a forum to advertise your events.
    memory going on you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭winstons pt

I cant see whats the big hurry to know the structure or anything else, the game is miles away, like a lot of organizers they just post early so any one making plans for another tournament will know that a big event is on that weekend, so no one will clash, im sure PPP will have all up shortly and any one who is really interested will keep an eye out for it on PPP.com

show me where in this thread fom the last open that he posted what was asked of him and if we were to go looking back even further has bcb ever posted the proper rules of the poker forum

memory going on you

I'm not going to read an old thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Kakak1 is an elderly gentleman and is entitled to the odd memory lapse so leave off imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

memory going on you

When quoting me please don't do so out of context.

I thanked PPP for informing us of the date of their tournament which is now in my diary & the date can be set aside if I decide to play. I think it is very reasonable for promoters to advertise the event without full details when it is so far away.

The cash rake is a totally different issue & like the nitty gritty tournament details I will expect to get both nearer the date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Kakak1 is an elderly gentleman and is entitled to the odd memory lapse so leave off imo

I like the "gentleman" bit................thank you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Really like the look of the round of each game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭gigetheman

those this mean yee have kissed and made up richie:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭gigetheman

kakak1 wrote: »
    I like the "gentleman" bit................thank you ;)

now dave is thanking richie i must be pissed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Killme00 wrote: »
    Is this in Citiwest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Killme00 wrote: »
    Is this in Citiwest?
    Yes, we are planning to host it in Citywest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

BTW our Tuesday night $50 + $5 rebuy Super Satellite is now up and running; there were two IWF packages won last week with a good amount left over for cash payouts. The start time has changed to 9pm - the Sunday night $200 + $15 freezeout Super Sat remains at 10pm (four packages won last Sunday - the number of players qualified is building up nicely).

We will be introducing ticket-only sats for the €1500 + €150 main event in the near future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

At the moment it looks like ticket only sats will start first week in August

Since ye lads are bumping, any idea when the structure, etc will be posted?

I think it would be a good idea to stipulate a time frame in the sticky rules for organisers to follow so to ensure that they have the structures etc posted a certain time period in advance of the game. Like 5 months. Give people a chance to comment on them.

Meeting scheduled for next week with all organisational parties, so things will be a lot clearer then.

I think it would be a good idea to stipulate a time frame in the sticky rules for organisers to follow so to ensure that they have the structures etc posted a certain time period in advance of the game. Like 5 months. Give people a chance to comment on them.

Great idea

I don't think we need that really. The general rule of thumb is that for rairly regular events or ones advertised less than a couple of months in advance when all the details should really be known anyhow, then all details are required up front, but for some events where threads are started 4+ months in advance, a bit of leeway is given on the understanding that the necessary will be up in good time. The reason we ask for the details we do is not to punish the organisers or to be awkward bstards, but to make sure that anyone that is planning on playing that uses boards as a source of information is aware of the details of the event so that they can make an informed choice whether they want to play it or not.

We're not going to start making up rules we can't really police without being pedantic, and i don't like being pedantic or doing things that cause extra work for myself.

Edit: Not really the place for this discussion though. Feel free to start a thread on it if you feel strongly about it, which I suspect you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭super182

think they'dhave the structure decided by now sats have been runnin online for months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭tensevensuited

does any1 know if the structure has bein finalised 4 this yet.

I've asked the same thing myself, and there are still discussions ongoing about this, and it will be posted after those are finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I bet you've had a clock called on you before if it takes you this long to make a decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭tensevensuited

find it amazing that the original thread for this was posted on the 5th of may and over 2 months later their still in discussion over the structure for a tournament off its size..lets b honest its not that hard 2 fix a structure and a company like paddy power should really know in advance what format its tournie will take..they dont even come on here 2 say wen they are goin 2 post structures.take the finger out lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Don't rush them, they always have the irish open structures up well in advance,ya hear me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 daves20

when will the structure be finalised for this event.

id love to have the structure for this published months ago, the bottom line is it has yet to be decided. The reason it has not yet been decided is that we are trying to make some large scale changes to it and present an improvement on last years event.

there are a number of stakeholders in the process and sometimes getting everyone into a room proves to be difficult, particularly during the summer months when people go away on holidays.

We are meeting on Thursday morning and at this meeting we will (hopefully) finalise everything. So fingers crossed that i will be posting the structures on Thursday evening. Believe me if something pops up which prevents me from having them finalised then i will be as pissed off as the rest of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭oneillMan999

id love to have the structure for this published months ago, the bottom line is it has yet to be decided. The reason it has not yet been decided is that we are trying to make some large scale changes to it and present an improvement on last years event.

there are a number of stakeholders in the process and sometimes getting everyone into a room proves to be difficult, particularly during the summer months when people go away on holidays.

We are meeting on Thursday morning and at this meeting we will (hopefully) finalise everything. So fingers crossed that i will be posting the structures on Thursday evening. Believe me if something pops up which prevents me from having them finalised then i will be as pissed off as the rest of you.

I have an idea....15k startin stack, no skipped blinds and a 1 hour clock! sorted!

Send the cheque in the post PPP. thanks :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭bigbadpat

I don't think we need that really. The general rule of thumb is that for rairly regular events or ones advertised less than a couple of months in advance when all the details should really be known anyhow, then all details are required up front, but for some events where threads are started 4+ months in advance, a bit of leeway is given on the understanding that the necessary will be up in good time. The reason we ask for the details we do is not to punish the organisers or to be awkward bstards, but to make sure that anyone that is planning on playing that uses boards as a source of information is aware of the details of the event so that they can make an informed choice whether they want to play it or not.

We're not going to start making up rules we can't really police without being pedantic, and i don't like being pedantic or doing things that cause extra work for myself.

Edit: Not really the place for this discussion though. Feel free to start a thread on it if you feel strongly about it, which I suspect you don't.
    find it amazing that the original thread for this was posted on the 5th of may and over 2 months later their still in discussion over the structure for a tournament off its size..lets b honest its not that hard 2 fix a structure and a company like paddy power should really know in advance what format its tournie will take..they dont even come on here 2 say wen they are goin 2 post structures.take the finger out lads.

It is quite simply really !! The sticky rules for organisers to follow should require that where the structure is not available then the original post should state that it will be provided within a certain time period. This should be a minimum of three months in advance of the event. If not provided within the time frame then the thread should be frozen.

There are enough readers on here who will highlight the the defaulters without the thread having to be actively policed by anyone.

It is very unfair to interpret & apply the rules differently for different operators. It goes againsgt the integrity of Boards !!

I am not asking for the rules to be bent to suit PPP. As I have explained above the structure has yet to be finalised, if it was finalised then I would have it posted by now.

I dont have the final say on matters regarding structures, believe me I wish I had, if the players knew my intentions they would wish I had the final say also.

Mods - feel free to close/lock/delete this thread as you see appropriate. I appreciate that some time has passed since the thread was posted and I have yet to post the structures as promised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

As long as PPP keep giving us free entry into the IO each year they can do whatever the fukk they want imo

opened again.

Ok, as promised we had our meeting this morning and finalised the structures for the Irish Winter Festival

Main Event - 15,000 Starting Chips

1 25 50 60
    2 50 100 60
    3 75 150 60
    4 100 200 60
    5 150 300 60
    6 150 300 25 60
    7 200 400 25 60
    8 300 600 50 60
    9 400 800 50 60
    10 500 1000 50 60
    11 600 1200 100 60
    12 800 1600 100 60
    13 1000 2000 200 60
    14 1200 2400 200 60
    15 1500 3000 300 60
    16 2000 4000 400 60
    17 3000 6000 500 60
    18 4000 8000 500 60
    19 5000 10000 1000 60
    20 6000 12000 1000 60
    21 8000 16000 1500 60
    22 10000 20000 2000 60
    23 12000 24000 2000 60
    24 15000 30000 3000 60
    25 20000 40000 3000 60
    26 25000 50000 3000 60
    27 30000 60000 4000 60
    28 40000 80000 4000 60
    29 50000 100000 5000 60
    30 60000 120000 10000 60
    31 75000 150000 10000 60

Side Event - 500 NLH; 10,000 Starting Chips

1 25 50 45
    2 50 100 45
    3 75 150 45
    4 100 200 45
    5 150 300 45
    6 150 300 25 45
    7 200 400 25 45
    8 300 600 50 45
    9 400 800 50 45
    10 500 1000 50 45
    11 600 1200 100 45
    12 800 1600 100 45
    13 1000 2000 200 45
    14 1200 2400 200 45
    15 1500 3000 300 45
    16 2000 4000 400 45
    17 3000 6000 500 45
    18 4000 8000 500 45
    19 5000 10000 1000 45
    20 6000 12000 1000 45
    21 8000 16000 1500 45
    22 10000 20000 2000 45
    23 12000 24000 2000 45
    24 15000 30000 3000 45
    25 20000 40000 3000 45
    26 25000 50000 3000 45
    27 30000 60000 4000 45

Side Event - 300 Round Of Each; 8,000 Starting Chips

Level Small Blind Big Blind Clock
    1 25 50 35
    2 50 100 35
    3 75 150 35
    4 100 200 35
    5 150 300 35
    6 200 400 35
    7 300 600 35
    8 400 800 35
    9 500 1000 35
    10 600 1200 35
    11 800 1600 35
    12 1000 2000 35
    13 1200 2400 35
    14 1500 3000 35
    15 2000 4000 35
    16 3000 6000 35
    17 4000 8000 35
    18 5000 10000 35
    19 6000 12000 35
    20 8000 16000 35
    21 10000 20000 35
    22 12000 24000 35

for completeness I have filled out the Schedule also

1. Who is running the event - The Jackpot Card Club
    2. The purpose of the event - Commercial
    3. Date and Location of event - 23rd - 26th October, Citywest Hotel, Dublin
    4. Registration and Start time of event. - Registration is open and will close 30 mins before the start of the event
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc) - All players must be a member of the Jackpot Card Club and membership will be facilitated at the event
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.) - Capacity 650, tickets may be purchased in advance from PPP or Jackpot Card Club
    7. Type of Tournament - Holdem, and Round Of Each tournies all of which are freezeouts
    8. Cost of entry - euro 1500
    9. Cost of registration - euro 150
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund - 100%
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. - No
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. - NA
    13. Starting Chips - 15,000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. - NA
    15. Blind levels - As Above
    16. Blind timeframes - As Above
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc) - 100% cash payout, c.10% of field will be paid
    18. Are there going to be dealers - yes and of a high standard
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules - yes
    20. Is there a tournament director - Yes, David O'Neill
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. - By the TD, and he has the final say
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered. - Yes - I will get the rake schedule and publish it