Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Moore's strange comments re Leinster!

• 04-05-2009 5:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭

Must say I generally feel Brian Moore is both knowledgable and pretty fair in his comments. However the following is a quote from his column in today's Daily Telegraph that I can't for the life of me understand -
    '' What should concern the Lions' selectors is the way their form back - row from Munster wilted under pressure from a Leinster pack that had looked woefully unfit against Harlequins in the previous round''.
    Can anyone enlighten me as I thought the Leinster pack were magnificent against Harlequins? Is it merely Moore showing his 'Quins bias?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Must say I generally feel Brian Moore is both knowledgable and pretty fair in his comments. However the following is a quote from his column in today's Daily Telegraph that I can't for the life of me understand -
    '' What should concern the Lions' selectors is the way their form back - row from Munster wilted under pressure from a Leinster pack that had looked woefully unfit against Harlequins in the previous round''.
    Can anyone enlighten me as I thought the Leinster pack were magnificent against Harlequins? Is it merely Moore showing his 'Quins bias?

I listened to the Leinster /Harliquins game on the Radio 5 live and Moore was co-comentating. On a number of occasions during the game he referred to the fact that the Leinster forwards looked out on their feet and that was half way through the game. They obviously weren't as they held the quins until the final whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Dunno they struggled at the scrum but held their own at the breakdown :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

It's not always kept in context unforunatley and old stereotypes die hard.

I'd go as far as saying Leinsters pack has been one of the best in Europe all season. It was misfiring backs that cost us at times, but our pack has been immense throughtout. Side that with the fact that we don't have "big names" as Healy and particularly Heaslip have only started to get recognition now, Cullen & O'Kelly are written off but prove they have big games in them, Jennings can be hit and miss, most people outside of Leinster are yet to realise Sean O'Brien is the best young forward in the country, CJs been injured a lot, Stan has been hit and miss, Jackman is under rated and overlooked etc. etc. etc.

One thing I never worry about in the last couple of seasons is the Leinster pack. You can sometimes worry about the second row when facing the likes of O'Connell and O'Callaghan, as the reputation proceeds them, but in the last 5 enounters between the 2 sides, it's 3 - 2 to the Leinster pairing.

I also disagree that the lions selectors should be worried, you don't become a bad player or a bad team over night and for me Wallace is one of the best back row players in the world, O'Connell and O'Callaghan on form are superb also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Its not like the Munster backrow will be playing for the Lions, Wallace is the only one who is likely to start I'd imagine.

Moore usually doesn't need much encouragement to get a jab in at the Irish though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

The Leinster pack unfit, ha, sure defending your line for half the match is real evidence of that. The Leinster pack have performed solidly all year, in fact pretty much the last 2-3 years since the SF in 06. Out of all the disrespect Leinster got the pack being poor one was the one which was completely based on a few years back. Our backs have being the problem this year imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Dev7

Brian Moore infuriates me. I'm sure im not alone in that. Anyone remember a couple of years ago when Keith Wood told him to stop being so biased in the Ire vs Eng game? 06 i think.

themont85 wrote: »
    The Leinster pack unfit, ha, sure defending your line for half the match is real evidence of that. The Leinster pack have performed solidly all year, in fact pretty much the last 2-3 years since the SF in 06. Out of all the disrespect Leinster got the pack being poor one was the one which was completely based on a few years back. Our backs have being the problem this year imo.

And the year before that annoying how when one thing went right another one just seem to fall apart out of nowhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Stev_o wrote: »
    And the year before that annoying how when one thing went right another one just seem to fall apart out of nowhere!

Ye was bloody sickening, Saturday was nice to see both strands in action though!

themont85 wrote: »
    Ye was bloody sickening, Saturday was nice to see both strands in action though!

Indeed if only we could see the backs play like they did in 06 they'd find it alot easier now with the set of forwards they have infront of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Brian Moore is probably pretty knowledgeable. However, he is a pig sh1t thick biased c*nt and should not be on television giving him a medium to spout his stupid views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

it was funny when he congratulated the Irish team on winning the grand slam then qualified it by mentioning how many he had won as a player, and that Ireland had nothing really to celebrate in winning the grand slam in a poor six nations. harsh, but fair analysis, or an example of bias? i'm inclined to think it was the latter, because before this it was that we were chokers and then the bar is raised once we do win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Strange comments alright.

I suppose Moore is biased a lot of the time but he has provided me with the funniest moments of rugby commentary:

Eng vs Italy 2008: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTQWT-B0EBw

The Infamous Gay Slap: can't find a link :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Moore gets lambasted with being 'biased' by fans, but he always calls it as he see's it, and is the first to criticise England when it's merited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Strange comments alright.

I suppose Moore is biased a lot of the time but he has provided me with the funniest moments of rugby commentary:

Eng vs Italy 2008: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTQWT-B0EBw

The Infamous Gay Slap: can't find a link :mad::mad:

"Gay slap" is up on dailymotion, look there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

lads can we have less of the vulgar name calling please.

Jigsaw wrote: »
    However, he is a pig sh1t thick biased c*nt and should not be on television giving him a medium to spout his stupid views.

Woah....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Jennings can be hit and miss, most people outside of Leinster are yet to realise Sean O'Brien is the best young forward in the country.

Agreed. He has been absolutely immense every time he comes off the bench and I just wish Cheika would give him more pitch time.

I imagine we'll see a lot of him on Friday, given that Cheika will more than likely rest most of the core squad against Scarlets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Agreed. He has been absolutely immense every time he comes off the bench and I just wish Cheika would give him more pitch time.

I imagine we'll see a lot of him on Friday, given that Cheika will more than likely rest most of the core squad against Scarlets.

When you've a backrow performing to standards like Saturday it's hard to get him in in big games. He's actually played a bit though, I think he's got a fair amount of gametime. He'll get at least one start in the final 2 ML games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I take Brian Moores comments about as seriously as I'd take Stephen Jones'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

danthefan wrote: »
    When you've a backrow performing to standards like Saturday it's hard to get him in in big games. He's actually played a bit though, I think he's got a fair amount of gametime. He'll get at least one start in the final 2 ML games.

He generally only gets a decent run when Jenno is getting rested, though. Obviously, he has to start somewhere, though, and what he has in his favour is that Jenno won't be around forever and he's still only 22.

I think we're going to see some great things from the likes of O'Brien, Toner and Sexton over the next few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

This might explain why Brian Moore doesn't like Ireland or Irish players very much :D:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkjM0rvruSw

Mick Quinn, Brian Moore joke starts about 2.90 mins in if you want to miss the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I'd go as far as saying Leinsters pack has been one of the best in Europe all season. It was misfiring backs that cost us at times, but our pack has been immense throughtout.
    I think our lineout has been a bit dodge and was again on Sat.
    I also disagree that the lions selectors should be worried, you don't become a bad player or a bad team over night and for me Wallace is one of the best back row players in the world, O'Connell and O'Callaghan on form are superb also.
    Wallace made a few steals at the breakdown alright. I think Munster were actually a lot better than people are saying. They controlled the ball through a very large number of phases in the red zone. They were just waiting for the Leinster defense to crumble but it didn't.

I still think this Munster team was better than the '06 and '08 team.

zAbbo wrote: »
    Moore gets lambasted with being 'biased' by fans, but he always calls it as he see's it, and is the first to criticise England when it's merited.

...and goes out of his way to defend foul play by England - in particular when they play Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭sarsfield06

I hate Sky coverage mainly because of Brian Moore, he's biased and annoying, I saw him trying to ski on High Altitude on BBC recently, he was absolutely crap, he kept falling over, embarrassing stuff for him and I was delighted he was humiliated!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

...and goes out of his way to defend foul play by England - in particular when they play Ireland!

No he doesn't. He constantly points it out, especially in places like the scrum where most people wouldn't notice it otherwise.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

i havent made my mind up on him fully
    he does tend to say what he sees and gives about about poor quality play and refing
    but sometimes he does the above too much
    he is alot better than Jonathan Davies though, he seems to be very pro wales (obviously) and quite anti irish for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Must say I generally feel Brian Moore is both knowledgable and pretty fair in his comments.

That is your problem right there. You read the article with the above opinion of Brian Moore.

Moore is nothing more than a entertaining co-commentator. His main role is to simply play off Eddie Butler and cause arguments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

I hate Sky coverage mainly because of Brian Moore

There are many reasons to dislike SKY, but Brian Moore isn't one of them - he's on BBC commentaries.

There hasn't been much comment on Paul Wallace's 'Belgrano' gaffe since Saturday. I wonder will he find his 'SKY time' diminishing ?

TarfHead wrote: »
    There hasn't been much comment on Paul Wallace's 'Belgrano' gaffe since Saturday. I wonder will he find his 'SKY time' diminishing ?

Has anyone got a link to that incident?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I hate Sky coverage mainly because of Brian Moore, he's biased and annoying, I saw him trying to ski on High Altitude on BBC recently, he was absolutely crap, he kept falling over, embarrassing stuff for him and I was delighted he was humiliated!

palm face.

In his PW being Irish he might not know how offended the English would get over it. Whats the deal with Dick best though? does he still have a contract with sky? Anyway Paul Wallace did the HEC cup round up after it on sky so I dont think he's air time will be curtailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

TarfHead wrote: »
    There are many reasons to dislike SKY, but Brian Moore isn't one of them - he's on BBC commentaries.

Yeah, stupid stupid comment. However at the time I thought it was Tyrone Howe.........although I did have some Guinness on board at that stage. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Noopti wrote: »
    That is your problem right there. You read the article with the above opinion of Brian Moore.

Moore is nothing more than a entertaining co-commentator. His main role is to simply play off Eddie Butler and cause arguments.

In fairness I went on to state that I couldn't understand Brian Moore's statement as it doesn't really make sense re Leinster's performance vs Harlequins. Maybe it was purely due to his Harlequins bias. He does make informed and knowledgable comments even if it is often mixed with his 'in your face' style of commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

i don't think moore is anti-irish....i just think he's an angry, unhappy man in general!

i'm sure i can remember him with his head in hands after an english game one day because they had been so bad! Could have been the scotland one the week before the '07 game in croker in fact!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

.. Paul Wallace did the HEC cup round up after it ..

That may have been his punishment :D. I don't think they ask Sean Fitzpatrick or Michael Lynagh to do the round-up.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    No he doesn't. He constantly points it out, especially in places like the scrum where most people wouldn't notice it otherwise.

yes he calls them out on breaking the rules of the games in scrums and at the breakdown, but what i was referring to is his excusing of dangerous tackles when English players carry them out against Ireland. i recall him doing this a few times over the years when Ireland have played England. Even Eddie Butler has challenged him over it but he just ignores him.