Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cyclists - road sense

• 02-05-2009 11:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭shezzie

is it just me or do cyclists think that there are rules of the road for cars/vans/buses/motorbikes and another rule book for them. i can not understand for the life of me why they very rarely indicate when going in front of other road users, they never stop at the red light and if you dare comment to them after they nearly run you over crossing at the lights they are the most rude and ignorant so and so..

my suggestion would be simple - if every other road user has to have a licence why shouldnt cyclists - as with their lack of road sense, indicating etc they can just as easily cause a car to crash trying to avoid them while the just veer in front of vechiles..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Thats why I stick the footpath so I can say the same thing about pedestrians ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

i totally agree, i passed a cycling test when i was ten years old ( a long time ago now ) and i spent most of last year on a health kick cycling to work.

while some are willing to obey cycle lanes,lights etc,most are not.
    i received a torrent of abuse from a fellow cyclist when he nearly ran into me while traveling the wrong way down a cycle lane. i pointed out that he should have been in the lane on the other side of the road and he just rode off. still on the wrong side.

in thier defence however i have to say i was nearly run over by cars,walked into by pedistrians and generally treated like i should not have been on the road by everyone.
    most people think you should be in a car.thats part of why i gave up and went back to the car,that and the weather :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Irish cyclist = a cold and wet kamikaze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I hate when they cycle on the footpad. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭damonjewel

I have absolutely no problem with commuter cyclists. But why is it everytime I drive from tallaght to roundwood (across the wicklow mountains) there is always a bunch of cyclists, usually riding abreast (ooh er') at a speed of 1 mile a year, and never ever pull in? utter nobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭missbaker

Cyclists = Cychos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I blame the immigrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭shezzie

yeah i know them bleeping culchies....(ha ha)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

It's a vicious cycle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

if you criticize them, you're a fascist gas-guzzling environment-killing bastard, so i don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

There are a lot of idiot cyclists out there, a bigger percentage than there are idiot drivers and idiot pedestrians, but neither drivers nor pedestrians have to endure there safety put at risk by the idiots in the other two groups as often as cyclists.

I do agree that the rules of the road should be more strictly enforced on cyclists.

javaboy wrote: »
    I hate when they cycle on the footpad. ;)

ffs.. i thought that was forgotten about :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Any time I hear about another cyclist crushed by a lorry turning left I am afraid I can think of nothing but the Darwin Awards.

<indignant Cyclist>I have a right to be here. That lorry driver is supposed to check his wing mirrors. He is supposed to indicate. He is supposed to have a mirror covering the blind spot</indignant Cylist>

Sqwueelsch!!

Remember people. Assume everyone else on the road is a moron. Don't be a moron and bet your life on the other person not being a moron.

If it was me, as soon as a lorry pulled up alongside me at a junction, I'd be off that bike up onto the footpath and walking across the junction after the lorry moved on or turned left as the case may be. I would not continue riding alongside the %##ing steamroller because 'it is my right, and the lorry driver should know I am there'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

shezzie wrote: »
    is it just me or do cyclists think that there are rules of the road for cars/vans/buses/motorbikes and another rule book for them. i can not understand for the life of me why they very rarely indicate when going in front of other road users, they never stop at the red light and if you dare comment to them after they nearly run you over crossing at the lights they are the most rude and ignorant so and so..

my suggestion would be simple - if every other road user has to have a licence why shouldnt cyclists - as with their lack of road sense, indicating etc they can just as easily cause a car to crash trying to avoid them while the just veer in front of vechiles..

Yes, all cyclists are dangerous loons while every driver is a saint....

The goverment are always going on about saving energy.
    I tried turning my lights off to save some..
    I ran over a cyclist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cyclists are better than drivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I am a cyclist and a driver, though not at the same time :) I try to stay on the road if there's a cycle lane but I do cycle on footpaths in certain if they're clear because I don't want to be flattened by motorists. I do get off and walk certain parts because it's too dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I'm a regular cyclist and I regret that it's true that most of the others treat the rules of the road as casual guidelines. To be fair though, there are a lot of annoyances that shouldn't be there. For example most road designs take no serious account of cyclists. The classic is the car lane and a cycle lane that are together the width of a car lane.

There are a lot of other examples. When the planners treat cyclists as an afterthought, it should not be a surprise when the cyclists treat the planners' rules as an afterthought too. Also, a lot of cyclists think of themselves as pedestrians with two wheels, so the jay-walking just extends onto that.

None of this justifies the rule-bending, but it does explain it. Also, being belligerent when caught doing something they shouldn't do is not particular to cyclists though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

stovelid wrote: »
    if you criticize them, you're a fascist gas-guzzling environment-killing bastard, so i don't.
    But they are in front of you, bringing you down to a meager 10mph. Thats awful for gas mileage. If anything these cyclists are doing more harm to the environment than good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

100% agree Calibos... i would add, if it were safer for me to break the light (or anticipate the green like), in order to get out of the way of the lorry, I'll make no apologies. Been run over too many times to worry about the likes of the OP.

Anyone ever been run over as a cyclist before?

I had my front wheel completely chewed up before. Im sure I've posted this before. But anyway the driver was a giant douche who tried to pretend he had no fault in the incident even though I was cycling with the flow of traffic - the asshole just took for granted that his blind spot was clear when he pulled into the petrol pumps.

dny123456 wrote: »
    100% agree Calibos... i would add, if it were safer for me to break the light (or anticipate the green like), in order to get out of the way of the lorry, I'll make no apologies. Been run over too many times to worry about the likes of the OP.

what is the likes of the op

i am not a driver but nearly been knocked of my feet by cyclists and while on a motorbike as a pillion cyclists just think they own the road - is it too much to ask to indicate - a basic rule of the road for the cyclist no - dont get me wrong there are many foolish drivers but cyclists get my goat for the arrogance they portray on the roads in my experience - there are obviously good cyclists i just dont come across many

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

i hate those cyclists that cycle 3 abreast on a main road holding up traffic, while having a leisurely chat. wtf is with those guys? single file a$$holes!

thats why every car is equipped with an obnoxiously loud horn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

hopalong85 wrote: »
    i hate those cyclists that cycle 3 abreast on a main road holding up traffic, while having a leisurely chat. wtf is with those guys? single file a$$holes!

Strictly speaking, cyclists are supposed to cycle in the centre of the lane, not at the side, so it shouldn't make any difference whether there's one or three.

Am on a provisional driving license and I'm constantly at a loss to believe how ignorant and rude drivers are. I prefer cycling (though sometimes a car is necessary), but when I do either I'm sick of it feeling like I'm taking my life into my hands because some people are too careless to know that what they're driving is a dangerous tool.

All the talk of Cyclists vs Drivers misses the point somewhat. Motorcyclists are the real enemy.

i am not gonna say there are not dangerous motorcyclists but i dont see that they are the worst culprits as they have to be more aware as drivers than car/lorry/bus drivers as if they are hit they are hurt badly - yes they can interweave through traffic cause they can and most cases safely and with indication - cyclists hold up traffic rarely indicate and just cycle in front of vechiles - most dont wear appropriate safety gear and alot listen to the music - why do that you will never hear anyone beep the horn at you and by the time you switch music of or take the earphones out the accident they causes has happened

there definately should be courses for cyclists to become better road users like they do for car drivers and bikers etc - equal and fair rule for all road users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Overheal wrote: »
    Anyone ever been run over as a cyclist before?

I had my front wheel completely chewed up before. Im sure I've posted this before. But anyway the driver was a giant douche who tried to pretend he had no fault in the incident even though I was cycling with the flow of traffic - the asshole just took for granted that his blind spot was clear when he pulled into the petrol pumps.

Yes, though i cant really remember it. Was rolled over, bike and all by a taxi at a traffic light. Not fun!
    scars rock though.

Ps

I hate cyclist on dual carriageways who use the left lane. I dont care if they have a right to be on it, common sense says they should use the hard shoulder.

I'm less worried about a motorcycle causing an accident as I am a car causing an accident with a motorcycle. You have to imagine how very few drivers are looking out for motorcycles in their blind spots and such. Its the lack of driver awareness that makes motorcycles so dangerous.

Though occassionally I've seen Hell's Angels roll through my main street. They get a healthy berth from motorists.

I'm gobsmacked both here and abroad at the amount of cyclists who happily go through red lights. Don't they realise cars coming across them will probably knock them over? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I hop off my bike and cross the road with the pedestrians when the lights go red at a pedestrian crossing. Happy days :cool:

I agree though about cycle lanes. They're clearly an afterthought and can be in places where they're not needed and not available where they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Walking to work last week, I saw a woman cyclist giving out to a driver because he had partially pulled out turning left onto a yellow box and was blocking the cycle lane.
    Gave out yards to him and was still shaking her head and muttering as she looked left and right before going straight through the red light.

Another time I stopped at a pedestrian crossing and a car on the other side of the road and ahead was turning right. He was able to go because we were stopped by the light. He starts to go when a cyclist comes flying down past me, straight through the red light.
    Driver turning right jams on his brakes and the cyclist flies past looking back, shaking his head incredulously and gesturing at the driver.

Some of them just don't think the rules apply to them.

Sleipnir wrote: »
    Walking to work last week, I saw a woman cyclist giving out to a driver because he had partially pulled out turning left onto a yellow box and was blocking the cycle lane.
    Gave out yards to him and was still shaking her head and muttering as she looked left and right before going straight through the red light.

Another time I stopped at a pedestrian crossing and a car on the other side of the road and ahead was turning right. He was able to go because we were stopped by the light. He starts to go when a cyclist comes flying down past me, straight through the red light.
    Driver turning right jams on his brakes and the cyclist flies past looking back, shaking his head incredulously and gesturing at the driver.

Or some dont know the rules applied. In that instance, Right on Red (or Left on Red in this case)

At any rate write a letter to your local TD or attend your local council meeting and make a proposal for new cyclist laws. Its quite simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Calibos wrote: »

If it was me, as soon as a lorry pulled up alongside me at a junction, I'd be off that bike up onto the footpath and walking across the junction after the lorry moved on or turned left as the case may be.

I once moved onto the path, and then taking a second look back, moved further in. The lorries wheels rolled over where I had first moved myself to.

The lorry driver stuck his finger up at me.

As for the OP, there are idiots in every walk of life. When they're on bikes they're cyclists, when they're in cars they're motorists. But they remain idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Sleipnir wrote: »

They are right. The rules of the road provide a framework for the Garda to prosecute someone under a relevant law.

If the Garda do not prosecute on a consistent basis for an infringement then the rules are not deemed to actually apply. It's like jay walking is, and drink driving was. People will do what they get away with.

uberwolf wrote: »

If the Garda do not prosecute on a consistent basis for an infringement then the rules are not deemed to actually apply.

You reckon a guard would stand there and watch a cyclist sail through a red light?

I don't know, but I feel compelled to ask:

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=60092796#post60092796

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

One thing that really grinds my gears!

Cyclists who refuse to have lights when it's dark.

Everytime I see one I feel the urge to run them over.

If someday I do accidentally 'nail' one, I'll have no guilt whatsoever.

A life like that is definitely worth extinguishing!!:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

uberwolf wrote: »
    They are right. The rules of the road provide a framework for the Garda to prosecute someone under a relevant law.

If the Garda do not prosecute on a consistent basis for an infringement then the rules are not deemed to actually apply. It's like jay walking is, and drink driving was. People will do what they get away with.

No, the rules of the road primarily provide a framework of rules for people to follow.
    Who deems that the rules do not to apply, individuals? Is that good?

So are you saying it's okay for cyclists to ignore red lights because the rule doesn't apply as cyclists have not been consistently prosecuted
    for breaking the law by the gardai in the past?
    So, when a cyclist breaks a red light, it's the Gardai's fault?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭dmigsy

shezzie wrote: »

Surely the next logical step to this is licences for pedestrians? Having licences for all drivers doesn't seem to have turned them all into amazingly courteous and conscientious road users, has it? I think I can summarise your sentiments without creating a ridiculous thread :

Some road users are thick and some others are just assholes.

There. That's all your points covered.

One thing that really grinds my gears!

Cyclists who refuse to have lights when it's dark.

Everytime I see one I feel the urge to run them over.

If someday I do accidentally 'nail' one, I'll have no guilt whatsoever.

A life like that is definitely worth extinguishing!!:mad::mad::mad:
    Its South Carolina State Law to have both a Rear Tail Light and a Forward Headlight on your Bicycle when riding after sunset or before sunrise. I understand there is a fine for non-compliance.

But you should mind your erm... anger issues.
    dmigsy wrote: »
    Surely the next logical step to this is licences for pedestrians? Having licences for all drivers doesn't seem to have turned them all into amazingly courteous and conscientious road users, has it? I think I can summarise your sentiments without creating a ridiculous thread :

A pedestrian operates outside the flow of traffic, via sidewalks and crosswalks. Cyclists operate within the flow of traffic by definition.

Either way in many jurisdictions you can fine pedestrians for disobeying traffic laws. Jaywalking, in particular. But also in New York crossing at any point while operating a personal electronic device can incur a $100 fine. Apparently there were a handful of iPod related deaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭shamblertine

dmigsy wrote: »

but it just seems a particularly large percentage of cyclists are arrogant arseholes

Was it a survey you conducted to arrive at this startling conclusion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I have a simple rule cycling through a red light. If it is ok to dismount and walk across with other pedestrians then it's ok to go across quicker on the bike.

On the other hand, I've lost count of the number of pedestrians I have either bumped into or narrowly missed who walked across into the cycle lane while traffic was stopped, obviously thinking that the only traffic on the road has 4 wheels and not bothering to look. Luckily these same people are probably not cyclists otherwise they would congregrate next to left turning trucks at junctions.

I really do think the Gardai should penalise cyclists who seriously flout the rules of the road.

Not the cyclist who takes a left on a red light when the road and footpath are empty but the nutters who career through intersections or busy pedestrian crossings.

The reason I would not prosecute the cyclist who takes the sneaky left is that A) bicycles aren't the same as motor vehicles and B) sometimes it's safer for a cyclist to bend the rules of the road.

Oh, I also think the Gardai should penalise drivers who take their rushhour frustrations out on cyclists by jamming them into the curb or changing lanes in dangerously close proximity.

I'd rather fine the cyclist for doing it when it was reasonably ok to do so, if only to set the necessary example. You can't get it into the cyclists head that sometimes its ok. Just like you can't get it into a motorists head that sometimes its ok to run a red if theres no oncoming traffic.

Overheal wrote: »
    I'd rather fine the cyclist for doing it when it was reasonably ok to do so, if only to set the necessary example. You can't get it into the cyclists head that sometimes its ok. Just like you can't get it into a motorists head that sometimes its ok to run a red if theres no oncoming traffic.

I'm not suggesting that. That would be ridiculous. But I would urge the Gardai to show a bit of discretion. When fines are brought in they have a habit of going for the soft target. The guy commuting to work who they wont have to chase and who will pay without agro and leave the dodgy looking nutters alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭shamblertine

dny123456 wrote: »
    Was it a survey you conducted to arrive at this startling conclusion?

no just my personal experience of cyclists

Thought as much. Should I file it under useless, or uninformed?