Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's Sexton's problem with O'Gara??

• 02-05-2009 11:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭

When Darcy scored his try Sexton ran over, passed the celebrations and stuck his face in to O'Gara's and said something - judging by his expression it wasn't "hard luck ROG".

What was that all about? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

When Darcy scored his try Sexton ran over, passed the celebrations and stuck his face in to O'Gara's and said something - judging by his expression it wasn't "hard luck ROG".

Man delighted with team's score shows excitement... what is the world coming to :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Rivalry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭hello_there_jim

sexton had a premonition that o gara was gonna push him in the face after stringer tackled him into touch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Trouser_Press

Profiler wrote: »
    Man delighted with team's score shows excitement... what is the world coming to :rolleyes:

Ah, interweb shocker: man doesn't read OP properly :eek:

Yes, yes, it's an outrage that Sexton would want to celebrate the try....:rolleyes:

Meanwhile, anyone out there who actually knows something about any possible 'history' between O'Gara and Sexton? Did, for example, O'Gara eat Sexton's last Rolo when they were on Irish duty? The venom on Sexton's face in that incident suggested he might have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

O'Gara is hardly a angel when it comes to mouthing of on the pitch. Contepomi and himself have had runs in the past about what Contepomi thinks of ROGs conduct on the pitch. Sledging in rugby will never be as bad as in cricket though, well apart from maybe with Gregan!

themont85 wrote: »
    O'Gara is hardly a angel when it comes to mouthing of on the pitch. Contepomi and himself have had runs in the past about what Contepomi thinks of ROGs conduct on the pitch.

No arguments, earlier this year I was within ear-shot of a bout of O'Gara sledging of an opponent (luckily I wasn't actually on the pitch, I'm not that brave), so I'm not casting him as an innocent! It just struck me that there was even less love lost between him and Sexton than most others today, was curious if there was a history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Sexton's had a tough year, his form, ability and right to a contract have all been questioned. He's been put under a lot of pressure by Munster players, and O'Gara tried to put one over on him today. I've seen O'Gara shove him after tackles etc (and this isn't some criticism of him, Munster, or anything, lot's of teams and players do it).

Sexton's a big rival for the out-half jersey, and at the end of the day, O'Gara's getting on, and will probably lose the jersey to Sexton, so no love lost is somewhat inevitable.

Sexton's had a tough year, his form, ability and right to a contract have all been questioned. He's been put under a lot of pressure by Munster players, and O'Gara tried to put one over on him today. I've seen O'Gara shove him after tackles etc (and this isn't some criticism of him, Munster, or anything, lot's of teams and players do it).

Sexton's a big rival for the out-half jersey, and at the end of the day, O'Gara's getting on, and will probably lose the jersey to Sexton, so no love lost is somewhat inevitable.

Thanks for that anonymous_joe, all makes sense to me now - thanks again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Sextons always had an iffy personnality. The fact he made a huge meal of the ROG challenge in touch is hardly suprising either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Agreed holding his face when there was nothing in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

jank wrote: »

Maybe he thinks he's a soccer player:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

As long as they're both able to maintain their professionalism when they're playing for Ireland and don't allow their rivalries to make a hash of the camp. We all remember what happened in RWC 2007. Sexton should probably remember that he doesn't actually have the 10 jersey yet... he doesn't even regularly start for Leinster. Should he want to improve his position, I would suggest that he improve his temprement. He definitely has the talent. If he ever wants to take full advantage of it and get more game time, he'll need to improve his attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

yeah were lucky it was only sexton doing that today......oh wait, dowling :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

His head came down and hit the ball after ROG shoved him
    Swings and roundabouts lads
    Though i say the next Quinny/o Kelly family get to gether should be good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 paulmcd1973

ROG likes to give verbals to the opposition, I suspect Sexton was giving some back. All good clean fun, I'd imagine it's all forgotten about after the match. Good to see Sexton standing up and playing a great game. ROG needs the competition for the Irish 10 jersey which will either see him upping his game, or else moving aside in time for Sexton and Keatley to battle it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

Was talking to a lad who gets invited to events. He was at one a while ago and lots of the rugby players were there. Seemingly Sexton and O'Gara were at it there. Dunno how it all started but Sexton was saying that O'Gara is passed it. O'Gara was pointing out all the medals he has.
    Then more of the same yesterday.

Anyway, yis can take that or leave it.

johnp wrote: »
    Was talking to a lad who gets invited to events. He was at one a while ago and lots of the rugby players were there. Seemingly Sexton and O'Gara were at it there. Dunno how it all started but Sexton was saying that O'Gara is passed it. O'Gara was pointing out all the medals he has. Then more of the same yesterday.

Video footage to prove these incredulous claims or GTFO.

NickNolte wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Nonmonotonic

Video footage of a social event? Maybe he could get an audio soundtrack to go with it!

Rodge gives far to much verbals in a game so if you give it you may expect some back (especially when you play badly).

No, I'm only joking. I think I know your friend actually... his surname's not Mitty by any chance, is it? ;)

Yeah, that's the lad, Mitty.

As I said, take it or leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

The people complaining here obviously don't play rugby :pac:

It's all part of the game, a bit of verbal or sledging during the match and as soon as the full time whistle goes it's all over, get over it for feck sake! :rolleyes:

As I said, take it or leave it.

I'll leave it so. I'm sure if those guys ever read this thread their faces would be firmly planted in their palms. Guys they don't know making up stories about meeting top-level professional sportsmen at parties who spend the night bickering like spoilt children. I've heard it all now.

Indeed, of course you're right. Top level professionals never do anything silly.
    Sorry I posted :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

I seem to remember Sexton giving ROG a bit of a cocky slap on the bum that time Leinster beat Munster down in Musgrave. :D (a bit of Cork v Kerry rivalry maybe?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I seem to remember Sexton giving ROG a bit of a cocky slap on the bum that time Leinster beat Munster down in Musgrave. :D (a bit of Cork v Kerry rivalry maybe?)

I'd struggle to look beyond contenders for the Irish out-half jersey.

ROG has a habit of mouthing off, Sexton clearly does too. Not too surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

I'd struggle to look beyond contenders for the Irish out-half jersey.

ROG has a habit of mouthing off, Sexton clearly does too. Not too surprising.
    says alot what you know anout rog,if you did,you might know better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

The fact is it wasn't just confined to Sexton. for the first time in a club game I saw 2 incidents where ROG and Drico almost came to off the ball blows. The battles were right across the pitch between the Irish lads. There was real niggle in the game because Leinseter made it a street brawl and left the Irish friendships back in the changing room.

It worked superbly and they left with the spoils. Sexton seems to have a bit of a hot head so probably got carried away a bit more than others. More premiership behavior than what you normally see on a rugby field by who cares it was a great match and full credit to the blues. You deserve it ya bastards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

subfreq wrote: »
    You deserve it ya bastards!!

Yep thats about it and less of the "hope yez go on to win it" please. Ultra patronising kinda statement like to younger bro... Hey Munster at least do us the honour of hating our guts:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

file.php?id=550

POC.jpg

I think other people have more of a case for unsporting behaviour to answer for to be honest.

Hopefully will cost the pair of them their Lions place through suspension. Absolutely disgracefull behaviour and I'm ashamed to be associated with either of them through our national side.

If you watch the try below, Sexton runs up and screams "YEAH!!!!" in O'Garas face - nothing more, which is perfectly fine. Anyone remember how rattled O'Gara got rattled against Argentina for taking a bit of stick - and he's a mouth anyway - so no harm in giving him some!

Also, remember that gent Quinlan in the Heineken Cup final last year? After saying something to Pelouse got a kick up the hole? No saints were in red yesterday and far worse went on, I wouldn't question Sextons behaivour...

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I'm ashamed to be associated with either of them through our national side.

Do us all a favour and stop supporting the national side then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

While Quinnlan deserves a lengthy ban I think using still frame photo to crucify POC is very unfair. Maybe someone can find the clip of it because at the time I definitly didnt see anything like an eye gouge.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

eh?
    Thought Sexton is from Dublin?

jayteecork wrote: »
    eh?
    Thought Sexton is from Dublin?

Read Billy Keane (Sexton's godfather) in last weeks Indo pleading with Munster supporters not to give young Jonny a hard time over the Mafi incident as he is really one of our own. His father is from Listowel. His uncle Willie played for Munster & Ireland and apparently young Jonny supports Kerry over the Dubs!

Not so simple as you'd like to think now, is it:rolleyes:

p.s. His mother is a Dub he was born in Dublin and he supports Kerry! This is what you're up against lads with the Lunsters, Munsters etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

He is....don't know if there's a Kerry connection there at all...

[edit] just seen reply above... although I don't think there's must question about where Sextons heart lays for the Rugby ;)

I remember that bum slap. Well I remember he did it in RDS when O'Gara missed touch and Sexton returned a kick putting Munster on their own 5 yard line 8 points down (iirc) with 5 minutes to play .... it was only a couple of minutes later he slotted a drop goal to secure the match.

Sexton has always done very well against Munster and funnily enough whenever he plays against them not only do we always get tries, but we VERY rarely lose to them.

Reddan / Sexton 9 and 10 next year could be a massive step for Leinster, plus his kicking yesterday was quite good. Got a couple of place kicks having come off the bench and in a game like that!!!? That takes bottle!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

to me sexton getting his kicks was a huge psychological boost to one and all...some nerve to come on and the first thing you do is to slot over a reasonably difficult penalty

Bryn wrote: »
    The people complaining here obviously don't play rugby

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Dullest. Post. Ever. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭garbanzo

Grow up Johnny. No need for that sorta sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Very little in that shout IMO. The eye gouging is a wee bit more serious though...

RuggieBear wrote: »
    to me sexton getting his kicks

Which kicks are you talking about here now Ruggie, this game or the Magners League game ... / :):D

was a huge psychological boost to one and all...some nerve to come on and the first thing you do is to slot over a reasonably difficult penalty

He did very well for him.

We're really lucky having Declan Kidney who despite Sexton's lack of form and everyone clamouring for Ian Humphreys & or Keatley he stuck with Sexton.

Sexton is a bit soccerish though - even the night he scored his try in the Ireland A game, he nearly messed up badly as he was far too interested in celebrating it before making it. Hopefully Kidney will knock that part of his game out of him very quick ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Sexton is a bit soccerish though - even the night he scored his try in the Ireland A game, he nearly messed up badly as he was far too interested in celebrating it before making it. Hopefully Kidney will knock that part of his game out of him very quick ...
    i prefer to call it passionate:)

[Jackass] wrote: »
    He is....don't know if there's a Kerry connection there at all...

[edit] just seen reply above... although I don't think there's must question about where Sextons heart lays for the Rugby ;)

Since Willie played for Garryowen it could also be a Cork Con. v Garryowen thing as well :D

Your probably right about the bum slap being in the RDS. I remember thinking at the time that someone never told him the only two laws of rugby worth remebering for some reason (always pass backwards and never start a row in Limerick) - I was obviously clearly distracted that night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

maybe these pics will show it......(its part of the game IMO...dont think he would have done it if it was O'Connell !!! :eek: )

PCPhoto wrote: »
    maybe these pics will show it......(its part of the game IMO...dont think he would have done it if it was O'Connell !!! :eek: )

I was talking about video footage of Mr Loud Mouth's mate at a party with O'Gara and Sexton where they divulged how much they hated each other, how many medals they had, etc. You know... all the Walter Mitty stuff.

Sexton's jeering of O'Gara was reasonably obvious. Although he was arriving at pace and only seemed to slow down when he got to O'Gara. Certainly looks like a taunt from the video footage. So what? Yeah, maybe he needs to mature but at least he's not gouging eyes like some more mature players who should know better.

Anyway, the game's over. Taunting happens in rugby. I don't like it personally but it happens and it always will happen. Internet threads about it are pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Id hate to see some of you's watch rugby league if you are freaking out over a small bit of sledging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

And to be honest, ROG has long been a master at it. More subtle than that though, and Sexton probably needs to learn to keep his head a bit better in celebration, but i'll forgive him one. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

Crash wrote: »
    And to be honest, ROG has long been a master at it. More subtle than that though, and Sexton probably needs to learn to keep his head a bit better in celebration, but i'll forgive him one. :P

Sexton went OTT, and it was bad form, but he's young (here's me saying this and I'm only 26) so its not the end of the world. Tonight I was re-watching the 2007 Musgrave Park 10-3 game between the two sides, and O'Gara had a few pats on the back for Sexton whenever he screwed up close by. And it was subtle, very well done too, but the message was always there.

Players do it. Compare it to O'Driscoll mouthing off to the Argentines during the last pool game in the WC after his try. Or Quinlan against Pelous in the HC final?. Or O'Connell patting the two English lads on the back during the 2007 Croker game? Or... you get the point.

What does it tell you? Nothing, except it goes on from practically all players at some stage or another. Sexton was just a bit more obvious that others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Stev_o wrote: »
    Id hate to see some of you's watch rugby league if you are freaking out over a small bit of sledging.

+1, QFT didn't even notice anything meself...all part and parcel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

ROG was heard over ref talk sledging Sexton over missing DGs, it's give and take. Sexton playing in the biggest game of his life just did it a bit less subtly than ROG. There is nothing there to get worked up over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Taunting of players should be punishable by a yellow card.