Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Congratulations Leinster!

• 02-05-2009 6:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭

Ye out taught,out fought,out hearted and out played us today !
    A whole hearted best of luck in the final hope ye take the cup home!
    Im gutted but in a way happy for Leinster finnish off the job now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

you could wait ten minutes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

way to spoil the game for say the people that are recording it and at work :rolleyes:

i see what you're saying.

but why would you come into the Boards Rugby Forum then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭puntosporting

Oops honestly never taught about that realy sorry game is over now!:(

SlickRic wrote: »

i'm watching it here whilst on the laptop, others aren't so lucky.

it's just polite not to give away results in thread titles in sports forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Congratulations from a dejected Munster fan. I'm still gonna go to Edinburgh and I'll cheer ye on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Congrats to Leinster, by far the better team. Just make sure ye win the final now. ;)

as i say, i do understand. and the thread probably shouldn't have been made.

hopefully people stay away from the forum altogether. or maybe a mod might see it fit to delete it asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭puntosporting

hopefully people stay away from the forum altogether. or maybe a mod might see it fit to delete it asap.

Thats just bullcrap!
    Leinster cant be conratulated for reaching their first hcup final after been heavy underdogs on a rugby forum go away with yoursel in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Commiserations Munster.
    CONGRAGULATIONS LEINSTER,YEA BOYS YEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    YIPPEEEEEEEE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

God must be a Munster fan cos it's started to rain in Limerick - as if He's crying for us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Am in work, so gutted. Scores anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

well done leinster.
    yee put paul o connel on his hole at the start.
    watch it with friends and i said yee win and that o gara would choke.could tell when he bounced of phil.

leo was emence. as was whits. well i hope that will put the end to some smug munster fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Well done Leinster - well deserved win - great support as well - you out did us in every department today. Pleased for BOD & D'Arcy in particular. It would be awful if those two in particular never won a Heineken Cup.

I'll be shouting for you all the way to Edinburgh & back again (with the Cup hopefully!) Dose that make me a Meinster? :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm gonna take this opportunity to say **** YES!!!! Really sorry I couldn't be there. Had tickets and all. Alas, the lure of exams overuled everything. Great game though, Leinster were incredible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

outwest wrote: »
    well i hope that will put the end to some smug munster fans.

Maybe you should delay the smugness lecture until you've actually won the Heineken Cup at least once ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Fairplay leinster. Comprehensively outplayed munster. Fully deserved, hope you go on and win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Maybe you should delay the smugness lecture until you've actually won the Heineken Cup at least once ;)

I know. I really really really really really really hope that wasn't a once off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

It was a great game. I'm glad Leinster won.

For people complaining about "Spoilers" If you didn't want to know the result and came on the Rugby forum anyway I do not feel sorry for you. You made a personal choice to come to the forum so now you have to live with it if you were "spoiled".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Leinster really deserved to be in the Final after that match The Defense was immense and seem to have the hunger for it on the day!! Fully Deserved!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

i'm watching it here whilst on the laptop, others aren't so lucky.

lol, are you taking the mick?

Quick phone the internet and all major news organizations and tell them not to be talking about it until ur home and watched it lol

Great match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Congratulations Leinster.
    You all played very well today and deserved your win.

I thought you were done no favours by the ref though.
    Munster just had too many men having an off day.

Now please finish the job!

Who would we rather face in the final?
    I'd rather take leicester I think (but not by much)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Well done lads, eventhough ye were droppin like flies, ye outplayed us. Good luck with the cup!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭ozchick

Thanks for the result here (haven't actually seen the score, but that doesn't matter, read some comments!) and my hubby is just watching the replay now and doesn't want to know the result :D:rolleyes: He reckons Leinster won't make it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Won it twice :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Congratulations to Leinster. They surprised us all buy outgunning Munster in most facets of the game today and lost nothing through the two injury replacements to key players.

lol, are you taking the mick?

Quick phone the internet and all major news organizations and tell them not to be talking about it until ur home and watched it lol

Great match.
    it's a bannable offence on soccer forum, i'm just saying some people like to browse boards at work and they might see this thread pop up in the latest posts on the home page.

i know i'd be quite pissed off if i had planned to watch it after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Well done gotta echo for a team who dropped like flies and kept going yee did great. Hope injurues aren't too severe to keep conto or fitz from the final

Onward to the final and a win and we'll swap it for the magners next year hopefully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

It show's up on the boards homepage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Enright

well done Leinster
    The better team on the day won, personallly i think Leinster were hungrier and had a lot more smarts, Munster looked like a tired team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Yay.

Fair fúcks to the majority of Munster fans who were gentlemanly (gentlewomanly?) in defeat. T'was good to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Let's keep the trophy in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Stick_man

Well done Leinster, there can be no argument about the result. Thought Leinster were fantastic all over the park. As a Munster man I am gutted but you have to give gredit where its due. Everyone from one to fifteen was immense and I will be cheering you in the final.

P.S the only gripe if I can have one was the ridiculous decision of Stuart Barnes to give BOD the MOTM, Rocky Elsom was by some distance the finest player on the pitch but Barnes found the need th reaffirm his lions prdictions by saying BOD outplayed POC today. I thought BOD had a great game but I thought POC had a great game in a team that didnt play well and their was no need to play poor rugby politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

Congratulations to Leinster. More than deserved it on the day. It was a testament to how well ye played that I knew by 50 minutes gone that Munster were not gonna win it. That defence is awesome. Really hope ye go on to win it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Great win for Leinster yesterday. Always knew that Munster hadn't a monopoly on passion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Well done Leinster (So where did ye get the Munster playbook from?;))

Have to say a big thanks to all the Leinster fans I met last night, we had great craic and ye were gracious winners.

Best of luck in the final, ye deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Well done Leinster, you were worth it from 1 - 15 yesterday. We never got started but had we it would have been a cracking game. Elsom for me was MOTM, he was immense and I think the key to stopping us playing and giving the Leinster backs a great platform.

Best of luck in the final... hope you bring the Cup back home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I speak for all of Connacht when I say that I knew Leinster would win and well done.

Munster hard luck to ye but it could be worse, you could be in the European Challenge Cup every ****ing year.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Great game sadly due to one too many before hand i had a slight case of Schadenfreude :( , apologise to folk round section 324 Hogan stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Great game sadly due to one too many before hand i had a slight case of Schadenfreude :( , apologise to folk round section 324 Hogan stand

i was in 324...had the big blue and gold chequered flag. what did you do?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Congrats Leinster.
    I was pretty pissed off with the result yesterday, but I've come to terms with the better team on the day deserving to win :)

I look forward to cheering them on as an Irish team in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Carol_1985

Well done Leinster, from a disappointed Munster fan! The best team won! Will be cheering ye on in the final!

Carol_1985 wrote: »
    Well done Leinster, from a disappointed Munster fan! The best team won! Will be cheering ye on in the final!
    Same here.

Will be shouting for you in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Fair play lads, ye have allot to be proud of after yesterday, the fans were brilliant and that definitely helped the team..... an element of complacency has crept into the munster support recently and you would have to question the interest level/pride of the w*nkers that walked out with 15 mins left. I left 3 mates in the big tree because they couldnt get tickets (all 3 playing rugby in limk having supported munster for 10 years) to think that these morons got tickets over geuine fans is very frustrating!!!!

anyway rant over, ill be supporting ye in the final so best of luck....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Well done Leinster - well deserved win - great support as well - you out did us in every department today. Pleased for BOD & D'Arcy in particular. It would be awful if those two in particular never won a Heineken Cup.

I'll be shouting for you all the way to Edinburgh & back again (with the Cup hopefully!) Dose that make me a Meinster? :D

I hope not. I'd be a Lunster through and through if that was the case. So long as Munster is your first preference you're grand.
    I thought you were done no favours by the ref though.

That's bloody Nigel Owens for you. The guy is useless. There were loads of obstructions, be it on tacklers or ball chasers, through-out the game and he never did a thing about it. I was livid with him for the first 60. After that I started to settle down as I began to think we might actually win it. But even with 10 mins to go I wasn't putting it past Munster to come back.
    Stick_man wrote: »
    P.S the only gripe if I can have one was the ridiculous decision of Stuart Barnes to give BOD the MOTM, Rocky Elsom was by some distance the finest player on the pitch but Barnes found the need th reaffirm his lions prdictions by saying BOD outplayed POC today. I thought BOD had a great game but I thought POC had a great game in a team that didnt play well and their was no need to play poor rugby politics.

Yeah BOD said after he was embarrassed to win the man of the match because he felt one of the forwards should have gotten it.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/8031165.stm

Great game, great day and a big thanks to all the Munster fans I was talking to after. Ye were gracious in defeat and a good bit of craic. Here's hoping we bring it home in 3 weeks and make Ireland the undisputed home of northern hemisphere rugby! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Cateym

Well done to Leinster. The tails were well and truly up from first touch of the ball. I said to some mates earlier in the week that I had a bad feeling about the match and that Leinster had had a belly full of Munster this, Munster that and things were ripe for an upset. I was told to go away out of that!! I am glad that they have finally stood up to be counted. Now please let it not be a once-off, bring that cup back to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 823 ✭✭✭MG

Well done Leinster, really played well and deserved to win.

Really disappointed but must remember that days like that have fashioned the Munster spirit too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Well done to Leinster the best team won so no complaints..

I think Munster were too cocky this will bring some those boys back down to earth fairly quick..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Well done Leinster. No argument whatsoever, the best team won.

With that victory comes great responsibility, its expected that the HEC trophy will reside in Ireland this year, this is your task.

Having watched the epic Cardiff vs Leicester match, Leinster will have to be at the top of their game to deliver it. If they play well they are more than capable of doing it.

They've got themselves where they want to be. Now deliver the goods.

Hard ask at the first attempt. Go for it guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Jilm

Well done, Leinster! It was a great occasion to experience and I'll be cheering for you in the final!

Hopefully the result won't be decided in a penalty shootout. ;)