Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who drive through puddles to splash people!!

• 01-05-2009 3:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭

Come on own up!
    Does anyone here do it?

I was on my way to college this morning and some príck decided it would be halarious to drench me!!! What made it worse was the sun came out an hour later! :mad:

I can understand why someone would find it funny, but really don't do it, it ruins your day!

This ever happen to anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wouldn't go out of my way to do it but sometimes you can't help it and it's the universes way of giving you a high five.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

ScumLord wrote: »
    I wouldn't go out of my way to do it but sometimes you can't help it and it's the universes way of giving you a high five.

No this person did it on purpose. Swerved in then out again.... bastard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Anyone thats wearing white is fair game and deserves to be splashed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A7X wrote: »
    I can understand why someone would find it funny, but really don't do it, it ruins your day!
    Not my day, I'm warm and dry inside the car ;)
    Seriously though, I'd never do it if it can be helped. Been soaked too many times myself.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

One way of avoiding this is to buy a car and use that.
    Ha! Paths. Walking. Public transport. Plebs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

.....are hilarious!

Did I get the question right? What do I win? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I've done it once or twice. It is very funny to see the reaction you get, especially when you do it outside a nightclub at closing time..

*ADVICE* Dont do it if the nightclub is near traffic lights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I have done it twice but both times couldn't be avoided. I did laugh though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Ha! Paths. Walking. Public transport. Plebs.

Anyone up for driving through Dr. Bollocko's Bentley? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

saw a big puddle on taylors hill few weeks ago two girls were walking right beside it as i was about to go past so i drove straight into it and soaked them
    they screamed......i laughed

good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I got soaked a few times but I probably haven't been driving enough to do it so someone, but I wouldn't be bothered unless I didn't like them.

I also got some people that tried to soak me but it was already lashing rain so it really didn't matter how much water they threw on my I couldn't get wetter. There was a few months were it just poured down and I had to bring a change of clothes to college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Bluscreendream

Quazzie wrote: »

That's why I love drenching skangers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Got a whole bus stop before in a transit. All soaked and waiting for a bus. Hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Confab wrote: »
    Dr. Bollocko's Bent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

I once got soaked head to toe after a bus drove through a massive puddle beside me. The water literally went over my head.

Now, I wasn't happy. But at the same, I think I would've laughed had I been sitting on the bus. Doesn't make the driver any less of pr*ck though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

No this person did it on purpose. Swerved in then out again.... bastard

Ha ha ha ha - ah i'm sorry!!! I remember seeing it happen 3 girls on their way out one night and their reaction was priceless

Quazzie wrote: »

2 of the 3 girls i seen it happen to (i must stress it wasnt me who drenched them) was wearing white and looked an absolute mess. They were walking a bit in front of me and one of them turned around and one side of her face/body was kinda clean and the other all muddy!!

Got a whole bus stop before in a transit. All soaked and waiting for a bus. Hilarious.

Karma sir... karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

What would be particularly amusing, would be watching a driver's suspension launching through the wings of his car after he discovers that a puddle is really a three foot deep pothole.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    What would be particularly amusing, would be watching a driver's suspension launching through the wings of his car after he discovers that a puddle is really a three foot deep pothole.

Hmmmm... sounds like a plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

hate to be a killjoy here but its actually illegal to intentionally splash someone.

(I've done it accidentally.... a number of times)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Feel lucky, got caught in splash path of road snowplough this year I would take a puddle in the face to that any day. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

You could have taken his reg and reported him. Or learn the reg off and wait until you see the car again some day and get your revenge.

I wish I did, but doubt I'll see them again. Twas an english reg also :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

Tom65 wrote: »
    I once got soaked head to toe after a bus drove through a massive puddle beside me. The water literally went over my head.

Now, I wasn't happy. But at the same, I think I would've laughed had I been sitting on the bus. Doesn't make the driver any less of pr*ck though.

that's so funny that it went over your head! :pac:

some bastards did it to me before and then came back and did it again :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

saw a fella it happened to before sprint after the car and the car had to stop at traffic lights,fella in car didnt realise until yer man got to the car door,no time to lock it,lad ripped him out n beat the ****e out of him.justice.id do the same,**** cnuts.whats wrong with slowing down.

anplaya wrote: »
    saw a fella it happened to before sprint after the car and the car had to stop at traffic lights,fella in car didnt realise until yer man got to the car door,no time to lock it,lad ripped him out n beat the ****e out of him.justice.id do the same,**** cnuts.whats wrong with slowing down.
    Thats exactly what I felt like doing. If there was a gun in my hand like... I was that angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

anplaya wrote: »

Fair dues to him. If someone did that to me and it looked deliberate (ie he went off laughing his thick head off) I would report him or punch his b***dy head in if I could get to him. No responsible adult driver would deliberately do that. It ain't funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

This is why one should walk in pairs, nearly happened to me once walking home from college, but the guy beside froze in panic at the imminent dousing, so i seized the moment, and him, and used him as a human shield.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 633 ✭✭✭dublinario

I was on my way to college this morning and some príck decided it would be halarious to drench me!!! What made it worse was the sun came out an hour later! :mad:

That's half a prank. You only reap the full benefits when, having soaked the putz, you double-back five minutes later, do another flyby, and this time throw a fistful of your own faeces into the putz's face. The old jokes are best.

Lu Tze wrote: »
    This is why one should walk in pairs, nearly happened to me once walking home from college, but the guy beside froze in panic at the imminent dousing, so i seized the moment, and him, and used him as a human shield.

AYe i was the shield :( He came from behind (cue fits of laughter) and drenched me. My room mate got wt aswell but not as much of me and he went to college anyway cause he had no change of clothes the dirty fook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭davej

Carry a stone in your pocket or pick one up if you are walking in the rain...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I once saw a garda been drenched by a guy in a white transit near the swiss cottage in Santry. The guy wasn't laughing when the lights turned red and she legged it up to the van. I don't know if you can fine someone for doing that but she didn't seem to be letting him away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Are people who drive around with water guns not worse, theirs no mistaking its deliberate.

I did get 3 people at a bus stop one morning,, but never even seen the puddle! Had to laugh though, the guy with me said he could see the womans face of horror as she saw it coming :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It's illegal and you can be done for it.

Traffic Watch allows motorists to report incidents of aggressive driving directly to the Gardaí.

LoCall: 1 890 205 805

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I try not to do it to people if I can. A few years back though i had just walked out of a shop with a full can of coke and some wanker did it t me. You'd be surprised the damage a full can'll do to a rear window.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

I think it's hilarious. Once I start driving, I'm going to go out for a drive whilst it's raining with the sole purpose of splashing people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I don't own a car, but I can assure you that when I do, I will splash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I always ride the bike through puddles. Not to wet people I just love the splash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I am an avid user of puddles when possible. I do have rules..

i generally only splash the nackers in the white tracksuits and gold chains (100 points), students (80 points) young children (40 points) cats (20 points) never elderly or women - it doesnt happen that often, you need the nacker and the puddle to be in the correct place at just the right time for the 100 pointer.

I remember one time just outside moate there was a student from the business college walking towards me as i was driving. There was a massive puddle, he seen me looking at it and laughing hard as i approached i was almost foaming at the mouth with anticipitation - he was right at the edge of this 12 footer and knew he was fooked- as i approached he made this spring leap across the puddle but landed in the middle of it - i swirved to avoid the puddle... he shook fists at the sky with his shoes full of muddy water.. i on the other hand turned on my heated seat to warm my hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I carry a large rock with me for such an occasion. They spash, I throw. I've a strong arm and a good shot. See whow you like a smashed back windshield.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Come on own up!
    Does anyone here do it?

This ever happen to anyone else?

The look on your face though- priceless.
    Ahem I mean.. no never, never do that sort of thing.
    <_<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I carry a large rock with me for such an occasion. They spash, I throw. I've a strong arm and a good shot. See whow you like a smashed back windshield.

.. in which case id get out of the car and kick fcuk out of you and then make you eat the rock.

Horribly unreasonable yes. But im a prick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Last time that happened to me was 10 years ago, I was on the bike, got soaked. Driver stopped at traffic lights 1 mile later, and did not expect me to catch up. Neither did I, but oh boy, I felt like my luck was in.

Cue, one smashed rear windscreen and I took off his wing mirror.

Thats a nice accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

snyper wrote: »

Did the district court judge not warn you about splashing young ladies from your car Snyper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

I do that too, when leaving house or work pick up a stone. Carry it home dont need to smash it just crack it.

Now thats funny ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Ive been splashed a few times, but each time it was lashing rain and I was drenched already so it didn't make a lick of difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

seen a car do this in limerick last saturday to an older woman, pure mean! though i was dyin laughing reading this thread :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

seanybiker wrote: »
    I always ride the bike through puddles. Not to wet people I just love the splash
    You can never tell how deep the puddles would be
    http://bikehugger.com/images/blog/rain_fall.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I reckon it's some lads only way of getting a lady a little wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

snyper wrote: »
    .. in which case id get out of the car and kick fcuk out of you and then make you eat the rock.

No, because I carry a second rock to deal with just such an occasion.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.