Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American Wrestling Rampage Summer Bash !!!!!

• 01-05-2009 2:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭

American Wrestling Rampage and MPI Promotions are happy to announce
    The Summer Bash Tour,
    130600979a10731970798l.jpg

Aug 26th - Dublin -Basket ball arena Tallaght
    Aug 27th - Killarney - INEC
    Aug 28th - Limerick - UCH TBC
    Aug 29th - Castlebar - Theater Royal
    Aug 30th - Portlaoise- Venue TBC
    Aug 31st - Belfast - Ulster Hall TBC

Set to appear, Former WWE/ECW, and AWR champion Rob Van Dam, Chris Masters, The Homicidal, Suicidal, Genocidal, Death–Defying Sabu, and AWR reigning champion Rene Dupree, More names to be announced in the coming days

Tickets onsale soon Via www.ticketmaster.ie

Please check out www.awrwrestling.com for more news including the release of our super show from Paris France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

Awesome news guys. Looking forward to this one. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

Former champ eh? It's not Bobby Lashley again? :P

Maybe Taz, but he would only be doing the Bret Hart role and not wrestling. He's not made any major appearances yet so it could be termed as "exclusive"

And the guessing games begin! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Boo. No Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Throw in an auld Cork show there lads. The last one did very well

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Looking forward to the dublin date . The last one was very very good the best irish show ive seen in a long time. The irish wrestlers had very good matches such as Maxer vs Morrow and Duncan vs Cabray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Haven't been to any of these shows before .... are they affiliated to any of the Irish promotions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Ya, NLW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Whiplash

Damn was hoping for another show in Dundalk this time round.

Whiplash wrote: »
    Damn was hoping for another show in Dundalk this time round.

That makes two of us. (I'm in Drogheda, but can't think of anywhere decent around here they could hold it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

I back the idea of a Cork show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭ScumdogV2

I'll be home for this. Great timing lads!!! Always wanted to go back to the Basketball Arena, haven't been there since WIN Wrestling ran it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭dez_warlock

I also would fully endorse a return to Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

Me too, boourns!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

Any chance of a Waterford or Cork show please? :)

The forum in Waterford a great venue for wrestling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

http://www.liverpoololympia.com/home.php

We have this wrestling event happening tonight in Liverpool .

According to the Bebo the former champ is Rob Van Dam.

pingu_girl wrote: »
    Any chance of a Waterford or Cork show please? :)

The forum in Waterford a great venue for wrestling.

The Waterford forum would not be big enough for AWR's shows to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Might go to this, missed the last show in Limerick

Any chance you guys could get some more classics? Tatanka was great to meet at the last show (especially seen as he wasn't an ass hole, and seemed genuinely nice).

There's tonnes i'm sure you guys could get. Demolition, Honky Tonk Man, Jimmy Hart, Flair, Ted Di'biase, etc.

It'd be great to see any of the above in person, although i doubt they'd be up for the whole 'wrestling' side of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭RebelRockChick

Also hoping for a Cork date, missed the last show :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Any chance you guys could get some more classics? Tatanka was great to meet at the last show (especially seen as he wasn't an ass hole, and seemed genuinely nice).

There's tonnes i'm sure you guys could get. Demolition, Honky Tonk Man, Jimmy Hart, Flair, Ted Di'biase, etc.

It'd be great to see any of the above in person, although i doubt they'd be up for the whole 'wrestling' side of it all.

i would rather see great matches than washed up has-beens in fairness, last time out the two best matches in tallaght were between the four local lads.

at least with the likes of rvd, chris masters or dupree we know these guys can still go and could return to wwe full-time tomorrow if required but why would you want to see dibiase, demolition or jimmy hart?? there is wrestling conventions held in england a couple of times a year for those purposes

rossie1977 wrote: »
    i would rather see great matches than washed up has-beens in fairness, last time out the two best matches in tallaght were between the four local lads.

at least with the likes of rvd, chris masters or dupree we know these guys can still go and could return to wwe full-time tomorrow if required but why would you want to see dibiase, demolition or jimmy hart?? there is wrestling conventions held in england a couple of times a year for those purposes

Gotta side with rossie on this one, he makes sense. It's a wrestling show that AWR are putting on, not a fan convention. Ok Bret Hart might have been an exception, but at the same time, he didn't eat up the whole show last October either.

Would I like to see DiBiase, Demolition or Jimmy Hart? Sure, but given that we get few enough shows with big names a year, i'd sooner see em in the ring, but that's just me.

The only thing i blatantly disagree with was refering to DiBiase as a washed-up hasbeen. Primarily because he was forced into retirement due to injury of his neck. Whenever I throw Bret Hart into that category, i get lit on for it. :rolleyes:

Opposing opinions are one thing, double standards are another. ;)

Don't get me wrong, I like to see good wrestling action too. But any two unknowns can have a good match together and entertain an audience.

When the show was over last time, people were still talking more about Bret than anything else. The amount of people that will talk of the novelty of the "big star" far outwieghs the "seen a great match" people.

As I say, I'd like to see some good quality wrestling, but I'm sure some of AWR's guys can do that already. I'd also like the novelty of being able to meet some of the other wrestlers you may never get a decent chance to meet.

It doesn't matter anyway. I was just suggesting it. If they left it as it is i'd still go, but the thing I like about AWR (from my, admittedly limited experience with them) is that they try to put on a show with more than you would expect.

RVD will clearly be the Bret Hart of this show (ie; biggest name, the one they'll advertise to get people in the door) but I'd like to see some of the other wrestlers we're so familiar with from the past of WWE.

Don't get me wrong, I like to see good wrestling action too. But any two unknowns can have a good match together and entertain an audience.

When the show was over last time, people were still talking more about Bret than anything else. The amount of people that will talk of the novelty of the "big star" far outwieghs the "seen a great match" people.

I'm not too sure about that. I overheard several chinwags about Morrow and Brennan and their performances that night. Obviously not in the same capacity, but people were still talking. Hell that was mentioned here last year too. So i'm not so sure if it outweighs it (although i doubt anyone was actually keeping score), but i'd say it was definately evened out, especially as our own guys got to work on an impressive stage too.
    As I say, I'd like to see some good quality wrestling, but I'm sure some of AWR's guys can do that already. I'd also like the novelty of being able to meet some of the other wrestlers you may never get a decent chance to meet.

Understandable, but there are other times for that, such as meet and greet sessions prior to the shows, or as rossie already said, UK fan conventions, a lot of which are given at pretty decent notice to be able to save up for em.
    It doesn't matter anyway. I was just suggesting it. If they left it as it is i'd still go, but the thing I like about AWR (from my, admittedly limited experience with them) is that they try to put on a show with more than you would expect.

RVD will clearly be the Bret Hart of this show (ie; biggest name, the one they'll advertise to get people in the door) but I'd like to see some of the other wrestlers we're so familiar with from the past of WWE.

I hear what you're saying here, but if they did that with every show, it'd become predictable and stale within a year. I reckon keep the novelty guys for occasions, otherwise we'll just come to expect it and the novelty will eventually wear off.

Think long term. :)

Personally I'd love some top Japanese talent, but that's just me. Not everyone would pay what I would to see some top Japanese names in the flesh and most of them have hectic tour scheduales as it is. Maybe they could use Fergal as a conduit to get some NJPW talent in their off season.

I'm sure Fozzy, gimmick, flahavaj and Lita Forever (if she ever makes it back) would be first in line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

ShawnRaven wrote: »
    I'm sure Fozzy, gimmick, flahavaj and Lita Forever (if she ever makes it back) would be first in line.

Damn straight. As someone who's flown to the UK to see NOAH and plans to go back this Summer for Dragon Gate I'd be delighted to see some puro guys on my doorstep. Hell, i even sat through some horrible IWW sh*t just to see Go Shiozaki a few years back.;)

Oh and for the guy who posted about the Liverpool Olympia, its a lovely little venue to watch wrestling in. Not to mention the attached night club. Twenty pounds on the door, all you can drink all night. Like something out of an episode of Shameless, Grannies drinking with their granddaughters, dirtbirds starting fights on the dance floor, Matt Sydal (Evan Bourne) being molested by a local slag in the corner......what a night.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭the flananator

Wasn't 'Summer Bash' the name of the tour WWE did with Austin a few years back that played in the RDS?

Anyway I'm looking forward to this, will definately hit the Dublin show.

Wasn't 'Summer Bash' the name of the abortion WWE did with Austin a few years back that played in the RDS?

Fixed your post there, Flan. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

That makes two of us. (I'm in Drogheda, but can't think of anywhere decent around here they could hold it).

Ditto.

TBH, in these times of recession, I can't see myself going regardless. Bret Hart was an amazing name last time, but RVD isn't a big enough name to draw me to the show. As much as I like him, this won't be my only chance to see the guy live so I'll probably pass....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭TheIrishLegend

Cant believe NO show in Cork!

Seriously lads, Kerry isn't THAT far away. :P
    Half the bands I want to see live, i have to go over to the UK for it. Count yourselves lucky you have a one hour bus trip or something. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Bullee

Any1 know how much tickets are going to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Bullee wrote: »
    Any1 know how much tickets are going to be?

€39.20 - €54.80 for the tallaght show according to TM http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/180042A1A5D252C1?artistid=960584&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭AWR_OFFICE

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Tickets will NOT be that price, that is a miss print on ticketmaster.ie

So can you tell us ho wmuch tickets will be?

Are we going higher, or lower? Also, any indication of when they may go on sale?

So can you tell us ho wmuch tickets will be?

Are we going higher, or lower? Also, any indication of when they may go on sale?

I can only speak on ticket prices for Dublin but they will be slightly cheaper, Tickets will go onsale this week

AWR_OFFICE wrote: »
    I can only speak on ticket prices for Dublin but they will be slightly cheaper, Tickets will go onsale this week

That seems pretty good then.

Any chance of a VIP kinda ticket deal, where you work in the cost of a photo/auto off each guest rassler, so some of us can avoid the awkwardness of handing them money (and the dreaded waiting for change)? :o

That seems pretty good then.

Any chance of a VIP kinda ticket deal, where you work in the cost of a photo/auto off each guest rassler, so some of us can avoid the awkwardness of handing them money (and the dreaded waiting for change)? :o

The dreaded waiting for change?

When you hand MR. A €20 and have to stand there uncomfortably as he fishes around in his bag for change.

maybe it's just me, but its an awkward moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

I'm half considering going to castlebar for this one..

Why not just go to dublin you ask?

Well let me explain.

Tallaght is an awkward f***in place to get to from drogheda.
    Get a bus to dublin and then a bus to tallaght, and with the likeliness of missing the last bus home OUT of dublin(at half 11) it means leaving the NBA at like 10 or earlier.
    Bloody annoying if the show is still going on. And to be honest, i really dont want that happening again.

Castlebar seems the best choice for a few reasons:
    1. The hall is conncted to the hotel which i assume all the wrestlers will be kipping in which leaves a chance open to get to hang with them in the bar afterwards.
    2. Mayo is pretty straight forward to get to bus wise from dublin.
    3. The rooms are cheap.

In saying that, anyone got any other options?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭TOPDAWG

gimmick wrote: »
    Boo. No Cork.

I know a feen with a gaff in portlaoise tho......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭deanodrummer

I live in Tallaght and havent seen AWR yet so mite head down the NBA to see it. Is it a good show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭currythis

Just checked on ticketmaster
    Whats the deal with the e50 golden circle tickets?
    Is there a meet and greet involved with these or is it just better seats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,785 ✭✭✭Kane-N-Nite

currythis wrote: »
    Just checked on ticketmaster
    Whats the deal with the e50 golden circle tickets?
    Is there a meet and greet involved with these or is it just better seats?
    I think its just unreserved ringside seats.

Press Release:

ROB VAN DAM SIGNS CONTRACT WITH AMERICAN WRESTLING RAMPAGE!

In huge news within the professional wrestling world, former multi-time champion Rob Van Dam, has agreed to contract terms with American Wrestling Rampage to compete throughout their 2009 schedule.

American Wrestling Rampage (AWR) have dates set for August in Ireland, and for November/December in France and Germany. Rob Van Dam is now officially contracted for a 16-fight deal which will run until December of this year. This deal will see Rob compete on all Irish, French and other European dates in 2009.

Rob Van Dam (RVD) is a former WWE Tag Team, Intercontinental and World Champion and is also renowned for his run in the original Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW) where his unique in-ring style made him an instant star.

RVD competed with American Wrestling Rampage this past March & April in France and Switzerland. Competing in the Main Event almost every night, Van Dam had classic matches against the likes of Sabu and Rene Dupree.

A spokesperson for AWR had this to say; "We are delighted to have Rob on board for the rest of the year. He is a true professional and a pleasure to work with. The fans love him and rightfully so. His work in the ring speaks for itself. As always, we at AWR have always promised to bring the biggest stars to the wrestling fans and we think that by signing Rob Van Dam, we have kept our promise".

News on tours featuring Rob Van Dam and other mega stars from the world of wrestling can be found at AWRwrestling.com.

ROB-VAN-DAM-NEWS-GRAPHIC.jpg

That's a good deal you guys scored. On his official blog he said he used to hate doing overseas stuff and the pressures that went with it, but has said with AWR he doesn't feel as burnt out and is actually enjoying himself.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

I live in Tallaght and havent seen AWR yet so mite head down the NBA to see it. Is it a good show?

Yup the last one was very entertaining, the best run irish show ive been to and all the irish crew put on a great show. Any chance AWR could sign Fergal Devitt for the tour

I'm not sure if it would be cost-effective for AWR to fly Devitt over from Japan and pay him the wage he'll have come to expect for his work, considering he's not well known over here.

It would be great to see him come back to work a one-off match in Tallaght however, a al his once-off appearence for NLW in Naas two (three?) years ago. I remember his bout with Adam Abz fondly!