Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Matchplay, the Final!!!

• 28-04-2009 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭

Lads,

when we started out we had 40 matches scheduled. Of those 40 we completed 29, so fair play to all concerned, and all those who took part.

It has come down to the last 4 golfers for the final.

The Boards.ie trophy will be contested between:

Jabberwocky and denisoc16

The Boards.ie plate will be contested between:

BUACHAILL and WHIP IT!

as per this post I will sponsor the finals. Let me know when in the next month ye can all come together and play this final, and I will organise it. Good luck, and thanks again to all those who took part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Good luck all and I hope you play to the best of your ability......enjoy the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Cheers Hobart

The only weekend I'm definitley unavailable is the 22/23/24 May. That is if Munster beat the Pale in Croker on Saturday!!! And I'm out for the 16th May too. I'm available any other day and if it came down to it I could probably make it on a weekday if I had a week's notice.

Denis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Best of luck lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Hobart I could probably make a weekday also if I had a little notice. Weekends are also possible but just not sure how I am fixed with Barton Cup / Comps etc but will do my best to accommodate.

Would like to thank you for all your efforts and for sponsoring the final also...very decent

Graham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Cheers Hobart - bang up job on organising and thanks for sponsoring the final. Hope everyone plays well on the day.

Quick Q Hobart, do we play on the handicap we entered the comp? I lost a shot on Sunday so just wondering if I play off my new handicap or the one I entered into the competition. For matchplay comps it's usually the handicap at entry but I'd be happy to play off either. Just let me know.

Lads, I could do it on a Thursday or Friday afternoon depending on what suits people... Sundays are usually out for me but most Saturdays work fine. I'm fairly flexible anyway.

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Would like to thank you for all your efforts and for sponsoring the final also...very decent
    I'd just like to echo that. Fair play to you Hobart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Quick Q Hobart, do we play on the handicap we entered the comp? I lost a shot on Sunday so just wondering if I play off my new handicap or the one I entered into the competition. For matchplay comps it's usually the handicap at entry but I'd be happy to play off either. Just let me know.
    I think the handicap you entered with, is good enough for the final. Unfortunately I'm off to San Roque :D on the 27th of May for a few days R&R. Anytime before or after the (I'm back on the 31st) would do. I'd really like to tag along for this game, and I'd like to invite a couple of lads out for an invite on that day, so we could probably have a four ball of the final, plus a four ball (being me +3 invited guests).

Let me know what ye think.

sounds good to me !!
    any idea of where it will be played ?

sounds good to me !!
    any idea of where it will be played ?

It's up to you guys. I've suggested a number of courses in the link in my OP. If you have any other suggestions, let me know. I'm fairly easy on it.
    ./Edit (here are the choices I posted in the original post)

and I will sponser the final, which will be played in Carton House/Luttresltown or Castleknock (the choice will be up to the two winners).

Hobart wrote: »
    It's up to you guys. I've suggested a number of courses in the link in my OP. If you have any other suggestions, let me know. I'm fairly easy on it.
    ./Edit (here are the choices I posted in the original post)

and I will sponser the final, which will be played in Carton House/Luttresltown or Castleknock (the choice will be up to the two winners).

Kanturk it is so lads:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭DU.LLAHAN

Whats your handicap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Best of luck to all , especially denisoc16 seeing as you only beat me by 1 , I'd feel better if you won :D
    Cheers again Hobart for organising , heres to boards.ie matchplay 2010

DU.LLAHAN wrote: »
    Whats your handicap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Codofwar

Best of luck to ye lads, should be a good day out for ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Sionnachster

Good luck to you all...

Did you sell the rights to Setanta or Sky in the end?!?! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,982 ✭✭✭Trampas

Screensport I heard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Whoever got the rights, Shane O Donoghue is doing the Interviews!

Blunder wrote: »
    Whoever got the rights, Shane O Donoghue is doing the Interviews!

Ha - could just see it.

Shane O' Donoghue: "So Jabber, hard luck, would you say it was your putting that let you down out there?"

Bemused Jabber: "Eh, not really Shane, I had 28 putts. I think it was the 4 pulled drives O.B. that did me in."

Shane O' Donoghue: "So despite having the driver and the putter working then, would it be fair to say your irons let you down today?"

Bemused Jabber: "Whatever you're having yourself Shane."

Shane O' Donoghue: "Thanks for your time... and congratulations again on a great win today."

Bemused Jabber: "I lost 5&4... you're an idiot."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭postalservice

Haha.
    You'd be better off getting iGod to interview you
    http://www.titane.ca/igod/
    lol

I lost my match:(
    God: Where did you last see it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Ha - could just see it.

Shane O' Donoghue: "So Jabber, hard luck, would you say it was your putting that let you down out there?"

Bemused Jabber: "Eh, not really Shane, I had 28 putts. I think it was the 4 pulled drives O.B. that did me in."

Shane O' Donoghue: "So despite having the driver and the putter working then, would it be fair to say your irons let you down today?"

Bemused Jabber: "Whatever you're having yourself Shane."

Shane O' Donoghue: "Thanks for your time... and congratulations again on a great win today."

Bemused Jabber: "I lost 5&4... you're an idiot."

28 putts for 14 holes....so your putting did let you down?!

fullstop wrote: »
    28 putts for 14 holes....so your putting did let you down?!

No flies on you mate. :pac:

But at my level that would be more than acceptable. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I'm also out for the weekend of May 22... I don't mind where we play but I'd prefer Luttrelstown or Castleknock as I don't get to play them that often - in fact, have only played them once each.

Looking forward to it...

Has anybody any idea of this is still going ahead ???
    Would still like to play !!

As per the first post in this thread, I'm waiting on the finalists to decide on a date. Let me know when ye can play, and I will organise it.

Hobart, I'm available the weekend after next (13/14th june). I'd be available during the week (Mon-Friday)if I have a couple weeks notice. Not available 20th,21st or 27th June. Looking forward to it...

Lads - next weekend is unfortunately out for me as I'm on a stag (my own!) all weekend.

I can also do a weekday with some notice and am free the weekend after next (12th/13th/14th).

Would be a shame if we didn't get it together to get the last matches played after it being such a success so far!

How does Friday the 26th of this month sound?

Hobart wrote: »
    How does Friday the 26th of this month sound?

Sounds good to me Hobart...

Reckon I could make that too lads.

I will have to have a look, think I might be at a wedding but if not I can make it
    Will let you know asap

thanks

As previously thought I am at a wedding that day. I would however play if it was very early that morning ?? Is that a possiblilty

Wedding starts at 2 in monkstown so would have to be out around 7 ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

As previously thought I am at a wedding that day. I would however play if it was very early that morning ?? Is that a possiblilty

Wedding starts at 2 in monkstown so would have to be out around 7 ish

I hope it's not your own... "sorry i'm late luv, it went to extra holes".

ha love it

all joking aside though I will have to get a round of golf in the morning of my wedding.
    which wont be too far off ....she sunk her teeth ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hallowed

Hi Guys.
    Myself and Plus 10 had a very enjoyable round Sunday morning in Druids Heath (thanks again Plus 10). While chatting we wondered had this final ever been played. Would be a shame not to get it finished at this stage considering how many games were played to get to this stage.

Any news on it?

Not sure whats the story with the finals lads but I'm on holidays on the week beginning 17th August. Would Friday 21st suit anyone?

denisoc16 wrote: »
    Not sure whats the story with the finals lads but I'm on holidays on the week beginning 17th August. Would Friday 21st suit anyone?

weekdays dont suit me i am afraid as i am working again.
    sorry. I am looking forward top playing this final

<bump>