Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving Ban Offences you would introduce

• 28-04-2009 2:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

* Driving down the wrong way on motorway or dual carriageway has to be one.

* The other one I would add is people who put L plate on unpside down.
    If someone can't put on an L plate correctly how can he/she be expected to drive? Examples i have seen recently:

_|

and
    _
    |

I think first time I have seen the second one above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Driving with one or both mirrors folded in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Failure to indicate - very dangerous IMO.

Gettting in my way - shootable offence!

Joking, I'm joking.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Middle lane drivers would be banned for life and also would have to dontate there first born child for medical research

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Tailgateing

Have had the arse of my last 2 cars driven into by silly tailgaters who drive too close to my car - both repairs costing in excess of €5k (my 6 month old 04 car in 2004 and my 2 week old 06 car in 2006).

Both people who ran into me tried to say that it was my fault that I braked suddenly - what was I supposed to do when the car in front of me breaked suddenly - run up their arse like they had done to me????????????

I hate them I tell ya!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Someone that dips their headlights after I pass them out at night only for them to put their full heads back on again 3 seconds later and I have only gone 100 yards in front of them. Are they just an ignorant ****s or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

*cough* fog lights *cough*
    People driving in the overtaking lane.
    Oh and tailgating - you're not intimidating me, and you're not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭the roo

children in cars without safety belts on. idiot parents or what !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Drivers who have two or more accidents within 5 years of each other that are proven to be entirely or mostly (75%+) their fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Drivers that drive when its dark with no lights on

Drivers driving with parking lights on - the clue is in the name

Drivers that overtake around bends - kill yourself I dont give a **** but dont kill me or anyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Jaysus i hope non of ye become minister for transport, Considering how important driving is to the majority of people, banning someone for half the suggestions above would be going totally overboard and a good 10% of people would be banned from driving within the first two years id say, resulting in lesser road tax being paid and the country will be worse off, as a matter of fact i want all your real names and constituiencies so as to warn others never to vote for ye if ye run for election!!!

have i gone too far?:p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

People who drive with their rear fog lights on continuously.

People who don't notice that their indiciator is still blinking, miles later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

drivers who drive in the right hand lane... its an overtaking lane only you shower of muppetts!!!!!!!!:mad:

and on a two lane roundabout, who keep in the left lane when they are turn right....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Parking on the wrong side of the street. I think the Australians give a ticket for this stating you are parked 35-40ft away from kerb.
    By parking on the wring side of the street I mean parking with the nose of the car facing traffic. It is dangerous & causes havoc when the person parked up is trying to get out. It is an offence in a lot of countries already.

<- <- <- <- <- <- <- <- Traffic flow

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Traffic flow -> -> -> -> -> ->

Mods seriously can we create one big RANTING AN RAVING forum somewhere... Oh wait a minute!!!!

Im so sick of these threads being in the motors section!!! Will ye feck off

Hogzy wrote: »
    Mods seriously can we create one big RANTING AN RAVING forum somewhere... Oh wait a minute!!!!

I'd ban your cranky ass from driving straight away :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

Sticking a "Type R" badge on a 1.4 Civic.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭havetoquit

Yep, all of the above and I would bring in a stiffer penalty for those who are still ignoring the following putting their children and others at risk:

Using phone, eating ice-cream, drinking from tin, checking make-up whilst driving

Still allowing very young children in the front, sometimes without belt or safety seat.

Idiots in the country who still allow their children to stand beside them whilst driving a tractor..happens every day.

People who do not yet know how to use a roundabout and are a danger to us all.

Those who blind you and risk an accident rather than use dimmer.

Those who still think it is cool to stagger from a country pub and get behind a wheel.

Those who leave their poor dogs in cars on hot days without water and windows closed tight, inhumane or what?

People who overload lorries with barely secured loads who cause accidents every day in the countryside

People who through sheer stupidity need two car park spaces to park their car and make it impossible for you to get into a space.

Learner drivers who as yet cannot drive properly and who think it is fine to drive a car just because a qualified driver sits beside them. They can and do cause near accidents on our roads every day.

Those who should stay away from a motorway unless they know how to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

..... RANTING AN RAVING forum somewhere... Oh wait a minute!!!! :D:D

havetoquit wrote: »

People who through sheer stupidity need two car park spaces to park their car and make it impossible for you to get into a space.

I purposely do this to prevent people banging doors off my car!!!

Mind you i do it FAR AWAY from the exit, IE in the quiet areas

..... RANTING AN RAVING forum somewhere... Oh wait a minute!!!! :D:D
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055550602
    ;);)

I purposely do this to prevent people banging doors off my car!!!

Mind you i do it FAR AWAY from the exit, IE in the quiet areas
    Oh dear.
    facepalm_implied.jpg

Iv had to pay €500 to get a new bumper sprayed and fitted because some bitch of woman in an X5 decided she couldnt park properly, iv also recieved loads of dents on the side of my doors from disrespectful idiots so when something like that happens to you on a regular occasion then ill take your opinion into account. Until then you can search for another space cos im taking two!!!

You dont love your car do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

People who brake first then put on their indicator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

If you have a perfect opportunity to reverse into Joe Duffy in a car park and miss, 2 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

Owning a BWM or the desire to own a BMW (especially a 3 series) should result in a permanent ban :P

Iv had to pay €500 to get a new bumper sprayed and fitted because some bitch of woman in an X5 decided she couldnt park properly, iv also recieved loads of dents on the side of my doors from disrespectful idiots so when something like that happens to you on a regular occasion then ill take your opinion into account. Until then you can search for another space cos im taking two!!!

Not to the point of having no respect for other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

do you pay for two spaces ? NO ... then dont take two .... (please)

if your car is getting scratched all the time maybe its due to other cars trying to get into a second space that you've taken !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭lostboy75

Learner drivers who as yet cannot drive properly and who think it is fine to drive a car just because a qualified driver sits beside them. They can and do cause near accidents on our roads every day.
    QUOTE]

how exactly would you propose people learn to drive? and by people i mean everyone else apart from you who was just born with the gift of driving. if you had said learner driving without a qualified driver sits beside them i could see some sense there, but even with?

and no, i am not a learner,

apart from that, alot of these are interesting to read.
    but my personal bug bear is indicators, particularly on roundabouts. come on people! if everyone used there indicators correctly on roundabouts traffic would move through them faster and safer. as it is you cant assume anything on one as you will always find the person who just put on a random indicator or none at all and gos wherever they want.

Lost

People who take up 2 spaces in a car park to protect their precious out of pure ignorance and disrespect. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭666bxg

Drivers who blatantly drive a vehicle that's polluting our environment with shagged engines that pump out thick, suffocating smoke out of their exhausts.

It's funny I encounter these idiots on the road regularly enough about one every fortnight...

PCPhoto wrote: »
    do you pay for two spaces ? NO ... then dont take two .... (please)

if your car is getting scratched all the time maybe its due to other cars trying to get into a second space that you've taken !!!

Not in car parks that i have to pay for cos i will be clamped!!!

I never used to do it but i do it now because iv had to fork out so much because of other peoples stupidity!!!!

Have you ever had your car damaged by someone else in a car park?
    Im not willing to let people damage my car that i worked hard for to pay off.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

People who think their parking lights are the dipped lights should be sent to Latin classes.

* Driving without fog lights on when required
    * Driving without dipped lights on in dark or poor visibility
    * failure to use a roundabout correctly
    * Failure to use overtaking lane correctly
    * Illegally parking and causing an obstruction but leaving your hazard lights on as if that makes it ok.
    * Driving SUV's/Jeeps in urban areas.
    * Driving a car with tinted windows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

McSpud wrote:
    L plate correctly how can he/she be expected to drive? Examples i have seen recently:

_|

and
    _
    |

I think first time I have seen the second one above.

What about aranging 4 of them like this in response to the governments continued embuggerance into peoples lives:
    _
    _|_|
    | |_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

+ 1 on roundabout indicating and breaking before indicating. May I add random breakers who seem to be rolling a dice in the car and slowing on every 6 and people that stop at junctions when they are on the main road with no stop sign.

Not in car parks that i have to pay for cos i will be clamped!!!

I never used to do it but i do it now because iv had to fork out so much because of other peoples stupidity!!!!

Have you ever had your car damaged by someone else in a car park?
    Im not willing to let people damage my car that i worked hard for to pay off.
    Leave it at home if you're that worried about it.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Leave it at home if you're that worried about it.

Ok ill leave my car at home when i go shopping!!! and carry all the bags myself on the bus ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

McSpud wrote: »
    * Driving down the wrong way on motorway or dual carriageway has to be one.

As per my seperate thread - i would definitely support this one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭havetoquit

lostboy75 wrote: »

QUOTE]

how exactly would you propose people learn to drive? and by people i mean everyone else apart from you who was just born with the gift of driving. if you had said learner driving without a qualified driver sits beside them i could see some sense there, but even with?

and no, i am not a learner,

apart from that, alot of these are interesting to read.
    but my personal bug bear is indicators, particularly on roundabouts. come on people! if everyone used there indicators correctly on roundabouts traffic would move through them faster and safer. as it is you cant assume anything on one as you will always find the person who just put on a random indicator or none at all and gos wherever they want.

Lost

My aplologies there for not making myself clear. What I meant was 'people who clearly need more driving lessons before going out onto a motorway and other areas where you need wider experience. Having only one set of pedals and a family member/friend trying to guide you or correct you isn't ideal. I do not claim by any means to be a great driver, but I never exposed the public at large to my driving until my driving teacher said I was ready to do so and even then warned me that the motorway was not the best place to be if in any doubt at all. All I am really trying to say without any delusions with regard to my own capability as a driver is that safety and a sense of serious responsibilty must come first with all of us, as surely we are all guilty of our own less than perfect driving skills at some time or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

The great things about these threads is I only read the posts that are thanked. Usually the longer posts aren't thanked because people couldn't be arsed reading them, or they're ****e, so it's a win win situation to all the would be complainers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

any man driving a convertible ban+twelve year stretch in arbour hill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

any man driving a convertible ban+twelve year stretch in arbour hill

Lacking in confidence maybe?

Ok ill leave my car at home when i go shopping!!! and carry all the bags myself on the bus ya?
    Or you could just learn to park like a decent human being. Seriously, parking across two spaces is the behaviour of a w@nker. If you're not one then don't park like one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

My proposed offences that would result in a ban from driving

Being a women
    Being over 70
    Wearing a tracksuit

Possibly a bit harsh but I really cant stand my grandmother coaching my football team anymore!

Or you could just learn to park like a decent human being. Seriously, parking across two spaces is the behaviour of a w@nker. If you're not one then don't park like one.

So should i continue to allow my car be trashed and have to fork out €500 here and there ya?

Park wherever you feel your car will be safe, but don't use more than one space. It's hardly rocket science, the rest of us seem to manage ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

God, the more I read the threads the more it sinks home how bad the general standard of driving actually is - sad, so sad.

I'd almost support a intense driving test every 3 years - well nearly, as I for one would'nt pass first go.

Park wherever you feel your car will be safe, but don't use more than one space. It's hardly rocket science, the rest of us seem to manage ok.

Nearly everyone i know has some scuff or scratch from parking in a tescos, supervalu etc etc...
    I was talking to a girl in college the other day and her sisters way of judging how far she has left when reversing is when her trailer hitch bumps off whatever is behind her (including cars). My jaw nealy fell through the floor. I know what people can be like, iv seen alot of people hitting off cars and banging doors off cars and it has happened to me aswell. I would never double park in a carpark that was jam packed full of cars, I would just parallel park across the street or something, i only double park in an area a good bit away from the door that people never park in. Im saving myself time, money and frustration by doing so. Id rather someone else wait 5mins to get a space than me have to work my ass off to pay to repair my ca, im only a student i worked hard for my car. i cant afford to fix it all the time!

Nearly everyone i know has some scuff or scratch from parking in a tescos, supervalu etc etc...
    I was talking to a girl in college the other day and her sisters way of judging how far she has left when reversing is when her trailer hitch bumps off whatever is behind her (including cars). My jaw nealy fell through the floor. I know what people can be like, iv seen alot of people hitting off cars and banging doors off cars and it has happened to me aswell.
    Sure, people can be selfish & inconsiderate.
    I would never double park in a carpark that was jam packed full of cars, I would just parallel park across the street or something, i only double park in an area a good bit away from the door that people never park in. Im saving myself time, money and frustration by doing so.
    If people never park there then why do you feel the need to park across two spaces?
    Id rather someone else wait 5mins to get a space than me have to work my ass off to pay to repair my ca, im only a student i worked hard for my car. i cant afford to fix it all the time!
    You have no right to inconvenience others because you're worried about/can't afford to fix your car. You might also consider, on a purely practical level, that you're making your car a prime target for vandalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

reilig wrote: »
    Tailgateing

Have had the arse of my last 2 cars driven into by silly tailgaters who drive too close to my car - both repairs costing in excess of €5k (my 6 month old 04 car in 2004 and my 2 week old 06 car in 2006).

Both people who ran into me tried to say that it was my fault that I braked suddenly - what was I supposed to do when the car in front of me breaked suddenly - run up their arse like they had done to me????????????

I hate them I tell ya!!!!

With you all the way. Many years ago on a fast road in the UK I had to brake hard when an idiot on a motorbike pulled across me without warning. The fool behind me, far too close, hit me so hard that my driving seat collapsed and I ended up on the back seat. I would cheerfully condemn all tailgaters to summary execution.:(

i only double park in an area a good bit away from the door that people never park in. !
    If no one would park there - why do you need to take up two spots?

thb: first one on the list