Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Windscreen "washing" beggar

• 28-04-2009 9:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

I was driving down the quays near the O2 this morning and stopped at the lights. Theres one set that take ages to change so you're sitting there for a good few minutes.

Anyhoo...up wanders this guy to the line of cars that are stopped and starts squirting washing-up liquid laden water from a bottle and tries to clean peoples car windscreens.
    I roll up my window and im waving at him yelling "no...feck off..i dont want mine done". He continued anyway...a few seconds later im fuming and yell out the window "will ye ever f*ck right off". So off he f*cks to the next car to which he gets the same reactions as mine.

Drove off eventually with a lovely grey stained windscreen and one angry head on me. Do these people actually make any money from this malarky?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I normally turn my wipers on full blast, watch them frantically try to avoid getting twatted in the fingers by them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

You should have jumped out of your car and hammered him with your wheel brace until he was a bloody, spasming, unrecognisable pulp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭cotwold

Bit much maybe ^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

why didnt you take a free window wash? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

There's a learning curve to washing windows, give him a break.

He was probably an IT consultant last week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I've heard of this alright. Has never been done to me, and God love the turd that tries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

alright man next time it happens call him over to the window and when he leans in punch him in the mouth and drive off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Windscreen washing fluid + detergent isn't too nice in the eyes. Especially in high concentrations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Put on your wipers. He will find it hard to wash your windows then.

On the money side of it. If he does 100 windows in 1 hour and gets only 1 euro from 10 people and pays 0 tax then he is doing fairly well.

I would quicker run his down on the street and run down the people giving him money even quicker.

They cannot get a job because they are mostly refugees so they come out on the street, idiot gives him 1 euro and his 15 cousins turn up at the other sets of lights doing the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

do they look like crack addicts ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I'd pay them for carservice if they let me realign my tires by driving over them a couple of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

They're obviously being paid by a local carwash to dirty up your windscreen so you have to go and get your carwashed. Did any of them smear **** on your door too? That's an old trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭omyatari

you'd nearly pay them to stay away from your car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Just be thankful you have a car! Plenty of cars being lost here in the recession!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

omyatari wrote: »
    you'd nearly pay them to stay away from your car

Eh, that's the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Bring a bottle of wash liquid in the car and squirt it on them the next time, half of them could do with a wash. Flitty beggers. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

There's a learning curve to washing windows, give him a break.

He was probably an IT consultant last week

as an out of work it consultant, that hurts! funny, but it hurts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

anniehoo wrote: »

Drove off eventually with a lovely grey stained windscreen and one angry head on me. Do these people actually make any money from this malarky?:mad:

There's a nice functional feature in most cars called a windscreen washer. It's generally located in the vicinity of your steering wheel, usually on a stalk. When the mechanical control is activated, it sprays water on your windscreen in tandem with a windscreen wiping action, thus handily automating the task of clearing the stain. And rendering your anger and frustration unnecessary. Unless you want to be angry and frustrated, that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Jigsaw wrote: »
    You should have jumped out of your car and hammered him with your wheel brace until he was a bloody, spasming, unrecognisable pulp.

Relax dude, she still reads your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Just be thankful you have a car! Plenty of cars being lost here in the recession!

Lol! :)

People can't moan about anything now, if they do the standard response is, "ah just be glad you have it, we're in a recession, ya know..."

Soon there won't be anything left to moan about!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I used to squirt them with me wipers but one day i decided to leave him clean the window and then he knocked on the window afterward. I rolled it down, said thanks and rolled it back up again. He started ranting but sure the lights had changed at that stage and I couldnt be holding up traffic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Lol! :)

People can't moan about anything now, if they do the standard response is, "ah just be glad you have it, we're in a recession, ya know..."

Soon there won't be anything left to moan about!

Are they taking that off us too?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

You should fill you washer bottle with ammonia and point the squirters out side ways so that next time he comes over to the car you can try and blind the c*nt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

krudler wrote: »
    I normally turn my wipers on full blast, watch them frantically try to avoid getting twatted in the fingers by them
    Me too, it works......Turn on the wipers and start driving forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Jigsaw wrote: »

Tis a good thing you never met Emer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

why not return the favour? do one of those spit on the corner of your sleeve moves and clean the guys face. would definitely confuse him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

Poor people trying to earn a bit of cash? That's just awful, we shouldn't tolerate such things in West Britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

O'Coonassa wrote: »
    Poor people trying to earn a bit of cash? That's just awful, we shouldn't tolerate such things in West Britain.

No food for you ;)

I'd let him clean it, inspect it and make him clean it again no matter how clean it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Well here comes the PC brigade...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

stovelid wrote: »
    There's a nice functional feature in most cars called a windscreen washer.

Ooooh look at you bein all sarcastic. I may be a girl but i have figured out that function and if you've used yours you should know it doesnt reach the whole windscreen i.e the sides no matter how much water you squirt on it.
    Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Oh FFS!!:rolleyes: It costs me a bleedin fortune to keep it on the road if someone mankies it up ill damn right moan about it.
    Again :rolleyes: Will i get him to come round to do the same to the windows in your gaff and see how tolerant you'd be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Just tell them to f*ck off before they start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

How annoying is it when that happens?! I drive around that area a lot so I know what you're talking about. I don't really care how poor this guy is, I don't want his sh*te on my windscreen. Don't know how anybody can tolerate this.

If you go round that way again, turn ur washers round before you set off, he'll get a nice we soak next time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

carry a toy gun in your side pocket of car and pull it on him
    mate working with me did this one day in the van i nearly wet myself laughing

the washer nearly SH!T himself fkn hilarious i swear do it