Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Guardians' at gigs

• 27-04-2009 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

My friends and I want to go to see Tracy Chapman this Summer but it's an over 18s concert and I'll only be 17. Ticketmaster is saying that you'll get in once you have a 'guardian' with you and I'm just wondering how old you have to be to be qualify as a guardian. Some of my friends going are 18- will I be okay getting in with them?

Cheers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭BlueButterBean

No I actually think you need to be 25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

If you're a girl you can easily make yourself look older. Upon failing that you could just get someone who looks like you to give you a lend of their passport or something.

I personally never had any problems getting into any gig when it said it was over 18's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Where is it on? Bigger venues tend not to check. Even still, just grab someone in the queue and ask them if you can go in with them to be sure. I was only ever checked once and that was when I was 14 for an over-18s gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Soundman

BlueButterBean is correct that most venues would consider you to be a "guardian" if you are 25 or over. Though it is up to the Venue Management whether they let you in under this rule or not. Generally you would need to get on to the venue or if it is somewhere like The O2, the promoter, to clarify what they will accept.

Edit: That Guy, you shouldn't be encouraging people to use Identity Theft. It can get them into serious trouble. The venue I work in had a couple of lads trying to get in with their brother's passports or driving licenses just as 2 Gardaí passed by. Security knew the IDs didn't belong to the lads and called the Gardaí over to see what they thought. The two lads ended up getting arrested and spent the night in Store Street, with their parents told to collect them in the morning, if I recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

I don't know what it's like these days but when I was under 18 it was the smaller venues (such as Whelan's) that would be stringent with the age policy.

Is that gig at the Marquee in Cork? I'd say you'll be grand.