Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bus Strike

• 27-04-2009 8:22am
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭

As everyone is probably aware by now nearly all the northside Buses are on strike.

I would have assumed in this situation, the Bus lanes would be opened up but no this morning at 8.15am on the N2 at the Tolka Road Junction, where there was traffic chaos, the Gardai were pulling over cars driving in the bus lane.

This is an an absolute disgrace. i would have thought the gardai would have better things to do then shoot fish in a barrel :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Nice way to get the monthly quota up all the same.

Can I add that I was in the same car as PFB, and another Boards.ie user, as we effectively car-pooled this morning having heard about the strike.

We weren't in any bus lane, but did see this despicable behaviour this morning.

Nowt better to do? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 philip100

I would yet again like to thank Dublin Bus and the Unions for managing to get me a bollicking from my boss this morning for being over one hour late because of the "DISRUPTION", what exactly are you trying to acheive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Whitewater-AGS

That is shocking!
    How dare the Gardai enforce road traffic legislation and keep the bus lanes free for cyclists, taxi's and other buses its a disgrace :rolleyes:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

That is shocking!
    How dare the Gardai enforce road traffic legislation and keep the bus lanes free for cyclists, taxi's and other buses its a disgrace :rolleyes:

There is a seperate cycle lane and guess what there at no bloody buses and seriously who cars about taxis

and also, it was announced on the radio this morning that all in-bound bus lanes were being opened to the general public this morning :rolleyes:

It was before the announcement.

Look, Whitewater-AGS, it's obvious what went on here.

I've been commuting that route for well over a year at this stage, both by bus and by car as a passanger. I've never once seen a member of AGS at that junction, not once.

They picked a nice opportune time to sit there and shoot fish in a barrel, knowing full well that they'd catch a LOT of people.

I've no problem with the Gardaí upholding the law, but I do have a problem with the way they pick and choose their times and places.

It was underhand behaviour, no doubt about it.

There is a seperate cycle lane and guess what there at no bloody buses and seriously who cars about taxis

and also, it was announced on the radio this morning that all in-bound bus lanes were being opened to the general public this morning :rolleyes:

There are more buses in dublin than just dublin bus, and who was this announcement made by, just asking cause i never heard it??

Just cause you never seen a Garda there does not mean anything, anyways this is a es forum not a place to air complaints or grievances with AGS as the charter states

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0427/dublinbus.html

A temporary suspension of all inbound bus lanes to Dublin city, will take place until 10am this morning to alleviate traffic.

Bus lanes will be open to all inbound traffic during this time.

This should probably be moved to After Hours?
    Or
    Commuting and Transport...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Didn't think they were planning anything today were they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Des wrote: »
    I've no problem with the Gardaí upholding the law, but I do have a problem with the way they pick and choose their times and places.

Bit of a contradictory comment there, dont you think.

If there was an announcement to open the bus lanes under special circumstances then there should be no problem getting your ticket cancelled. It may just be that one or two gardai did not know of this announcement is all.

No need to roll out "shooting fish in a barrel" type comments. All I hear is "I want Gardai to uphold the law against everyone else except me".

Thread moved to Dublin forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I don't think any tickets handed out for driving in the bus lanes this morning will be upheld.

They were announcing on the radio that the bus lanes were going to be open until 10am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Just cause you never seen a Garda there does not mean anything, anyways this is a es forum not a place to air complaints or grievances with AGS as the charter states

If someone see's the Gardai acting unfairly, which they certainly were this morning they have every right to say it here! It's not up to you or me to backseat mod the forum. Any Garda who hands out tickets to drivers driving in a bus lane during a bus strike is a moron.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I'd agree with AnonoBoy on this one. If tickets were mistakenly handed out while bus lanes were suspended, the chances of a successful appeal would be very favourable.

If you got one, and you believe it was issued in error, appeal it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

ah...

media might have to answer as well.

For example, I listen to 2fm in the morning from 5:30 onwards and depending on what time you switched on at would ultimately determine whether or not you got a ticket this morning.

'We have received a lot of texts asking if bus lanes are still in operation and we would like to inform everyone that yes they are'.
    Then after a while 'Gardai have opened up bus lanes to help ease the traffic situation and are directing cars'....

Now I was listening and unless they actually did do this what was I supposed to think given I am reading the really useless bastards carrying on in such a fashion this morning! God forbid someone might not be over an hour late because of their complete lack of common sense and decencey!

I jsut think it is really bad form.

i was at the traffic lights at junction of tolka valley park and they pulled over 7 cars before my light turned green.

now, i have been driving that route into work for the last 5 years 'ish.

i have never seen a bus lane check point there

just stank to me, to me of bored guards looking for a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Usually they stop cars slightly further up the road, opposite the Maxol garage, or up past the cemetery. I walked in today, which was annoying, but I never understood the idea of opening the bus lanes in cases like this, surely cyclists, taxis, private buses and Bus Eireann still should keep the priority?

Ste.phen wrote: »
    but I never understood the idea of opening the bus lanes in cases like this

It's a no brainer. Thousands more cars on the road because there is no bus's... Open the bus lanes. Common sense prevails.

lightening wrote: »
    If someone see's the Gardai acting unfairly, which they certainly were this morning they have every right to say it here! It's not up to you or me to backseat mod the forum. Any Garda who hands out tickets to drivers driving in a bus lane during a bus strike is a moron.

Your right they do have the right to complain about gardai acting unfairly but they are offical channels for doing so and the es forum aint one of them and as i pointed out this is mentioned in the charter if people where to actually read it, that not back seat modding pal

This thread is not in the ES Forum any more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

For some reason the phrase "Kicking people when they're down" springs to mind.
    Maybe some of the guards in thier early 20's we saw this morning could use a bit of common sense
    Of course there are those that say they should be out catching criminals but thats not me.

People who drive in bus lanes are just as criminal as those who rob houses and shoot people.

Don't you know.

Yeah, i have known them to be at glasnevin but i dont drive that way in the morning, sorry, i was more thinking about my route to work - which i assumed you would know what way i drive to work

SORRY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Ste.phen wrote: »
    Usually they stop cars slightly further up the road, opposite the Maxol garage, or up past the cemetery. I walked in today, which was annoying, but I never understood the idea of opening the bus lanes in cases like this, surely cyclists, taxis, private buses and Bus Eireann still should keep the priority?

I wish that was the case. Planks opening the bloody bus lane made me late for work the B@stards.

I jumped into a taxi in Finglas village, (the bus lane wasn't open 10 mins before hand), and because of the stupidity, my fare was already up to around 15 quid by halfway past the cemetery.

Took a bloomin age to get into CC.

Maybe they should open the bus lanes when taxi's / cyclists go on strike too eh?

I wish that was the case. Planks opening the bloody bus lane made me late for work the B@stards.

I jumped into a taxi in Finglas village, (the bus lane wasn't open 10 mins before hand), and because of the stupidity, my fare was already up to around 15 quid by halfway past the cemetery.

Took a bloomin age to get into CC.

Maybe they should open the bus lanes when taxi's / cyclists go on strike too eh?

You were a bigger fool for getting a taxi.
    I'd sooner walk.

Degsy wrote: »
    You were a bigger fool for getting a taxi.
    I'd sooner walk.

Yeah, thanks for the input. Walk all the way to Grafton Street, and either be soaked by rain, or be horrible and sweaty by the time I get into the office - not good choices.

jaysis what was your taxi going up past glasnevin for ?????????

you got totally screwed by the taximan

you should have gone through drumcondra

jaysis what was your taxi going up past glasnevin for ?????????

you got totally screwed by the taximan

you should have gone through drumcondra

Well, I didn't know they had opened up the bus lane to regular traffic. And they hadn't done 10 mins before I got into to cab - so neither of us knew.

As we were just getting to Phibsborough, she got a call on the radio saying "....by the way, dont go past Glasnevin..."

Great timing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Lads, for those in Finglas the 19/19a were and are running normally. It's a short walk from the village to the stops.

they'll be fooking packed at home time.

I'm tempted to delete that post to ensure I get a place :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭tv3

Those bus drivers should BE ALL sticking together to get what they want for them and the likes of "us people",instaed of some of the greddy drivers going back to work !

tv3 wrote: »
    Those bus drivers should BE ALL sticking together to get what they want for them and the likes of "us people",instaed of some of the greddy drivers going back to work !

Ah yeah, let them fook up 1000's of peoples days just because they dont want to take a different turn on a route :rolleyes:

jdivision wrote: »
    Lads, for those in Finglas the 19/19a were and are running normally. It's a short walk from the village to the stops.

Where's the nearest stop to the village,coming from the wesht?Its just i dont know those buses very well.

Degsy wrote: »
    Where's the nearest stop to the village,coming from the wesht?Its just i dont know those buses very well.

On what route?

Ah yeah, let them fook up 1000's of peoples days just because they dont want to take a different turn on a route :rolleyes:
    You obviously dont no what the strike is about !
    Please research before making comments !:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

i don't mind... walkings good for you folks...

S.I.R wrote: »
    i don't mind... walkings good for you folks...

You obviously dont no what the strike is about !
    Please research before making comments !:rolleyes:

TBH I dont care about the finer points of the argument between the union and CIE.

But what I believe happened is one driver went to take a bus, but was told his route had changed, which was outside of the agreement between CIE/Dublin Bus and their union, refused to do it, so was suspended. The other drivers from Harristown hearing this, decided to strike in anger at the drivers suspension.

They're fooking up everyone's day - people trying to get to work etc.

What about those people who might not get paid if they cant make it in, can't afford taxi's etc?

Selfish to constantly strike everytime someone gets suspended for not doing his damn job.

The public will turn against the drivers, not Dublin Bus. I pay bloody good money for an annual ticket that I couldn't avail of today because they boomin striked again.

TBH I dont care about the finer points of the argument between the union and CIE.

But what I believe happened is one driver went to take a bus, but was told his route had changed, which was outside of the agreement between CIE/Dublin Bus and their union, refused to do it, so was suspended. The other drivers from Harristown hearing this, decided to strike in anger at the drivers suspension.

They're fooking up everyone's day - people trying to get to work etc.

What about those people who might not get paid if they cant make it in, can't afford taxi's etc?

Selfish to constantly strike everytime someone gets suspended for not doing his damn job.

The public will turn against the drivers, not Dublin Bus. I pay bloody good money for an annual ticket that I couldn't avail of today because they boomin striked again.
    Rubbish !
    You make it sound so simple.Remember dublin bus are to blame.There the ones taking routes away and letting drivers go and changing other routes so the drivers are doing this for the wellbeing of the public in the long term.
    I bet you are the type of person as if you job went on strike you would keep working:pac:

Rubbish !
    You make it sound so simple.Remember dublin bus are to blame.There the ones taking routes away and letting drivers go and changing other routes so the drivers are doing this for the wellbeing of the public in the long term.
    I bet you are the type of person as if you job went on strike you would keep working:pac:

No, I'm the type of person that expects to receive the service I paid for, and expects to not have my day fooked (nor should anyone else for that matter) because someone else is throwing the toys out of the pram.

I dont really care who's to blame - Dublin Bus and the Union are as bad as each other.

If I have problems in work, it sure as hell doesn't effect anyone elses life.

No, I'm the type of person that expects to receive the service I paid for, and expects to not have my day fooked because someone else is throwing the toys out of the pram.

I dont really care who's to blame - Dublin Bus and the Union are as bad as each other.

If I have problems in work, it sure as hell doesn't effect anyone elses life.
    ++Check out the news later and maybe you will change your mind cause you seem to be one sided.
    Basiclly ya got to fight for what you want.Dublin bus is to greedy so FAIR PLAY to the drivers.And il also be affected by the strike but i totally AGREE with the drivers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

And the Dublin Bus site has been DoSS'd due to everyone trying to checking it.....

++Check out the news later and maybe you will change your mind cause you seem to be one sided.
    Basiclly ya got to fight for what you want.Dublin bus is to greedy so FAIR PLAY to the drivers.And il also be affected by the strike but i totally AGREE with the drivers !

They could have had their dirty protest without putting everyone who relies on those routes out though.

They want the backing of the public, yet piss everyone off each time they strike because people cant get to work/hospital/hooker whatever.

Surely, providing the service, but not taking any fares would have had the same effect as far as Dublin Bus is concerned?

Seriously, everytime there's a problem, they bloody well strike.

Its becoming quite an irritation.

Lets not forget - this is an unofficial strike. The guy refused to work his new AGREED roster. The unions and management accepted LC recommendations - yet this plank still decides to mess up everyones Sunday / Monday. I hope he gets the sack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Volvagia

Does anyone know if the Harristown strike is still going on?

Have plans to head out that way after work but i think i'll be quicker walking than trying to squeeze into a 19 or a 19a.

Check out the thread here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=246

updates appearing there.

It's still ongoing in Harristown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

Surely, providing the service, but not taking any fares would have had the same effect as far as Dublin Bus is concerned?

They used to do this but the management decided it was against the law. Don't know the full details but I think they threatened to sue any driver for theft if they took part in a no-fares protest.

Rubbish !

Will you tell us what is going on then? Please tell me it's not as simple as a guy refusing to work because the route was changed. With everyone else loosing their jobs, having to take pay cuts and shoulder more responsibility in their jobs he won't get much sympathy if that is the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

seriously who cars about taxis

Fare paying passenger's care.

I rarely get this idea that its ok to piss off taxi's, IMO its a selfish thing to do because it never takes into account that the taxi driver is rarely in a hurry, but meanwhile his/her meter is on speed dial for his/her passenger's.
    Des wrote: »
    I've been commuting that route for well over a year at this stage, both by bus and by car as a passanger. I've never once seen a member of AGS at that junction, not once.

Thats a junction I regularly use too, the GS are a regular enough sight there catching driver's coming from the Tolka V road and using the bus lane for an early filter left onto the Old Finglas Road.

Tbh, its a terrible junction if your wishing to continue a journey onto the Old Finglas Rd.

can anyone tell me where the nineteen stops ?

i am 20 mins from the village - is it much further?

17 83 Jamestown Rd.
    18 82 Tolka Estate
    19 81 Glasnevin (Ballymun Rd.)
    20 80 Botanic Ave.
    21 79 Hart's Corner
    22 78 Phibsboro Shopping Centre
    23 77 Broadstone
    24 76 Blessington St.
    25 75 O'Connell St.
    26 74 South Great Georges St.
    27 73 Aungier St. (Bishop St.)
    28 72 Kelly's Corner (Camden St.)
    29 71 South Circular Rd. (Leonard's Corner)
    30 70 South Circular Rd. (Donore Ave.)
    31 69 Dolphin's Barn
    32 68 Bulfin Rd.

19A

Fare Stages
    17 83 Jamestown Rd.
    18 82 Ballymun Rd. (Church)
    19 81 The Rise (Ballymun Rd.)
    20 80 Botanic Ave.
    21 79 Hart's Corner
    22 78 Phibsboro Shopping Centre
    23 77 Broadstone
    24 76 Blessington St.
    25 75 O'Connell St.
    26 74 South Great Georges St.
    27 73 Aungier St. (Bishop St.)
    28 72 Kelly's Corner (Camden St.)
    29 71 Leonard's Corner
    30 70 Harold's Cross Green West
    31 69 Lwr. Kimmage Rd. (Sundrive Rd.)
    32 68 Lwr. Kimmage Rd. (Ravensdale Park)
    33 67 Kimmage Cross Rd.
    34 66 Kimmage Rd. West (Whitehall Rd.)
    35 65 Cromwellsfort Rd. (St. Agne's Rd.)
    36 64 Cromwellsfort Rd. (St. Peter's Rd.)
    37 63 St. James Rd. (St. Joseph's Rd.)
    38 62 Limekiln Ave.

Here's a map with Jamestown Rd marked on it

james.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

220, Bus Eireann buses from Ashbounre, Kilmoon Cross etc??
    Seen the cops as i passed on the bus though and did think it was a bit of a poxy thing to do