Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wii Pro Tennis ?

• 26-04-2009 9:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭

Is there any pro tennis kinda games for the Wii ? I'm getting stuck in to the Tennis on the wii sports but it's pretty limited and gets repetitive after a while. I saw a few other cartoon-ish kinda games but I fancy someone with a more "pro" edge ye know ? Hard court, grass, clay etc. tournaments...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

EA's Grand Slam Tennis looks like it might be worth a purchase, it's out on June 12th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Good stuff, cheers :)
    Shame there's not one already. Don't want Sonic tennis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭davenewt

Alan Rouge wrote: »
    Good stuff, cheers :)
    Shame there's not one already. Don't want Sonic tennis!

The fact you'll be able to use the new motion plus thingummy with it is what would make me buy this, same goes for Tiger Woods 2010... I don't like those games that let you get away with swooshing a racket or swinging a club any old how... no skill required = no real sense of pleasure in hitting a good shot.

Or, I want to be unable to play sports on the console just like I'm unable to play them in real life :D

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Chumpski

Virtua Tennis 3 is on the way as well (also compatible with motionplus).

This is out soon. I had a look at the box today and I'm looking forward to it! How much are new Wii games? 45 bob ?

Yeah generally 45 but you can get 10% off in Smyths if you have a loyalty card (even if you don't I think they'll give you 10% off if you pick up a loyalty card when buying a game).
    Not sure whether to take the plunge and buy Virtua Tennis 3 or wait until next month for Grand Slam Tennis; I think the latter might have more depth and shot choices going by what I've read so far. The best thing is that both have online play though, that should be great craic hopefully.

Oh, don't forget to factor in the cost of the motion plus which is about €25 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I'd say wait a month, either way you know at least one of them will be worth a punt plus you'll be able to see which is more responsive regarding the Wii Motion Plus. Personally I'm leaning more towards EA's effort as they've really stepped their game up with their sports titles lately + play one Virtua Tennis and you've kinda played them all

I was thinking I'll wait until they're both out alright and I do reckon EA's game looks the better of the two. The Conduit is out in June too so it should be a good month hopefully.

So, Grand Slam Tennis is out this Friday. Anyone gonna take the plunge? Having looked at both games I think I'll go for this one. Looking forward to it, need to get my chops in order for Wimbledon in a couple of weeks like:P

On order :)

Nice one, going into Smyths straight after work to pick it. Can't wait!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Supposed to be incredibe control wise, but the difficulty setting is akin to playing a chimpanzee.

damn you sendit, ship my order, i wanna play some chimps at tennis :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭animaX

EA's game looks pathetic graphics-wise, even for a wii game. Don't know if I could stand it. Virtua Tennis is always the best tennis game but I'm not sure if the wii port will be up to its usual standard. People, report back if you've played them!

Good job it isn't all about the graphics. I personally dislike games that try to make everyone look ultra realistic and inevitably fail.

I think Grand Slam Tennis has been approached pretty well (if not bravely) in terms of its graphics... fun rather than serious...

Here's hoping the gameplay is similarly fun and enjoyable.

davenewt wrote: »
    Good job it isn't all about the graphics. I personally dislike games that try to make everyone look ultra realistic and inevitably fail.

I think Grand Slam Tennis has been approached pretty well (if not bravely) in terms of its graphics... fun rather than serious...

Here's hoping the gameplay is similarly fun and enjoyable.

Agreed, I really like the look of GST and think the attempt to make VT more 'realistic' looking hasn't paid off; I don't the it looks well at all on the Wii tbh (it doesn't look that spectacular on the PS3 or 360 either from the screenshots I've seen). In addition to this GST has been built from the ground up exclusively for the Wii with WMP in mind from very early on in development, where as Sega seem to have bolted on WMP functionality late in development. Anyway, we'll know in a week or so which is better I suppose.

I gotta tell you, I'm absolutely loving this game, it's very addictive and such great craic! It felt strange for the first while with just the remote so I switched to nunchuk (which is deffo ftw longterm) but I switched back during an online game as I wasn't correctly judging where to move and lost some silly points, and now I'm getting used to it. But nunchuk is most certainly the way to go as you can move your player around the court yourself, coming into the net or going wide etc when you want.
    Online is fecking excellent so far, there was around 250 users online & I had a couple of epic matches and there was only lag on one single point but other than that it was perfect. I haven't even went near the grand slam mode or any of the other modes yet; I've been simply playing matches either against my wife (who's loving it too) or online. Great stuff.

Cool, thx for the info... hope mine's in the post!

Hope you gets yours soon fella! Just played about 4 or 5 online (unranked) doubles matches with the wife there and it was brilliant fun. We were playing peops from all over Europe and they were fairly competitive games, must start playing ranked matches actually as Ireland are currently bottom of the leader boards with something like 35 wins and 66 losses (for doubles at least)!

Has anyone any reviews they want to post up or any on some websites worth reading ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Will probably get GST this week. I got the wii last summer and i really enjoyed mastering wii sports tennis back then. Not a whole lot of a challenge to it though. Haven't played much wii for a while so this looks like the game to get me back into it. I know virtua aint out for another bit but i think i'll just go for GST. Some people say its too hard to control shots accurately but i think this is the kind of challenge i'd enjoy!:)

How much can i expect to pay for this in the shops so, including motion plus? 65, 70€?

EDIT: Its 60€, with motion plus at smyths. Thats not too bad I guess. I thought the thingy on its own was gonna be about 25€ so both the game and that for 60€ is tolerable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Think it's €45 or €49 in Xtravision/Game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Its also available without motion plus though. I guess its 45€ without motion plus in most places

Alan Rouge wrote: »
    Has anyone any reviews they want to post up or any on some websites worth reading ?

http://www.metacritic.com/games/platforms/wii/grandslamtennis

Edit - I decided to read 1UP's review as it seems to be one of the more negative ones - seems there may be some disagreement over what causes this game to get 'average' reviews, with one of the comments saying:

"If the game should be knocked down a few ratings points then it should be done so for its high degree of difficulty. Some people just aren’t going to have the necessary level of coordination and timing to be able to do three or four physical things correctly all at the same time, which is often what playing Grand Slam Tennis requires, and at a pace about 4x the speed of wii Sports Tennis."

But then I don't have anything else to do but read other people's opinions at the moment. Sendit still haven't done what their name promises, despite my order being scheduled for picking on 12/6! The bar stewards!

Feel free to taunt me, therefore, with more tales of playing this game everyone :)

It is actually quite difficult at times. I started a grand slam tournament and did my usual of beginning on medium difficulty but I couldn't win a game and I found I really had to concentrate to make some shots (in particular backhands; if you don't properly curl your wrist around the ball you'll hit a lot of backhands out). I dropped it back down to easy and it was still competetitive enough so I'll stick with that for a while until I get used to it. I also want to start playing with the nunchuk but again it will take time to get used to that too. I ended up playing it on my own for the rest of the weekend btw as the wife's arm was too sore, she was raging as she was really enjoying it:p Oh ranked matches are quite tough too, I cost Ireland about 100 points on Saturday (sorry!) and lost about 200 myself in a few matches:( I switched back to unranked again until I get some more practise in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

This looks like a great game.Might have to make the switch over to the WII from 360. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

I seriously think I'm going to have to pick this up at some point soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

animaX wrote: »
    EA's game looks pathetic graphics-wise, even for a wii game.

surprisingly enough, it works pretty well once you get into it

the graphics are fine for what they are imo, and its a bloody good game too

devs are starting to realise that the wii imposes drastic reductions on whats possible visually, so instead of going for shoddy attempts at next gen theyre running off more cartoony graphics that actually look and respond pretty well (once youre not an idiotic "oh theyre cutesy, so theyre gay" player, and if you are then thats your problem, nobody elses)

fifa 10 is a great example of this style of graphics being nailed. looks great, plays great, despite sounding rubbish on paper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

davenewt wrote: »
    I decided to read 1UP's review

good choice

actually reading reviews > looking at the numbers at the end

i think too many people forget that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

I am getting really, really frustrated with Grand Slam Tennis. I'd say 8 out of every 10 shots I hit go out. I'm using Motion Plus but it doesn't seem to be making any difference at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭fitzer1982

I'd recommend you go to there forum to see how to hit it. I started playing it in easy and I've won all the grand slams in first season.

If anyone has the new Virtua tennis I'd love to swap, pretty much finished GST now.

Finally got my copy of GST... and what happens? They close the roof at Wimbledon and Murray stays on court til half 10 in a five-setter... grr... :) All tennis'd out after that!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

fitze69 wrote: »
    I'd recommend you go to there forum to see how to hit it. I started playing it in easy and I've won all the grand slams in first season.

If anyone has the new Virtua tennis I'd love to swap, pretty much finished GST now.

Go up to the next level, medium makes it a good challenge again. I got the hand of easy, and got to a point where it got boring, went up a level, and I was back swearing at the TV for bad calls etc!

I absolutley love the Grand Slam tennis, I've been playing it without the Wii motion plus, and is still a hundred times better that the wii sports tennis.

For sheer realism, it is excellent, graphics can be a bit funny, but it is a seriously good game. The mini games in it are a good laugh as well, but you need space for it, especially if you are playing doubles and ye both swing properly at the screen!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭pancake_tuesday

Whats the storey with online? Has anyone else got it to work? When I select a match it loads up until it says your connection with your opponent has been lost.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Whats the storey with online? Has anyone else got it to work? When I select a match it loads up until it says your connection with your opponent has been lost.:confused:

That can happen sometimes alright, but only rarely.

My biggest grievance is that sometime the game counts score incorrectly - it allows two bounces or returned serves are classed as unreturned.

Seems to occur in laggy games, and not sure who it actually benefits, as it actually seems to work BOTH ways, still annoying though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Go up to the next level, medium makes it a good challenge again. I got the hand of easy, and got to a point where it got boring, went up a level, and I was back swearing at the TV for bad calls etc!

I absolutley love the Grand Slam tennis, I've been playing it without the Wii motion plus, and is still a hundred times better that the wii sports tennis.

For sheer realism, it is excellent, graphics can be a bit funny, but it is a seriously good game. The mini games in it are a good laugh as well, but you need space for it, especially if you are playing doubles and ye both swing properly at the screen!!

Easy level is too easy. The switch up to Normal I found a very large jump. Having totally dominated on easy, I'm struggling to win a game at normal level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭DerryRed

Malty_T wrote: »
    That can happen sometimes alright, but only rarely.

My biggest grievance is that sometime the game counts score incorrectly - it allows two bounces or returned serves are classed as unreturned.

Seems to occur in laggy games, and not sure who it actually benefits, as it actually seems to work BOTH ways, still annoying though.

I've given up online. Tired of my opponent getting 2 bounces, balls that are in by miles given as out, and aces given for serves that land outside the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

DerryRed wrote: »
    I've given up online. Tired of my opponent getting 2 bounces, balls that are in by miles given as out, and aces given for serves that land outside the box.

It only seems to happen in lag, but yeah I'll agree it can be pain. Still haven't given up yet though :)