Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

m50 southbound at a standstill

• 25-04-2009 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭

For those planning on heading out soon, M50 southbound approaching the Red Cow is at a complete standstill, all lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Bugger! Just when I have to go up to the airport to pick up my sister at 5pm ! (And the damn traffic cameras on the net appear to be stuck at 17:18 yesterday evening).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Dub Forum >>>>>>>>That Way :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

M 50 is for all of us!

You don't drive M50 - M50 drives you etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭busman

From http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/

Updated: 25/04/2009 14:31:40

*MAIN TRAFFIC* * Following a serious collision on the M50 southbound at J9 the Red Cow, motorists are being diverted up and over the Red Cow interchange and back onto the M50. Delays southbound as a result and onlookers are also causing delays for northbound traffic, while inbound volumes on the N7 Naas Rd will not be allowed to access the M50 southbound. Gardai are on the scene directing traffic. *

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Another normal day on the M50 so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

country roads ftw

198300972oJdBIq_ph.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

busman wrote: »
    From http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/

Updated: 25/04/2009 14:31:40

*MAIN TRAFFIC* * Following a serious collision on the M50 southbound at J9 the Red Cow, motorists are being diverted up and over the Red Cow interchange and back onto the M50. Delays southbound as a result and onlookers are also causing delays for northbound traffic, while inbound volumes on the N7 Naas Rd will not be allowed to access the M50 southbound. Gardai are on the scene directing traffic. *

Latest from the AA is "Following an earlier serious collision on the M50 southbound at J9 the Red Cow, all diversion have been lifted. The are lane restrictions at the crash site but traffic can get past."

However from where I'm sitting, traffic in all 4 lanes isn't moving much, though it's a slow crawl rather than a dead stop. Various siren-y vehicles have been flitting around the place for the last 30 minutes, but it's impossible to tell from here if they're on their way to the accident, or going elsewhere. For the guy going to the airport, northbound is still fine, just don't come back southbound. For the person who wants this in the Dublin forum, I'm sure if you report the thread the mods can move it, and to hell with the people coming from outside Dublin who might have wanted to use the M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭mollser

there was a car flipped upside down over a wall tucked up in the corner on the grass by the bridge at that junction. I don't know wtf the driver was doing to get into that position, idiotic driving it could only have been.

For whatever reason, the cops closed off all lanes except the most outer one, seemed a bit OTT and caused mayhem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

peasant wrote: »
    country roads ftw

Every road bar the M50 FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I was going onto the M50 southbound when the garda wouldnt let me go southbound so I had to go northbound on the M50..which now means I had to come home and pay this stupid toll because the stupid garda set up their checkpoint past the point where I could continue on up the N4 to lucan.. complete money making sham. :mad: They should of set it up before the damn exit onto the M50

So I rang Ballyfermot Garda station to find out whats going on and why it was set up that way. They said they think there is an accident on the M50 and that them Garda belong to Lucan.

So I rang Lucan and lucan said there is no accident on the M50 but there was one on the redcow roundabout this morning and that them Garda belong to Blanchardstown.

So I rang Blanchardstown who said they don't know whats going on or anything got to do with them Garda or the M50 being closed. And that I should ring Lucan because they look after them Garda.

So I rang Lucan who don't know whats going on anymore and that I should ring Clondalkin and a few other Garda stations until I can find who these Garda belong to.

So I gave up. There just seems to be no accountability at all. God help Dublin if any serious emergency does happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

So I rang Ballyfermot Garda station to find out whats going on and why it was set up that way. They said they think there is an accident on the M50 and that them Garda belong to Lucan.

So I rang Lucan and lucan said there is no accident on the M50 but there was one on the redcow roundabout this morning and that them Garda belong to Blanchardstown.

So I rang Blanchardstown who said they don't know whats going on or anything got to do with them Garda or the M50 being closed. And that I should ring Lucan because they look after them Garda.

So I rang Lucan who don't know whats going on anymore and that I should ring Clondalkin and a few other Garda stations until I can find who these Garda belong to.

So I gave up. There just seems to be no accountability at all. God help Dublin if any serious emergency does happen.
    The Garda station itself doesn't actually deal with deployment etc though does it? Would it not stand to reason that a station may not actually know where it's officiers are other than "out answering calls"? Isn't it all managed from Harcourt St?

I could be wrong of course.

You know you are probably right.

But really the 3 Garda officers that I talked to in 3 different stations should know the answer :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

You know you are probably right.

But really the 3 Garda officers that I talked to in 3 different stations should know the answer :confused:
    I would expect a radio in each station though and the Gardai in general to know what's going on though .. at the same tmie It's a tough one I guess. Maybe the guys you are ringing at the desk have been stamping passport forms all day and just haven't been following?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Theres a traffic corps, is there not?

Yeah that's in blanch I think. Thats the number the Garda gave me. I rang them and they said that those guys where not theirs. They were Lucans.

But anyway
    man in his late teens died and four others were injured after a crash in Lucan, Dublin, this morning.

Elsewhere a 26-year-old man has died in a road crash in Co Mayo.

Meanwhile, a man and a child are both in critical condition after a crash on the M50 in Dublin.

It's been a busy day for the emergency services :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Lads the crash at the redcow is my wifes uncle. He was in the car with his 3 kids, he's not got long, 1 child is critical, one has some broken bones and the 3rd seems to be ok so far. It was a single car accident. An dreadful tragidy but lets remember its not just an inconvienience for drivers there are people really afffected by stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Sorry to hear that 6th, hope everyone pulls through. I think I arrived on the scene shortly after it happened, and headed up the N7 to avoid the traffic. Only saw the accident on my way back when the guards were doing their measurements etc.

Any idea what happened? It looked like a bizarre accident

No idea what happened, as I said only 1 car involved. Family have all gone to Tallaght hospital as he hasnt long left. Here's hoping the kids all make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

6th wrote: »
    Lads the crash at the redcow is my wifes uncle. He was in the car with his 3 kids, he's not got long, 1 child is critical, one has some broken bones and the 3rd seems to be ok so far. It was a single car accident. An dreadful tragidy but lets remember its not just an inconvienience for drivers there are people really afffected by stuff like this.

My thoughts are with the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bobbbb

You shoulda just rang for a Pizza. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

6th wrote: »
    No idea what happened, as I said only 1 car involved. Family have all gone to Tallaght hospital as he hasnt long left. Here's hoping the kids all make it.

Sorry to hear about that.

Freak accidents happen lads, doesn't mean the driver is always in the wrong, a blow-out for example could very easily spin a car and with the help of those ridiculous concrete dividers on the M50 can put a car on its roof.

Just on the question about the guards, I think it's Ronanstown but depends where exactly you are on the M50 between Blanchardstown, Lucan etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

mollser wrote: »
    there was a car flipped upside down over a wall tucked up in the corner on the grass by the bridge at that junction. I don't know wtf the driver was doing to get into that position, idiotic driving it could only have been.

For whatever reason, the cops closed off all lanes except the most outer one, seemed a bit OTT and caused mayhem.

2 in critical. 3 kids involved.

aw bless, you got held up in traffic while a child and his father were dying in the car.

Good detective work on the 'idiotic driving' also. Amazing you could conclude that so quickly.

lads just talking to the family and it looks like he had a hemorage while driving. Very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

quarryman wrote: »
    2 in critical. 3 kids involved.

aw bless, you got held up in traffic while a child and his father were dying in the car.

Good detective work on the 'idiotic driving' also. Amazing you could conclude that so quickly.

Bit bloody harsh..

Harsh but maybe fair.

The idiot poster did jump to a very quick conclusion and then proceeded to vomit his views on how investigations should be done all over this thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

closed